NEW 2020 SPYDERCO MODELS : REVEAL #4 Details

KnifeCenter strives to provide individuals with disabilities access to its products and services, including through an accessible website. If you have questions, comments, or encounter any difficulty in using this site, please e-mail info@knifecenter.com or call - (800) 338-6799

Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to our Cookie Policy.

NEW 2020 SPYDERCO MODELS : REVEAL #4 Details

Reviews and Ratings for ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton - 52222

ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton 4.148 (27 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton

 

Price: $57.80

Save $10.20 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Ray C
Delray Beach, Florida
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Love it!
From the moment I took this product out of the package and deployed it I loved it. It's easy to carry I EDC it. The clip is convenient it fits nicely in my back or front pocket. Lightweight, easy to deploy and close. Having it adds that extra confidence and feeling of security. I highly recommend this.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Swinger
Leesburg, Va
Feb 07, 2018
Pros: Materials, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, None
Light... good or bad?
Good quality. Yes, the clip is cheap plastic but does the job. I actually think it improves the grip on the skinny handle somewhat. The checkering on the grip helps but its too shallow (sharp but shallow). They should design it where a robust clip is a part of the grip. Very light. I'm no weapons expert, but just pure physics dictates that a lighter blunt object does not impact as hard as a heavier object. This lightness does allow the swing to be pretty fast (almost like knife strokes). Very thin, especially the striking end rod. This lessens the surface area on the struck part of the body. This thin-ness along with higher speed strikes will increase the chance of skin cuts (will not look good in self-defense scenario if the "attacker" is covered in blood). Just things to keep in mind if you're thinking of using it more "regularly" as opposed to 'hope I never get to use it' type of carry, which is the category that I'm in.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Juice Esc
montebello
Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
This product is super light and feels very sturdy like it better than my other three buttons great product to buy
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Thomas
Česká republika
Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
I recently ordered a compact expandable baton 16 " - hardened, BLACK but unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed by this product . The manufacturer states that weighs 270 g 294 g in fact , is too heavy for concealed carry , while walking a lot of brushwood and even grip baton me too impressed . ASP batons firm designed for concealed carry are really light . Specifically, P 16 weighs only 180 grams and it has pipes of steel 4140th addition, it has an excellent grip baton - groove. I know , too , that the products of ASP are priced too high and that ESP products are more affordable . Perhaps the ESP in the future produce sap that is really for concealed carry , lighter and quality .
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Ryan
North Carolina
Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Badass
This would mess someone up if you ever have to use it. And the coolest part is that I think it's actually legal to carry (at lease in NC) since it can be clipped onto the outside of your pants.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
T.Carl S
Phoenix
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Exactly what I needed
I carry this baton as a concealable, non-lethal means of personal protection. The term "airweight" is no exaggeration, it clips in a pocket without making my pants sag at all. It opens reliably, stays open until collapsed. A great alternative to an edged weapon.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Ted
Spring Hill
Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Great Batons
These were a gift to my son. He loves the pocket clips, making them easy to carry in regular pants pockets. They are well balanced and light!
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Victor Magnino
Brazil
Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Perfect EDC Baton
Ajustable Pocket Clip, Very light. Hard to get close once opened, which for me is a good thing.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Kdm
Indiana
Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
High Quality Baton - Light, Yet Very Very Solid
Purchased for all legal purposes. It is especially nice for use in places where carry choices are limited. Very high quality fit and finish. Clip is moveable and won't just twist off when carrying due to its design to freely rotate around the handle, but not shift up or down (unless you choose to move it). I also own a highly touted European manufactured product from another company made of hardened steel. The competitor's product is heavier, harder to close, and the finish is some type of powder coat or conventional paint that is very chippy. It is also harder to close than the ASP. The ASP finish is far superior and is not prone to chipping. If this were offered in a disc-lock version that is NOT longer when closed (like the A40), I think it would be even better. I like the A40, but it is just a little longer when closed versus the P16. The P16 is a little easier to carry. This is a very nice product that can be carried without attention pretty much anywhere. I routinely have it in a trouser pocket or suit jacket pocket and almost forget it is there. Nice job, ASP.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Chiller
Western NC
Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: Materials, None
ASP P-16 review
EXCELLENT product just as advertised! The only con is the material that the handle is made of. The grip is a bit uncomfortable without padding like others on the market. The size and clip is perfect. We may order another.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Jason
Maryland
Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
ASP P16
I carry this product for self defense. It is very comfortable in the pocket, and with minimal practice is easy to open quickly. Traditional baton tactics can be difficult because of the diminutive size, but slightly modifying your grip and foot positioning will alleviate that problem. For such a lightweight baton the P16 hits hard. Strikes on the heavy bag felt good and solid. You really have to close the distance to get a good hit, but because this is a smaller lighter baton it is definitely quicker to swing, and would be harder for you assailant to track. They can't block or avoid the blow if they have trouble seeing it coming. All in all I feel very comfortable with the P16 as a less than lethal defensive tool. I would suggest to anyone considering an expandable baton for a personal defense tool to seek out some formal training first. Your tool is only as good as your knowledge to use it.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Bob
Virginia Beach
Dec 06, 2013
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
Carry daily - in suit and tie
Is a quality Asp product. Is light enough to carry in light suit pants without issue. The small clasp is not noticed. I lecture in front of groups of up to 40 - so it's close. Upon asking, none of my students have noticed or thought anything of the "dry-erase marker" sized object in my back pocket. From there it is easy deployment, and I am confident of the size. Considering it would likely be used in close quarters, 16 inches is sufficient.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Ron
Ca.
Nov 03, 2014
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Got it for the Girlfriend, now I want one.
The spring does need some personal touch up, but this baton is ready out of the "clamshell" packaging. I love the final baton length, and the slim knurled handle. This is quite a nice baton that will do its job.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
5 out of 5
Andy W
kentucky
Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Construction, Weight, Balance
Cons: None
exceptionally low cost insurance policy
This has a slight learning curve due to the smaller size, but once mastered, it can be a very formidable tool. This has been my edc for a couple weeks now and you'll often forget it's there because it's so lightweight. I never leave home without it because it's that extra piece of mind that never is a bad idea to have.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Ken G
Mason, TN
Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Airweight ASP Is easy to conceal and carry.
I keep it in my work or dress pants as you would carry a flashlight. It has at times released, but never uncomfortably. Will buy another as need arises. You'll like it.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Doron D
Israel
Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Weight, Materials
Cons: None
2nd one i bought, this one is for a friend of mine
I live in Israel which is unsafe in few places I visit sometimes, I bought the P16 few months ago and carrying it with me for self defense for extreme situations just in case of need. A friend of mine saw it and was very thrilled about the light weight, the size and the way if feels even while wearing dress pants. so, bought it for him and got it home to Israel during my last U.S visit.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Private Security Contractor
CONUS
Aug 20, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Caution
Contrary to a review above, a collapsible baton *not* in plain sight normally would be considered a concealed *deadly* weapon. The reference made to less than lethal above is inaccurate. It is important to research both local and state laws before considering carrying one. Strongly advise obtaining permits and training and to carry only those concealed weapons lawfully permitted in your jurisdiction.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Kenji K.
NY
Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Light as hell
This really doesn't feel like 6.4oz, a lot lighter than the cheap stuff you get on amazon. Bought it for security work, and immediately took the place of my $20 fury 21" baton, as expected of ASP. The only thing I'd say sucks about this baton is the plastic clip, I'd take the old metal clip over this anytime. It rotates easily and feels bulky & cheap, the only thing keeping it on the baton is a plastic strip that is completely separable from the clip itself. I replaced mine with a Thrunite TN12 clip, still a bit uncomfortable, but feels a lot sturdier than the factory clip.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Popeye
Virginia
May 17, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Very Carryable
-Just about disappears into the side pocket of most pants -Much lighter than I was expecting (this is both good and bad) -Shorter than I was expecting -VERY quick to hand also, I completely forgot just how firmly ASP batons lock open
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Rickd75
California
Nov 14, 2012
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
Light and very cool
Just about perfect to slip in your pocket when walking the dogs at night. Could easily be mistaken for a small flashlight. Takes a bit of force to open but I'll try adjusting it. My only complaint is that it rattles a little bit more than I expected.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Dan M
Mid-Ohio
Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Weight, Balance, Construction, Materials
Cons: None
P16 Baton
I carry it daily in case I absolutely have to go into a “no gun” zone. I like how it is easily concealed in pocket or IWB. I would have liked to have an optional holster.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
4 out of 5
Nick
New York
Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Materials, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Good baton, fits in my jeans pocket or when I'm out but the build quality could be slightly better.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
3 out of 5
Max
New York
Jul 03, 2014
Pros: Materials, Weight, Balance
Cons: Construction, None
Great baton but bad for carry
This baton is amazing, let me start with that. In the open position, it has a solid lock up and feels good in hand. But, when closed, it rattles way more than I would like in the pocket. Also, it takes a lot of force to open it, but I will try adjusting that. So, I conclude that it isn't ideal for carrying but still a great baton.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
3 out of 5
Kini T
Houston
Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: Materials, None
Works, But prefer the other clip on design
Works good, but clip design on this kind of gets in the way. I prefer the other clip design that is smaller and is out of the way.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
2 out of 5
Kingston
Hawaii
Jan 10, 2019
Pros: Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Construction
Baton wont close!
Read some reviews about peoples baton not closing and being stuck in the open position. I wish i listened to those reviews because i received mines in the mail today and i had it only 15 min and it's already defective. I've been slamming and pounding it on the ground and even tried using a hammer which some people suggested but no luck. I've been trying for so long i heard my neighbor shouting to shut the hell up. It is a very nice baton and i love how sleek and light it is. In my pocket it's barely noticeable. I just wish the main function of the damn thing worked.
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
1 out of 5
Jay
Saint Augustine, Fl
Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Construction
Baton
Baton got stuck in the open position. The only way I could close it was with a hammer. Now stuck again . Very disappointed
ASP P16 Clip-On Black Chrome Airweight Baton
1 out of 5
Joc
MA
Jan 28, 2019
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Construction
Closing issues
So like everyone else with one star keeps saying, this particular baton has serious issues closing all the way. Even when reading the how-to, doing everything it tells you to do in the instructions, it still has issues closing. It'll retract on the shaft part, but the second level is the one that stays stuck. Sent it back, got another one thinking it was my specific baton, nope. I've found that if you close it at an angle, you only have to smash it on the ground 12 times to close it. Save yourself some aggravation and get a Smith and Wesson or Manadnock.