Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.724 stars out of 5 (58 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
45
4 star
10
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25 inch Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $297.50

Save $52.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian Z
Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Great knife

Handles feel kind of like chalk but great for a hot or cold day also very light like 4 AA batteries
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
4 Fingers Mcgee
USA
Oct 09, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Beautiful Quality

Overall I am very happy with the Benchmade 51. The only cons (to me that is) are the lock is a bit tough to disengage, but I'd prefer it stay locked than fall open like a cheapo, and the blade is so sharp I can shave the hair off my arm with it. Kinda scary when you do tricks, but as with all balisong knives, it's a risk you have to take. Great knife. :)
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Louisiana
Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight

Amazing flipper

The morpho 51 is everything I wanted as a nice flipper. I was using a Bear and Sons 115, and wore it out in three months so I wanted a nice lifetime worthy model as a replacement. The 51 is a couple of ounces lighter so I had to tork down the handles to slow it down a bit, but as I am getting used to the weight and movement the handles are slowly showing more spin. I highly recommend getting the Benchmade pocket multi-tool also because it has all the torx bits that you will need to properly maintain this knife as well as any others you may own. Great buy! Thanks guys!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Nevada
Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight

Best EDC

I ordered this knife recently and I am very happy with the quality of the craftsmanship. The price was the only real setback, but after receiving the knife, I can tell it was definitely worth the money spent. My only complaint is that it is a little lighter than I would have expected and preferred, but the weight distribution is superb. Overall, worth the money spent.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron A.
Burke VA
Oct 06, 2019
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

The only butterfly knife you will ever need to buy.

The 51 Morpho might be my favorite balisong to flip out there. I'm in no way an expert flipper but I've got to try my hand a flipping a lot of butterfly knives from Bradley Kimuras to BRS Replicants and Alphabeasts and I always make my way back to the Morpho. The light weight and smooth flipping action is what makes this bali so good. Getting the blade moving is extremely satisfying and it makes you feel like you're better at the hobbie than you actually are. The latch never gets in the way and the spring loaded action of the latch makes it quick and easy to the knife open an moving. It's also just a beautiful knife with fit and finish that rivals many custom knives out there.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yusuf Aleivich
New York
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

GREAT KNIFE!!!

The knife is very well made, great quality material. I have had a few balisongs and this one is definitely one of the best! Its pivot pins are quite smooth for flipping, and the blade is great for cutting. Overall it is a great knife and I would recommend it for everyone who loves a great useful balisong.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Garrett M
North Port, Fl
Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

AWESOME BALISONG

Absolutely amazing balisong! G10 handles make it much lighter and less strenuous to flip for hours at a time. Blue Ti-liners make the knife look very elegant while also maintaining the rugged durability. Pocket clip is a nice addition, but for serious flipping I would take it off. On more advanced tricks it just kinda gets in the way. But the D2 steel blade is extremely sharp out of the box and has amazing edge retention!, After a couple weeks of flipping on a regular basis, the blade play is still exactly the same as when it just came out of the box. It also flips very smoothly and no rattling or shaky screws everything is tight and secure. All around great knife and totally worth the money!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthewk
N.E. Ohio
Sep 07, 2010
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type

Finally an EDC balisong

This balisong is reasonably light for a production knife. No more 1/4 pound plus blades in your pocket. Very solid, smooth, and a decent piece of steel - the best production EDC balisong on the market.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Xpmd
USA
Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Benchmade Morpho

The Benchmade Morpho is a wonderful balisong. It is lightweight, useful, and a joy to flip. The blade came razor sharp and the D2 steel sharpens easily. The G10 scales and titanium liners make the handle sturdy and there is zero blade play when the knife is open. The clip and spring-loaded latch also work well.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Honkry
Sweden
Oct 04, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

awesome

its got that nice flow you want and the length is perfect. the pocketclip isn't in the way either and I think its worth every penny
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Dallas, Texas
Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

THE Perfect Balisong.

Lightweight. Solid. Perfectly balanced. Great design. Awesome locking mechanism. Quality expected from Benchmade.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benjamin
,
Aug 25, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None

Perfect EDC Bali, Moderately Great Flipper

Mainly got this knife for flipping; I am an avid knife fan and have several knives I can already EDC so that wasn't the main reason why I got this knife. However due to its decently low weight (REALLY low for most balisongs) and its elegant design and size, it is a nice knife to have on you without getting in the way, as well as it being made of relatively good quality steel and being razor sharp out of the box. The G10 handles and latch for locking into an open position PLUS the minimalistic pocket clip seal the deal making this possibly the best butterfly knife you can carry on a day to day basis. When in the closed position it takes a good squeeze to pop open the spring latch, strong enough that it will never accidentally open in your pocket yet not to the point that you have to grip it with a Hulk fist. All around great quality knife although pricey if you are using it solely for every day cutting purposes. Now to the flipping aspect... the light weight of the balisong is way more complicated than being solely good or bad for the knife. Since I've been used to flipping heavier knives it took a little while to get used to this feather spinning in your hand. Since it is lighter there are times where there is less momentum to control, which is good since it won't cut your hand as deeply if you mess up, but bad when you are used to using momentum to control the flow of the flips. However the pivots are flawless out of the box and the blade flips smooth as butter; it also makes satisfying little clicks in action (unlike some of the more unpleasant clunkier sounds heavier balisongs make, which is just a small detail). Unfortunately if you are a serious flipper you're going to have to deal with handle play at some point and this knife is no exception. If you dont want your BM51 to have severe handle play after a fair bit of flipping it is recommended that you loctite or re-loctite the torx screws and the pivots once in a while. But all-in-all, great balisong for the price range. You won't know until you buy it.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arun Kk
Kozhikode, Kerala, India
Jan 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Benchmade 51 morpho

Excellent product, they give you a great price. Benchmade really lives up to your expectations.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Pullman, WA
May 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Superb workmanship

This knife is very well designed and manufactured, as expected from Benchmade. The relatively light weight is big plus. I wasn't sure if I'd like a lighter butterfly, but It's comfortable and very easy to handle. The Ti liners are a nice touch, and the G10 scales provide for sure handling. Love this knife!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nate K
Cheyenne WY
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife

I ordered this knife and got it through UPS very fast. It is the best knife that I own. Great quality that you can expect from Benchmade. The blade came extremely sharp, I have already cut myself flipping it a few times. This knife is great for flipping, it is a little light, but has awesome play. I reccomend this knife for anyone looking for a good balisong knife.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincent
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Durable EDC, Extremely Light

The D2 steel blade is comes extremely sharp and holds and edge against sawing plastic ties, cutting paper, whittling wood and a whole host of other materials. I've even had light metal-on-metal contact (by mistake) and the blade was not dulled. Fun to flip, just LocTite the screws because they'll come out after about a week of aggressive flipping. It's super light, so rollovers are a little hard, but you'll be OK. The handles are truly an engineering masterpiece. The blade may be a bit overpriced. I think it's really worth like $200, but there is no middle ground with these types of knives. Possibly the best Balisong out there, for the value. Really love the look, feel and performance capabilities of this knife.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barracho
NJ
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None

sick

This is a sick knife. Best part is it wont fall apart like all the cheap ones did i bought.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christopher
Houston TX
Sep 05, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

51 morpho balisong

I would perfer this knife over any other baljsong. It is affordable and can last a lifetime. Its the perfect balisong.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolf
Baltimore MD
Oct 01, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Something new

This is something new is a sweet piece but i had to get use to the weight but overall i recamend this one for firsg time flippers cause the cut wouldn't be bad because of the weight.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jojo
Fort Worth
Nov 03, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Benchmade 51

I wasn't sure I was going to like this product when I purchased it but so many people have the 51 I decided I needed to have one as well. I still have my 42 which was my first balli and still love it and now I'm really liking my 51. It's well made and a little on the light side but it just grows on you the more you flip it. It is definitely a knife worth having.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr Awesome Bob
sochi
Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use

eh

Great, but everything has its ups and downs
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ccf
SW Ohio
May 31, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

I wish I would have purchased a Benchmade sooner

I've owned two butterfly knives prior to this; a brass handled one from Pakistan and a Japanese SS, both during the late 80s. The Benchmade far exceeds the quality of both of these, granted at 10 times the cost, but I feel the cost is justified because the selection of materials and the precision in which they are assembled results in real enjoyment. The attributes that really stand out to me are the balance and grip of the handles.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles M
Frederick, Maryland
May 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None

Screws

This is one of the best butterfly knives I ordered. I ordered this about two months ago and the knife is still in perfect use. But there is one think that I don't like. The screws. About every time I use it the screws come out and it takes me a while to find them. But besides that, everything else about the knife is wonderful.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joey
,
May 21, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight

Excellent Quality; Be Careful

So, I'm relatively new to balis, but definitely not to knives. I've carried for decades and don't go anywhere without a good blade (except a gov't building or place where they're prohibited, of course). I didn't buy this specifically for flipping and I have no aspirations of being anything more than a fidget/hobby flipper. I wanted this as a fun/high quality edc addition to my regular carry complement. This is a high quality knife right out of the box. Fit and finish are top notch and the action is very smooth. The whole thing is very sturdy. The D2 tool steel is solid and made to last with some minor maintenance. For edc, I love the weight. It's a bit lighter feeling than my normal edc SOG Trident Tanto and I can barely feel it in my pocket if I'm around the house and wearing light shorts. The deep carry pocket clip is a huge plus for me and the easily operated lock lets me deploy it easily and put it away just as fast. The blade is literally razor sharp out of the box. I can shave hair off my arm with it, which admittedly is a little overkill for an edc (for me), but is definitely a "nice to have". As a tool, it's definitely useful, and a bit of a fun thing when you nonchalantly whip it out, cut whatever you need to cut, then flip it right back into your pocket and get the wide-eyed looks from people who had no idea you even had a knife on you, let alone that you can manipulate it well. (It probably makes me look like a criminal to some people, but that's not always a bad thing when you want to be left alone. My SOG's assisted opening mech has a similar effect when people think it's a switchblade.) On to the Bali part. As I said, I'm relatively new to the Bali world and have no major ambitions. I'm kinda fidgety (ADD) and having something with me to get that out of my system is helpful. I've been learning on a knockoff Alphabeast trainer, and the weight difference is astonishing. This will definitely take a while to get used to since the handles are so much lighter. The weight that I love as an edc makes it a little harder to flip since it doesn't work up the momentum as easily. I'll adjust eventually to all the extra motion I have to use, but it's definitely a consideration when I learn something new on the trainer and want to move to the live blade. As I said earlier, the blade is shaving sharp right out of the box, which is a double edged sword (pun intended). As an edc I can cut anything I need to, but when flipping it is super easy to slip up and need a band-aid. I bit the cuticle on my index finger in the first few minutes on a wrist pass using the bite handle to deploy the cutting edge out, something I've done dozens of times with my trainer with no issue (it's called a bite handle for a reason, right?). Being so sharp means that the cut was very clean and sealed up tight after a couple of minutes with direct pressure. The crowned rear edge and low weight also prevent bruising when I inevitably hit my knuckles harder than planned, which is not a thing with my trainer (it bruises every time). The learning curve is high, but that's expected with live blade work, especially when you're used to much heavier equipment. All in all, I'm very satisfied with the 51 Morpho. It's different from what I'm used to for edc, but that's not a bad thing. It's a much more precise tool than my regular tanto, I swear I could do minor surgery with this thing. It also forces you to be a more conscientious flipper since the super sharp blade can give you a clean, but very bloody cut with just a light tap. I'm sure I'll modify it in the future because that's just how I am, but for now, it's exactly what I was looking for.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lynn
Murray , Utah
Dec 27, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great

Very cool knife
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Connor
Florida
Apr 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None

Amazing

I love this Bali is amazing. I have had it for a good 2 months of edc and flipping. Just so u know I am not a beginner I have flipped for awhile and it has D2 steel so it holds a edge for edc (I can cuz I live in Florida) and is a exellent flipper. One reason it's a good flipper is because after about 30 mins of EXTREAM flipping, it barley gets loose, it's light so is very fast and fluent and many other things.... Just overall a great knife
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Melissa
Fort Lauderdale
Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None

mommafor2

I bought this for my one son a few years ago and his brother loved it so much he also wanted one. So I bought a second one for him for Christmas and he loves it. It is very good quality knife.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mars
Flint, MI
Jul 30, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Just buy it

I just wanna it really worth the money. Even though it's kinda expensive, but i really enjoy using it. It's well designed, made up with nice material, very light to performe. And dont be afraid of the sharp blade, because it's easier to be controlled than normal cheaper bali-song. But, be careful anyway, because the blade is really sharp.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reed
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Jay
New York City, NY
Dec 25, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Perfect, as expected with all benchmade products.

Beautiful knife. Flawless.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Karl
Ohio
Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Smooth Handling

Very nice. Opens great. Sharp edge straight from the box. Good balance and weight for trick opening and maneuvers.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marszd1
Flint, MI
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Very Good

You will never find some knife better than this.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jacob D
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

good, accurate

Practicing flipping and for utility. It's a bit loose but it needs loc tite anyways. All around pretty great.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy
MD - Maryland
Nov 01, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None

Benchmade 51 Morpho Bali-Song Butterfly 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G1

Bought as a gift but in the past I have own one. Used as a edc until I moved on.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Florida
Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

Flipper extraordinaire

I've owned about half a dozen balisong knives over the course of my life and this is the best quality blade and balisong flipper for the money on the market today it's a Benchmade balisong nothing more to say bought it out of the box never had to tighten it once so far the blade comes as sharp as it can out of the box so be careful when you start flipping because you will cut yourself this is no bear and Son balisong this is a Benchmade balisong and it lives up to the Benchmade brand is plain and simple it's a little on the light side but I actually like that about the blade it has a few more components than I would have liked but overall for the money and the Brand This balisong is incredible the sentence worked beautifully and the grip is phenomenal if you're in the market I would jump on these right away because if they discontinued them you missed out on a great balisong
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt
NW PA
Oct 31, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Among the Best Production Knives I've Ever Owned

I just got this yesterday, so it may be a bit premature to judge, but so far I'm simply blown away by the quality of this knife. This is a much better Benchmade than I've seen in the past. So far I've been unable to find a single cosmetic or functional flaw on this knife (and I'm VERY picky about these things). The first thing that you notice upon picking it up is how light the knife is. The blade is very thin and the symmetry of the grinds is simply perfect. The domed spine is a very nice touch, it makes flipping much more comfortable. It's SHARP too, easily and cleanly slicing newspaper and cardboard. I love the clean look of the kicker pins and the color of the anodized titanium liners and clip. The action is silky smooth and so far the pivots have very little play. Benchmade has knocked this one out of the park.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
2Secksc
Cleveland
Jun 06, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great

Shipped extremely fast, knife was packed nicely and overall it's an extremely smooth flipper, the blade is absolutely beautiful and sharp out of the factory ( I inadvertently tested it on my pointer finger ) it is lighter than you'd expect but I personally like that about it.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chadanator09
Bismarck, AR
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Outstanding!! and a work of art!!

I have nothing negative to say about this knife! I never thought I would pay so much for a knife because I thought it was dumb! But when I held it in my hand I could tell why Benchmade had such a good name. The quality is amazing and it is a true work of art. I love flipping this knife around and it is a wonderful add to my collection. THank you Benchmade for making such a beautiful knife!!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
@Kolb_Brett On Instagram
Alaska
Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Quick Butterfly

Sure, it is light, but a real flipper can flip anything. Fly ti scales are awesome, I have them, but I miss the clacking and weightlessness of the G-10 rolling through my fingers. Has a lot of options for upgrading, scales, different blade type, trainer blade, re anodizing of the liners. All around, this is a good knife.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Palm Beach, FL
Oct 08, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent Knife

I love this knife. It's a larger version of the model 32 which I already had and loved.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Ohio
Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Dceent flipper. Awesome EDC.

The knife flips well once you adjust to the forward weight bias of the blade/handle center of gravity. If you are coming from a heavier knife, it will take some adjustment. But the operation is extremely smooth and everything is high quality. And the light weight has its advantages. First of all, the light weight makes for a great EDC. Secondly, you don't get beat up as much while flipping. Third, when you mess up, and everyone does, you don't get as much damage, either from dropping the knife or grabbing the wrong thing while flipping. Making mistakes is going to happen and the difference between a heavy balisong and a lightweight like this could mean that when you do make mistakes, the result can be getting a minor cut as opposed to heading straight to the ER.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.E.
Connecticut
Feb 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Very nice flipping balisong

Handle feels almost like it's made of wood. Very nice to the touch. Glides well when opening or flipping. The spring loaded latch is nice. Just squeeze the handle and it pops open. Blade is very sharp. Made my finger bleed and didn't even feel it. A good, and a bad thing if you intend to use this knife for trick flipping. Very attractive knife, and overall a very satisfying purchase.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob N.
Murica
May 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Good blade

I have used this knife for about six months and a few days as an edc. The locking is very easy to undo since it is spring loaded, and I have only had it undue without my intentions when I dropped it on asphalt once. The handle is strong and provide good grip but not to much so you can still easily flip it (be careful if you have something slippery on your hands like orange oils though). Although I would prefer a high carbon steel blade like in an opinel, it has been very good at retaining an edge and arrived sharp enough to shave. It is very convenient to be an easy one handed open while still being a strong blade (stronger than most folding blades). I also have not needed lock tight on this balisong which is very convenient. I'm guessing this is because of the washers at the pivot points. Overall a very good blade that is worth the price, assuming you take care of it.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
San Francisco, CA
Apr 05, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

great knife

daily tool, nice looking, fun
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dominic
Riverside, CA
Apr 02, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

best thing ever!

This is a must have. You don't be disappointed!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim P
Boston, MA
Jan 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Beautiful yet durable

It is a lightweight balisong, and a beautiful flipper. Knifecenter had it considerably more affordable than anywhere on the web or in stores. Very sharp blade, and a perfect addition to my collection. The new spring lock is a little different than the BM42, but it does not get in the way. I'm not a fan of the pocket clip, but that's just my preference.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Giovanni G
Roma, Other
Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip, None

At last, Benchmade balisongs

It's a fast, light Bench Balisong. We all know we like to flip, although the tag says EDC. If you like a fast flipping bali this one is for you. D2 steel, G10 scales and titanium inserts. Disk shaped latch that can be easily opened with a sqeeze. A major modification from the previous balisongs by Benchmade are the zen pins, they got rid of the central pin and added two solid pins inside the handles that favor bouncing. Flipping apart, this is a great knife for light EDC but keep in mind, it's much like an engineering product than a cutlery piece.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Strout
New Hampshire, USA
Nov 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight

Benchmade Morpho Bali-song

I've liked and used Balisong knives for at least forty years. This one is very nice and the blade rather easily sharpened to a true "razor edge". It's very pretty as well. The problems I see are the handles are too light to spin or flip well. My example needed the pin reliefs enlarged so one did not have to firmly squeeze the handles together operate the latch. Richard Strout
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
K. S
Rochester, NY
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Great knife at a Great price

-smooth action and lightweight -very sharp -seemed to be best price around
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Will S
Maine
Mar 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip

Bring on the mods

I've owned a few butterfly knives, and this one only a few days. But I am far from new to the knife world and have already subjected it to abuse. Quality: Currently due to the pressure from midtech and small production companies, some would criticize this knife as being poorly made due to materials and configuration. Personally I find that the G-10 is very nicely done, not nearly as rough as some would report; but not nearly slick enough to be considered a problem. The anodizing on the Ti scales and clip is beautiful, and the D2 blade is silky and very nicely done. The screws are decently tight, but you should loctite them so that you won't lose one whilst flipping. The zen pins are an interesting feature and make the knife very appealing visually to me anyways. Utility: Now it's currently illegal to carry/own a bail in 43 of the 50 states. But you can check your local laws. Personally I find this knife very useful, the D2 blade is eye bleeding sharp out of the box and holds its edge very well. I wouldn't use it to pry or chisel (as is warned in the warranty) Yes D2 rusts but so doesn't 1095, or any carbon steel oil it or patina it and you'll have no problem. The lightness of the bali is actually an advantage here. You can flip it open rather quickly with ease, and put it away just as quickly. You may notice the latch and the clip are on the same handle, this makes the bite handle a little heavier, which is good and bad. Good for opening simply to use it, but bad for flipping; as I will explain later on. Flipping: I'm not sure how many people who bought this are aware of the current options out there for a decent bali. But neither of benchmade's two lines usually fall into the category of "competition flipper" currently. The 62 being short and heavy, and the 51 being a little on the light side but having decent length and balance. Now I am aware of the other options out there, but the Tachyon 2 Tanto has blade rub on the spacers, and the Alpha Beast was discontinued. I also wasn't willing to dole out 500$+ for an old 4x Benchmade, or a custom that I was going to abuse daily. That being said I'm not trying to dis this knife comparing it to other knives out there. It holds it's own in a lot of ways against anything below it's price. Here are some pros and cons of it while flipping: -This knife is a little light and demands nothing short of perfection during tricks, when you try your first helix you'll know what I mean. -Since the bite handle is heavier than the safe handle a lot of tricks that originate from the bite handle take more "oomph" to get started and keep them going -The zen pins are great and keep the blade from being pinched and halted during flipping, which infamously plagued the Kimura line of balis -The handles are a great length for flipping longer than most production balis below it's price. -The sharpness of the blade is either good or bad depending on who you are. A light knife makes lighter cuts, and a sharp knife makes cleaner cuts. Don't be afraid to tape the blade at first when you're still getting used to it, but don't let it become a crutch. -Finally the latch was one of the selling points for me. It is a modified kind of spring latch built into the liners and on a bushing (WHY THEY DIDN'T USE BUSHINGS AS THE PIVOTS I WILL NEVER KNOW .-.) but it will spring open and stay out of the way, and when you are using it it locks into place! It doesn't fall out of place when you're using it. Looks: This is one sharp looking knife (pun intended) the black G-10 really brings out the bright and clear blues anodizing, and the clipped spear point blade is very classy. It's a very sleek modern looking knife, there is quite a wow factor to anyone watching you flip. Or even watching the knife in your hands. Mods: If you forum crawl often enough then you will realize that for just about every "flaw" named there is a solution. Need more weight? Take some Tungsten putty and smoosh it into the ends. Or order some Titanium handles from a forum maker, they are well done and more than worth it! Need better balance? Take of the latch and clip and file down the ends of that stick up. I love this knife and plan on modding it to exactly what I want (yes this voids the warranty). I would highly recommend that everyone try to find what's best for them, and most importantly. Enjoy your new bali!!!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mangy Dethrattle
anywhere there's water
Mar 26, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None

BM51

Beautiful knife, however fit and finish is not quite perfect. The anodization and jeweling is better on the safe handle side than the bite side, and a few burrs are present in the radius of the G-10. Also burrs present on a few of the chicago screws that hold together the handle. Blade itself is awesome, tho I will need to touch it up. Overall, my only complaints are cosmetic.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
K
Maryland
Mar 01, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Love it

Very good knife.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Tennessee
Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
I love this knife! I have collected and carried knives all my life, the quality of Benchmade knives is fantastic! The D-2 steel blade with a little amount of honing the edge, I can use it to shave. It's my EDC, and made me the number one fan of Benchmade, only thing I can find wrong is it's a little light for flipping but everything else makes up for it. Benchmade is the only knives I buy now.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kradpsycho
Auk Bay, Alaska
Feb 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

A good knife

The area of the blade by the hilt looks like a weak spot where it might snap. I assume it has been well stress tested? I am sure it is strong enough for normal use, but life is not always normal.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Johnny N.
Corpus Christi TX
Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None

Best Bali-song on the market

This is definitely the best bali on the market now. The quality of the knife is superb, the spring latch is one of a kind and doesn't get in the way of flipping, the handles are comfortable because of the g10 scales and durable because of the titanium liners. Great knife/flipper, but not perfect. The weight of the knife is fine, but could use a little more in my opinion. Another con is that there are well over 35 parts in this knife. You must be careful when disassembling it to avoid losing crucial pieces. The last nitpick I have is the pocket clip. The pocket clip is made of titanium and works really well, but it is not removable. Without the pocket clip, the pins that hold the bottom of the knife together will be too large and the handles will not stay together. For the most part the pocket clip will not get in the way and it does serve as a tool to tell you where the bite handle is. Overall: This is still the best balisong on the market for flipping in my opinion. The pros outweigh the cons by far (most of the cons are really in my opinion). Worth every penny and will last you a lifetime.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John
USA
Feb 06, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip

Tatanium inst as nice as expected

Blade centering is off so its hitting my safe handle!
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jjp7216
Albuquerque N.M.
Mar 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight

ok

Handles are a bit light for flipping / Don't know if the handles will hold up to work (they deform easly, but spring back also) The blade is sharp & touches up easly - My mistake, did not know that this was a left handed knife so I had to take it apart & flip the blade for right pocket / hand use not a big deal except in the manual that came with it "disasembly of this knife voids warrenty" OH WELL - Action is nice and lock is clever.
Benchmade 51 Morpho Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.25" Satin D2 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brad
Chicago
Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material

With FlyTi its not bad for flipping

To make this a competitive flipper I got FlyTi scales and blade, added more weight for both and blade has bushings. Made it a nice flipper but cost another $180+ Stock the knife is too light for flipping! imho Most cost effective flipper I've used is BRS Rep, the Rep is a better flipper more handle to play with, more momentum, and you don't have to upgrade it. I love my FlyTi 51 but would take Rep, AB, Ex10, Bask-R Ti over it for flipping. Size and latch make it a great flipper to carry/edc. Latch is really nice, all my other latches have been removed for lanyard.