Reviews and Ratings for Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle - 01BO589

Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handlerated 4.091 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
0
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8 inch Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle

 

Price: $43.46

Save $14.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tetter
pittsburgh
Mar 03, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, None
Great Subcompact Knife
A fantastic subcompact knife. Feels great in the hand despite being so small, and preforms like a knife twice its size just as advertised. Im a fan of Aus 8 steel, not a premium quality but what do you expect for a knife this price? The only downsides of this knife are that its pocket clip is too tight against the side of the knife, and the knife is a bit of a pain to open up, although these problems will likely fix themselves as the knife loosens up while i break it in. Overall a very good knife. Worth the money for sure.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aaron Lee
WA
Jun 18, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little utility knife
This little Boker is great partnered with a Maxpedition wallet. I clip mine into the wallet, as sort of an anchor. The little subcom cuts like a much larger blade thanks to a very wide profile. It's a great overall size and the flat shape ensures it can be carried discreetly almost anywhere. I like the fact that the minimal blade length means it'll be (in theory) legal to carry almost everywhere domestically. I'm not sure what steel is used but it's easy to keep sharp using a ceramic rod, and this little guy is surprisingly comfy to use.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nana
lincoln ne
Apr 19, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
cool knife fits hand well easy to use
cut cardboard fishing line
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Motorcity
Little Rock
Sep 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great little knife
This knife just feels good in your hand ! I get lots of comment on it from friends, my wife even wants me to get her one.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zac
Salem, VA
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Absolutely loves it!
It is so versatile. It is small and fits in the watch pocket on jeans. Has a great grip and feels good in the hand.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
California
Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
A perfectly utilitarian knife that fits into a front pocket without taking up too much space. Clearly it has specific limitations in terms of uses but it does strike a great balance between "taking up little space" and "having a sharp blade handy." It takes a bit of practice to open and lock the blade, and then to unlock the blade and put it away in a swift and efficient fashion but once you've mastered the process you'll like the smoothness of the action.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Santiago D
Ciudad Autónoma De Buenos Aires, Other
Mar 01, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife!
I usually neeed something to cut stuff at work, but I hate when people look at me like I´m some kind of a maniac tha carries knifes and blades around. This little guy is perfect because it´s almost invisible!
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zigzauer
Northern Virginia
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Boker SUBCOM
Use it on my keyring.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory Fost
Bradley illinois
Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I use the knife as a money clip, and also for small jobs. It is well constructed, and just the right size for most small jobs
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tacoma
NC
Feb 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome Knife
No flaws with this knife. Excellent feel to be so compact.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Randy
Riverton, Utah
Oct 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel, None
Great money clip - odd, but neat, knife
I bought the Boker Plus Chad SUBCOM folder because it looked neat. The actual product was surprising in several ways. First, this is my first experience with the "Boker Plus" (mid range) knife from Boker. This one was made in Taiwan. I'm pleased to report the construction, craftsmanship and materials are all excellent. I previously bought a couple "Magnum - By Boker" knives (made in China) and found the quality somewhat lacking. The SUBCOM folder is an interesting little knife. Its money-clip function works perfectly. When you open the blade to use it as a knife, the blade profile (wide and short) make it somewhat awkward to use - sort of along the lines of a box cutter. It is nicely made and the blade is extremely sharp but for my usual purposes, not as handy as the SOG Access Card2, for example. Granted the SUBCOM is quite a bit less expensive than the Access Card2 and for the money it represents a pretty good bargain. I guess mostly it just isn't really my style, nevertheless, I carry it almost every day because the money clip works so well and in a pinch, the blade is reliable and nice and sharp, just kind of a funny shape.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Whitefeather1911
Reading, PA
May 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nifty little backup knife. Smaller than I thought, but got used to the size real quick. Easy to get a handle on, although for me, the opening took a little getting used to. Only thing I would change is the lock, still having a problem closing it without help from other hand. All in all, a great companion to have.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jp
Cape Town
Apr 11, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
Good little knife
This is really a very good little knife. Small, light, low profile, nice size & shape blade. I bought this when it was originally released. Though overall very happy with it, I was a bit annoyed when a black coated model was released shortly thereafter. I had originally thought that it would have added to making it even less conspicuous (particularly when clipped onto a belt) and felt it should have been an option on the original. I also think that it would have helped for the blade finish. In moderate humidity it tends to get spots pretty quickly, even with the proper precautions and cleaning.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Knife Person
Fremont, Ca.
Mar 14, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Handy little Knife!
I use this little Subcom as my EDC. It's my EDC because it legal to take anywhere because of the size. My city only allows knives under 2inches concealed or its a dangerous weapon. It's great due to it's size and its sharp out the box. One thing that bothers me about it is that its hard to open it using the thumbstud and its made in Taiwan. If it's made in Taiwan i'd rather they not display it on the knife.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pete W
Sydney Australia
Sep 16, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material, Ease of Opening
A great gift
I use it for opening packages, cutting lines etc. It goes where I go and I'm about to order several as gifts. The blade isn't awesome but it does the job - very well at the price too.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ace100
Orange County, CA
Oct 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
A reasonably good alternative EDC knife
A reasonably good alternative EDC knife
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff K.
FL
Nov 29, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Ease of Opening
Nice edc
Very good small edc.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rafterrs
Lervikveien 3, 1626 Manstad. Norway
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Pocket Clip
ok
Decent little knife, great as a money clip.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Dayton, OH
Feb 27, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
Great knife with some issues
PROS: Great Micro / small EDC. Thin and light, carries well in pocket (I kept the clip on it but don't use it). I have many larger EDC knives but this one is good when you want a knife for the office or really a small EDC. Great grip for small knife. Would make a good money clip as well. CONS: The blade loses and edge quickly and is difficult to put a fine edge on again. (I just can't get it that sharp again.... Difficult to sharpen given length and blade shape. (I don't have this issue with other knives). Also, I wish this knife had a slightly sharper / more pointy tip. Often, the kind of tasks you use a micro EDC blade for require a sharp tip and this knife fails in that area. All that said, I still like it more than other very small knifes I have had for pocket carry.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jj Mccool
NW, Ohio
Feb 17, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Not a good EDC
I'm using this on my key chain but I'm looking for a replacement now after using it for about a year. Using it to open letters is awkward. The blade is too short to do slicing cuts. So sharpen it up sharper than it came from the factory and do a push cut, but the paper gets caught up on the thumb stud. Cutting small rope or twine seemed difficult because of the blade shape, had to make many passes and dulls quickly. You can get a fine edge on the blade, but it won't hold. For heavier cutting tasks like a box the blade dulled after one pass and subsequent cuts were difficult. This leads to the next problem. When cutting gets difficult, the handle is uncomfortable on the hand. Lastly, the AUS 8 steel isn't very corrosion resistant. Mine developed rust after only a couple weeks use from carrying in my pocket. Wish this was made in more options with choice of blade steel and handle materials. VG-10 blade steel would be a good start. Even with titanium and G-10, 2.5 ounces is heavy for its size. But then, again, the ergonomics of the thing are not good, so it doesn't matter.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mascorro
Chula Vista, CA
Oct 26, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
poor quality lock
I was very disappointed in the quality of the lock. I don't know if I got a defective one, however, it is actually quite dangerous how poorly it keeps the blade locked when extended. I actually have to verify it visually before using the knife. That doesn't give me confidence. Then when I want to close it I have to use both hands (for this tiny knife) to get it closed. It actually closed on me as I was using it the first time and nearly sliced me! I would have given this a 1-poor review if I hadn't actually found a purpose for it at work in which I don't mind it getting thrashed up.
Boker Plus CLB Subcom F Folding Knife 1-7/8" Satin Plain Blade, Black FRN Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Xi11um
Deep in the heart
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, None
Fine example of the falacy of German engineering
I work with a bunch of prima donnas who whimper when I pull I knife, then they come running to me when they need something cut. So I figured this was non- threatening enough for work. I know that Aus 8 is basically 440C made outside the U.S. and thought it would be fine, I was very wrong. After 4 days on the job the blade was rusted over, and that's with me polishing it with WD-40. I expect more than 4 days of use from a $43 knife. Initial quality appeared to be high and the blade let it perform like a larger knife, but just like a BMW it cost a lot for what you get, and it didn't live up to its potential.