Reviews and Ratings for BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles

BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handlesrated 4.375 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
0
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5 inch 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles

 

Price: $369.99

View Product Details
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim M
Ohio
Jan 25, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
great company and great porduct
BRS Beast. Flawless and well balanced. We used other Butterfly style knives until we got these. Now the others are back ups and we ONLY use the Alpha Beast. Superb ball bearings, balance, and handling qualities. The blade quality and the titanium handles are simply outstanding. All pros and no cons. Even the price is excellent for the product and quality of workmanship. Tried to order the BRS AB from another outlet but they presold and didn't tell anyone and we wasted our time on their website. Knife Center is the easiest and best website for knives!
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary R
Portland, Or.
Nov 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip, None
I've waited a long time for this
I just got my knife today and I really like it. Nice heft and smoother action than I'm used to. too bad there's no sheath or clip on the basic knife. I'll need to send it back to them and have them customize it. (mo $$) Thanks for the rapid shipping.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek
WA
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Extremely smooth and well balanced bali!
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ctak619
SD
Oct 01, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Hands Down, Better Than The Rest...
I’ve owned and flipped them ALL... Hands down the best flipping production knife on the market. She’ll take the abuse of a ba***rd step child and still come back for more. Balanced as a top and flips better than the rest. Very predictable knife. Anyone who says anything else has no idea what a top tier flipper should feel like. You won’t be disappointed
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Riley
Washington
Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best knife I've ever handled.
I received this and was not dissapointed, flips perfectly. So smooth and little play due to the bushings. Overall definitely worth the price, get one if the opportunity comes.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William B
Midland, Tx
Nov 29, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome Bali
Hands down the best Bali I've ever bought. The quality and craftsmanship are just flawless. Love the AB3.0 and can't wait to get more of Bladerunners products!!!
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William B
Midland , Tx.
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Beauty
The best balisong I've ever paid for. Some might consider it a little on the heavy side but I love it, rollovers are a breeze with the beast. If your thinking about buying it.... Buy it!!! You won't regret it
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon W
Pine Knot, Ky
Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best new production balisong in years......period.
Since I was a young boy I have loved butterfly knives,even before I knew what was possible with them I collected and carried them for self defense--E.D.C-- Whatever......I have to say that I have only been seriously flipping ,(every day) for about 2 or 3 years now. Need less to say,I sort of missed the good years of cheap balis--like 42's and all the microtechs and even the arc-angel knives.My point is I have not had alot of options since I got serious about flipping, and this knife is nothing short of amazing my friends......do not hesititate to buy it or you will regret it ....I finally got mine and I have not put it down. Thank you BRS,and thank you knifecenter.......I love this knife.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lahst
Phoenix ,Az
Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Best of the best
If you are wanting the absolute best production balisong....this is it.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Long Island
Dec 09, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best production balisong for flipping
Great bali! Flips like a dream. Swings smooth and there is no handle play. It has quickly become my new favorite knife.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh
X
Dec 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip, None
Twenty out of five!
This has got to be the best balisong I've ever bought, well worth the price, absolutely RAZOR sharp, it's all amazing! I love it, I would definitely buy again. It's probably the best flipper I've got in my collection.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jordan
Gresham, Or
Apr 20, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath
Love it
Very well made, looks good feels good. I enjoy the weight and size of this Balisong. The titanium handles make a clink clack sound that is desirable, and this knife handles so well. Very impressed, well worth the money.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Goh
Pyongyang
Dec 06, 2015
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality
This should not be named AB3.0 Should be 1.2 Not much difference from previous one. I is not crowned as I expected
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
C.S.
Texas
Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
3 star knife as sold and a potential 5
Seems like everyone rates these knives a 5 automatically. I just don't understand the hype. IMO, the condition of the knife as sold is not worth the price. Then, if you want to have a knife worth keeping, be prepared to spend another $200+ to modify it to the point where it becomes an AWESOME knife. Now if you are looking for a "kit knife" and enjoy customizing knives, this knife is for you. Straight out of the box it has a few negatives. The first thing you will notice is that every edge on the knife is unfinished. This knife just doesn't feel good in the hand. After a few minutes of flipping, I set it down and picked up my Benchmade 51 morpho with aftermarket titanium scales. On top of that, the blade is not "crowned", nor does it have a swedge. Also, the knife is w/o a pocket clip. I knew it didn't have the pocket clip when I bought it and I figured I would just buy one from BRS...well, you can't. I like having a clip for easy and fast "bite" handle recognition. The bare minimum you will have to spend in order to have a knife which doesn't produce fatigue quickly and won't give you callouses all over your hand is $175 (Rounded handles, crowned spine, and swedge). This service is available through BRS. Oh, be prepared to wait 6 weeks to have this done. There are other knives out there that come standard with these features. So when I received the knife I thought about sending it back. However, I decided to take this opportunity to learn a few knife finishing skills. I broke out the Dremel and rounded all the edges and buffed to a high gloss finish. Before putting the knife together I happened to see a YouTube Video of some guy flame anodizing titanium spoons. Short trip to Home Depot, then with torch in hand began to add some color. 2 handles came out great and will have to sand, buff, and re-torch the other 2. Anyway, I put the knife back together and the rounded edges have helped immensely. It is almost a pleasure to flip now...almost. The edges on top of the blade still feel horrible. I'll get around to doing the blade as well but I'm not sure if I will be able to make it look as good as the handles. I was contemplating having BRS do the blade though I think I'll do it myself. BRS should have done it before selling the knife, so on principle, I'm not going to give them more money. I think when I do the blade, I'll make sure to sand off the BRS logo and possibly laser etch my own. I figure this knife will have somewhat of a "Rat Rod" theme to it since I'm not a master knife maker. Once all my "mods" take place...THEN I can see giving this knife 5 stars. If you don't want to spend extra money after you buy this knife or you don't want to do the work yourself, my suggestion is you buy a 51 with titanium scales. I actually don't mind doing the work to make the knife great, I just wanted others out there to know what there getting.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Todd
TN
Nov 06, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality
This is a flagship model? Not what I received.
This review is for the drop on 11/1/2016. Upon receiving it I was quite surprised at the actual knife's condition. First off presentation is completely absent. It came in a plain white box with a bad copier machine logo on top and the knife was rattling around in the box wrapped in some oily tissue paper. This is no big deal really, I guess it's totally 'street' and 'swag', but for a flagship model a couple bucks on some better packaging and presentation could go a long way for some. Worst was the actual knife's condition. There are machine marks all over both handles and also many squiggly marks too. The straight cuts are from poorly machined finishing work and the squiggly ones I don't know. There were metal shavings in the recess holes for the spacer bolts and around the pins. This level of fit and finish is unbelievable to me on a $370 knife. I would be embarrassed pricing this knife over $250.00 and without the disclaimer, 'this knife has a user & workman's final finish where you will see many small machining marks and blemishes to save you money from higher end machining cost'. Luckily it does flip well! As another reviewer mentioned there are many sharp edges and a none crowned spine (which I also knew about before ordering) so although it does flip well it doesn't feel like a flagship knife while doing so. Like the other reviewer I'll tinker with it as send it back, as I've already been flipping it. Be aware, per return conditions you cannot return a knife after flipping it. This is not a knock on KnifeCenter, they're great, but a general return policy for most retailers I've seen. In the end I feel like I paid full MSRP for a Porsche with hail damage and mismatched body panels with a bench seat from an old pickup. Sure the Porsche performance is there but that's about it. Again for $250 on a non-flagship model you wouldn't have much to worry about or expect beyond this knife, but for the 'Alpha', expectations fell short.
BRS Bladerunners Systems Alpha Beast 3.0 Balisong Butterfly 4.5" 154CM Clip Point Blade, Titanium Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Witt
TN
Jan 08, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
If you're looking for the Holy Grail of balisongs, keep on looking.
Purchase Date: 11/01/2016 I'd like to echo what Todd says in his review: - Presentation is completely absent - There are machine marks all over both handles and many squiggly marks too - Although it does flip well, it doesn't feel like a flagship knife while doing so The spacers don't lie flush with with the handles. It's not as if they're uniformly recessed; they're crooked. In addition to that, my latch doesn't slide into place well. I have to brace the knife up against a desk or table in order to open one handed. The latch should be able to drop or be easily flicked out with a finger if the handles are sufficiently squeezed, but my latch requires considerable pressure. When flipping the knife, the latch will catch on the safe-handle when it shouldn't. It was so frustrating that I just took it off and made a ghetto, paracord latch. I'll have to take a file to the stock latch if I want to make it usable. That's just unacceptable on a $360 knife. All in all, I can't recommend the AlphaBeast. I feel like I was taken for a ride. I'm going to sand off the cheap-looking BRS logo first chance I get.