Reviews and Ratings for Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle - 120545

Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handlerated 4.3 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2 inch Blade with Micarta Handle

 

Price: $411.75

Save $137.25 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Kingston, ON, Canada
Jan 07, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Best of the A-F line.

Harsey's take on the already great A-F design makes for a fantastic knife. Great handle with the micarta giving you a secure grip. The handle is also weighted so you get great balance. German-made quality as with all Boker knives. Nice as a collector's piece but primarily a lethal tool. I certainly wouldn't recommend this knife for daily tasks. Great Spec-Ops sheath too.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Busaman2
New York
Sep 05, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Concealed Carry Handgun Backup

Beautifully designed self-defense implement. I carry it when in the great outdoors, as backup to my primary defense tool, Colt 1911, 45 ACP. Sometimes, I may not want to cause a loud ruckus with the gun, so the razor sharp dagger is just the tool. Nice and quiet, swift moving, and then just move on. Takes a viciously sharp double edge. Have to be careful you don't slice your belt or shirt, pulling in out. Heavy duty sheath precludes it's use when in social situations, as it it too large to easily conceal. When used in the right situation, it's near perfect.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duane
Darrington, WA
Jan 29, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great Knife

The knife is exceptionally well balanced and finely crafted. The supplied scabbard is well made but of poor design. The snap that secures the knife in the scabbard is placed in a stretching type material and is overlapped in the opposite direction that one would normally disengage with ones thumb. The result is a knife that cannot be quickly or easily removed from the carrier.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aschneid
Chicago
Apr 01, 2014
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Beautiful Knive!

This is definitely one of the most awesome knifes I own. I cannot judge about the quality control issues that have been reported, since mine is absolutely perfect. I really love the handles and the shape of the blade. But most of all it really feels like a very lethal tool with its 5mm thick blade and its weight. The blades sharpness and pointiness leave something to improve though, since I am sharpening all my blades after I bought them, that's no big con for me, but for this price tag I would wish some better sharpness here! Harseys prototypes used to be made out of S30V blade material, however the production ones are "only" made out of 440C. Since german steel this is quite a decent steel, however I would like to see something even better on this knive. The blade finish is very nice, however I could dispense with those laser markings, they are just not easy to clean and the knive would look as beautiful without them... Sheath: This SpecOps Sheath is nothing for me. it didn't even fit very good to the blade so I reworked the kydex so it fits better know. However, for this blade Id rather get a nice leather sheath, but there seems to be none in the lineup right now...
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hank
Cumberland, RI
Nov 13, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best of the line

best on the market for type of use
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swordtail1978
South Carolina
Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Its a dagger.

Im guessing this blade would excell at its designed task. I enjoy owning it a great deal. Why the h#ll someone would buy this for a hunting and utility blade then complain is beyond me. Its a dagger.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hendrik
Canada
Apr 02, 2017
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard

Daggers are for stabbing

Had a good look at this handsome blade, while contemplating to stretch my visa. This blade is designed for stabbing only, nothing else. The blade length of 5.5 inches is enough to reach kidneys, liver or heart/lungs in a Homo sapiens. Not sure about the toughness of 440C to prevent point breakage, in case some dummie stabs it in wood and tries to wrench it out. Most of these blades will land up in a collectors cabinet, where they probably belong. If you live in the USA, this might be a liability to carry. It might give you false self confidence. Remember the phrase: DO NOT BRING A KNIFE TO A GUNFIGHT.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Phoenix
Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Material, None

Boker Dagger

Great design and super comfortable grip. Have it attached to a tactical vest, comes with solid sheath. Clearly only designed for combat. Why the hell anyone would use a double edged dagger for hunting/bushcraft/survival purposes is beyond me. Not a huge fan of 440 ss, but since this is purely for defense in a combat setting, it will never see any real use and can be sharpened to a crazy sharp edge.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Gregory
Canada
Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness

High quality , usability - meh!

First, I have pictured this knife will be my carry-on tool on trips in mountain trails, camping knife and occasionally during the bird hunts to clean geese. It has turned out it is good for neither of the tasks listed above. Too heavy to carry on hiking trips and too large, hell to sharpen and challenge to keep the edge to process the birds after the hunt and not really suitable for food preparation. The most of my concerns the the blade steel , which does not holds the edge well, difficult to sharpen and mixed success with a choice of stones , from fine diamond to 4000 Japanese water stone. Steels like VG-10, D2 and even Buck's 420HC stay sharper longer than what's on this knife. The prospective use of this knife in my view would be a limited choice of military applications, defined by "dagger" definition. As ex-military, who trained in knife work, I would prefer other type of handle and a different blade geometry.
Boker Applegate-Fairbairn 5.5 Premium Dagger 5-1/2" Blade with Micarta Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bah
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 17, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Quality Control Issues

This is a very nicely designed knife, and mostly nicely produced, however Boker"s quality control is poor. On the first one I ordered, there was a seam in the Micarta on the scales on one side, and the fabric in the Micarta was off-angle on the other. I returned that one. The replacement was perfect in every way except that the laser-etched logo on the back side of the blade was off-location: Rather than being centered on the plane of the blade, it was almost 1/8" high, so that the top of the logo was about 1/16" from the sharpened edge. Knife Center was very good about exchanging the first one, but for a $300 knife, I would have expected better quality control from Boker.