Reviews and Ratings for Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles - 5759

Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handlesrated 4.6 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4 inch Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles

 

Price: $15.95

Save $7.05 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Justin
Utah
Oct 05, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Great lightweight knife.

This is a great knife for everyday tasks and very lightweight. I have field dressed several deer with this knife and it does a great job at it. It rides in a pocket pretty nice and is easy to one hand open. It does have a lockback so not the fastest to close. For the price this is a great value. It does have a plastic body so not the strongest for heavy duty tasks. Stainless and plastic construction mean that it is easy to clean with hot water or in a dishwasher.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
MA
May 11, 2019
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Budget EDC backup knife

The bantams are the best budget folder out there, been carrying them for 15 years. Very nice craftsmanship for the price, the blade shape & finish are absolitely beautiful... this is my favorite blade even of the more expensive folders I own. The blade is sturdy & sharp. It's just a cool looking knife, the handle shape is awesome & very comfortable I'm the hand. The textured part of the handle is pretty grippy, I wish the whole handle was textured. It's a great lightweight EDC or backup knife, I like carrying inexpensive but good knives because they can get lost or damaged when working. This very compact size can fit even a change pocket, the lack of a clip really makes it compact. I also have the larger size with clip which is great too but takes up more space. The only downside for me is that the handle is not that wide so it's a little uncomfortable for me to open one handed with long fingers (I wear L to XL gloves). And the opening is stiff, you cant flip this open... which doesnt bother me but I have heard in some places flippers are banned so this would be a good option for those places.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shawaiz
pakistan
Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None

my EDC

i got mine at a high price paid 30USD to get but i don't regret that.i am using it as my EDC knife and just love it.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracy
GA
Nov 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great knife

great quality knife..very sharp and durable.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tracker
Illinois
Nov 26, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

My choice for EDC

This little knife is surely one of the great bargains of the knife world. It came with a very good edge, and is easily maintained with a ceramic " V" sharpener. I use it daily for opening mail, slicing open plastic bubble packaging, trimming bushes in the yard, etc. Slices rope or leather handily. The handle shows no scratching although it shares a pocket with keys, coins, and other small objects which have eroded other knives with titanium-type coatings over steel.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik O.
Royersford, PA
Mar 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Great knife for the price

Very sharp blade right out of the package. Folds small to fit well into pocket. Lock back is rock solid. I primarily use for opening packages and letters and cutting rope. Handle feels a little cheap, but I haven't had a problem with it with light use.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd N
Tucson,Arizona
Mar 21, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife

Got here quick...Nice knife
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim M.
Boston
Apr 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Great Everyday Carry knife

This small lightweight Buck pocketknife is great if you want something this fits in a front pocket and is not dangling from a clip. I am a very large man and wear XXL gloves but this little knife still feels good in my hand with the finger groove and jimping on the back of the knife for my thumb. I wanted something non threatening if I loaned it to a woman to open a carton or cut string, and the blade is 2 3/4" so it's not scary. It's made in the USA as I prefer, and was good and sharp right out of the box. Overall it's great and I would recommend it to anyone who prefers something small and light. It's really not made for heavy use like hunting, camping or as a work knife. Buck makes lots of other models for that. On the down side, it's a little awkward to open with the 2 sided thumb stud. Mine is a bit stiff to open one handed, and there is no way to adjust the tension. It may loosen over time. Closing it is best done with 2 hands. Still, a great value for the money, and made in the USA.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed M
H
Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None

Easy Carry

Useful size and light weight. The price is right and it sure comes in handy at work. A good tough little knife.
Buck Bantam BBW Folding 2-3/4" Plain Satin Blade, Black Thermoplastic Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Craig K.
Houston
Aug 09, 2015
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type

It's ok at best

You can get a better knife than this. Just spend more money. The plastic handle is not nearly as nice or stiff as G-10. I had the knife for about 6 months and just use it for general stuff around the house nothing beefy. Pros: It feels great in your hand, opens easy with one hand, nice and light, slim for your pocket, and drop point blade looks pretty cool polished. Cons: Plastic is not that great, I was not able to get the blade as sharp as my Gerber (but that could be my skills), and the annoying is the small vertical play after using it 6 months. I can tell my larger Buck Bantam is going to have the same vertical play problem after it loosens up also. I am going for a Linear Lock knife from now on with G-10. Maybe a Spyderco Tenacious or 5.11 Tactical Alpha Scout which I have now. Good luck and happy days Buck Bantam owners here. I really tried very hard to love this knife but it's just ok to me.