Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles

Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handlesrated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles

 

Price: $174.25

Save $30.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc
Ca
Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Dreamy
The 950 is my new EDC and is my favorite standard-issue Benchmade. I use it for everyday chores and for martial arts practice. In photos, the Rift seems like a bruiser, but its profile is much slimmer than I expected: the Rift slips into my pocket comfortably and discreetly. The handle has a reassuring heft to it because the liners are not skeletonized, but this is a good thing: the knife balances perfectly on the forefinger (normal grip). The cutout on the handle nicely fits the pinky (normal grip) or index finger (reverse grip) and increases cutting/slashing efficiency. The G-10 scale texture is great; grippy where it needs to be but smooth where pants and pocket clip meet. I will probably round off the G-10 edges, which are, as others have noted, a bit sharp. The black-and-gray wood grain pattern is beautiful. I love the reverse tanto and high saber grind. I usually prefer leaf blades with FFGs, but I like the 950's all-round appeal: the Rift wants to cut like a full flat grind, pierce like a clip point, and retain tip strength like a regular tanto. And its 154cm is probably my favorite stainless steel: it's a great all-rounder, much as the Rift's blade is a great all-around shape. Though the Rift does not have a true choil like most Spydercos do, choking up on the 950 is still pretty easy. My thumb fits nicely on the spine ramp. My forefinger rests comfortably and securely on the flared finger guard. The only thing I wish I'd known before buying the 950 is how much I'd love it. I would've bought the knife several years ago, when it first caught my eye, rather than wait so long.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexander C
Dhahran, Al-Khobar, K.S.A.
Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent
I love this knife, PERFECT!
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Florida
Feb 02, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
All around beautiful knife
I love the feel of this knife. The weight is solid while not being too heavy. The axis lock is honestly more effective (for me) than the spring assisted models. The grips are not too aggressive like a lot of comments I read. There also is no play in the blade when it's locked. This is now my EDC and I couldn't be happier. The only real con (for knifecenter) is that I don't think I'll ever have to buy another blade again.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry L
Dove Canyon, Ca
Apr 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Great Knife
I reviewed this knife recently and rated more the manufacturer, Benchmade, and the condition they sent this knife to market, than the knife itself. My disappointment was evident. Having also received two Spydercos and two Hogues this week, and experienceing their superb fit and finish, then receiving this Benchmade with the wobbly blade, I vented a little. After playing with the Rift these last few days, I would have to say that it is a well designed knife. The blade steel, design, and size are perfect. The AXIS lock is great. The handle is well designed, attractive and extremely functional. The clip is perfect. I highly recommend the knife itself.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dennis W.
Texas
May 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Another great Benchmade!
This knife has become my EDC. I love the shape and strength of the blade. The grips are very grippy and stay put in the hand when the knife is in use. I did sand down what I felt was the sharp edges and it feels more comfortable in my hand. I purchased the polished blade. I just felt the gray/black grips were really set off by the bright blade. IMHO I was right!
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Huntington Beach, CA
Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Benchmade Rift
The Rift is everything I was hoping for in a large folder, the blade design is awesome. The fit and finish is superb. The one thing to consider when purchasing this knife is how easy it is to sharpen the 154CM steel, I have owned knives with more expensive premium steel (S30V and 3V) that held an edge longer, but take a lot more time to sharpen. The knife is big and heavy but the trade off is a durable, solid folder that is capable of tackling the biggest of chores.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phibob Mac
Australia
Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
An exercise in excision.
I use this for an alternate EDC or just tucked away in the glovebox of my car. It opens naturally and swiftly with one hand and unlocks to hide away as comfortably. It is made to cut. It will cut anything you put it to. Very positive grip, but maybe a little harsh on the edges of the handle. Maybe a few hotspots with long cycles of use. Another reviewer suggested filing the edges down, but I would find it hard to deface such fine aesthetics. Nice and light. Cuts like a mongrel. Benchmade are clearly after sales with product like this.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jan Kaethner
Thailand
Apr 10, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Benchmade Osborne Rift
Grip: One of the best (...or perhaps THE best...) I've ever had on a folder. Quite impossible to slip. In some forums the people are afraid that the heavy milled grip could be quite destructive to skin and trousers in the long haul. Please calm down - the texture of the grip is absolutely perfect executed, and it won't damage your precious hide in the usual daily cutting activities. As for the trousers - it's a big knife and most folks will be better off with a nylon sheath, I guess. Blade: Well executed, SHARP!, useful form, strengthened tip (reversed Tanto), non-reflective matte satin finish, great slicer, simply imagine a BM 942 on stereoids... Lock: A little bit
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
T Shull
NJ
May 06, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Not bad...
Well, I have'nt had a chance to really put it through the mill yet. Just using it as an EDC blade right now. It tends to be a little bulky in the pocket and while using the clip, but other than that, it locks up solid, smooth opening, super sharp and is an impressive piece to look at. I'll probably make an external pocket sheath for it, much like the buck 110.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael J
MN, USA
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Good knife, but expected better condition from factory.
Overall, solid and well built knife. One problem, the secondary bevel from the factory is so shallow that it needs to be redone to put a proper edge on. I have heard this is a recurring problem with benchmade knives. No big deal if you have the proper tools.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Riley M.
port townsend wa.
Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Material, None
Carried for several years.
This has been my work knife for several years.I love it. Tough, comfortable, silky smooth. Axis lock works great. 154cm steel is great, but I prefer an s35vn for a work knife.
Benchmade 950 Osborne Rift AXIS Folder 3.67" Satin Plain Blade, Black and Charcoal G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Larry L
Dove Canyon, Ca
Apr 03, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Poor Quality Control
This is my first Benchmade. I have many other folders from other manufacturers, all in this price point or higher. I have read many reviews and am a member in a couple knife forums. I was looking for another folder to use while doing outside chores besides my Spyderco Paramilitary and ZT 0550. I always hesitated with Benchmade because reviews or comments often had the words "after getting it back from Benchmade, it was perfect." After much research, I chose the Rift. I thought the handle design and Osborne reverse tanto blade were perfect. Also, I felt that since it was a Black Series Benchmade, it would be tough enough. Well, it arrived today. I was actually excited to remove it from the black box and silky bag. I was right, the handle and blade are fantastic. I was right, I'll be sending back to Benchmade to fix it. The blade is so loose that when held level, it will completely close when the Axis Lock is released. The side to side play is scary. Oh, I guess I could maybe fix it myself, tighten this or adjust that, but I should not have to do that. It is a new knife from a reputable "American made" company. This will be my first and last Benchmade. Back to Spyderco, Hogue, and ZT.