Reviews and Ratings for Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles

Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handlesrated 3.182 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
3
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25 inch Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles

 

Price: $96.95

Save $50.05 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin A
Alberta Canada
Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Outstanding
Knife rules, Good Trainer, Well Built Quality Materials. I live in Canada and this was at my door in 3 days. Never expected it that fast. Would buy again from Knifecenter without question.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
United kingdom
Feb 18, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
i love the knife
I love this knife I got a fury butterfly knife trainer also but it's a piece of crap the bear ops trainer has lasted for 1 year and I haven't even had to loctite the trainer I love the g10 handles and the blade design I would definitely recommend it for a beginner flipper
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
C. C.
United Kingdom
Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Pretty decent for the price
Got this trainer in order to use as a more beat-around trainer that I wouldn't mind flinging around or dropping, unlike my main flipper which is the Benchmade Model 51. At around $100, it's just around the borderline level of price that would get you a decent flipper that wouldn't just fall apart. As a background information for those who don't know, the B-200 was actually designed by a couple of very skilled balisong flippers and the design was then manufactured by Bear and Son. Since it's been designed for flipping in mind, I had a relatively high expectation for this knife. The handles are long (good for manipulation) and the G10 handles are grippy and won't slip from your hands easily. It is very aggressively textured though, so flipping it for a long time might get uncomfortable, especially if you are doing fanning moves. I would have preferred the feel if they had cut some rounded grooves into the G10 instead, although I can understand that would probably reduce the weight too much and compromise the strength of the handles, since there are no metal liners in them. Although the handles are G10, the end of the handles have metal latch gates which distribute most of the weight of the handles to the ends, which is great for carrying momentum. That was definitely a design choice with flipping in mind. The overall weight of the knife puts it in the medium-to-light flipper category. Some people would probably like this, some people might not. The tang cups on the handles have really sharp edges which is going to scrape up your finger if you try to do Chaplins on it. Fortunately, the handles are G10 so you could just file down the edges to be nice and smooth pretty easily. All the screws came tight on mine, which made flipping pretty much impossible. The leaflet that came with it suggested that you could adjust the screw tightness to your liking, but you'd better watch out since all the screws already came loctited so they won't come out easily. The screw that held the latch was so tight that you could see that the G10 was bent inwards. I stripped that screw trying to get it out. After adjustment of course you will want to re-loctite the screws. The latch is a manual latch that flops around when you are flipping. This wouldn't cause a problem 99% of the time but the other 1% the latch would hit the safe handle, which screws up the momentum of your moves. Since the knife was made for flipping, one would expect that they would put special consideration into the latch design to prevent this. Another knife designed by the same people, for example, have shaped latch heads which are designed specifically in order to prevent the latch getting stuck between the handles, so this is a silly oversight. You could remove it altogether, but I prefer my flipper to have a latch on it. If you are planning to do a lot of aerial moves, it's probably a good idea to remove the latch too, because if you catch the end of the bite handle and that latch lands on your palm, it hurts like all hell. The knife also comes with a pocket clip that you can put on if you want. My suggestion is don't. The clip is huge and ridiculously heavy. With it on, the grip on the handle completely changes, and it's so heavy that it messes up all the handle balance of the knife. I understand that many flippers also prefer their knives without a clip anyway, but personally I prefer to have one as it is a quick, tactile way to tell if you are holding the bite handle. Doesn't matter on a trainer, of course, but if you ever plan to flip a real knife you should always be practising watching out which handle you are holding. Either way, since this knife was supposed to be designed for flipping, you would think that they could design one that would not get in the way of flipping should one choose to use it. For all their flaws, at least the knife was designed so that the latch can be installed on either handles and the clip could be put on either sides of either handles, which would have been excellent if the latch and clip were any good. The orange G10 is a nice colour but it gets dirty really easily, especially inside the tang cups where they strike the tang pins, which transfer black gunk of metal onto the cups. I tried cleaning the pins and sanding out the dirtiness, but after some flipping it just goes straight back to being dirty again. Despite the negatives, at this price range this knife can't be beaten as a trainer, and I would recommend it to anyone. The "main" parts of a flipping knife which is the weight distribution, the size of the handles, the durability, etc. are all here, but I was a bit let down by design oversights in the latch and the pocket clip when the knife should have been designed with flipping in mind. Of course, this is a trainer so maybe these don't matter too much but I think most of these criticisms would carry over to the live-bladed version of this knife as well, where having the latch and clip would actually be useful if you wish to EDC as well as flip it. As a final note: I contacted Bear and Son to get some spare screws for this knife since I stripped one. The cost for a complete set is 8 dollar, not including shipping. I asked how I could send them the money and they only accepted US money order and credit card, neither of which was convenient for me. It didn't seem worth the trouble for an $8 set of screws so I just forgot about it.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Christian
mn
Feb 07, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
great little trainer
Great for when flipping an actual blade isnt practical or acceptable. Not gonna lie it feels cheap when you first flip it. But for the money its pretty decent. Redoing the tread locker is a must and actually wait for it to cure or it will fall right apart. Handles are a bit grip happy but you get use to it. My only concerns are the tang cups getting over worn from the lack of liners, they dent in pretty good. G10 vs metal its expected. Overall for what you get id say its well worth it.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John H
Roanoke IL
Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Weight, None
Good
This is an ok balisong. The tolerances are a little loose and the knife is a little light for my preference, but it is hands down the best trainer on the market
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Karsten A.
Kassel, Germany
Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Blade Material, None
Nice Trainer worth the money
I flip this Trainer a lot and I am realy satisfied with the quality. I also own the GenPro/Ronin Trainer but after a few weeks the handles got loose. But with the BearOps, I can adjust the handle-screws to the amount of handle play I like. I had to use Locktite on the screws to make them stay in place, but now its realy fine. One thing I didnt like is the material of the blade, its realy soft. After dropping it quite a few times, the blade was bend and did not fit in the handles anymore. I could straighten it with my hands but I fear sooner or later the blade will break. And in my opinion, the weight of the trainer could be heavier.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Braedon
ontario canada
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
awesome
flips awesome definitely recommend this procduct.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tobi
Austria
Oct 03, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Man wtf
Oh man i am disapointed the tang pin of the knife broke after 20 minutes of flipping then i did a chap and its broke now because of the new tang pins they are cheaper then before they are screwed together and now i am sad :(
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tmr
TEXAS
Jun 14, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Trash- constantly falls apart.
Even after locktite it's so sloppy that I have to constantly maintenance it. Do not get this.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Kerry
Vancouver
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
terrible, dont buy
the screws werent even properly loctited and completely fell apart on the first day. i would have been so mad if i haven't purchased a screwdriver set before. even AFTER tightning and loctiting myself the screw still came loose and fell apart. terrible quality.
Bear OPS B-201-OR4-P Butterfly Trainer 4.25" Bead Blast Blade, Orange G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Nick
U.S.
Nov 19, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Poor
Used for maybe 15 minutes and it completely fell apart, re attatched the screws and re loctited it and after a day I flipped it again and it fell apart.