Reviews and Ratings for Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles - 3998

Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handlesrated 4.684 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25 inch Blade, Micarta Handles

 

Price: $149.99

Save $50.01 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris B.
columbus ohio
Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buck 124
Beautiful Knife
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Antman K
california
May 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
best knife I have
Best knife I ever had, surely my go to knife! Worth every cent
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Canada
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outdoor survival knife
Collectors Item is the main purpose. The knife has excellent craftsmanship and attention to finish is superb. It can be used as a weapon, provided you weren't invited to a gun fight.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John C. Posey
Hunters, WA.
Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Buck 124 Frontiersman
This knife is for general, all-around use in camp, field dressing game animals, preparing meals, anything a knife would be used for. I have several Buck knives and have 100% confidence that the Frontiersman will serve me as well as the others have and still do. I am very pleased with Buck knives ability to take and hold an edge, the toughness of their blades and the fit and finish is flawless. I appreciate the full, exposed, tang of the Frontiersman. The exposed full tang gives a sense of strength. I believe there is a Buck knife that will fit anyone's needs. No need to spend more. I am very pleased with my Buck Frontiersman 124. One of my better purchases. Thanks, Buck for a great product at a reasonable price.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Henning H
Kissimmee
Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Beautiful knife
Love this knife. Great look and feel, nice sheath and an overall feel of quality. Just a note on the handle material - look and feel good, but slippery when wet. Well worth the money.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jörg P
Reidemeisterstrasse Menden im Sauerland
Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Danke schön!
Once I have bought a buck frontiersman knife in order to defend me. I was wanted for Deutsche Bundeswehr and learned to be another Waldarbeiter. To handle and use such a beautiful weapon feels good.There is nothing negative about it at all!
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Franklin W
Wv
Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
perfection
Former MARINE here, trained with the KABAR, it's put away, the BUCK 124, is without a doubt the finest all purpose combat knife made for the price !, sharp, beautiful and USA made. This knife fits all applications hands down. Fit, form, function it's the complete knife. Heft, full tang design give the user that superior feeling. Though i will say the sheath leaves much to be desired. Mexican leather? Knife is American ! If your wanting a winner this is it..I own 2 so far. One for collecting one for use. BUCK quality can't be beat. Thanx and BUY AMERICAN..SEMPER FI !
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Oregon
Oregon
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Buck 124 Frontiersman Heritage 2012
One of the best knives ever made in the U.S.A. Mfg. from 1967 to 1997 but brought back for 2012 and the remake is perfect. Linen Micarta handle and black leather sheath. A hand-filling handle and large brilliantly sharp and pointy blade built for a frontiersman.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mlb
Hills of Tennessee
Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Buck 124 heritage frontiersman
I have been collecting knives for years! What I can tell you is this is the knife of all knives! Hunting,survival or fighting/self defense there's nothing out there that beats it.I'm not saying I may not have some knives that come close but this buck is bad to the bone .....literally! Knifecenter was also great .........sent a beautiful knife and fast shipping!
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
Oct 09, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
Possibly the best knife I have ever picked up. Might have to buy a spare, or two. Love everything about it, great looking, solid, very well made, extremely sharp. Well done Buck! If you want a lovely knife, buy this one.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Louigi
Rapino, Abruzzi
Nov 17, 2018
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Awesome knife
Received this knife as a gift. I have many Buck knives but this is a beautiful beast.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
United States
Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Perfect Fixed Blade
This knife has Buck quality as usual. Right out of the box, it had perfect fit and finish and it was sharp enough to shave hair. Get one, you won't be disappointed.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tomb
Oceanside, CA
Apr 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife, poor sheath
A large blade with a lot of "belly," it's well designed and executed. I really like it and trust that the traditional Buck success with hardening 420c blade steel continues. It's obviously a full tang design and the blade thickness is about 3/16ths. It should be a very study and durable design. Polished aluminum is used for the grip cap and blade guard along with linen micarta for the scales. Grip is still a bit too smooth and feels too "square" in cross section. Fit and finish is excellent. However, the big disappointment is the sheath. The description describes it as being leather. It smells a bit like leather, but feels more like a processed fiber material. It's very stiff and "dry," and most of us used to appreciating the feel of real leather will be very disappointed. Plan on replacing it.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
ND
Apr 01, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is the best knife I have ever had. Mine is over 30 years old and still is the perfect knife when hunting big game. Cuts through everything and holds an edge. Last knife you will ever need.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed C
Virginia Beach VA
Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
"Mahvelous"
As Geoffrey Holder the Un-Cola man use to say "Mahvelous - absolutely mahvelous" This is a beautiful tool. Excellent weight, good full grip, excepionally sharp right out of the box. Just a great tool to have at my side. I have a Randall Made Knife that I purchased back in the 80's. This was my everyday fixed blade. Since the Buck Frontiersman has arrived the Randall has been religated to a show piece. I may just purchase another just to have and unused one. The only thing I do not care for is the sheath. I just do not like the design of Bucks fixed blade sheaths.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dococc
Edmonton, Alberta
Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
recent purchase
great overall finish. good balance in hand though one hot spot due to squared off top side of handle. have not used it much yet but look forward to more experience with this knife.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin D
Pennsylvania
Apr 09, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
My124
My name is Kevin and I have a passion for the outdoors. I love hunting, fishing,camping and scouting around. I live within around mountains lakes and rivers in Pa.., and plenty gamelands. I am a buck knife fan. When I go out on my outdoor corriculums I always take my folding buck and my buck 124 no problem. I love my 124 it's a real knife., simple and rugged an all around hunting survival camp knife. When it's on my side I feel the sense of I'm good to go.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
James
Elgin, Il
May 09, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material
Love shape of this knife
I've had this knife for 30 or more years. I love the shape of it. I've been campaigning to get buck to make this knife in a harder steel D2, s35, maxemet, and it would be great with an antler handle. But this is such a nice knife I guess their not motivated.
Buck 124 Heritage Frontiersman Fixed 6.25" Blade, Micarta Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Drone
Maine
Feb 03, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish
Looks nice, but what is it good for?
I bought this knife thinking it would be a great all around camping/survival/bushcraft/defense knife. The blade profile is amazing. The full tang is nice and thick. BUT, the handle is too wide/squared, uncomfortable. The micarta is polished so it looks nice, but it's slippery which makes it impracticle. The deal breaker for me is that the center of balance is pretty far back in the handle. Not a good knife for hacking. The fitment of the scales and aluminum isn't great either. I wish the handle was slightly curved, less thick, grippy micarta, with a balance that would let me spin the knife.