Reviews and Ratings for Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade - 3212

Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Bladerated 4.500 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8 inch 420HC Blade

 

Price: $25.95

Save $14.05 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vegemite
Oakland, CA
Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Something special
First of all, this is a $20 knife, so it's not perfect... but wow, what a knife! I would have been happy paying double for a folder like this. My knife was manufactured in 2011, according to the blade etch. Opening is buttery smooth on brass washers. I can get the flipper to work with a firm push or a slight flick of the wrist. IMO the flipper is just the right size. The liner engages fully with no blade play. Blade centering is very good with the blade staying clear of the liners. An earlier problem, contact with the back spacer, is also fixed. The light weight, slim profile and the pocket clip make the 340 very easy to carry. The glass reinforced nylon handles are strong and light with decent texture. Blade was sharp out of the package. A few minor issues: the center spacer rattles, liners need sanding in some places. While the thumb hole deploys the knife right handed, it is impossible left handed. Since the flipper works well, no worries. I will enjoy this knife for a long time. Way to go, Buck!
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul B
UK
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Buck, you really got it right
I use this knife every day on the farm and I can't recommend it highly enough, it is absolutely spot on. It's size is is perfect, although I also have a larger version, this one is my favorite. It is so easy to use with just one hand.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mkf
SC
Sep 21, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Quality for the Price
Its my EDC when I know that use will be harder than usual since I can always replace it cause of the price. It has tip up carry and is reversible. It rides low in the pocket and feels like a SOG when carried.All experience with Bucks 420HC is very good. Blade shape is great for EDC with the nice sweep it has. Deployment is fast with the phosphor bronze bushings.I did have to adjust it after it was bought. Not very heavy due to the FRN handles and but not a complete light weight due to the full steel liners. A lot of features for just 20$
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bladehound
Nashville TN
Oct 23, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Near Perfect
This is almost a perfect EDC knife. I have looked near and far. It is lightweight, perfect blade shape, and great cost. It provides a great grip. You can use it as a flipper or use the thumb hole. Some have problems with the whole, but I have large fingers and it hasn't been a problem. I'd say the complaints are because it's a quarter second slower. The flipper feels safer on this knife then others. They all take practice to get the feel, but it works smooth and grip on handle is great. The absolute perfect is the clip. I don't care if it is blade up or down. I'm right handed. But this is a deep sitting clip. I work in an office, but have to have a knife. No weird looks from others with this. There is room for improvement. The flipper isn't perfect. It needs to protrude a bit more or have something for some grip. There is also no jimping on the lock release. If you use it a knife (or play with it on the porch like me) your thumb will get a bit sore. There is no jimping on the back of the blade, but I could care less for that. I hardly ever use a EDC or any knife like that and if you do, there is s contour in the handle and plenty of grip for you to sharpen your arrows. I had no problem with blade being offset. I think Buck as fixed that. Super sharp. Near perfect.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Tenn
Aug 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife for the price. Great overall, but definitely for the price. Takes and keeps.an excellent edge. Have found myself wishing for more of a thumb stud, Otherwise no complaints. Solid 5
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
For the price, you literally can't beat it.
I'm very picky when it comes to knives. It's probably the reason that even with some great purchases I've made over the years, I still have yet to find that perfect knife. There might not be one out there, which is okay. But, I still like to believe I'll find one eventually. By no means do I believe this is the perfect knife, it's not. However, for the price, practicality, and features, it's unbeatable. The blade is sharp and very attractive. It has a flipper which is a bit small but nonetheless with a little practice it whips out as fast as any assisted opening knife; very smooth. It's extremely comfortable in the hand, even though the plastic handles are kind of slick, I prefer a texture with more grip. The handles fit nicely in the hand because they seem to be molded to the user's hand in general; they are a bit longer than the blade itself which allows you to wrap an additional finger around it to secure your grip. I love that feature. The lock-up is solid, with no blade play from what I've seen. The pocket clip is perfect for deep pocket carry without it being noticeable for someone to overreact because you have a "knife" on you. The blade centering is very precise. Don't listen to the negative reviews. This is a high quality tactical knife because it's simple and easy to use. They make many versions of this knife (Vantage Avid, Vantage Force, etc.) and I look forward to buying more of them. Please do yourself a favor and buy one yourself!
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike B
Mckeesport,Pa.
Aug 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Aniother Great Buck EDC.
I've never have any issues with a Buck made knife.This one is no except there. I think it's going to be my number one EDC from here on.The fit and finish is second to no one's.Sharpens to a beyond razor sharp edge. Buck uses Crucible's 420 hc which is a very good general use steel.I never had one chip,break or bend on me. Never had any corrosion issues either.I like it more than the 425m they used in the past.Most knives use a Teflon washers to help in the lubrication of their folding joint.Buck uses phosphorous bronze washers which will last forever.I've seen Teflon go bad,but never the phosphorous bronze as Buck uses.I bought the very first Buck with Zytel handle yrs back.I used it day in and out for 15 + yrs and it still looks like it's new. People told me then it'll never last,it's plastic. All their knives from different companies look beat up by comparison..Most where two and three times the price. But none survived as well as my Buck EDC.It's proved it's self as the best EDC I've ever owned.I've noticed a fair amount of complaints with the pocket being to tight.They abrade their pockets as such.Not so with either Bucks they work very well.Not to tight or loose.Overall I'd say this is the Best of it class in a mass manufactured knife.Buck also proves to me again.The Best knives are still made here in the USA. I like this so much I'm going to buy the upgrade version with s30v steel.As consider it to the best overall blade steel you can by.Again made by Crucible Steel here in the USA. I would recommend this knife to anyone wanting the very best in an EDC of it's size.A bargain also considering it's made here in the US.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ian
Pa
Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great Value
I purchased this knife for an out of state trip. I needed a blade <3" and the price was right. Carried easily in pocket. Its smaller than I would normally carry, but found it to be a very usable knife. Good fit and finish. American made quality at a great price.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tommyb
Meyersdale, PA
Nov 02, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Highly Pleased
It's my everyday pocket knife. It's easy to open, and close. And.....it's extremely sharp, out of the box. No bad comments
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh
USA
Nov 08, 2014
Pros: Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great knife for the price
I use this as an everyday carry and I think its great. Can't beat it for the price and it's American made.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Billy H
Arkansas
Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Worth the Price
I have had this knife for over a year. I wanted a small knife and this is right size for me. I liked it is made in the USA. The pocket clip is ok, but i removed mine and just put in my pocket. the blade came sharp and the 420HC steel is pretty decent. My only gripe is the flipper and slotted opening, both are basically useless. Since i keep it in my pocket i open it two- handed. For the price and quality it is a keeper.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jan
Earth
Jun 25, 2018
Pros:
Cons:
Good for its price
Will want to make sure that the liner lock is fully in place, and that the edge of the blade is not bent, seems like Buck had some quality control issues with this particular Vantage knives. I am re-buying some just to try and get one where the knife isn't deformed in any way. Crossing my fingers!
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brad
Raleigh NC
Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
great high value!
this is a great little beater for what u pay for this knife you get a great value, he handle is very comfy this would be a great first knife for your kid i carry it when i know im gonna beat my knife up.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best EDC for money
In my opinion, this is the best EDC knife you can buy for this price. Low ride pocket clip, decent steel, opens quick, light, sharp, etc. You can't beat this knife for the money. And there are many Vantage upgrades to pick from. I have 3 of these knives.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike S
Philadelphia PA
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Great but Flawed
The slightly uneven blade does not harm function but Buck could do better. A real winner in value. If it must cost more to get a better grind, I'd choose slightly imperfect. A good design however trumps all.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eddie
Ponchatoula,LA.
Mar 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Made in America and affordable
Nice affordable knife made in America and it's a BUCK! This knife is almost a 5 star, but the fit and finish aren't quite what they should be. Handles and liners should flush up better. Blade came sharp, has nice belly and sweep,(needs jimping on top)steel seems adequate for EDC (my first experience with 420HC), but blade is off center when closed(there is a Utube video with a possible home fix) and liner lock feels kinda rough when unlocking. Although blade locks up very solidly ( no play up/down or side to side) when open! The flipper works well, but could use some jimping or crosshatching for better grip when opening. The thumb hole is pretty useless at least for a left hander, thumb studs would be much better I.M.O. The tip down, low riding, left/right swapable pocket clip is ABSOLUTLY FANTASTIC!! The knife is light and you forget you have it in your pocket. All in all a very good knife for the money, just needs some fine tuning. For the price everyone can afford to own one. Buy one and then send a critique to Buck. This is potentially a Fantastic, Affordable, American made knife even at a slightly greater cost for the improvements.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Schwaf
RL
Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Great knife with some extra work.
The vantage series is an example of a great design in an inexpensive package. This knife, the vantage select, has many great features, but needs a little extra work on the end users part to really be special. I'm partial towards the small (2 5/8), though the larger version is essentially the same. My review is based on the small vantage. PROS: I'll start by saying that most importantly, the price is RIGHT. As of this review (07/2014), it's $23. Price isn't everything, because garbage is garbage, but this knife gets it right for an excellent price that's hard to argue. The first feature that comes to mind is the excellent blade shape with a classic drop point design. I generally prefer spyderco's leaf blade for the constant curving belly that's apt to slicing, but the vantage has a large belly that slices well. It's a useful blade that doesn't intimidate many people, unless you employed it to do so. Not a premium steel, but the heat treatment is well done and effective. The steel is, in my experience, very rust resistant. I tried to force a patina using strong vinegars, pickle juice, stabbing a lemon, and using mustard - all failed attempts to even make a stain. Oh well? The handles are not super grippy, but the ergonomic shape of the handle contours my smaller hands well using various grips. Very comfortable though not a lot of traction. Ergo grip makes up for it. I have and carry lighter knives, but at 2.3 oz this knife can be carried comfortably even in lighter weight fabric shorts. I would like to see them lighten it by milling out the liners, but for the price, I'm not complaining. The deep carry pocket clip is my favorite of all knives I've owned, including several spyderco's, SOG, and cold steel to name a few brands. SOG has a deep carry clip, but I think they look a little tacky and it buries deeper than what I prefer. Just my opinion, but I have my reasons. The overall dimensions when closed are sleek, narrow, and just about perfect. My favorite thing about the size of the small vantage is that it fits perfectly in the 5th pocket of most my pants. The deep carry usually fits at the perfect depth of my Levis jeans, and the narrow profile leaves enough room for a small lighter or even a multitool (leatherman squirt ps4, or s2 juice) all in the 5th pocket. The weight takes a little getting used to, but once you do it sure is a good feeling having tools that you can forget you're carrying. CONS It's not all good news with the vantage, and there are quite a few things I didn't like, so I made some modifications listed below. First con, and boy does it piss me off: quality control. I've had 4 vantage selects in both sizes, and yeah, their QC doesn't impress me. "Made in America" is a bit of a joke when they come out of the factory like this. Blade centering was on point out of box only on ONE of the four I had. The others were off, the tension was different on all, and eventually all of them started loosening to the point of blade rubbing on the side. I've had rattling spacers, and sticky pivots. I've just decided whenever I use a new one, I'll break down the whole thing, degrease it, relube it, and put it together using blue loctite and properly tighten the screws. C'mon, Spyderco has got their QC on point even on their Chinese made Byrd and tenacious series at competitive prices. Buck - you get a C- for QC. Barely passing. I have not had one accidentally unlock on me with normal use, but the lock does feel a little weak and flimsy. This is a liner lock design, but the thickness of the lock and lack of a stop pin does not inspire much confidence in me. There is a bit of play in all directions when open, but only a bit. The deployment methods include a thumb hole and flipper tang. Unfortunately the thumb hole is too receded to be of much use, and the flipper tang is also small. Before a zip tie modification, I'd push out the blade slightly using the flipper, and flick my wrist. No biggie I guess, but after using other knives it left me wanting more. MODIFICATIONS The shape is very sleek, and while there is a small forefinger groove, there isn't much of a place for the thumb to lock to. So I added the smallest zip tie to the deployment hole, and it's pretty much awesome now. The square profile around the hole gives the zip tie a perfect bite. Cut it down, melt the extra, and super glue it in place. Yup, thumb deployable, perfectly locks the thumb in use, AND it's waveable. It's not a suggested mod, it's mandatory. Just make sure that the knob sticks up on the correct side for your thumb. Last thing, I painted the clip black. The satin finish is a bit too conspicuous, and considering I'm often wearing dark pants, I like it to blend. Just a quick sand, paint, and clear coat. It's worn off a bit, but whatever, it's not nearly as noticeable tucked in. I wish they would come black standard on the vantage select, because the force series is not worth paying twice as much for the same knife. CONCLUSION The knife is worth buying, hands down. Heck, buy a few spares. I no longer edc this knife often anymore because of the cons mentioned, but I happily carried it daily for several months and will continue to do so. They're perfect for traveling because I wouldn't feel terrible about losing it or giving it away as a personal gift with character. Competitive options - look at Spyderco's byrd line. I would say the direct competitor to this knife price and sizewise is the byrd Robin (very similar to the outstanding Dragonfly). If I had to say, I would pick the vantage over the Robin FRN, but the Robin G10 over this. Put a zip tie on this vantage and you'll love it.
Buck Knives Vantage - Select (Small) Linerlock Folder 2-5/8" 420HC Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sakoman
Minneapolis, Mn
Aug 21, 2009
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Fast Opener!
Handy little knife, with a little practice it opens like lightning. The shape of the blade lends its self well to many uses including skinning small game. The liner lock is not very impressive it failed to lock the blade when opened slowly. It works just fine when snapped open. One of the screws on the handle was on an angle and made the knife look cheap. I guess at that price something has to be lacking. Best of all it's not made in China!