Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles - 810SBK

Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.700 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98 inch CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $212.50

Save $37.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John F
CLEVELAND OHIO
Sep 03, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
FINE KNIFE
SERIOUS KNIFE FOR EVERYDAY CARRY. GREAT QUALITY.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jackson
Pennsylvania
May 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Fantastic knife, worth the price
I bought this knife for both EDC and around the house. Wow is this worth the money. Fit and finish are superb. Alignment is excellent and the opening is so smooth you wouldn't even want assisted opening on this knife. Also, I have small to medium hands but even though this knife is on the large size, I have no problems gripping it securely and no problem flicking it open in a flash. Very sharp edge out of the box - it cut right through a piece of paper no problem. Only slight concern some people have mentioned with this knife is the grip is rather rough. However, this grip helps keep it secure in your hand and it doesn't hurt my hand. Maybe if I had this knife in my hand 4 hours a day with no gloves it might bother me. But for EDC and chores around the house, it is just fine. And you can always smooth down the grip as others have suggested.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl.
Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A TRULY AMAZING KNIFE
this is an incredible piece of work by benchmade.i have come to expect nothing but the best from benchmade but the contego far exceeds all expectations.this is a large,heavy,solid knife that will prove equal to any task set before it.the quality of materials and the fit and finish are beyond anything that you have the rite to expect from a production knife.pick the contego up and handle it,you find yourself in the territory of high priced customs.opens smooth and easy,locks up tight with no blade play.comfortable in your hand and well balanced.designed to work with you no matter what you are doing.closing is smooth and blade rests dead center.the contego is a real winner from bench made and no serious user or collector should be without at least one.and thankyou to knife center for being able to get me one before anyone else could.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Owl
USA
Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome. Just Plain Awesome.
What can be said about this knife, that hasn't already been said. I liked it so much I bought a second one. I like everything about this knife. No complaints other than there is no lanyard hole; but used a constrictor knot on the clip, and that works pretty good for when I need a lanyard. The Contego is just another awesome Benchmade. It's really not as big as people claim it to be, and the G10 is nowhere near as bad as they say either. I use it fine without gloves. It is just a great knife all around. It's just more 'tactical' than 'recreational' or 'utilitarian' ; so, however you define those things will essentially determine your satisfaction with this knife.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Chan
Nor Cal
Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Holy Benchmade!!
I'm excited to add the Contego SBK to my collection of Benchmade knives, I already own the 860SBK Bedlam manual. The Contego right out of the box is a very nice EDC, the balance and weight is near perfect. The G10 handles are very tacky and aides when my hands are wet. It's a nice upgrade from my SOG Flash II that I own. The price point is great from Knifecenter.com is unmatch from any online retailer.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Philippe L
Fleurier, Switzerland
Jun 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Not too big, easy to use, the CPM-M4 blade is strong for EDC. Excellent service from KnifeCenter, lie for all knifes I bought
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Elmers44
Woodworth,LA
Apr 02, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None
Exceptional Knife!!!
Usual impeccable material, workmanship, design that keeps me coming back to Benchmade. This knife is maybe even a cut above the usual Benchmade. Fit is perfect, smooth opening, whisper sharp from the box, innovative blade design for slicing and stabbing. It is a BIG burley knife!! The grip is very aggressive which is great for field use with wet or sweaty hands. I really like this feature. IMHO i find the size and weight of this knife works better for me in jeans and BDUs. Might be a little much for dress slacks. BUT, that’s just me. Love the knife.. Many Benchmade products and I keep coming back..AND keep coming back to Knifecenter.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miller
Pa
Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Big Knife
Great knife. It is on the large side. The grip is rough but good with gloves.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S.
Pittsburgh, PA
May 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Workhorse with style
I was looking for a heavy duty everyday carry and couldn't have found better. From opening packages to shaving just a bit off a window frame, this baby does it all.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark B
Las Vegas Nevada
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Review
This was a gift to my son. He is in law enforcement. This knife will come in handy for his daily tasks.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Owl
USA
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Tactical Folder
It's a great knife. I love it. It's my new all time favorite folder. It's a solid large folding knife with great craftsmanship. Aggressive G10 handles and lots of gimping. I bought a second one, I liked it so much. The only drawback is there is no lanyard hole. Otherwise: BENCHMADE - Don't change a thing on this knife, and keep producing them!
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry
Northern Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Amazing Knife
This is by far the most amazing knife I have ever owned. It came sharp enough to shave a frog and after hard daily use on the farm for the past month, it is still just as sharp. It is a large knife, but it fits well in your pocket and is held in place very securly by the clip. I would recommend this knife to anyone that seriously uses them. Also, dealing with www.knifecenter.com was an excellent experience. Great prices and extremely quick shipping. I will be a repeat customer.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon
PA
Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Don't ego
This is my favorite so far. Perfect size, weight, durability, and a premium steel. This is the best tactical/edc blade in the benchmade lineup in terms of quality, value, and price. I prefer it to my adamas and spyderco military.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John C.
RIVERSIDE CA
Jun 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
LARGE BUT STYLE MAKES IT GOOD FOR EVERYDAY CARRY
FITS REGULAR POCKET WORK PANTS,THE GRIP IN ALL CONDITIONS IS THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD AND I OWN ALOT OF KNIVES,THE HANDLE IS SLIM FITS HAND PERFECTLY ALWAYS IN CONTROLL THE WHOLE DESIGN IS THE BEST I HAVE 26 BENCHMADES WITH THIS LOCK I THINK AXSIS IS THE BEST & STRONGEST,THE BLADE WORKS WELL IN EVERY WAYI USED IT &IT IS A BIG KNIFE
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jr
Raleigh, NC
Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight
Great Knife
The Good: The superb construction of this knife is the first thing noted when pulling it out of the box. The unique milling on the handle scales give a great look an feel. Overall very solid construction. Great solid utility knife The Bad: A little big for an EDC knife, but liveable. Better for jeans than khakis. The pocket clip is a bit of a lightweight and doesn't live up to the durability of the rest of the knife. After two weeks of every day carry, the clip is already losing some of the black finish and it has lost spring tension. I'm not even sure the clip is made of a spring steel. All this and I work in an office, so no hard use. I am considering ordering a few extras. The blade is machined from a very large piece of CPM-M4 steel, so it's begging for an assisted opening mechanism. This knife is a four star, but an improved pocket clip and upgrade to the axis assist would make it a solid five.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Patrick
New York
Feb 15, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Solid Knife
Knife feels solid. Handle is a little rough, but still feels secure while holding. Blade is tough to sharpen, but just needs extra elbow grease and its fine.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Erock
mass
Apr 06, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
this thing is a beast!
When I first opened the box I was surprised at how big this knife is. Honestly if it was 3/4 of its size I would like it better. It's a pretty big knife you shove in your pocket. The g10 handles are very rough. I didn't like them at first but they have grown on me. The axis lock is smooth as can be. Blade was very shape. Overall a great knife and very cool lookin.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dj
Cali
Jun 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
Nice blade, G-10 handle is rough
I really like the blade on this knife. Axis lock is good. Nice balance but I am spoiled with the spring assist in the barrage. I wish this knife had that option. It opens easy enough and closes well. The G10 handles are rough on the dress pants.
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scout671
Guam, USA
Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
contego 810
Great design. Pretty much my perfect folder. Not sure about the m4 steel...only had it for about 2 weeks. Time will tell. Great blade!
Benchmade Osborne Contego Folding Knife 3.98" CPM-M4 Black Combo Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Henning H
Kissimmee
Aug 03, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Big with a solid build
This is a very good knife, locks firmly and has a strong and high quality blade. The handles feel a bit rough, a bit "grippy". Even for a tactical knife I feel the grips make for a somewhat uncomfortable handling. I have a few Benchmade knives, but this one is not my favorite.