Reviews and Ratings for Buck 119BKS Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath - 9207

Buck 119BKS Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheathrated 4.529 stars out of 5 (70 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
50
4 star
12
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
2
Buck 119BKS Special Hunting Knife 6 inch Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath

 

Price: $49.95

Save $46.05 (48%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert F
Rhode Island
May 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

This will be my Son's 1st hunting knife

I love these knives. American quality that hold an edge. I bought one for my Son, it will be his first hunting knife. Need I say more?
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred S.
East Hampton , NyEast Hampton , NY
Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Needed a new knife and always wanted this model.. A classic.. All around useful Feels great in the hand, can take a beating. Came sharp enough to shave arm hair. Beautiful sturdy sheath.. Wasn't sure how it stacked up to others knives of this class but Les Stroud made me feel good when he claims it as one of his most useful and trusted pieces of equipment.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gan
selangor,MY
Apr 26, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material

excellent shape

This blade nice although i m not yet use it on camp.But the shape reli give me a surprise.sharp.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
N Brunswick, Nj
Apr 24, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

blown away by the quality, and sharpness of this knife out of the box!

I could not be more happier with how this knife comes razor sharp out of the box. The quality of the handle, pomel, and blade just blew me away. I have always wanted the 119, and I have finally pulled the trigger. Knife Center did not disappoint either by processing the order smoothly, and rapidly as well as the 2-day shipping. I cant wait to go into the woods hiking or camping, so I can strap the 119 on the hip, next to my 110!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rifqi
Malaysia
Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

Sneaky Little Bucky

First of all, I'm quite surprised with the size when this knife arrived. I never thought it will be that small and cute. LOL. Either way the size is not a cons. The most thing I like about the Buck knife is the design. Oh god its so beautiful, especially the handle. It looks like high class knife. The sheath too are well made with quality materials. One thing that bothering me, is the smell, I don't quite like the smell, its uncomfortable. Apart from that, the factory new sharpness is not quite sharp compared to my cold steel leatherneck, but it still done most of the job. This is knife quite small so that you could bring anywhere hidden and comfortable. Although I am not recommend to bring this to public places.Its just my 2 cent.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
Ontario
May 31, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Solid fixed blade knife

Great knife.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keith
Grand Prairie alberta canada
Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I don't know how long my grandfather had this buck knife but it is well built to last he passed it down to me for a hunting knife but I'm planing to put I on a plaque in memory of him he carried it every were he went
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifelover
miami fl
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Used in office and work - it cuts through anything like butter.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Klayton W.
Texas
Jan 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Awesome

All I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!!!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
North Borneo (Sabah-Below The Wind), Malaysia.
Oct 23, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Wonderful Knife Ever!

I just received this knife today. At first look, I'm so impress for this knife. The sharpness, weight balance, handle and blade material, even the sheath too, all is about perfection and high quality productions. Highly recommended for those who love the outdoor activities. Just like the 'Survivorman'....
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Desert Dweller
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 16, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Still great after all these years...

I have had one of these knives for over 25 years. Despite since having purchased and used many other knives from Cold Steel, Schrade, KA-BAR and others, this is still the primary knife that goes with me in my backpack or on a camping or hunting trip. Still razor sharp, as it was out of the box. Made in USA quality. Maybe the only thing that they might improve would be to have a Kydex sheath. The leather one, while still serviceable, is getting a little ragged after all this time, and I suppose I am spoiled now with having great sheaths such as on my Recon Scout and SRK.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tr
Ohio
Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Great utility knife

I had mine till I lost it one day fishing, I'm guessing 5 or 6 years. Even after snapping the tip a couple of times it sharpened back up and kept it edge. Will get another at some point. It's was the perfect size.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thaddeus I
North Georgia
Aug 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

ridiculously awsome

I use this knife almost everyday, a bit slick when wearing gloves, but otherwise awesome knife. I actually cut thru nails (batoning)
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
Clayton, GA
May 15, 2011
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Perfect

Great sharpness and very well made
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raine N
scappoose Oregon
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

absolutly perfect

All around great knife I use it for camping/hunting all the time. It never fails. If you need a knife I defiantly suggest this one
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roland
Virginia
Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife

Better than expected.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ted I.
cumming GA.
Aug 26, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

sweet

great knife for the money, most people would think you couldn't baton with this knife but it exceeds at it . A knife you could keep in your car or as an edc I recomend this knife to any body.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
M.J. Semper ,Fi
Haram Ohio
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic knife better than I expected, and Iam a kabar guy . Military family Semper fi !! Buck is also an American classic . If it isn't broke don't fix it , no wonder knife is still a classic for nearly 50 years well done Buck!! MJ signing out.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benjamin C
13635 Hidden Forest Circle
Mar 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Well crafted

Great durable knife and holds a nice blade.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Purchaser
Missouri
Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great Quality

Excellent quality for the knife and leather case. I bought this items as a gift for a family member who hunts and he was very pleased.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charalampos A
greece
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Buck Special Hunting Knife 6"" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles

I have used the knive to outdoors uses.I fount it an excellent tool.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard F
TN
Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John W
Kansas City
Nov 07, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best knife I own

I got this knife from my Dad 40 years ago and it has been my companion on deer hunts every year since then. Holds an edge better than any blade I own. It took me probably 2 weeks of working the edge with hard and soft arkansas stones to get the right edge, but now all that is required to keep the edge is running it across a steel every other year. I can't tell you how many deer I have dressed and skinned with it, but 40 years worth is a lot of meat.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Middle TN
Sep 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

25 Years

I have had my 119, for 25 years. It has hunted, fished, camped, and even been used to carve the Thanksgiving turkey. The knife has a few scratches on the blade, from use, but it has held up for 25 years, and will still shave.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brett Mullins
ohio
Aug 12, 2009
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight

the best knife for the money ever

THIS IS A GREAT KNIFE FOR THE MONEY all that needs to be said
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyler The Tool Man
Northern Canada
Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great knife

Great knife. I use this knife for hunting and have used it to finish several large game animals. It holds an edge so well that you do need to be careful when finishing an animal as it will not hesitate at spine bone. I have been using this knife for 20 years for basic hunting camp needs, hiking tool and a hunting tool. This knife compares to my KaBar USMC.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Mid America
Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

GREAT KNIFE

BUCK 119,sharp,light, strong (barring any MAJOR abuse),classic old school knife from the BUCK knife company.You have to love this knife. Great service and pricing from Knife Center.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Phil
Ft. Myers, Fl
May 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
Always wanted one and I wasn't disappointed. I know people say the handle is slippery, don't care. This is a classic and a well built knife. For a production knife mine came razor sharp.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Lakewood, CO
Sep 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Go too Knife

This knife holds an edge like grim death if you know how to truly sharpen your knives. I have used mine for over 40 years on anything from pheasant to Elk and I have never been dissatisfied. the shape of the knife allows for cleaning the animal to skinning. I also makes a decent camp knife, but I prefer some others in the Buck family for that. I have not been disappointed yet.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobcat
SOUTH ARKANSAS
Feb 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

BUCK 119 IS ALL YOU NEED

I GOT A LOT OF KNIVES AND I WANT MORE I GOT SOME BUCK QUIT MAKING I LIKE THEM TOO THE119 IS A REALLY GOOD KNIFE ITS THE PERFECT SIZE EASY TO CONTROL AND SHARPENS NICELY BUCK DOES IT RIGHT
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blade 14
Atlanta, GA
May 31, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great camping knife

Great blade. Razor sharp OTB. Sheath is adequate. I put some grip tape around the handle because the plastic is very slick otherwise. Very well made.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andy
Middle TN
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Bought mine in 1990

I bought mine in 90, and initially used it for deer. After a little experience, I prefer a little smaller deer knife. However, this knife has handled many task, even carving turkeys at Thanksgiving. After 24 years, it will still shave. Yes, I tough the blade up after each use, I do take care of it. I have no idea how many camping trips this knife has made. It is one of my favorite bushcraft knives, as it will handle anything you throw at it. At some point, "After 24 years", I do need a new sheath, and I intend on having one custom made with a pocket for a sharpener. -- 24 years, used hard, and still shaves, that really says it all doesn't it? Anyone who puts down 420HC might just need to spend less time on a PC and more time in the real woods.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex S
Austin, TX
Sep 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Incredible classic knife.

I love this knife. Mine was razor sharp out of the box and has held an edge through cutting and slicing. The 119 is light and secure in the hand and is just long enough for outdoor work as well as smaller chores. My only complaint is the sheath. The blade flaps around noisily in the sheath, there's no blade retention at all, and if left unbuttoned the blade will bounce and fall right out.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
R Meijer
Sweden
Jul 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
On my second one. Gave the first away without reservation, having used it 14 years. Straight forward great knife. I even split wood with it.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Western Kentucky
Mar 08, 2014
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Proven Performer

I received this knife as a gift 24 years ago and it has been my constant companion ever since. It has skinned and butchered more deer than I care to recall; gutted fish and cut bait, split kindling, cut cordage, opened packages, and convinced one obnoxious drunk that my wife was not "up for grabs". Probably the most useful, durable implement I've ever owned.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Monkeywrench133
Phoenix Arizona
Jul 01, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Dollar for Dollar, the best knife EVER!!

I bought one of these used at a garage sale for $10, and then carried it every day for 8 1/2 years doing underground utilities. I used, abused, and otherwise beat the snot out of this knife. I used it to cut phone cable, strip sheathing off of electrical cable, cut rope with it, threw it at random things, picked my teeth with it, cut steaks with it and never once had a reason to complain about it. It takes an edge that I can, and have, shaved with. I put this knife through more use and punishment than I'd ever dream of putting any other knife through. I really can't say enough good things about this knife. I'm buying another just to have a nice shiny one now that I no longer work in construction.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick
Oosterhout Netherlands
Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Absolutly amazing!!

This a very nice and super great knife can't go wrong with this amazing Buck!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Portland, OR
Feb 14, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A classic!

Great deal on a great knife. In my opinion, this is one of the most underrated fixed-blade knives on the market. I'm very glad that Buck has continued to maintain production in the United States, too.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
Canada
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Daaaang

I saw Les Stroud use this on survivor man. He used it to baton with, so I knew it was tough, but I didn't know it was this strong. Also, the edge retention is unbelievable. I made feathersticks, sharpened a stake, and used it to baton, and it was still capable to pop the hairs right off of my arm. Probably one of my favorite knives, next to my Browning and my Western.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allan
Sydney
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Buck Special 119

Great product, well made and balanced couldn't find any false at this state.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kw
Alaska
Oct 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Best hunting knife ever!!

This thing is amazing. A tribute to American pride. I can't find any faults. It came razor sharp out of the box. The sheath is excellent. The weight is excellent. I have taken it ocean fishing to come back with no rust. Dropped it from a considerable height, only to show no sign of blade/handle damage. Never had to sharpen it so far, even after many uses. If I have kids; this will be their first hunting knife.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
As expected, the Buck 119 is a well made knife. Pricing from Knife Center and service was great. Going to use this larger Buck knife for boar hunting. The heavy 6 inch blade should work great.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
Zaandam, Netherlands
Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Nice blade!

My first knife, and I think this is going to be my last knife. With the knife in the sheath it still managed to fit right into the inner pocket of my jacket. The handle material is a bit slippery when wet. I think that I'm going to wrap it up in leather. Heel erg bedankt! (many thanks, in Dutch)
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trentbox
NC
Dec 13, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best "all around" knife.

If you spend most of your life outdoors and you could only carry one knife for the rest of your life, I personally would chose this knife! The one I have was a gift 4-5 years ago (used) and it ended up being my favorite knife to have when I go fishing, hunting, hiking, ultralight backpacking, canoeing, etc. The knife has a perfect weight to it and feels very balanced. Sharpens easy as well. The sheath is nice too. Overall, the best fixed blade knife I have ever owned! Made in the good ol' US too! If I ever lost mine, I would cry, then order a shiney new Special Buck Knife!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Specgrade
Ohio
Apr 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Buck 119

I bought this knife to add to my fixed blade collection. The 119 is very sharp and the sheath is very well made. The handle feels good in my hand and the knife is well balanced. Nothing bad to say about the 119.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Callum
England
Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Brilliant looking knife

Brilliant looking knife. Sharp blade and sheath is also good. Overall amazing quality, love the knife. You won't be let down.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
NV
May 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Badass Beauty

Awesome knife. Great handle fits all sized hands. Holds edge great. Easy to sharpen. Perfect for venturing into the wild or using everyday. Overall great knife!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eagle Scout Mom
Mesa, AZ
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Gift for Eagle Scout Son

Very impressed with the workmanship! Our son was very pleased with this gift upon receiving his Eagle Scout award.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
west columbia
Nov 20, 2010
Pros: Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Good Knife

I used the knife for kitchen utility and I took camping the knife is very useful. I cut lots of rope, cord, and skinned fish with it very good knife. ive bought one in the of 07, and i bought another one this year over the summer. the things i like about it is it's blade style and the blood groove. the handle is pretty good i can say. but i really like the guard and but cap because its got a good shine. GOOD JOB BUCK!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan
Kent, OH
Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

One of the best outdoor knives you can buy.

With a 6" blade made of 420HC Stainsteel this knife is just the right size & strength for any type of outdoor use you care to put it through. The blade keeps an edge for a long time and I found you can sharpen it to razor sharp once again. I like the larger grip, it fits well in my hand(s), when it tough use it doesn't slip around. The over all weight is a bit heavier than some of the newer plastic "outdoor" knives that are coming out today. It gives you the confidence that you can tackle even the toughest jobs at your camp site or on the trail. The leather sheath is just fine for this knife, it fits well, the plastic insert lining works well to keep this knife in place and adds strength/security. I like the cross-over flap that snaps shut to the side, keeps this out of the way until you want to open this up. For the price point... this is the best bang for your buck! (no pun intended).
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rc
Farmland, In.
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Bad for Buck, good for me!

Gutted my first deer under direction of a friend with this knife, easy to handle for a large knife. It went very smooth and quick and knife was easy to clean! Will more then likely never have to buy another knife for hunting as long as I live, bad for Buck, good for me.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Hong Kong
Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

awesome knife

I have the master series of the Buck 119 more than 15 years. It comes with BG42 blade, razor sharp. The steel is very hard for sharpening but it keeps the edge very well. Green checkered wooden handle. The leather sheath is sucking , it keep the knife rattling all the time when I carry it.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Oklahoma
Jun 04, 2013
Pros:
Cons:

First Buck knife

Like this knife. Sharp out of the box and has a good feel. This is my first Buck knife and I like is so far. Have not had time use it yet but plan on doing so very soon.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doug
Maine
Jan 07, 2014
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None

Solid knife

Classic knife that does the job at a great price. How can you go wrong with this Buck?
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Gary Liu
PRC
Mar 26, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material

It is a good knife

It looks not as good as from the photo. But its length is very good for multipurpose. A Buck 119 with a swiss knife can deal almost all outdoor needs.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin D
pennsylvania
Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

my buck knife

I am a man who believes in a few things. I believe in god, I believe in a death, and I believe in my buck knife. I have two, my all day carry my 875 folding pocket clip buck knife., good to go knife I love it. Then there's my 119 buck knife. I take it with me hunting, fishing, camping and adventureing about the mountains, around lakes and rivers. I use it when needed even for defence if i have to. It's a great knife for a guy that can appreciate the great outdoors and a good knife.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian B
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

All Time Classic

I just can't say anything negative about the Buck 119 Special. History speaks for itself and at $45 who could ever complain? Durable, well finished and easy to maintain... nice stuff :)
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Timothy
United States
Jun 07, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Good knife for price!

Now for me these hunting knives don't get used very much I only go camping now and then. I use is mostly to look cool, and to know that it's there if you need it. I love it! I like the size of the blade and handle. The sheath is also a nice addition. The blade could have come sharper, but it's fine anyways. Overall really cool knife!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None

Good for the money and right purpose

This knife is a classic and a good deal for the price. NOTE: This is a not a survival knife and even really a true full tang knife. This is a decent hunting knife. For the price, it is well made and looks good.... a classic. Be realistic with your expectations and you will be happy.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John M
Vancouver, BC
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Material

Good quality

I can tell, everyone must buy it. Great work BUCK!
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake
from the Lake
Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Material

Great for the price

This is a very good general use knife, nothing special here. They seem to HT the 420HC very good but still, why did they resort the tool steel? Anyway - that is a personal preference. Reading many reviews I note that people somehow get dumber and dumber. Throwing a knife which is not designed for that and complaining because it breaks? Please don't listen to those dumb people, the only minus for this great knife is the steel and that is just personal preference. I guess if it was tool steel, there'd be complaints about rust *facepalm*
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cody B N
Bigfork MT
Dec 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

Knife Collection Classic Must-Have

Probably one of the most iconic knife designs of modern times, the current iteration of the 119 is still just as pretty as day one. The level of manufacture has diminished somewhat over the years. I just recently bought my 7th 119 special, and have noticed various discrepencies between the build quality and finish of this particular knife model over the years. The edge grind, while sharp, is very noticeably "wavy" on both sides of the blade. The finish, and placement of the blood groove isn't nearly as precise as years past either. And this is true of my last few 119 models. But for the money, it is still a tremendous value, and still made in America to boot. Sheath made in Mexico.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Red
Heartland
Feb 27, 2011
Pros: Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material

Not perfect

My dad bought one off a guy at work. I took it as my own as a boy and had used it for years. I was practicing knife throwing with this, bad idea. It broke. Thursday is his birthday, so I'm buying him a new one.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Unlucky Buyer?
The Sticks South Carolina
Jan 30, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, None

Mine mustve been bad.

I had one of these back in the 1990s.It came dull.I couldnt sharpen it? I think my particular knife wasnt heat treated correctly-stuff happens.It was put together well and looked awesome.My Buck 110 would sharpen.So would my new Buck Nighthawks(scary sharp) and Kabar/Ontarios.It had to have been a heat treatment problem.Maybe I need to try it once again.Oh yeah I always use Smiths arkansas stones-never ceramic.Grip was slippery too-is that normal.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Daniel
Portland, Oregon
Sep 13, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Great knife, not practical for anything

I got this knife for Christmas as a kid to take hunting. When it came time to skin the deer I used a different 3" blade folder realizing I would probably cut a finger off using a 6" blade. The handle material is very slippery with any sweat or wetness making this a useless fighting knife. I can't imagine what sort of work-task requires this knife. Its still a classic and good looking.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dun R
southern Colorado
Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

It's a Buck, no worries...

Ive had several Bucks over the years, most notably the #120 General and the #110 folder. These knives wear out the sheaths long long before the blade wears out... So far Ive lost my #120 that I got for Vietnam circa 1971, and an engraved #110 that was a gift from a dear friend. I felt the loss of those two knives deeply and went out and replaced them immediately- tho they really couldnt replace the friendship and personal "mileage" those blades had with me. I have heard that Buck has changed the steel used in these blades- perhaps they did, but their tempering seems to be right on- When my 40-some year old #120 went missing I had some trouble finding a replacement so I got a #119 and found that they still take and hold the edge- Bucks will wear out even an arkansas stone over the years. I don't bother with carborundum type stones- to get the good edge on the Buck you need something harder like the arky stones. For the money it's hard to beat Buck quality and they will outlast the owner. I have used and owned many knives- even made a couple myself- yet my Buck was a constant companion and never failed me in use. :::Big Grin::: once I learned how to sharpen it! Right now I have 2 #119's, a #110 folder and a #120 of recent manufacture. I keep one in each of the family vehicles as part of the mountain "trunk kit" survival tools, and one is my "everyday carry".
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Johnnyboy
Kalmar, Sweden
May 15, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Size matters

Hello folks! I have own a 6 inch Buck in my youth, but it got stolen one night I got really drunk. I decided to get me a new one. Didn´t remember that it was so "small". Prepare yourselfs for a "small" knife and if you have big hands like mine. The knife handle almost comletely diseapear in your hand. JB
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Greg
Durham, NC
Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Typical US Made

The Buck 119 has been the standard in hunting knives for like 50yrs, but its not the same knife. The old knives were tool steel vs. the 440 Stainless that is the mark of Walmart quality. Don't get me wrong, its a good knife but its not the knife my Dad gave me when I was 14yrs old. Its also very hard the sharpen.
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Kyle B
New zealand
Oct 06, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish

Poor

My Buck 119 knife snapped in half after i went camping and i accidentally sat on it and i only weigh 65 kgs this knife was uselss for me i will be happier if i got a better version of this knife and a stronger knife from a differnt website
Buck 119 Special Hunting Knife 6" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles, Black Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Christian
New England
Feb 04, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials

Absolutely Worthless

This was supposed to be used for a thru-hike of the Appalachian trail. On the first day I was climbing Katahdyn (southbound) and I dropped it. The blade hit a rock and snapped in half. One of the worst products I have ever had the misfortune to own. I had a friend ship an ESEE 4 to me and I couldn't have been more pleased.