Reviews and Ratings for Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade - 3306

Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Bladerated 4.7139999999999995 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8 inch Blade

 

Price: $16.95

Save $8.05 (32%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Goat Leather Goods
Sacramento, CA
Mar 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great Little Knife

EDC knife, VERY sharp right out of the box & holds edge well. Comfortable & confident grip in the hand. Cheap cheesy sheath rides high on the belt.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robbie R
Naples Fla
Sep 08, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I saw the in your catalog and read the reviews and they were good . I liked the look of the knife and now it goes everywhere i go. Its a great little knife and i really like it.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gomster
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great Little Knife

Solid piece of steel, shave-sharp right out of the box. I bought this to use as a neck knife, so I had to make a kydex sheath for it. The sheath included with the knife has a plastic insert that doesn't hold the knife tight; you have to fasten the snap to keep it from falling out, but it's a quality sheath nonetheless. I would highly recommend this knife, not just as a skinner, but as an all-around task knife. It is very sharp!
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Louis L.
charlotte nc
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

great tool for a really good price point

light and easy to carry as a spare and sharp as the dickens
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg T
Eustace Tx
Oct 03, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Excellent knife to carry

excellent knife to carry. lightweight- rugged-holds its edge well. I highly recommend it.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimbob
Loveland, Co
Oct 09, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Worth the money !

My use is as a typical camp knife, those things it should be used for as well as a few like prying that it shouldn't. Strong, sharp, lightweight, and very reasonably priced.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Zurich, Switzerland
Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Materials
Cons: None

"Big" Knife!!!

It is perfekt to handle, lite and sharp. A perfekt Knife to have on you day by day...Thanx for your fast an friendly service- I'll come back!!! HUG
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
José F
México city
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Excelente for all activities

se it daily for over 2 years for hunting, fishing, and camping, it is very good steel, edged very good I recommend it widely
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carlos
fl
May 10, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Finish
Cons: None

the best

great knife , great price, good finish
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry
Jay,Ok
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife

very well made highly recommend this knife
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gatvol
Las Vegas, NV/ Garsfontein RSA
Nov 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
I use them as Gifts for fellow hunters in Africa. You can have a very expensive one or this model. Its inexpensive, basic and does a fine job.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shadowhunter
Fort Defiance, Arizona
Jan 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Well designed knife

The knife is light and efficient. It came sharp but with light touch up with a ceramic rod it was razor sharp. Stays sharp for a good period and easy to resharpen. I use this knife exclusively for field dressing and skinning game. The shape of the handle fits well and despite no grip panels it is very secure in the hand. The all steel construction is easy to care for and clean.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
New Jersey
Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

It's a life time knife

I've skinned a dozen fox,4 racoon, and 2 coyotes the knife is just as sharp as when I got it.For the price I'm going to get a few more.Im a search and recovery diver and I am going to recommend that we put this knife in all of our boats.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike A.
Maine
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great for the money

I'll be using this knife for everyday tasks--I just wanted a change from folders. It came with a shaving sharp factory edge, and no visible imperfections. It fits great in the hand. Originally I was going to wrap it, but I don't think I will now. The sheath's okay. For what I paid for it, I'm really impressed. Haven't had it for very long yet, though. Pretty light weight (in a good way).
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francisco
Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil.
Apr 09, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Uma pechincha!

Precisava de uma faca pequena, leve, fácil de esterilizar e robusta. A Paklite Skinner supriu todas essas necessidades. Ao contrario do que muitos dizem na internet, considero a bainha dela muito boa. Relação custo X benefício excepcional.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
-D-
Bakersfield, CA
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Buck Paklite Skinner

I was looking for a knife that was light weight and compact but not too small to compromise the grip or sturdy feel of a sheath style knife and this knife delivers. The sheath will work well for belt carry(it could be smaller), yet I see this knife as a neck knife and so I made a sheath out of kydex for neck carry. The knife is just thick enough to be used without extra handle material, yet for lengthy jobs a least a cord wrap handle would likely help for comfort. The price of this knife is crazy, and Buck has never let me down. So price considered (and a slight compromise on steel) if you are looking for a light weight neck knife style sheath knife this one is a home run.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmy Sparks
NY
Sep 22, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent Addition To My Hunting Knives!

Excellent Addition To My Hunting Knives!
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Turtle
Philipsburg, PA
Nov 03, 2009
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Razor sharp

Sharp, perfect for hunting
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob Ellis
Wilmington,NC
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Beautiful,very handy skinner.

One of the best, I have ever used. Thank you.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hamster-In-A-Wheel
USA
Jul 15, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Good EDC fixed Blade

This knife has displaced my beloved Izula from my right front pocket. At first I hated the somewhat cheesy sheath, but it works well for pocket carry, and a Bark River Bravo Necker firesteel fits between the plastic liner and cordura shell beautifully. The knife comes pretty sharp, and is very easy to touch up. Plus, it's less than half the cost of the Izula, and unlike the Izula, the uncoated blade will make a pretty good spark on a firesteel.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Pasco, WA
Nov 11, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Buck Paklite

I use this knife for skinning the legs of goats, sheep, and cattle. It works well. I would prefer if it did not have the reverse curve at the rear of the blade: It makes the edge difficult to sharpen with a flat stone.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Woody
belen nm
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

nice little knife

The handles a little small, I got pretty big hands though. very sharp. haven't got to use it much yet, seems to hold an edge decent.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Buckshot
Lubbock, TX
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

great buy

Good edge out of the box, easy to resharpen,comfortable after long use,and made in the U.S.A. What else do you need?
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cook
Oregon
May 13, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Sweet little knife

This is a great little knife. Stout, sharp, and made in the USA. No frills, just a very usable little piece of nicely sharpened steel. My only critique is that Buck could have given a nod to the tactical user and given it: A. a kydex sheath and B. a bit more of a crossguard or finger guard to stop the hand on a forward thrust. Minor points but they still could have hit two solid markets instead of just appealing to hunters.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joey
puerto rico
Jan 13, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish

good buy---big sheath

generally a good buy. the knife does what its intended for.it is very durable . i believe the sheath is very cumbersome. i replaced mine with a sog sheath that i had to modify............overall sharpness fair.finish typical buck satin.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sharptactics
Gig Harbor, WA
Sep 15, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Buck returns to USA origins!

Yeah! Buck is back and making stuff in the USA again!! Big props to Buck for returning much of their manufacturing to American soil! And under $20!!!?? You bet. I ordered this more as a general utility blade, though I'm sure hunters will find the stout blade great for its intended purpose of skinning. Shaving sharp out of the box, one piece of HC stainless. Very nice for the price. The scabbard is Buck's typical cordura, except this time with a hard plastic insert. This piece is nice and light, light enough to carry in a front pants/shorts pocket. The sheath leaves a bit to be desired, but I'm not really complaining at this price. Overall, I'm very happy with this piece and so far it has excelled at every utility task I've put it to, including; breaking down recycling and using it to make a sandwich. All Buck would need to do to re-market this to the tactical crowd, is blacken the blade and include a kydex sheath with a ballchain for neck-wear. A great American-made product for less than a night out with your sweetheart. Good stuff.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
M Soto
Puerto Rico
Jun 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Materials, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Nice little knife

Very nice product. Light and sharp. I use it as a neck knife in the woods. Very poor quality sheath, I made a Kydex one for my Paklite. BTW, good service by Knife center.
Buck Paklite Skinner (Stainless Steel) Skinning Knife 2-7/8" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Happy Camper
Virginia
Jul 29, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Useful EDC or camp knife

This is a neat little fixed-blade knife suitable for utility use or light chores around camp. The handle is large enough to provide real control, and modest jimping in all the right places makes for a secure grip. I would have preferred a straight-edged blade for ease of sharpening; however, the slight recurve is entirely appropriate for a knife designed as a skinner and will actually be an advantage when cutting cord. The blade came plenty sharp, and my previous experience suggests Buck's 420HC steel will hold up pretty well. The sheath is at least secure and includes a padded extension to keep the knife's handle from digging into your waist - maybe not the greatest but I can't really complain at the price..