Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles - 556-1

Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handlesrated 3.667 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91 inch CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles

 

Price: $174.25

Save $30.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Birmingham, AL
Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A stepped up Griptillisn
I have been looking at popular EDC's for some time. I love the looks and setup of the Griptillian but thought the handle felt too cheap and plasticy. This model replaces the handles with G10, which has a much richer feel, and slightly changes the grip design to make it less abrasive. You also get a 20cv steel blade, which is virtually identical to m390. This is different from the regular Griptillian, which has a 154cm blade. I am no steel expert on steel, but Internet research tells me that this is a much more durable steel. I like the looks, but some may not. This is essentially a much nicer Grip, but with the same great ergonomics. I haven't but the blade to tough use yet, but expect that it will hold an edge better than 154cm. Will see with time. I like it a lot.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marcus
Winterville, Ga
May 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great little edc and a perfect griptilian version
The g10 is smoother then the regular griptilian and slightly more narrow, 20cv steel holds a fine edge a long time. Have had it for about a year now and am going to pick up a second one. I have over 60 BM(entry level to exclusives) and ALL but one has a free drop blade with absolutely no blade play whatsoever, maybe lucky?...no, they are tricky to adjust I will say, but if you cannot get a drop free blade with no play, you are over correcting the pivot adjustment, the pivot screw needs to be a finer thread Imo to broaden the adjustment "window" buuut perfect pivot adjustment is possible with patience and in time with experience adjusting a BM is a snap to do. And yes I have had a few be a booger to adjust perfectly but is totally possible. They are pricey, but worth it to me.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike L
Houston, Tx
Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Blade play
First of all this knife is amazing. With that being said, it did come with a little side to side play. As does almost every benchmade I've ever purchased. Let me be the first to tell you, if you want your blade to hang super loose and flop around like you see everyone have their benchmades set to, expect a little blade play. That's just the way it is! I prefer my blade to be smooth, yet tight and a bit firm. Therefore absolutely zero blade play. When purchasing a benchmade it requires a tiny tiny tighten of the pivot screw to eliminate every spec of blade play. If someone's blade is dangling down when open and they say there is no side to side, they are either lying, or aren't as snobby as me when it come to that specific issue. I wish someone would have cleared this up for me years ago. So to anyone new to a benchmade, don't worry your knife is amazing. Just tighten it a very small amount.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nik
MD
Dec 05, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
A lot of knife in a small package
I'm in a suit during the week and work on a small farm on the weekend, so I use my EDC for everything from opening letters to cutting rope. I was hesitant to use the 556 because I prefer larger knives, but pulling out a larger knife at work is kind of awkward. I started carrying the standard 556 and it grew on me fast. It does tough jobs with ease, fits the hand well, and is comfortable to wear in slacks, shorts or jeans. Have a few 556-1's on order and can't wait to try it out. The steel is tougher, the handles are better quality, and the looks are better.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Ada, OK
Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Beautiful knife
This knife is absolutely beautiful and no detail is skimped on. The blue spacers and screws are a nice contrast to the muted gray handle. No blade wobble and easy to open with the thumb or pull back the lock and just flick your wrist. This knife is considerably more expensive that many others and I can see why. The detail, craftsmanship, and material are all first rate. I just use it for normal cutting chores and haven't put it to a real test but I have a couple of Gerbers that I don't mind abusing rather than take a chance to damage this beautiful knife. If I had one wish about it, that would be that the handle was a bit more tacky but then if it were softer, it would wear quicker. I highly recommend the Knife Center and Benchmade..Splurge and get this one instead of buying cheaper ones and replacing them often..
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Cliff S
Largo Fl
Apr 20, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material
556-1 gray mini
Super fast shipping!! Knifecenter ROCKS!!! knife arrived a day earlier than projected, probably kc processing. Very sharp upon arrival and very very tight. Had to adjust pivot right away. Material just has a cheap look and feel to me. The texturing goes the same length as the pocket clip and then it gets smooth with an imitation wood grain pressed into it. Now for the pocket clip good lord it's huge on this knife it's bigger than my Z T pocket clips. So big it's intrusive and uncomfortable plus it stands too far off the blade thickness wise. The knife feels much better without the pocket clip at all. The good news is you can carry it in your pocket without a clip because it's small. Excellent blade Steel. No side to side play or vertical play centered well. It just looks like it should be a $25 knife or less. Blade steel makes it maybe 50.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dan
Ohio
May 03, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Long Term Review -- great mechanics, lousy steel
Mechanically, the knife is great and it still opens smoothly, locks up perfectly and closes easily and centered. The big disappointment was the 20CV steel. On my knife, it's very fragile and chips far too easily, IMO. Between sharpening, sections of the edge look serrated up close and sharpening takes longer as a result. I sharpen at 20 degrees. Knife has not had hard use -- 50-year-old white-collar guy's edc, basically. I'm a Benchmade fan, but I got a bad one here I think.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ds
Ohio
May 07, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material
"super steel" that chips like porcelain
It's pretty, that's about all I can say for it. This knife can't take even light use without getting chips all over the edge. I've got other knives with 20CV that are fine, so I suspect the heat treating/tempering is not right. I even tried to get Benchmade to replace the blade with a cheaper S30V blade, but they won't do it. It was a waste of $175 and after a little more than a year of light suburban use cutting cord and boxes I threw it in the trash where it belongs.
Benchmade Mini Griptilian Folding Knife 2.91" CPM-20CV Satin Drop Point Plain Blade, Gray G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mike C
Victoria , Bc
Oct 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Terrible Quality Control
Heard how great Benchmade was so I decided to get the 556-1. Now don't get me wrong, the knife is amazing.! It is the sharpest knife I have ever recieved out of box. The deep pocket carry clip is awesome and it looks great......that is untill I looked inside where the blade is. There are 3 screws sticking out into the frame at different lengths.??? How this got past Benchmades obviously non exsitant quality control is beyond me.? One screw is about 10 thousands of an inch away from touching the blade. Lol. It's not funny but it is. I will take these screes out and file them down because this knife is worth it. I cannot give it a better rating than 1 tho because I spent alot of $ on this knife and it was put together by an incompotant builder. Back to my Spydercos where nothing like this has ever happened..