Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch

Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latchrated 4.941 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5 inch CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch

 

Price: $552.50

Save $97.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Sep 08, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
Butterfly straight razor
Pros: extremely high quality, razor sharp OTB, love the magnetic latch, single billet titanium handles feel amazing, centering is perfect, pivots are silky smooth Cons: sheath is almost unusable - the Velcro loops are too big for the cutouts they’re supposed to fit through
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
Oct 19, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
PS
Contacted Benchmade about the sheath: this knife is too big for any of the other sheaths or pouches they make. They recommended a custom sheath maker, whose products I was not impressed with. Ended up finding a perfect fitting sheath I did not expect: 5.11 single pistol magazine pouch ($15 at Cabela’s). Knife is on my belt every day now. Hope this helps :)
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Eastlake, Oh
Jan 05, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath
High Quality Keeper
When the model first came out I wasn't sure what to make of it. Now that I have it in hand and had some time to get to know it, I am more than happy. I was dreading buyers remorse. I still think the Premium BRS Alpha Beast is the best production flipper on the market right now but this is no slouch. I haven't had any issues with the latch that people first reported. The only thing negative I can say has to do with the sheath. In short, it sucks. Whats with the flimsy velcro? Not sure what Benchmade was thinking. I always thought sheaths were an area were BM could do better. The sheaths that come with the hunt line are terrible and seem like an afterthought. Build quality and fit and finish are impeccable. I liken this model to something I would envision Chris Reeve making if he designed a balisong. Everything just screams quality and precision engineering. In terms of flipping action, the best way to describe it is smooth and deliberate. At first I thought the bevels on the handle might interfere with tactile feel when flipping but I don't even notice them. Where I think this balisong differentiates itself is that it screams to be used, not just flipped. In a zombie apocalypse, if I could only take one folder with me in a survival situation, this would be it. I have no doubt it could baton through wood with ease and do heavy-duty work. In short, it's a beast of a knife. The blade profile is excellent for EDC tasks although this would be a bit large to carry around for that purpose. Who is this knife for? Flippers, collectors, and those who want something new and unique. Generic weehawk and tanto balisong styles do get tired after a while and its good to see something new without having to blow a couple grand on a custom knife. This blade and design is pretty unique in the production balisong world. Who is it not for? New flippers or casual users. Not just because of the price but because this is basically like a ~5 ounce straight razor that spins on ball bearings. If you got this balisong to learn to flip, I would tape that blade up real good as it will slice you up like nobody's business if you screw up. This knife comes with a wicked sharp S30v tip and edge. Best blade on a production balisong I have yet come across. I have been flipping for a while and admit that during the first half hour the blade profile was a bit intimidating until I got used to the handling. I taped the tip at first as it is extremely aggressive.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Solomon
Portland, OR
May 02, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Flipper/Amazing Tool
I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. I bought this knife because I wanted a quality flipper with a durable build. I bought this particular bali-song because of the quality of the steel used for the blade and its toughness. I did not realize the blade would be as big as it was but it is a great shape and design. Precision cutting is very easy. It has an extremely sharp point. I really enjoy the smooth as butter flip. I love the old school look. This is a knife I will pass down to my boy one day. This is not just a flipper or tool knife, its a legacy knife built to last forever. Its worth every cent. Thanks knifecenter.com for the stellar deals, fast shipping, and quality knife brands.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tommy
Arizona
Mar 22, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
New EDC. Love it.
I will start off with saying that this Balisong has turned into the knife I love the most. My collection of blades is a decent size with the bulk of my blades being folding knives; Spyderco and Cold Steel mainly. A few years ago I was turned onto Balisong's by a friend who gifted me a Pacific Cutlery Model 68. Little did I know.....I had no idea how to flip/open these style of knives and a year or so went by before curiosity got the better of me. My jaw dropped on the floor when I discovered what I was given, I always suspected it was a Benchmade product due to the butterfly logo, but the "Balisong" was unfamiliar to me. I still can not believe that after twenty plus years of owning and collecting folder's, loving the steel, learning how to sharpen a blade to a razor's edge, cleaning, caring for them, and I never handled a butterfly knife. Now I am hooked. Just a little more back story (it is important) and then I will delve into my impression of the BM87. Butterfly knives just scared me I suppose. The thought of twirling a razor blade in my hands seemed like a bad idea, especially given the fact that ALL of my knives are sharper than average. Anyone reading this most likely falls into the same category, otherwise you have no reason to be purchasing a $500 knife. YouTube videos taught me how to properly open a balisong. The Pacific Cutlery I started with is a great blade, but is only 3.1" in length, sports a utility style balde, stainless handles and the pivot pins are flush. It does not deserve to be used as an EDC which is why I started looking to replace it. In the meantime, research led me to purchase a Squiddy trainer. Love it too. With that confidence, I wanted a Balisong to carry as an EDC. I put the BM87 on layaway. At the same time I managed to get it on a BRS Barebones Tanto V2. After the short handled PC 68, and the light weight Squiddy, the BRS was a real contender. It is smooth and balanced. Overall the best Balisong I own, until now. The Benchmade 87 took three months of payments and arrived just after the new year. Those three months saw me carrying the Squiddy for practice, the BRS to use as my EDC, and a Spyderco Tenacious. Mind you that those three blades, plus a SOG multiplier tool were on me at all times. That is a lot of weight on my belt and in my pockets. I could not really see using the BRS for EDC, the blade is scrawny and the tip is fragile. One drop or wrong twist while cutting is not going to do it any favors to say the least. To top it off, the up-swept profile of the tanto tip actually stabbed me no less than three times on the back of my middle finger, into the knuckle on the base of the finger. I rarely cut myself, even while learning to flip bali's, minor light cuts of course happen, but that BRS has drawn the most blood. The day the 87 arrived, I was so excited. Watching video reviews, reading every review I could find, had built it up and it was finally here. The finish is awesome. The bead-blasted surface offers so much grip compared to the other three butterfly knives I described above. The handle length is just right for a secure grip while performing any cutting task. The magnetic latch pops out of the detent with a simple squeeze and remains in line with the bite handle. I never secure it in the open position, but rest assured, it is tight and makes the knife feel like a fixed blade. The lack of blade play contributes to this as well. Flipping the 87 is a dream. It is so smooth. There is a difference in how the knife feels compared to the bronze-phosphor washers used in other systems. I do keep a small container of Rem Oil in my sharpening kit (along with a full range of torx drivers) to maintain the 87. I am not afraid to get the blade wet and I do wash the knife to keep the channels of the handles clean, as well as the blade. Just make sure to dry it and oil it properly on a regular basis, no different than any other knife. I can pretty much do all of the basic beginner moves falling short of behind the 8-ball. The move that made the BRS Barebones Tanto stab me was going from an ice-pick back to a normal hold. The 87 does not come anywhere near close to my finger. The steel of the 87 is razor sharp. I have EDC'd CPM-S30V for about three years in the form of a Spyderco Native, so I am very familiar with the characteristics and the 87 is consistent with that. The edge remains sharp and requires less maintenance overall. The blade profile is conducive to daily cutting tasks, which for me has always been boxes and tape. Then whatever else happens to come along, be it clothing material, leather, and first aid. I carry the multi-tool for more intense tasks. The right tool for the right job. The 87 easily pops the hair off my arms, it is so hard to get rid of that mange...I recommend Spyderco's Sharpmaker kit to maintain the edge. My kit is over 20 years old and is still going strong. The last item regarding the 87 is the sheath. Just about all the reviews are negative. I disagree. The material is soft, holds the knife securely on my belt in a vertical position, and I never have worried about the blade coming out due to body position or sitting down and having a chair push it out. Between the bead blast finish and the texture of the cloth, it really does hold it well. The Velcro for the belt loop works just fine. It has not changed position or loosened up since I set it at day one. I do not expect it to. Not only that, the sheath is light weight and protects the finish of those all too important, forged, milled, titanium handles. Over the years I have worn various materials for sheaths/holsters with leather being preferred and this synthetic material made me raise an eye brow. I like it. Overall, is this 87 worth the price? I believe so. I no longer carry two balisongs plus a folder for the actual cutting tasks. I was scared to use the BRS because it appears fragile. The 87 outperforms the Barebones, and it should, considering the price. I feel confident when opening the knife. It is smooth, precise, predictable and sharp. I do not throw the blade in the air or do any advanced moves. But the basic openings I have learned so far can be performed with a speed that makes others cringe. The Benchmade 87 is a wonderful piece of modern machining with high-tech materials all rolled up into a package that is the epitome of art and function. That being said, out of a collection of over 15 blades, each one of them a quality item, the 87 accounts for only one of two Benchmade products. I also have peace of mind knowing that Benchmade will be there to honor any warranty issues, as well as general maintenance, should the need arise. It is my new every day carry and will reside in my collection for the rest of my life. I hope this helps someone who is on the fence about purchasing one, and thank-you for reading my review.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nico
Bellingham, Wa
Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Top quality knife, very different flipping feel
Still getting used to this thing, im more accustomed to a flipping a BM42. The handle's size difference are making me have to re-brush up on basic moves. The momentum this knife builds up with spins is insane. And the blade is very sharp, cut my finger very deep first 10 min with it, and didn't even feel the blade go in. The $500 cost is deffinantly more towards the quality of the BM87 as a "Knife", not so much a "Flipper". Stick to a BRS if you're looking for a knife that's design is solely focused around Flipping, and you don't care enough about the titanium milled handles and S30v blade to pay the price difference (+$150-$200). I personally think it was worth the extra money.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron
PA
Sep 23, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Bit of a game changer
When I first saw this knife I didn't expect it to become my favorite, and i own a tachyon 3, bas-r, cove, triton, etc. I've got some good knives and benchmade just took the spotlight on them all for a while. NOT saying its the best knife ever, but I havent flipped anything but the 87 for the past month, I barely touch my hom basilisk anymore. Not what some would call a top tier flipper but for my taste it's perfection. P.S. I have to be honest and give my 0.02 on the sheath. Definitely not the best. But, I'm not sure if I got a "good" one or not, but i used 1 of 2 velcros on the first loop, made sure to line it up right, and for the past 2 months it's held up with 0 problems, no threads going yet and still holds the knife as snug as day one. Velcro hasnt even budged a hair, and the thin material on the back is surprisingly durable, hasnt torn at all or even stretched too much. Considering I now have a custom leather sheath made for my 87, probably wont go out and buy a replacement, but if I didnt have a custom leather sheath, i'd prolly buy one to replace the current when the time comes Also nicknamed "STITCH" first knife i've ever needed stitches for for simply grabbing the wrong handle on a basic open ^o^ (first day)
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Varekai
Florida
Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Impressive Knife
First off, this thing is massive. I have a Model 67, and even tho it's just a bit bigger all around, and almost seems like twice the size, it's actually an ounce lighter. Blade came shave sharp. Beautiful finish to it, flip action is incredibly smooth, and no play in the handles whatsoever with the bearings.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ro
USA
Nov 18, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A great knife
First have to commend knifecenter on fast shipping, was impressed with how quickly I got my order. Important to note - I am not a serious flipper. I dabble but bought this primarily as an EDC. I have long thought balisongs are a highly practical design and enjoy some flipping. Benchmade knives have always been pretty much bulletproof for me so I prefer their knives. I also own a 51. Overall love the design. It is highly polarizing - guys either love it or hate it. I am in the first camp. the machining on the handles is awesome, and the bead blast finish looks good. It picks up scratches easily, but I don’t really find this to be a bad thing. It doesnt take away from the appearance. Wharnecliffe blade comes razor sharp. I absolutely mean razor sharp - it easily took hair off my forearm. I heard some guys experienced blade rub on an early run but this has not been an issue for me. Knife came tuned properly and I have had no issues with any screws backing out - expected, due to Benchmade purportedly using Red Loctite on all screws and zen pins. This is both good and bad... nothing will ever back out but good luck ever dissasembling your knife for cleaning/maint. Very little to no blade play. The magnetic lock works well, but binds slightly depending on the position of your hand and how hard you bring the handles together to release it. A little practice solves this. Thrust bearings provide super smooth opening/closing. Definitely a fan, with one concern, cleaning. If they ever rust, that could create and issue too - so that super smooth action comes at a potential cost if you fail at proper maintenance. A lot of people made a huge deal out of the sheath, and I will admit - I dont get why. It’s not great, and it’s not terrible. It does what it is supposed to do. Reminds me very much of a BFG 10 speed pouch. Overall very happy with this knife. If it suits your needs and you have the funds, I recommend it.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
Cragford, Al
Mar 02, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Lighter and larger than I imagined...
First off I got it in just today and after some time of “playing” with it I believe I can make some judgements. It is lighter than it seems for its construction. It is almost as if you’re holding nothing. It is big too which belies its weight too. Flipping is effortless. So much so that I catch myself doing double takes on tricks that I otherwise would not balk at. But it is smooth as butter and there is next to no play in the handles. Edge, as always, came sharp out of the box. I won’t knock the sheath because honestly I won’t use it. I keep these things in my pocket. Over all worth every cent. Oh, the blade penetrates just fine so have no fear there. Based on what you try to poke though you may have to give it some TLC when sharpenning comes to call.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen
Texas
Sep 20, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: None
Superb workmanship and great flipper
Workmanship and quality are really outstanding. I don't think any pictures that I have seen do this knife justice. The hardware on my knife is bead blasted and looks the same color as the Ti handles. The magnetic latch works flawlessly. Absolutely no handle play or blade rub. Great flipper too!
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
M
Santa Monica, Ca
Jun 07, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Wickedly Sharp
It came wickedly sharp, to the point that I would caution against using it as your main flipper unless you're willing to pay the price for a miss catch or are the only person who has never dropped their blade while practicing. Overall, I was extremely happy with this. It's opens smoothly and consistently without error, it's nearly perfectly balanced, and comfortable while manipulating it around your hand, especially for finger rolls. Only slight gripe I have is that the latch is a little bit shorter than other comparable butterfly knives, which makes its latch based opening tricks feel a little off than how I'm used them feeling.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick
Annapolis, Md
May 29, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Best Bali-Song
This puts Benchmade back at the top of the butterfly knife game. Great for flippers, and the blade, man, the BLADE!!
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phan
NJ
Dec 04, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
benchmade 87
love it, very smooth no handle play, the magnetic latch is great
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trevor
Missouri
May 24, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Dangerously Beautiful
First off, I'd like to warn anyone who's just started flipping or wants to start, this knife is not for you. It's heavy, razor sharp, and has a blade shape that compresses tissue and cuts deep. A curved edge slices, and is more suitable for beginners. Check out Michael Janich's explanation on wharncliff blades to get a fuller picture, or tape the blade. Now for the knife. It's amazingly smooth, well engineered, and it flips like a dream. The magnetic latch is pure genius and mine functions flawlessly. Personally, the latch doesn't bother me, but a lot of people take it off due to weight. All of my other balisongs have a latch and pocketclip, so I'm used to a heavy bite handle. There is a learning curve when compared to other balisongs I own and if you mess up it's unforgiving. In fact, I named mine Unforgiven. It's all about precision with this knife, so it doesn't allow you to be sloppy and makes you execute moves with consistency or else. The ball bearings take a bit to break in, so be patient. Let them settle in and then oil it up. Also, do not take it apart. If it develops blade play just slightly torque the screws and it will center back up. They use red loctite, and it takes a lot of heat to break its bond. The washers for the bearings are Teflon and high amounts of heat could damage them. If you have any problems send it to Benchmade. As for the sheath, I actually like it. It's simple and attaches easily to my belt with the velcro provided. Hopefully, this review helps.
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 5 stars out of 5
Martin
Edmond, Ok
Aug 18, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, Sheath, None
Action packed sharp performance
This thing is scary sharp! Easily replaced every EDC I’ve got, cannot go anywhere without it! Feels sturdy like a tank, it’s taken quite a beating from being dropped and even landed on the tip, top still in tact! Still keeps an edge after cutting rug and cardboard. For flipping, I dunno where the hate comes from. I love flipping this thing. Reeeeally responsive, butter smooth, and that metallic ping! Like music to my ears. In my particular case, the latch isn’t the best. I work in a welding shop, there’s metal shavings everywhere from grinders and cutting torches. I regularly have to take out the latch and clean the metal dust from the magnets. Eventually I decided to just leave the latch off because some of the metal dust was getting on the blade. And wow. I already thought it flipped really well, it flips like a million dollar dream without the latch! Bottom line, it’s everything you’d ever want in a balisong in terms of flipping and EDC, especially if you prefer channel construction like I do. I wonder if they’ll introduce different blade shapes for it though. If you got the funds and/or on the fence about it, just go for it!
Benchmade 87 Ti Balisong Butterfly 4.5" CPM-S30V Wharncliffe Blade, Titanium Handles, Magnetic Latch
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adrian M
Meridian, Idaho
Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Great quality, excellent flipper but isn’t great for flipping
This is a beautifully crafted work of art and feels very nice in the hand. It has perfect balance, is extremely smooth, and has a very nice sound to it when you flip it (in my opinion with the loud metallic “ping”). overall it is a great knife and i enjoy it, but it has some problems i really dislike about it. even though it has nearly no blade-play and uses ball bearings it still has a lot of blade rub on the corners of the spine of the blade and because of this it has a lot of wear and scratches along the back of the blade. Because it does this very often it effects the blade very quickly and is very noticeable while flipping and feels awful, especially when it loosens up just a tiny bit. I do like the magnetic latch it has but the only problems i have with it are that it doesn’t always want to unlatch well and get stuck and i feel as though it unbalanced the knife for flipping while it is on. The blade is absolutely sharp and shaves very easily, though it will cut you pretty badly and easily with such a long straight cutting edge. It’s a very high quality knife and i really enjoy it but some of the issues with it for flipping can really be hard to not notice.