Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles - 470-1

Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.833 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3 inch S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $191.25

Save $33.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cutty
Sutton WV
Sep 18, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Best carry knife in 45 years.

Got three of them. Sharpen all three then always have a sharp one. Had one since they came out and used till blade was wore down. Sent it in and replaced the blade. Like the light weight and blade material. I have lots knives. But always come back to this one. Buy one and you will agree is a super every day carry. None beats it. Unless used for hunting and skinning. Not want to get blood in the lock system
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Southern California
Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Awsome little EDC knife

The fit and finish of the knofe is excellent. It is a great EDC/gentlemans folder if you want to use it for that purpose. The handles seem small at first but you get used to them.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Ohio
Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

GREAT Knife!

I have been a fan of Benchmade knives for years, and this knife is no exception. The Emissary is a bit smaller than the 940 series, but what it lacks in size, it makes up for with its axis assist opening feature. If I had it do over, I would get this knife again! Another gem from Benchmade!
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie
Blairstown, NJ
May 24, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great EDC Gentlemen’s knife

If you are looking for an EDC Gentlemen’s knife, that is high quality, thin, and light look no further. You well find that Benchmade did it again; the Emissary AXIS assisted opening 3" S30V Blade, with aluminum handles to a be great choice. Out of the box the knife is sharp, smooth, and well build work of art.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Ann Arbor
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None

Awesome little knife!

I use this knife at work to open packages and small parts bags and it cuts like a hot knife through butter! I had to get a smaller knife to be allowed to carry it at work and this was perfect. It has retained it's age and nice sheen through a ton of bags and cardboard tape with the occasional slip into some cardboard. The handle is nice, but for someone with a little cubbier hands like mine the pocket clip does dig a little into your palm. Overall this was a great purchase! The price scared me a bit at first, but I have dropped it a few times on concrete and asphalt both open and closed and no marks or blade issues at all. The price means quality!
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott
Minnesota
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife!

Product was exactly as described, very high quality material and construction. Blade is very, very sharp.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Fairfax
Dec 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None

Excellent Quality, Ergonomics, & Utility

The Benchmade Emissary is a wonderful knife. I own about 14 Benchmades. And the Emissary and Mini-Barrages are my favorites. These assisted opening knives are wonderful. First, what I like about the Emissary and then a brief comparison with the Mini-Barrage. The Emissary is relatively light and slender. The axis-lock & clip are ambidextrous. It has no blade play whatsoever. The edge was razor sharp out of the box and it's held well. The assisted opening is great. You press on the thumb stud until it's 20 percent out of the closed position and then the assisted opening spring kicks in and snaps the blade into place with authority. The handle is aluminum which can get slippery. So I put grip tape (like the kind you find on skateboards) on the clip and handle and now the grip is solid. My only gripe is that there is a safety which you can use to lock the blade open or closed that is actuated with a switch on one side of the blade (left side with the edge down). It's easy to actuate with your thumb if you are right handed but not so easy if you have to use your index finger if you are a southpaw. The safety on the mini-barrage is on the spine and is much easier to use. This is a small quibble. The Emissary is lighter and thinner than the Mini-Barrage, more of a gents knife. It would be a little better slicer due to the thinness of the blade. The mini-barrage would be a better tactical knife or utility knife. All in all, the Emissary is a great knife. I recommend it highly.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick L
California
Jan 10, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None

Exquisite Design

Beautiful little every day carry. Feels good in your hand and hardly noticeable in your pocket. The safety lock is an excellent feature for an assisted opener. Like all of Warren Osborne's designs, this knife has excellent lines and exquisite design. I highly recommend this knife.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Douglas
southern California
Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Awesome knife

Benchmade knives are top notch! This is the 5th one I've purchased and will most certainly be getting other ones!!
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jtp
New York
Apr 02, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect size. Top Quality

Great EDC knife. Slim size with nice, tip up, deep carry clip. This knife fits perfectly tucked towards the back of my front pocket. I can easily grab stuff from the same pocket without disterbing the knife. You can certainly tell this knife is quality built. I was a bit hesitant about the price but was quickly won over after it came in the mail. Nice work!!
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phollip
Murray, Ky
Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None

The pinnacle of the EDC.

First off...hats off to knife center. I ordered this knife, (my third blade from KC), knowing it was on back order, and after a few weeks, I contacted them to ask about my order status. I was emailed back within the hour and given an update. They truly are a customer first retailer and I'll do all my blade shopping with them as long as my money and blade obsession holds out. Secondly, the Osborne 470-1. To say this is a perfect EDC is an understatement. The fit, and finish, and sheer craftsmanship is really something you have to have in one's hand to explain. The edges are smooth and refined. The aluminum powder coating is superb. It came (nearly) razor sharp right out of the box and frankly just felt like something from a custom shop. Very little blade play, (some is expected from an assisted), and nothing short of damn sexy. Get one, it's worth every penny.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barbara L
Tulsa, OK
Dec 29, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Most-loved gift

This knife was purchased for my grand-daughter's husband for Christmas. He was delighted....says they are the best knives.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Canada
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great little knife

The spring assisted Axis lock is a winning combo. The S30V blade is crazy sharp. Quality is excellent. This is, however, a small knife, about the size of a Ken Onion Leek, but it feels smaller in the hand. Nice EDC, but not for the self-defense minded. Also, the pocket clip does not seat all the way down on my pocket because there is not enough clearance between the screws and the clip to allow passage of a denim seam. Not a showstopper, but a bit of a pity because it could ride a half inch lower if the screws were countersunk.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon S
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice sharp little knife with solid lock up.

Addition to my collection of knives. It's very sharp; has a solid lock up; and I like the safety feature that has to be disengaged before openning the knife. I think this is very important on an assisted openning knife & wish all my assisted openning knives had thais feature.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Ohio
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Knife is so compact that I almost forget I'm carrying it. Carries an extremely sharp edge and sturdy aluminum handle, I would recommend this product to others for daily carry use.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Davide
Italy
Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Perfect

Perfect EDC with very deep carring, beautiful design and steel, I search a lot for a knife like this and finally I found it
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hilmar
WA
Apr 02, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type

Review after using/carrying it daily for 5.5 years

Let me start by saying that this is a magnificent knife, period. I've had this knife for 5.5 years, it's pretty much my daily carry and I use it for all the stuff you'd use a knife for. It's not a display queen, it's a tool, so I use it. Yes, expensive, but over the years it's been awesome. It still opens smooth (with cleaning), I use a cheap sharpener to maintain the edge (again, I'm not a collector, this is a tool to me) and the edge is still fine. Nice build quality, the coloring of the aluminum handle is great, only minor edge wear from getting it in and out of jeans pockets. I carry it in my left pocket, tip up, which the clip can be changed to, another big pro in my book. Usually my dominant right hand carries something that I need to cut or whatever, so I want left hand access. For those into self-defense stuff, it's also quite useful to have a knife on your weak side. I like the blade locking mechanism, but I've also listed it as a con. I like it for daily use, but the problem is that it's not easy to open, so a pain to clean. Which becomes necessary when you clip a knife in a jeans pocket. Benchmade has a cleaning service, but I haven't used that yet. Maybe I should. A little while ago it was so gummed up with pocket lint, I used a motorcycle chain cleaner (spray can with some solvent, largely kerosene based anyway) and it cleaned it nicely out and it still runs smooth. I may have dissolved some lubricant, if there was any, but I don't feel or hear a difference in function. Might be wearing out a bushing, but we'll see. I don't like the pocket clip a lot. I got it caught on something and it bent the clip. An email to Benchmade support and they sent me a new clip, no questions asked. So they stand behind their product. A minus one for Benchmade, due to their choice of getting involved in politics in a one-sided way. Otherwise, an excellent product.
Benchmade Emissary AXIS Assisted Folding Knife 3" S30V Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Richard L
Ventura, Ca
May 24, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

After six years of EDC

I really love this knife but after six years of everyday carry, the assisted opening spring finally broke. Every other aspect of the knife is as I said before, exquisite. In my opinion, an EDC should last at least 10 years or more. We are talking Benchmade here!