Reviews and Ratings for Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles - 3644

Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handlesrated 4.100 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5 inch Plain Blade, Nylon Handles

 

Price: $99.99

Save $32.01 (24%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adventurercoop
Mesa, AZ
Mar 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Bad Ass Blade!
This is a great remake of an amazing blade! Razor sharp right out the box, I used it to cut some inch to two inch thick kindling. I even used it to do some decently intricate widdling. The blade design is beautifully useful, and the handle is not only comfortable, but truly nonslip as well. Overall a Bad A$$ Blade!
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
new mexico
Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great all around camping, hunting, etc knife.
handle has a great feel.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Backcountry
Deep in the woods USA
Mar 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
A great knife that should go good with my backpacking/survival gear. Has good balance with a nice grip and came razor sharp. Sheath does have a slight rattle to it but nothing to bad for what I plan on using it for. Overall another great Buck product I own and thanks to knifecenter for as always fast shipping.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.D.
owego,n.y.
Mar 26, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
tops/buck short nighthawk
this is a heavy duty knife and sharp when i got it.the knife rattles slightly in the sheath,but is o.k. for my use.i got the short version of this knife in the large version box .a slight mix-up at the factory.this was the one i wanted first anyhow.i will buy the larger nighthawk when knife center get's them in stock.i would recommend this knife.customer service at k.c. was great about the slight factory mix-up with the knife box.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Resident66
Guam, USA
Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
6" is Best
I like the balance better than the 5" that I also own. The 6" just sits in the hand and seems lighter for some reason. It may look like combat roots but for field use it is excellent if you carry 6" knives. 420HC is fine. Buck blade owners have been happy with it for 20 years. What is not to like!
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
big trout lake ontario
May 05, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
epic
I had the original knife for about 10 years, I never had to sharpen it once and I used it to chop trees down. I loved it, my brother used it one afternoon, left it outside and forgot about it. someone claimed it and I never saw it again, these new designs are still great but not as rugged as the ones from before. still cute though, I have two of these and I will not use any other knives.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ironheadmike
Illinois
Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Love my Nighthawk!
The Nighthawk is a sturdy sharp excellent well-built knife but I'm very pleased with.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kelly A
Virgin Islands
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Good Knife for the price!
I bought this knife about a year ago and have to say that it is an impressive piece of work for those of us who can't afford a Tops knife. The blade retains an edge well and I have used it to skin several feral pigs. It powers through tough hide and has the blade thickness to handle thick cartilage. I have also used it to skin goats with no problem and despite its large size it can handle delicate skinning chores. The handle could have been finished better as you can see the fill marks where it was injected around the blade. I have no doubt that it would work well as a combat knife. It is large and that is probably one reason I don't use it more. The sheath is also large but has a nice accessory pouch for tools or another folding knife. I have it attached to a pack with the straps and some parachute cord. The eyelet grommets rusted out on mine but that is the tropics for you! I keep a light coat of vegetable oil on this knife as it did show some rust on the blade. I think the smaller version would be a great knife.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Mar 28, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Look elsewhere
Buck is a nice knife company, but this shouldn't have their name on it. Because it's so abnormally heavy, it's not balanced correctly. It's very dull. The handle is cheap and grip is alright. Trust me, you'll want to return this once you buy it.
Buck/TOPS 650 Nighthawk Combat Knife Fixed 6.5" Plain Blade, Nylon Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Johan
Sweden
May 31, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Catastrophic failure
I loved this knife. I loved using it and I loved the steel and its capabilities, how easily it took an edge and how thick the spine is. Only downside is the hollowgrind, would prefer a normal flat grind. Until one day when I dropped the knife, which landed on a sharp metal bracket sticking out if the floor. The blade snapped in two right by the first of the two holes drilled through the blade. I was so surprised. Until that point it was the best, most sturdy and reliable knife I owned. Now it's completely useless, and I'm in the European Union so Buck's warranty does not apply. Surely this is a problem with my specific knife since I haven't found any other reviews saying the same thing. If you're in the US then I wouldn't hesitate buying it since it comes with a lifetime warranty