Reviews and Ratings for Al Mar Japan S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

Al Mar Japan S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Al Mar Japan S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6 inch VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $224.95

Save $174.05 (44%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles Roymans
Limburg Belgium
Oct 27, 2008
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
a truly great knife
I have several A M knives, and they all are of outstanding quality, and please note that I do not add "for production knives". Though the founder has passed away many years ago, his successors have kept up the high level of quality and savvyness. Charles Roymans
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Henryk K
Mississauga L5J 1V8 ON Canada
Jan 30, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Al Mar SERE 2000 knife 3,6 VG10 plain blade
Al Mar SERE 2000 is a very well made knife, fit and finish is very good, I like G10 laminate handle and this one has a nice texture, blade is like I expected nicely ground and sharp, but is a little bit off center, very nice knife, almost exactly like I expected
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Mar 13, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
AS GOOD AS IT GETS !!!!!!
Al Mar doesn't know how to make a bad knife. This folder is about as close to custom as a production knife comes. The materials, fit/finish and design execution are second to none. A drop of Sentry Tuf-Glide and the blade just glides open. Handle material is silky smooth and durable. This knife screams "Quality". Make the investment and enjoy!
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Everywhere
Jan 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Al MAR SERE
I own a lot of knives and this is my new favorite. This is truly the perfect knife. It is beautiful. The only drawback is the lack of sheath. I personally like the weight, but, if you obsess about such things, just stick to wimpier knives because you are not ready for this one.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason Ecc
London, On
Apr 04, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
my first al mar
So this is my very first al mar knife! Like alot of you, I own some spyderco's, boker's, a sebenza, a zt, ect. But man-o-man I love this knife! It's heavy duty, yet there's a simplicity to the knife too. The vg-10 blade I love because I can easily sharpen it. I was going to order the sere 2000 mini, but I'm glad I went with the full size, since it fits my big hands perfectly. Without hesitation I recomend this knife to other workingmen as an edc. Now, for my next al mar- the hawk mabey...
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve C.
Texas
Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: None
Al Mar SERE 2000 VG10 Satin Plain Blade
This knife is part of my Everyday Carry and I've used it for a lot household things, shrub trimming, etc. I really like the feel of the knife in my hand and the blade quality and construction is excellent Can't think of any other information required.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Fighter From San Antonio
San Antonio, TX
Sep 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Easily concealable knife.
This knife feels extremely comfortable in the hand. Perfect weight, grip and balance.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael Taylor
NC
Jan 14, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is a folder I have wanted for along time
This is a folder I have wanted for along time. I finally pick one up and I was very impressed when I first opened it. I have since put it through a series of test in the woods. I batoned it through small tree saplings to build shelters and split wood with it. The lock held up great and it kept it's edge. The handle is very comfortable and keeps a good grip even with blood on the handle. It Field dresses deer and bear rather well for the blade design. I know why this knife is used in S.E.R.E Training. It is a Pocket survival knife. It will do everything you ask of it within reason.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
The swampy hell of Florida
Aug 14, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
A classic...
This is currently my favorite full sized tactical folder. The combination of superb quality, ergonomics and overall utility make this an excellent choice. The pocket clip puts the knife as deep as it can get, however I can still draw and deploy this easily. The action is smooth as glass. The knife showed up very sharp, and is easy to sharpen for me. A beautifully made classic design.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Maryland
May 19, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Al Mar SERE 2000
Very solid knife, quality materials and construction. Same smooth action and secure locking that you can expect from any Al Mar knife. The knife feels light for its size and strength. The only issue I have is that when I grip the knife either my pinky finger feels uncomfortable or my thumb lies too far forward on the handle. Very good quality materials and construction.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aaron Lee
WA
Jul 29, 2008
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Outstanding heavy duty folder
I've owned a SERE 2000 for several years now. I was impressed by the abuse that Tactical Knives put it through in an old review article. The author pounded the blade through thick logs and the knife held up through all of the testing. It's a bit expensive, but the blade stays sharp and the pocket clip is well designed, attached to the butt of the knife so it rides very low and discreetly in the pocket. I've used the SERE extensively in preparation of food while camping and hiking. It's a folder that has the feel of a well designed fixed-blade. I think it's one of the toughest folders I own.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fabio
VARESE- NORTHERN ITALY
Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
could be the best folder if....
I'VE HAD A SERE FOR MANY YEARS IT'S AN EXCELLENT FOLDER FOR THE OVERALL QUALITY BUT I RATE IT ONLY 4 BECAUSE I'D PREFER A BLADE LENGTH OF ABOUT 5 INCHES,LIKE THE SOG SPEC ELITE II---IF IT WILL COME I'LL BE THE FIRST TO PURCHASE--
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Baritmonne
here
Nov 07, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Sheath, None
thumbs up
A knife to depend on. a bit heavy though.
Al Mar S2K SERE 2000 Folding Knife 3.6" VG10 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Keith
Massachusetts
Sep 01, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use
Couldn't open with one hand
I could not open this with one hand. However, the knife itself is sturdy and hides well in a pocket. But don't purchase it if you expect to be able to open it with one hand.