Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive - 535-1903

Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusiverated 4.857 stars out of 5 (14.0 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive

 

Price: $140.25

Save $24.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle
Grand Island, NE
Oct 09, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Easily Best Bugout Ever!

The new finish is a fantastic look and the red/black is just a full slate of badassery! Especially the red thumb stud and standoffs. KC seems to always nail it w/ their exclusives - also have their wood handled spyderco models - keep up the fantastic work!! What's next?
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morton
Pennsylvania
Jul 16, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Addition

Super addictive action. I find myself pulling it out for no reason other than to open and close it a couple times. The colors are what I've been waiting for from the bugout. Amazingly light weight... I mean, you can forget its there in athletic shorts (but only briefly, before wanting to look at it and flick it a couple times again). Will definitely be in steady rotation. Amazingly fast delivery as well. So pleased with my discovery of knife center. Great selection, reviews, and fair prices.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian M
WI
Oct 07, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Soft grippy scales

Three observations about this battlewash Bugout: 1. The “black” is grayer than I expected. 2. Of the 10 Benchmades I’ve had, almost all have needed break-in. This one is centered, no play, and falls shut out of the box. 3. The scale finish is very slightly tacky to the touch. Feels more rubbery or G10-like as opposed to the hard plastic slickness of the blue grivory. I’m glad I picked it up.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
Phillipsburg, NJ
May 25, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Benchmade Bugout Battlewash great EDC.

Very satisfied with Knifecenters fast shipping and easy online ordering. The Battlewash finish looks even better in hand, it has a dark grey color that gives it a worn look and a grippy feel. The blade was centered with good action and sharp out of the box. Super lightweight and and thin you don't even feel it in your pocket. The mini deep carry clip is great. The Bugout is a perfect EDC and the only thing that could make it even better is using the new CF Elite scales. Anyway I love the Bugout and hope to see another Knifecenter exclusive soon.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fatty
Naptown, In
Oct 01, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Finally!

I love the buyouts! I own 11 different styles and have even made my own on benchmades website but this exclusive from KC has topped them all! Wonderfully done fellas!! Bravo!
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron A.
Burke VA
Oct 06, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best Looking of the Bugouts.

I always liked the Bugout for its slim profile and light weight but was always turned off by available color options. The Battlewash Bugout hits the nail on the head in terms of aesthetics by giving it a pre-warn look with a pop of red accents that make this knife fit in with some of my well used gear right away. This knife is perfect for EDC because it disappears in the pocket thanks to its deep carry pocket clip and is ready to go at any moment. Because of the slim lightweight nature of the knife I wouldn't recommend it for any kind of hard use but it is still perfect for any small day to day cutting task. Of course Benchmade's Axis-Lock provides addictive opening and closing action but my favorite thing about this knife knife is that I still get a comfortable 4 finger hold even with such a slim profile. If there is a knock I can really give this knife it's that the edge isn't perfect right out the box but if you have a good sharpening set up you can get the S30V razor sharp no problem.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mkmac
Arkansas
Jun 29, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Might be the perfect EDC

Rest of my knifes are collecting dust. The Bugout in general is an outstanding design and the Red Battlewash really makes a great combination.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Byron
,
Oct 08, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love it

Smooth action, lightweight, great feel in the hand. Also is noticeably thin in your hand. Really enjoying the action on this and it looks fantastic.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
T Mac
IL
Sep 23, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Glock of Knives!!!

Love this knife, it came with everything I was gonna customize a Bugout with except the scales which are better then any I could've found online, The red and black looks awesome. There is no need to worry about the flex of the scales it's fine doesn't affect anything, not one thing. I don't like coated blades so that was perfect also, I like to see the grind of the blade. This knife truly is the Glock of the knife world. Haters gonna hate, let em!!! Don't hesitate get yourself one today. Any model you chose you'll be more than satisfied.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald
Canal Fulton, Oh
May 15, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife

I have 3, this one, Ranger Green and CF-Elite. They all perform excellent at what they were designed to do. I can hardly tell a difference between the 3. Great materials and steel, very sharp and slicey, light, compact and pack able. Scales have good grip with a comfortable surface, the Ranger Green seems a touch better scale surface. I don't loose grip and my knife hand is injured with limited movement and feeling. A couple drops of oil with proper adjustment and and they all 3 are easily one handed flickable to open and close. Though the thumb stud to open draws less attention. Well made, good materials with excellent fit and finish. They aren't heavy duty camp or hunting knives but I like them for what they were made for and and they do it well.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Big E
OH
May 18, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nearly perfect EDC

Wow, this knife surprised me. I didn't want to like it because I'm not a fan of Benchmade's anti-2A activities, but it seemed too good not to try. I have a lot of Spyderco blades, but I've really struggle to find the perfect EDC. Many of them are great, but there always seems to be one or two things that prevent them from being ideal. Some have poor clips, others don't have the lock I want, some are too big, too small, etc. The Bugout gets it right. No, it's not a heavy-duty knife, but for someone like me who just wants a nice, lightweight, thing EDC, this thing is amazing. It's not much heavier than my Spyderco Dragonfly, but it packs a lot more blade. The carry clip is perfect, action is smooth, and I even like the lock. It has a self-closing bias, so I'm not worried about it accidentally opening in my pocket. Overall, everything looks to be high quality, and the red battlewash looks sick. If I want to nitpick, I prefer the Spyder hole for opening instead of a thumbstud, but no biggie. The only other thing I can really complain about is the price. Yeah, it was a lot, but if BM backs it for life, I suppose it's worth it. For such a substantial blade length, you barely feel this thing in your pocket. If you're looking for a lightweight knife that you won't beat on, I think you'll love this little gem. We'll see how it holds up over time, but so far, so good. I will probably buy another in a different color. It's that good. Spyderco has no competition for this at the moment. No one does.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randall
Plainfield, In
Oct 10, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

My new favorite

I've had a Bug out previously - it seems that was within the past year or two but I was unimpressed at that time. The axis lock stuck and I could not "un-stick" it - it was returned. This new knife does not seem like the same type of knife - this thing is amazing. The color and "worn" feel and look out of the box is cool. Smallish clip is easy to move for left hand carry and the blade is a very usable size and shape. With the slim profile it carries light enough to forget it's there. There is nothing not to like except "maybe" the price.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason J
Sebring, Fl
Jun 06, 2020
Pros: Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Awesome version of a great EDC

This is my third bugout and it is by far the best looking one I have purchased to date. The red standoffs really pop with the battle worn paint scheme. Action is very smooth. Giving 4 stars as this one looks like it may have gotten skipped in the quality control room. The centering is off and the axis lock screws have burs which are noticeable. I can live with the burs by turning them 180° but the centering being off does bother me. Kind of disappointing to have this happen with a Benchmade. I’m hoping I just got the oddball that snuck through the final check station and this isn’t normal. The other two bugout’s I own (the blue and ranger green versions) are perfectly centered and smooth with no lock stick or any other issue. The other 5 Benchmade models I own have all been perfect as well so I won’t hold it against them.
Benchmade Bugout AXIS Folding Knife 3.24" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Red Battlewash Grivory Handles - KnifeCenter Exclusive
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
New Mexico
Feb 10, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Pocket Clip

Very nice light weight EDC

This is a review of the Knifecenter exclusive version. I don't have any other Bugouts. I purchased this as an EDC blade on the advice of a friend. I was a bit leery because I'm not a big fan of grivory. I always feel like it's too slick. When I received it I was really surprised at how light it was. That's a big plus.It literally felt like nothing was in my pocket. I caught myself checking to see if I lost it. I tried to use it for every little task I found. And both my son and I love the colors. Right away I was really disappointed in the pocket clip. The deep carry was nice but how it bends up and around to accomplish that was uncomfortable. It left a sore spot on my hand after a few uses. My Osborne never did that. I actually ended up replacing the clip with a more traditional one from an old AXIS Auto I can no longer use. It feels so much better in a tight grip now. The blade itself was very sharp out of the box, as I have come to expect from Benchmade. No play, and very solid lockup. The AXIS system is a favorite of mine for that reason. However opening and closing felt gritty and rough. I've read another review where they said they blade fell closed. Mine definitely didn't. It was very tight with no free movement when the lock was disengaged. I worked on opening and closing it for a number of days. I went through a few hundred repetitions with no improvement. I ended up polishing the surfaces on the bearing side of the blade where the lock bar runs and it moves quite smoothly now. Basically I gave it a trigger job. Is the Bugout my favorite? No. Will I put it in my EDC rotation? Yes. Would I recommend it to someone? Not for the price. For $40 more you can get the Benchmade Osborne which is far superior IMO. Or don't get the exclusive version and get a regular one.