Reviews and Ratings for Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters - 2632

Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolstersrated 4.611000000000001 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3 inch Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters

 

Price: $43.99

Save $33.01 (43%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Johnny U.
Richland, NJ
Feb 11, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

I LOVE IT!

How in the world can one not love this knife? A perfect EDC. I know this because it's been on my hip for over 20 years. Yep, it's a two hander. You knew this, though. A "Traditional". Absolutely beautiful and rock solid. HELL TO THE ABSOLUTELY YES, I will always recommend this knife! Can't wait for the return to Ebony wood; I WILL buy one.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OHIO
Feb 04, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

2014 BUCK 112 RANGER

A FRIEND I HUNT WITH BOTH ORDERED THE BUCK 112 RANGER FOLDING HUNTER FROM KNIFECENTER.COM BACK IN FEBUARY 2014 AND SINCE THE DAY I GOT IT THIS KNIFE HAS BEEN MY EVERY DAY CARRY KNIFE I USE IT AT WORK EVERYDAY FROM APRIL 1 TILL MIDDLE OF NOVEMBER WHILE WORKING FOR A FRIEND'S MOWING COMPANY. I ALSO USE IT FROM APRIL 1 TILL NOVEMBER 1 EVERY WEEKEND CAMPING ON THE WEEKENDS IT IS BIG ENOUGH TO DO ANYTHING THAT I NEED AT WORK AND WHILE CAMPING. I USED IT TO OPEN BAGS OF ICE TO PUT IN MY COOLER AND EVEN HAVE MADE HOT DOG STICKS WHILE CAMPING EVEN HAVE CUT ROPE WITH IT. I USED IT THIS DECEMBER ON MY UNCLES DEER THAT HE SHOT AT HIS DAUGHTER'S HOUSE AND THIS KNIFE DONE A GREAT JOB. I HAVE ALSO USED IT'S BIGGER BROTHER THE 110 FOLDING HUNTER ON DEER AND CAN'T SEE ANY DIFFERANCE OTHER THAN THE LENGTH OF BLADE AND SIZE OF KNIFE. THIS 112 RANGER WILL ALSO MAKE A GREAT SQUIRRL AND RABBIT KNIFE ALSO PERFECT SIZE FOR SQUIRRL AND RABBIT'S. I WOULD SUGGEST THIS KNIFE TO ANYONE IT WORKS VERY WELL IF YOU ALREADY OWN THE 110 WHICH I HAVE A 1974 AND A 2012 110 . THE 1974 DONT GET CARRIED MUCH ANYMORE EXCEPT WEEK OF GUN SEASON DEER HUNTING. IF YOU OWN THE 110 FOLDING HUNTER I SUGGEST GETTING THE 112 RANGER TO USE ON SMALLER GAME LIKE RABBIT'S AND SQUIRRL'S . THE BUCK 112 NOW MSRP ON BUCK SITE FOR $72.00 BACK IN 2014 IT RETAL PRICE WAS $69.00 ON BUCK SITE BUT I FOUND IT A LOT CHEAPER THROUGH KNIFECENTER.COM I HAVE BOUGH MANY OF MY BUCK KNIVES FROM KNIFECENTER.COM THEY HAVE GREAT SERVICE AND QUICK ON SHIPPING PRODUCT TO YOU.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
T
New England
Jun 01, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Sheath, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material

Classic Design Really is Better

The Ranger is based upon the iconic classic of the 110 Hunter, and it shows through its rock solid construction. There is no blade play, and the lockup has the strength expected of the classic lockback design. The overall finish and fit nearly perfect save for a slight gap between the lockback spring and the brass liners. The only other nitpick is the fact that the Ranger is only available in 420HC, but at this pricepoint, this is acceptable.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cal
Northern Canada
Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Perfectly sized

I have large hands but prefer working with a relatively short blade, as a result I find most hunting knives to have either blades that are a bit too big, or handles that are a bit to small, sometimes both. More than anything else I have tried I find the 112 to be just about perfect in size. I've used it for everything from cleaning fish to quartering moose and due to its size and versatile blade design it has worked very well. The build quality is good, typical of most Buck knives it has a handle that is very comfortable when held the way it was designed to be held, and not so well suited to being held in the numerous other positions required when actually working with a knife, not too bad though. The steel is decent, it wont quarter an elk without needing a few touch up's along the way, but it will dress and skin a deer needing only a few swipes on the stone to bring it back to shaving sharp. Plenty of knife for most jobs.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken F
Fresno california
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: None

Buck knife

I have been using buck knife for years an like the way they hold up to most every day use
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Uncle Tom
Lawrence, KS
Sep 27, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel

Knives as gifts

I selected this knife to give as a going-away gift for a co-worker. He was thrilled with the knife and plans to use it on every hunting trip. He says it is the best knife he owns. Now I'll buy one for myself!!
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
MARIETTA OHIO
Nov 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

MY 2014 BUCK 112 RANGER

I GOT THIS BACK IN FEBUARY 2014 WHEN MY HUNTING PARTNER AND I DECIDED TO ORDER BOTH AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE CARRIED MINE EVERYDAY SINCE THEN. I USED IT FROM APRIL 1 TILL OCTOBER 31 CAMPING ON THE WEEKENDS ALL THE TIME FROM CUTTING ROPE TO OPENING BOXES AND MAKING HOT DOG STICKS FROM OLD BRANCHES THAT WAS ON THE SHORE OF THE OHIO RIVER. I MADE THESE HOT DOG STICKS AND USED THEM HALFWAY THROUGH CAMPING SEASON BEFORE I HAD TO MAKE NEW ONES. I PLAN ON USING THIS KNIFE HUNTING AS WELL I HAVE NOT BEEN IN WOODS TO HUNT YET . I WAS ONLY IN WOODS TO CHECK HUNTING BLIND AND HAD THE BUCK 112 RANGER ON MY BELT WITH ME. I PLAN ON USING THE 112 HUNTING AND IT'S BIGGER VERSION THE 110. I REALLY LIKE MY BUCK 112 I WOULD SUGGEST THIS KNIFE TO ANYONE WANTING A NICE HUNTING KNIFE. I REALLY LIKE THE 420 HC STEEL EAS TO RESHARPEN AND HOLD A EDGE FOR A LONG TIME. I EVEN LIKE THE MACASSER EBONY DYMONDWOOD HANDLES WITH BRASS BOLSTERS I THINK IT MAKES THE KNIFE STAND OUT.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
F5
Concord,NH
Jan 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Lock Type, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Buck 112 Ranger

Bought the knife as a gift for my son. He loves it! I was impressed with the quality and price, best of all made in the USA. Thats getting harder to find.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronald D
canon City, CO
May 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

Buck 112 Ranger is very well made and a pleasure to use.

I believe Buck is the best knife in a very competitive range of knives. It seems to be better made with quality materials and has the best life-time guarantee. I have used it to cut carpet and many other things as a general purpose knife. It holds an edge very well and is easy to sharpen. This knife is a little smaller than the 110 so it can be used as a pocket carry.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ruben
Wisconsin
Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Sheath, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None

BUCK 112!!! Yes!!!

I love this buck 112 ranger. The look, the handle, the sharpness, the size. Perfection. I have the 110, 500, 503 and the 55 and I am 100% satisfied with knife centers service and will def. be using them in the future...
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken F
Fresno california
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Buck knife

I have been using buck knife for years an like the way they hold up to most every day use
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
MTTA OHIO
Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

MY BRAND NEW BUCK 112 BOUGHT IN FEB 2014

I BOUGHT A BUCK 112 RANGER BACK IN FEB 2014 AND HAVE BEEN CARRING IT AS MY EVERYDAY KNIFE SINCE I GOT IT. I HAVE ONLY HAD TO SHARPEN IT ONCE SINCE I BOUGHT IT AND IT SHARPENED UP RATHER NICE USING ANTIQUE SHARPENING EQUIP THAT IS OVER 100 YEARS OLD MADE IN GERMANY. MY NEIGHBOR GREW UP ON A FARM AND HE GAVE ME ALL THESE STONES BACK IN 1997. THESE STONES BELONGED TO HIS DAD AND HIS GRANDPA THEY ARE IN MINT COND FOR THEIR AGE THEY ARE ALL I USE ON MY BUCK KNIVES. I HAVE USED MY 112 TO CUT ROPE, OPEN CARDBOARD BOXES OR CUT THEM UP TO BURN THEM IN A NEIGHBORS FIRE PIT . I HAVE EVEN USED IT TO OPEN UP MY MAIL. CANT WAIT TO SQUIRRL HUNT IN SEPT IT WILL BE GOING IN THE WOODS WITH ME THEN. I HAVE ALREADY CARRIED IT IN THE WOODS COYOTE HUNTING A FEW TIMES OR JUST WALKING THE PATH TO CHECK OUR HUNTING BLIND THAT WE LEAVE SET UP IN THE WOODS ALL YEAR ROUND. BEFORE HAVING MY BUCK 112 RANGER I CARRIED MY 2012 BUCK 110 EVERYDAY I CANT TELL MUCH DIFF BETWEEN THEM BOTH OTHER THAN SMALLER FRAME AND 3" BLADE.. THEY BOTH HAVE 420 HC STEEL AND IS HEAT TREATED BY PAUL BOS AT THE BUCK FACTORY IN POST FALLS IDAHO. I HAVE HAD A BUCK KNIFE SINCE 1997 AND GOT MY SECONED ONE IN 2000 A BUCK 309 COMPANION FOR A HIGH SCHOOL GRAD GIFT. THE BUCK BRAND IS ALL I CARRY AND HUNT WITH. IVE NEVER HAD ANY TROUBLE WITH A BUCK OTHER THAN THE DIAMONDBACK FIXED BLADE THAT WAS MADE IN CHINA HIT A DEAD SPOT IN BLADE THAT KNIFE IS NO LONGER MADE DISCONTINUED IN 2008 AND REPLACED BY BUCK MAXLITE MADE IN POST FALLS IDAHO. BUCK SENT ME THE 679 MAXLITE GUT HOOK VERSION I HAVE HAD IT SINCE SEPT 2012 AND HAVE USED IT ON EVERYTHING FROM SQUIRRL TO RABBITS AND HAS NOT CAUSED ME ANY ISSUES AT ALL IT ALWAYS GETS RAZOR SHARP I CAN GET IT SHARP IN ABOUT 45 MIN BUT IT NEVER REAY GETS THAT DULL ALL I DO IS TOUCH IT UP ON A STONE AS IT NEEDS TO BE DEPENDING ON HOW MUCH IT GETS USED.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken F
Fresno california
Nov 05, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Buck knife

I have been using buck knife for years an like the way they hold up to most every day use
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 4 stars out of 5
Peter A
Melbourne, Australia
Apr 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Material

It will last a lifetime.

This is a better size then its big brother the #110. It looks like a well made knife that will last a lifetime. No blade wobble. It's perfect in the hand and very sharp, love the forward finger guard too. I would have prefered a better steel for the blade but so far so good. I should have got it 25 years ago.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 4 stars out of 5
J Wins
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

It's aBuck

When it is a Buck, you know what to expect. This is a great example. Great for EDC, great looks, comfortable in the hand or in the pocket. Sharp right from the box. My only reason not to love it is it's really tight lock up on opening. I was hoping for a one handed operation, this is a tight lock back.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt E.
MARIETTA OHIO
Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

FIRST BUCK 112 RANGER OWNED SINCE FEB 2014

THE BUCK 112 RANGER IS A SCALED DOWN VERSION OF THE FAMOUS BUCK 110 FOLDING HUNTER . I HAVE OWNED MINE SINCE FEBUARY 2014. A FRIEND I HUNT WITH WE DECIDED TO ORDER TWO OF THEM AT THE SAME TIME BECAUSE WE BOTH WANTED THIS KNIFE . THIS KNIFE HAS A 3" BLADE THAT IS MADE FROM 420 HIGH CARBON STEEL THE 110 BLADE IS 3 3/4" LONG AND IS MADE FROM SAME STEEL. I LIKED THE DESIGN OF THIS KNIFE SUCH AS THE LOOK OF THE WOOD HANDLES AND THE BRASS BOLSTERS. I FIGURED THAT THIS KNIFE WOULD BE VERY HANDY TO CARRY IN THE WOODS DURING FALL WHILE OUT SQUIRRL HUNTING BECAUSE IT IS THE PERFECT SIZE TO USE ON SQUIRRL'S . WILL PROBABLEY USE IT FOR OTHER HUNTING THIS FALL. I HAVE EVEN USED IT TO CUT UP CARDBOARD BOXES AND POP CARTONS DURING THE CAMPING SEASON TO START A CAMPFIRE I HAVE ALSO USED IT TO OPEN BOXES AS WELL EVEN HAVE USED IT TO CUT SOME ROPE AND EVEN CUT WEEDEATER LINE WHEN HAVING TO PUT NEW ON AND IT CUT IT LIKE IT WAS NO BIG DEAL. BEFORE HAVING THIS BUCK 112 RANGER MY BUCK 110 FOLDING HUNTER MADE IN 2012 WAS MY EVERYDAY CARRY I STILL ROTATE BETWEEN BOTH OF THEM ONCE IN A WHILE. THE BUCK KNIVES ARE FAMOUS FOR HOLDING A EDGE FOR A VERY LONG TIME DEPENDING ON WHAT YOU ARE USING THE KNIFE FOR. I HAVE SHARPING EQUIP THAT IS OVER 100 YRS OLD AND THAT IS WHAT I USE TO SHARPEN EVERY BUCK KNIFE THAT I OWN I PROB SHARPEN THEM SIX OR SEVEN TIMES DURING THE HUNTING SEASON. EVERYONE I HUNT WITH CARRIES A GOOD BRAND HUNTING KNIFE BUT DUE TO HOW SHARP I KEEP MINE THEY ALWAYS WANT TO USE WHAT EVER ONE I HAVE ON MY BELT.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 3 stars out of 5
Parrinu
milano- italia
Sep 11, 2009
Pros: Sheath, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None

3

classic cutlery to have.
Buck 112 Ranger Folding Hunter Style Lockback 3" Blade, Ebony Wood Handles, Brass Bolsters
rated 3 stars out of 5
Old Fox
Hong Kong
Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality

Legend with design flaws

It is undoubtedly a legendary beauty. It is lovely and extremely well made but the design can be improved. The blade will be over closed when there is pressure on the spine in close position causing the edge on the tip hitting the back spacer and blunt the edge on that part. Or if you snap close the blade with the lock back tension, the same thing will happen. It is a design flaw and need to be improved. Nice and sturdy sheath tho.