Reviews and Ratings for Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner - 01BO580

Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabinerrated 3.762 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
9
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
2
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8 inch Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner

 

Price: $52.46

Save $17.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj
Ontario
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Solid build quality
This is a really well built knife. I have not taken it out of my pocket since I received it. The machining is flawless...much tighter than my para-military. The blade sharpened up to razor after about a minute on the edgemaker. I own many high end knives, and after carrying this knife for a couple weeks, I wish I would have bought a boker years earlier. It feels very solid in the hand, and I find the blade shape very useful for day to day tasks, surprising, considering how nasty it looks. Framelock is perfect. Jimping is super grippy. I highly recommend this knife......440c is great steel, all those premium steels out there are great and everything, but 440c is still a great steel....just learn how to use a sharpmaker...
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
N.M.
Dec 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Good Product
Good feel, good weight, good fit in my hand. I find that if you start to open the blade with your thumb then you can flick the blade out pretty quickly. Feel safe with this. I do find it hard to close, as the lock is very rigid and stiff but I'd rather have it rigid than lose... there's no doubt that it locks in place. Also, don't usually care for pocket clips, but it adds to the grip, at least for me, with this knife.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
Hawaii
May 18, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
An excellent knife for the money. IT comes pretty though not freakishly sharp out of the box, good ergonomics in my opinion, and while im sure most will use it primarily for self defense the blade shape seems a bit more versatile than standard hook blade karambits. the only thing I personally would change is drop the carabiner make it a full ring and add a pocket clip
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris P.
Rochester, NY,
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Only one problem
The only problem I have with this knife is the lock. The frame lock is VERY strong, but the amount of stress on it makes it hard to close. I use it as an everyday utility knife, it's strong, sharp, and I love it. One of my favorites.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jon S.
Charlottesville Va.
Jan 15, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great knife for the money
This is a really great knife. Placed in the watch pocket without the clip it deploys like an emerson. Very quick knife to pull and cut with. I have cut down bamboo and other edc tasks and it holds up well to heavy use. Great blade for self defense if you know FMA.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gil Sanchez Aka
Colorado
Jul 01, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
LEO
Chad hit another
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin
Bonney Lake,WA
Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Great knife, not such a great Karambit
Pro's: The fit and finish on this knife are outstanding given the $30 price tag. The frame lock is stiff as others have mentioned but given that whenever you hold the blade you are touching the lock, I wouldn't want the lock to be any more loose. Speaking of the frame lock, the lack of spacer on the back side of the handle makes this knife exceptionally slim, coming in at under.1/2 inch. The side without the G 10 is finished in a nice gun metal silver/black color. Cons: The gigantic pocket clip. This thing is huge and a little gaudy. It can be mounted for tip up or down carry, left or right side but sticks out like a sore thumb. The handle is a little too big to use as a proper karambit.and shaped in such a way to only make tip forward (think screwdriver) grip comfortable. The gimping on the blade is aggressive and provides a non-slip point for the thumb, but there is nothing like this on the bottom of the handle for tip down handling.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason
Ontario, Canada
Mar 14, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Good value for the price
I bought this as a collection piece, but I'm really impressed with the fit and finish. The quality of the materials and worksmanship are far beyond the price tag. Also, the piece I received has a pocket clip for tip-up or down carry, in addition to the carabiner.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike B
Mck,Pa
Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Makes a great EDC
I've owned one of these for few months now.Carried it and it to work,some heavy work i might add.Stood up to it all flawlessly.The 440c takes and holds an edge very well.One of my favorite steels of all times.Put a mirror polish on it and its as sharp as anything else,supersteels included.The only thing supersteel does better is edge retention.But 440c is tougher and more stain restaint then some of them are.It was at one time a supersteel in it's day.But I feel it's still a very good all round steel.The fit and finish are very will done.Compares very easily to anything in it's price range and place of manufacture.I'd say it exceeed some by having a 440c blade.I beleive 440c holds it edge longer than the chinese made made steel.Blade lock is solid and very positive,no movement at all.A good stong lock as it should be.The coating on the blade and frame are well well done. And is hold up well well so far.For the price i think you would be hard pressed to find a better made knife.I'd recommend it to anyone wanting a good solid EDC.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cormac
SF
Aug 11, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Fantastic Knife for the money!
This is a great knife. If I didn't known how much it cost I would guess it was at least $80. Materians, fit and finish and action are all excellent. The liner lock was a little tight, but some bending backwards improved that. Also, the blade picot was set up a little tight, but some tweaking with a torx wrench has it set up perfectly. The only downside is the fact that there is no pocket clip.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
J.Martin
New Mexico
May 25, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I own over 50 custom & production karambits, ranging in cost from $10.00 - $500.00. This is by far the best Chinese made karambit I have ever handled. It's design is innovative, And it's quality is far beyond the cost.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chuck V.
Smyrna Ga
Sep 24, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
solid built but one flaw though!
The knife if solidly built.It locks up really solid and the blade doesnt have any "shaky loose" play at all.I sharpened it even more. Even though it isn't shaped like a real karambit blade the functions and applications are there except the ability to hook in like karambit blade tips but gotta feeling this will still cut and crush bone.I adjusted to the carbiner thing and it still swings around good .I was alittle suprised by the bulkiness of the handle but after a while I adapted to it. I reversed the clip to my preference but I have one issue!...You cannot get it to deploy any easier like on other styles where you can improvise cheap ways to add the "wave tool modifications" or auto deploy methods, still have to open with finger assistance but overall it'll do with me and like I said before Just gonna have to adapt to it.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
S.D. Heathen
San Diego
Mar 29, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material
Great bang for the buck
Easy to carry with the carabiner or the strong deep pocket clip. The lock up is rock solid with no blade wiggle at all. Only downside to this is sharpening the inner recurve,but with the flat edge you will never really dull it. This is truly a great buy for the price.! Great for EDC and also for self defense.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richard Perry
fl
Jun 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
overall great buy I'm happy!
its a cool looking and has great feel in hand, and can be used every day for work and for self defense lock a little stiff and no pocket clip is a inconvenience for me, some might not even care for the price, overall great buy I'm happy!
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marz
Vineland, NJ
Dec 31, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None
Good knife
Very sharp out of box, which is always the first thing I judge a knife by. Solid lock up, but can be a bit tough to shut. It'd be a great self defense weapon, especially on account of its intimidating look.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 3 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, NE
May 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Not what I wanted
I somehow thought this model had G-10 on both sides of the grip - I did not realize this was a frame lock until I received it. I despise frame locks, no matter how well made they are - the knife just does not look or feel finished to me. On the other hand, this model seems well made for the style it is, and I like all the other knives I have purchased from Boker. I guess I'll use this one and if something happens to it, it won't break my heart.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jim
Christchurch, New Zealand
Aug 20, 2009
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
Nice design
Haven't had the chance to use this knife much yet, but have used it to open boxes, cut card board etc. No real complaints there. I do like the design, and the build quality is great for the price. I have found the blade a little difficult to open though. Also, the manufacturing quality in terms of blade sharpening was not the best. Still a very good knife for the price though.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bren O.
Perth western australia
Nov 27, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Feel, Handle Material
good but could be better
I use this as a secondary knife in my training, the blade is ok the length of the handle is good but does not sit in the hand as well as it should.Ii feel the handle could be more erganomic and overall could be a little heavier.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mjw
sj,ca
Feb 09, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
a so-so knife
Not really a karambit. Blade is too thin, tough it is spaced for a thicker blade.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rachel W
7122 sw montauk cir Lake Oswego OR 97035
Nov 16, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
I bought this karambit for my boyfriend who practices knife fighting. Only 2 weeks after we received the knife, and with very little use, the clasp and the assist broke. Being a $55 knife, I would've expected it to have a longer life.
Boker Plus CLB Folding Karambit 2-7/8" Black Plain Tanto Blade, G10 Handles with Carabiner
rated 1 stars out of 5
Dave M.
Las Cruces, NM
Feb 16, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Wouldn't Recommend This One
I bought this knife because I had bought a Boker Plus subclaw folder and I love that knife. However, this karambit is poorly made and has several issues. The blade is very stiff when opening. The pocket clip is much larger than necessary. Another issue is how heavy the knife is. It makes carrying the knife a chore. But the biggest issue I've found is the frame lock. There is so much stress on it that I have difficulty closing the knife. I actually have to use my car keys to pry the lock away from the blade just so I can close it. In short, the design flaws and poor craftsmanship make this a knife I wish I hadn't bought.