Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles - 943

Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handlesrated 4.833 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4 inch S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $187.00

Save $33.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick
Florida
Aug 31, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best EDC
I had a 940 for years and sadly lost it. Soon afterwards, I bought a 943. The fit and finish of the Osborne line is amazing. I love the axis lock! Honestly, the 940 probably has a tougher point but the 943 is beautiful and sleek. If you are going to carry a knife everyday it should be rugged and beautiful. 943 fits the bill.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Salesski
Berlin,
Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect EDC
Very good quality, very nice knife.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim Andrews
fleming island fl.
Nov 07, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
benchmade 943 osborne
general use great knife
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Acanadianknifeguy
Canada
Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Fantastic edc!
Lightweight, fast opening and always sharp! I see a lot of reviews on this knife complaining that the tip is "too delicate" but I haven't had that problem so far. I also own a 940 and yes, compared to that, the tip is more delicate but both still get the job done! It was definitely worth the price and will probably still be in use and carried in my pocket for years to come!
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald E B
bloomington, illinois
Mar 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
getting better
Update on my last review: I bought a new gatco diamond clamp style sharpener kit with ceramic fine stone included, and used it to lower the angle on my knive to 15 degrees (according to gatco). Then I used a super fine ceramic bench stone. Knife was very hard to sharpen but I eventually got it so no light was reflecting off the edge. It will sllice newspaper with the grain but not against the grain, which is typical for me. Pretty good edge. Matches my griptilians. Not my sharpest knife, but getting close.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob W
Manchester ME 04351
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Osbourne Designs
Lost my 940 and will replace it, but in meantime have purchased a 943. Find the blade to be more useful for my needs (slicing/cutting/picking). Love everything about it and consider it to be the finest knife (including custom) that I've ever owned. I have fairly advanced arthritis and am in love with the ease of operation, especially the axis lock. Carry it every day. Blade steel is incredible and have never seen an out-of-the-box knife as sharp. Which poses the question, how do you do it and what is the angle of bevel? I'll never buy another brand and intend to give them as gifts to special friends.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Salesski
Berlin,
Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
EDC
Very good quality, very sharp, perfect EDC.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leo
Virginia
Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC
Purchased this knife based on all the rave reviews I've seen online and here at Knifecenter.com and the reviews don't lie. I have both the 940 and this 943. I find the clip point more useful for day-to-day use. The construction of the 943 is rock solid and finished very well. The action of opening and closing the knife is very smooth and with the pivot screw properly adjusted, there is no slop at all. I did apply some blue Loctite as suggested by some other reviewers and it works very well to maintain just the right amount of screw tension. Razor sharp blade from the factory. Handle texture is deceivingly grippy, but not over the top. The knife just disappears in the pocket due to how light it is, and it's slim profile doesn't get in the way. Very well designed knife and has now become my new EDC.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wsafetymode
Spain
Dec 04, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent!
This is one of the best modern designs in pocket cutlery. Do not hesitate and buy one!
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lothar
Rochester, NY
Sep 14, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Thin, light and quick, I find I grab this knife for an increasing number of tasks over my Presidio. The blade takes a good edge and snaps open easily. The handle, while not filling the hand like the Presidio, is comfortable and provides great control on the blade. I still use the Presidio for heavier tasks but this one is a joy to use.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jh
Alabams
Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The 943 is, for my needs, the PERFECT EDC. I have no negatives about t
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous1
Illinois
Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect EDC
There is nothing about this knife that could be improved in terms of an EDC. The blade length, thickness and shape are perfect for your everyday chores. I have two other Benchmade folders and this is by far the best. The knife is slim and light weight, yet very strong. The locking mechanism is rigid and the hinge is smooth.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Minneapolis
Oct 20, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
A beautiful and functional knife
This has been my daily carry knife for at least 3 years. I bought it because of the nice lines, Benchmade quality, and what I had heard of the AXIS lock. Turns out it also feels great, and the AXIS lock is excellent. But my point is this: even though I don't abuse the knife, I use it hard, and I am still on the factory edge. I could shave half the thickness of a Post-It right now. There, I just did. I have some decent knives, and I never had a knife that holds an edge like this.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harry W.
Alberta, Canada
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Outstanding Knife
This is an E.D.C. knife for me. I don't care for liner locks so I was looking for this particular blade locking system and it is exactly what I wanted. It operates smoothly and efficiently. I like the sharpness and the edge holding ability of this blade steel. Highly recommend this knife to anyone who needs a good knife.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry
Texas
May 28, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Goes Hard in the paint
This is the best EDC knife I've ever owned. The movements are smooth. The design is ergonomic. S30V steel, enough said. This is a very attractive, very LIGHTWEIGHT, and well built. I've had other more expensive knives, i.e. Al mar sere 2000 and this knife is mucho better. The Al mar is going in the tool box. This knife is legit
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aaldo
Shoreline, CT
Mar 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Nice knife
Very nice feeling knife.smooth action light weight and comfortable. Only reason for 4 stars is the factory edge was a bit rough
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Donald E B
bloomington, illinois
Feb 17, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
not sharp enough
Cannot get a super sharp edge with this knife (s30v steel). Get the same sharpness as my mchenry williams 710 with d2 steel (smoother, but not sharper). Lowered the angle but didn't help. Edge is ok, but not great. My griptilians with 154cm have a much sharper edge. So does my browning ice with vg10. These knives are SHARP! I use a gatco clamp system and a large ceramic super fine stone. Been sharpening knives for 45 years.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew P
Minnesota
Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
Benchmade 943 Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Satin Plain Blade, Black
This is the second Benchmade Osborne series knife I have purchased. I am very impressed with the design/quality of the knife. However, I am disappointed that a blade "in the white" is no longer available from Benchmade. The satin finish on the blade will eventually become very ugly over time with use. I think the marketing people at Benchmade need a better understanding of who their customers are. Anyone willing to spend over $100 for a knife is inherently particular about details like the above mentioned. I can buy a cool looking knife for $15.