Reviews and Ratings for Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed - 2587

Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closedrated 4.583 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8 inch Closed

 

Price: $34.39

Save $24.61 (42%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
J R C
White Hall, AR
Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buck Stockman 301 (American made)
I have been carrying one of these knives for 30 years. I give one to every one of my Boy Scouts who makes Eagle, which is why I placed this order. I use the long blade for general stuff, the clip blade for rough work and the spey blade for skinning and minor backwoods surgery. The knife is heavy duty for long lasting use, is easy to keep sharp with an Arkansas stone, and holds up really well. One of my scouts who is now in his fifties still has the one I gave him.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Harrison
Houston, Tx
Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
2017 Buck 301 as excellent as 1993 model
I bought my first Buck 301 back in 1993. I used that knife to cut boxes, whittle, sharpen pencils, slice paper, open envelopes, cut leather thongs, cut apples, etc., etc.. I used it as a daily carry for years and it is still perfect! No wear other than some resharpening over the years. In March 2017 I bought a new Buck 301 with the intent of using it as a backup to my 1993 model. In reality, I wanted to inspect it in order to see if the quality was still the same as my older model. It is. The new style blades have been reconfigured with the new Edge 2000 full hollow grind as opposed to my 1993 model's flat grind. I'm not sure this is an improvement, but it still cuts like a laser regardless and looks pretty nice. It is an excellent knife in engineering, manufacture, quality, and price. This knife will last your life time if taken care of, and also if not taken care of. Some say that the easy opening of the blades on these Bucks is a detriment. I disagree. I hate losing fingernails to knives with hard springs. This one opens easily, snaps into place, closes easily, and snaps closed. It works as designed. This is one tough working knife. And it doesn't look bad as a dress knife either, being silver and black. I find that I pick this knife to carry almost every day and have never felt that it was a wrong choice. It takes a terrific edge without too much work and lasts a good long time. I highly recommend this as either a first purchase or a purchase for someone who's used pocket knives all their life.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shaun
Lincoln, NE
May 26, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Wish I'd never gifted it.
Great knife. Very functional, easy to carry, and buck (USA Made ones) always come very sharp. Sad I gave mine away, will be buying another.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sharon M. S
New Jersey
Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect Service
My knife Was perfect And service was outstanding. I put my order in early and it was shipped the same day. I was kept up to date on all aspect of my order by email. I will be recommending this company too all my friends who are into knives. A great company with excellent service. Sharon M. Sell
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Glenn
London, Ky
Mar 05, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Top quality American folder.
Got my product fast & checkout was a breeze (Thanks Knife Center) What more could you ask for in a knife for under $50? Quality blade steel that easily sharpens, beautiful hollow grinds on all 3 blades, razor sharp out of the box, American made traditional folder the Buck 301 is perfect in every aspect.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed M
Hamilton Ont.
Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Knife
Carried one of these thirty years ago and always wanted to get another. This one is every bit as good as the one that I lost. Buck has kept the quality.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
PA
Sep 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My favorite buck
This knife has to be the best all around stockman on the market today. It aint as fancy as some pocket knives but I prefer it that way. I don't have to worry about cracking the scales or having them swell from water or wiping the blade off or oiling them in fear of rust.You can even stick it in the dishwasher to clean it if you got to. The length and thickness is perfect. To me the fancier looking stockmans are just pocket jewelry, this buck is made for work. Not to say this knife doesn't look good. The black delrin and steel bolsters still looks classy. If I had to change anything about this iconic knife I would change the spey blade for a pen blade.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wvhiker
Morgantown, WV
Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
workhorse pocket knife
I've owned and carried this knife for over a decade. It is scarred up, but as solid as the day I bought it. I use it often,and pick it for jobs that may scar up or break a knife. It is a great knife. A lot of stockman knives have the spey and sheepsfoot on the same backspring, but this is a three spring knife. Bit thicker, but the blades aren't crinked (bent to allow two blades on one spring). Barring loss it will probably outlast you.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobby S
Wynne Arkansas
Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Buck knife
I love this knife, came razor sharp out of the box! It's a big bodied knife for those with large hands. Been carrying one for fifteen years and needed a new one! Cuts through metal just like the ad says!!
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pudden T
Backwoods
Sep 22, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Nice to have three blades.
I like to have three blades. I read about the names of the blades but have never seen a description of which blade the names apply to. I use one for very dull work like scraping rust off of something. The other two to keep for sharp use. If one gets dull you have a backup. This knife seems fine. My only complaint is that the short blades do not snap completely closed. I have to push them down for complete closure.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 3 stars out of 5
For The Hubby
Victoria, TX
Dec 15, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
Appeared used
The knife appeared used or old. The logo was tarnished and black "gunk" appeared on moving part connection. I'm guessing old lubrication. The packaging noted a 2008 date. As long as the hubby likes, it isn't a problem. Personally, I was disappointed.
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
rated 3 stars out of 5
Stan
Brea, CA
May 29, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Buck 301 Stockman 3 Blades Zytel Handle 3-7/8" Closed
Bought 3 - one for me, & one for each of two daughters. Good product, nice steel and reasonably well sharpened. Significant difficulty in getting the blades opened - blades are thick and the slot for each is pinched tightly against blades making it difficult to open each one, especially the shorter two. I tore my thumb nail trying to open blades. My daughters will have significant problems opening the blades. I remedied this somewhat by using a wedge to spread the brass liner for the blade area and made it better, but not perfect. There is no need for 1) such fat blades, and 2) smashing together the pins at the ends of the knife to hold the blades together, thereby overly compressing the blade channel. I’m well acquainted with blades and sharpening. I’m a wood carver with lots of knives and chisels which I shape and sharpen often. The design of this knife is great. The care and control of the manufacturing process needs review and someone needs to be testing the product after it is completed. If my daughters can’t get the blades open without tearing their nails they will likely toss it in a drawer and not use it. Try this out — go out the the product line and pick out several finished, ready to ship knives and test out my comments. Stan