Reviews and Ratings for Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade - 3214

Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Bladerated 4.694 stars out of 5 (49 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
38
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25 inch 420HC Blade

 

Price: $27.95

Save $16.05 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
J
Opelousas LA
May 11, 2016
Pros:
Cons:

Best knife I own"

Perfect knife an blade is Centered what u expect MADE IN USA!"
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
OR
Aug 10, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent everyday pocket knife.

Just picked up the Vantage and for the price well made and with a quick and mild honing very sharp. Easy to open and close.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincent
APO
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Versatile Knife

I purchased this knife for every day use and as a back up knife for self defense. The knife opens quickly and easily everytime. The spur that is used to deploy the blade doubles as a slight guard for the index finger preventing an accidental slip. The materials used in construction give the knife a solid, well made feel without being heavy. I think Buck has made a really good knife for a fair price. Also, a major contributing factor for purchasing this item is that it is made in the U.S.A.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
South Central Kansas
Dec 03, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Good knife !

Carry it every day, at work and around the yard, a great all a round knife to have on hand. This is a robust knife and I was impressed at the workmanship that went into it. Blade is just right and the pivot point locks up solid with no noticeable back and forth wobble to the blade. A little tight for one handed opening a present but probably because its new and hasn't worn in yet.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
California
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great blade

After doing a lot of research on inexpensive folding knives I found this Buck Vantage large had many favorable reviews and after I received it I now can see why. The blade shape is very useful for almost any job from cutting rope, opening packages, or slicing cheese and salami at picnics the knife can do it all even butchering a rhino in Africa well not yet. . The overall quality is very good. The blade arrived sharp. I think for the price you will not find a better folding blade and made in the U.S.A.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris R
oregon
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Feel, None

great quality!

Bought one for my dad for fathers day, got out to the car and took it out of the box again to check it out. The lock up was one of the best I've seen, the blade sharp and the edge was fine. The pocket clip can be reversed for us lefties and the blade swings out smooth. I went right back into the store and bought one for myself. It's been a year now it it goes everywhere with me and i've put it through hell. It holds an edge well and takes one just as easy. The liners are very thick stainless and makes for a very durable knife. I've used and collected knives for 2 years and I would pay 3 times the price for this knife!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjh4
Michigan
Feb 21, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Smooth opening sharp dependable knife, I use it everyday for various tasks it holds up to everything I dish out to it. And it's American made the way it should be!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gérard
France
Mar 02, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Buck vantage 345 BKS.

Bon couteau,bonne poignée,verrouillage,lock,mais la lame manque de netteté (traces de meulage grossier).
Good knife, good handle, lock, but the blade lacks sharpness (traces of rough grinding).
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Dayton, OH
Jul 20, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None

Best buy for the money

For the money, you won't find a better buy or better EDC knife. I'm not saying you there re not better knives out there, but I haven't found any at this price or anywhere close. Great knife!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jc Denton
Earth
Jan 26, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Solid Knife

The Buck Vantage has a lot of great features. The blade can be opened with the thumb hole or the flipper. It opens smoothly with very little wrist movement. The pocket clip allows for deep pocket carry, and it can be set up for tip-up carry on the left or right side. The handle and overall construction make the knife feel more expensive than it really is. The liner locks up well if the knife is opened quickly, but it does not fully engage if the knife is opened slowly. The knife has no back spacers, so it has a nice, flow-through design. The blade comes decently sharp. The knife is great, but I have realized I prefer a knife that is smaller and lighter for everyday carry.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Fairbanks, AK
May 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None

Top Shelf

I really like it, fits very nice in the hand, an easy one finger/hand opening, and a strong blade married to a strong frame when opened. It fits good in the pocket which is a plus. If right handed it has a natural one finger opening and the pocket clip is on that side to accommodate the one hand opening. I am not sure if the clip can be switched to a left hand pocket with the clip to accommodate, but it appears to be so as they are 2 screws which can be backed out and the pocket clip placed to the other side if an competent tooler has the right sized allen-wrench.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty
Philadelphia
Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great

The knife is a great way to buy a well built American made knife. Knife is unmatched for the price, and knife centers customer help is very good.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary Koopman
Grass Valley, Ca.
May 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryn
Australia
Dec 07, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fantastic product

A beautiful product, which arrived promptly and was razor sharp out of the box. Its a joy to use with perfectly smooth and easy thumb opening and good solid lock. The clip is excellent and the weight and slimness of the knife mean it can be carried on the belt without you even being aware of it. Not quite so in the pocket, but its worth it to have a decent size blade.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
David S.
Lebanon Tennessee
Dec 18, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great EDC Blade

I Carry it every day it is fairly light and bucks 420HC steel is easy to sharpen, it does not hold the edge as well as the s30v model but the ease of touching it up makes it a much better every day use knife that you will not be afraid to use hard because of the low price. Even so under standard EDC use you will probably be handing it down to your kids.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walt
Florida
Jun 07, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None

Great knife

Very fast shipping great product
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
David S
Lebanon TN
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

None better for the price

Great for every day carry and due to the low cost your not afraid to use it hard. The 420HC steel is easy to resharpen
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Backpackhunter
LaFollette, TN
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight

Great knife

Took a little sharpening to get it to shave. Easy to clean. Strong. Durable. Great knife.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
G A Miller
California
Jul 06, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Exceeded Expectations!

Made in the USA...Solid Knife...High Value! Out of the box, blade centered, razor sharp, smooth engagement and lock. Feels great in hand even though there has been some criticism in various knife reviews regarding the clip feeling uncomfortable when gripping the knife. I didn't find this to be the case. Bought this knife to use as a "beater" knife expecting the knife to be of middle of the road quality. With the first flip of the blade I knew this was a high value purchase. I read several reviews regarding quality control on Buck's Vantage series, but at $26 I was willing to take a chance knowing that Buck customer service would likely resolve any issues I had with the knife. But out of box, this knife was spot on in every way! This is now my EDC work horse! Highly recommend a buy on this high value gem from Buck!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
G11354
Michigan
Sep 20, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Very Good Knife

The Buck Vantage 347 has been my go to knife for 3 years now and Im very pleased with it. However upon purchasing a second 347 Ive found that Buck seems to have switched from bronze washers to cheaper plastic washers which is disappointing. Overall a good knife, especially if you can find an older model with the bronze washers!!!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lil Ricky B
Europe
Nov 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Home made Buck

I use this tool for every day carry, I open boxes cut straps and I prpare my animals after the shot. this is a very fine U.S. made tool at an affordable price; buy two or three and give them to your buds.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vegemite
Oakland, CA
Mar 14, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A Solid Knife

I love Buck knives. They are affordable, strong and practical. The Vantage is no exception. I own the small and large select models; both are so much fun to flip open. The large has thicker liners that make the knife feel very dependable. The pocket clip makes the 4 oz knife carry very easily so you barely notice it is there. Past problems like blade centering and ease of opening can be easily solved if the knife does not come perfect from the factory. Get yourself a T6 screwdriver if you get a Vantage. Open the knife up, clean well, re-lube. It should open easily with a centered blade. This is a good knife no matter the price. The fact that Buck makes this knife in the USA for mid $20s is icing on the cake.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
William F. E
Glenside, Pa
Jun 30, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

No complaints

I use this as an EDC. It has a nice feel and is easy to open with one hand using either method--nice to have 2 options. the blade is sharp. the tip is not perfectly evenly ground but I do not see that causing any problems. I am thrilled to have a USA made pocket knife that is great to use. The clip is right at the end for a deep carry. It seems like it could be easily switched to the opposite side. Great price.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomas R
FRESNO CA
Jan 30, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

VANTAGE FOLDER

I JUST PURCHASED THIS KNIFE AT BIG 5 SPORTING GOODS THE VANTAGE IS VERY WELL MADE GREAT FOR EDC LIGHTWEIGHT SHARP VERY GOOD STEEL BETTER THAN COLD STEELS AUS 8 STEEL. I DO HOWEVER WISH THE BLADE WAS A HALF INCH LONGER AS I PREFER LARGE TATICTAL FOLDERS . THE BLADE IS SUFFICENTLY THICK . THE QUALITY IS WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT IN A 50 DOLLAR KNIFE. IF PURCHASED FOR KNIFE CENTERS 25 DOLLAR PRICE YOUR GETTING A GREAT VALUE. GREAT JOB BUCK AND KNIFE CENTER.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
C0v3red !N Ch3mtr41ls
PA, USA
May 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None

well rounded folder

I'm not a fan of folding knives or the liner-locks therein, but I do like this knife. I've been carrying it everyday for a month and it is a welcome addition to my pocket. This knife has a boring look to it all around. Open and closed it mocks a nondescript traditional style, yet boldly bares black plastic scales, which makes it come across as more of a tool rather than a gentleman's folder or tactical blade. Defending yourself would be effective with this knife, as it comes out fast and has a sturdy lock up in all directions. The length of the knife is also good for a defensive pocket pal. I was glad to hear all the weird little kinks have been worked out of this knife because I was really impressed with the Buck 420HC steel I found on my friend's Buck 119 Special. I find that during extremely hard use most folding knives aren't comfortable; this knife sadly falls in that line, but any knife with a clip and a gap in the grip will by slightly uncomfortable under masses or pressure. I'm a big fan of the flip-style opening method in conjunction with the option to open in several more ways via the pill-shaped hole in the blade. If I bought something more expensive with more sex appeal I would just be sad when I used it hard.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Oftringen, Switzerland
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very good everyday knife

I have bought this knife after I had seen a review about it online. The knife is offered at a very fair price here. The quality is very good: the knife opens and closes smoothly and the linerlock works just fine. I especially enjoy to have two options to open the folder with only one hand: there is an oval deployment hole for your thumb and a flicker that serves as a gard while the blade is open which works very well and is a great idea. I often use the knife for carving wood when I am outdoors. It is very sharp. I don't have the knife for very long, so I can't tell yet how easy it will be to sharpen it. The size and weight of the knife is just perfect for me: it is very comfortable to hold and I really like to take it with me when I go to the woods or on a day-hike. For longer hikes, however, I tend to take a Swiss folding knife with more than one tool with me since these provide more options for the same weight. My Buck Vantage Select weighs in at 112g (3.95oz) which is slightly more than advertised but absolutely no problem for me. You can easily remove the pocket clip if you don't need it to reduce the weight a little bit but I don't feel disturbed by it and won't remove it. Greetings from Switzerland.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sha Yongtao
Dec 31, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
cheap but good
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Les
Bakersfield Ca.
Jul 26, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great value

This knife is made in the USA yet the price is very affordible. Very well made and sharp. Another great knife by Buck. I'd like to see an assisted oppener in this model.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan M
Charlotte, NC
Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great BUCK EDC!

First let me say that after ordering a dozen or so knives from the KnifeCenter the shipping promptness is truly the best of any online business that I have EVER used. I have two favorite EDC knives. The famous Ontario RAT II and this good, solid "American Made" Buck Vantage Select Large. This knife is easy on the pocket, has a great pocket clip and with a flick opens with a fast, satisfying “snap”. The Vantage is easy to control and has a properly thick, sharp and no nonsense blade. Easily one of the best values in the knife World !
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bearman 1
West Virginia
Jul 12, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None

Buck vantage

I am a taxidermist I use knives everyday I worked also into a resort and I use knives about everyday buck knives as one of the best knives out there and I'll continue to buy buck or case double x I hope this helped you thank you very much Mike c
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
M
Berkeley, WV
Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Simple and Tough

Buck Vantage Select = Simple, Reliable, Tough and it's Made in America. I own other knives (Benchmade, Ontario, Case) but I use a Buck Vantage Select for my EDC, Farm Work, Hiking and Hunting.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buck
Kansas City, MO
Feb 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very Nice Knife

I use the knife as a utility knife. I carry it clipped in my pocket all the time. Can be opened with one hand. Nice size and feel. Holds an edge well for my applications. I whet it on a piece of ceramic every few day. The 420 HC steel is nice for me as it holds an edge but is not so hard to sharpen like some of the steels. The clip is reversible although I have never changed mine from the factory. Nicest knife overall I have ever owned.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Martin, TN
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Buck Vantage

This is the biggest knife that I can carry in my "dress" pants pocket. I really appreciate having it in places where I concealed carry is not permitted.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bcj
Northern GA
Oct 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

I like it, carries well, good product for a reasonable price US Made

I like it and so far it does a good job. It is used for carry and general go every where knife. Seems to keep a decent edge cutting card board, fish, and small game. I like the feel and it is US made. No negative so far.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
Venice, Ca
Jan 22, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Value for a Rugged, Well-built Knife

I got the smaller version a few months ago as a front pocket EDC and was impressed so much I bought the big brother. The knife deploys pretty smoothly with the flipper. A little stiff but it's still new. The thumb hole is big enough to be a viable alternative. While it may seem a bit rough around the edges, the fit and finish is actually very nice. The handle is well designed and had a nice texture for gripping. The classic blade shape is versatile and came pretty sharp out of the box. With a little touch up it sharpened up nicely and the 420 steel holds an edge very well. The steel liners give this a solid satisfying feel in the hand, well balanced and secure. I go to it when I want to carry something more substantial than most of my EDCs and for under $30, you can't beat it. Buck quality made in the USA. What more can you ask for?
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
L.F
New Jersey
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great job Buck

Awesome EDC. one of the best Folding Bucks yet. Super affordable knife. Pocket clip is absolutely perfect....offering both discrete carry and durablity. Blade material is good and heat treatment is awesome. Practically perfect EDC for utility purposes. Home Run from Buck!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry J
Worlds Heighest Suspension Bridge
Feb 04, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Buck has a winner!!

Fantastic knife for the money. Buck has done a great job with this knife. I love the ergonomic feel to the handle and blade. It balances well in the hand, opens fast with a little practice and with the reversible clip you can find a carry postition you like. Previous problems with this model Buck had been the blade not centered in the handle. Mine came in perfectly centered. Buck listens to it's customers and responds. Buy with confidence. Jerry J.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dacotah
shoals
Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

very good knife for the price

Its made in the good old usa
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
Valley of the Sun
May 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Feel

Very good but could be better

I'm so impressed with this knife. It's an affordable and attractive flipper that is well constructed--a quality American made product. I have the paperwood model (cool blue/green). Deep carry with pocket clip. Opens easily and locks solidly with no play in its beautiful hollow ground clip point blade. Having said thus much, I cannot help but believe this knife could have been a home run rather than a stand-up triple. If the liners had cut-outs (skeletalized), the knife could be lighter--a 4oz knife with a 3.1" blade is on the heavy side. The lock liner could be thicker producing a more robust lock--this would definitely require skeletalized liners. Lastly, if the blade and handle were 1/8" (or 3/16") longer the knife would be ideal for my medium/large hands.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Timbo
Greeley, CO
Oct 22, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None

Good knife!

I am very impressed with this knife. I bought this particular one to sort of test the product. Though they are comfortable, I am not a huge fan of the FRN handles, but it is a sub-30 dollar made in the USA knife! In any case, I like it enough that I plan on upgrading to a S30V model, and I will pass this one along to a friend. Really, assuming the handles on the more expensive versions are really better, this knife could give the Endura a run for it's money for my favorite daily carry folder of all time. I like the deep pocket carry, it opens with authority, and while I prefer S30V, I don't have any problem with the steel. I also don't typically like flippers, but darned if this one doesn't work like a charm. Buck earned me back as a customer with this knife!
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce Ramsey
Eddyville, Ky
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None

As good as advertised.

This is a good general purpose knife. Opens and closes easily. Blade touches up easily. Size and blade strength is good. Weight is fine for my purpose. Clip works fine. The handle is a little uncomfortable if you need to put some a** into a cut. Overall, a good purchase for me.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Micky G.
South Central Pa.
Dec 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great USA Made Folder!

Buck's 420 steel is a good choice. Holds an edge and touches up quickly on a butcher's steel. I like the drop point blade style as opposed to a clip. Locking mechanism is solid, but works better with a "quick" opening flick of the wrist. Thumbhole is OK for reverse flick opening. Handle feels good in the hand. So far this USA made quality knife is great for everyday carry. I'm sure it would be more than adequate for field dressing a deer. Kudos to Buck!..
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Presisiontools
Australia
Apr 26, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Great value

This is my new EDC. I have a Vantage Pro as well but I like the lighter weight and cheaper handle material is a bit grippier than the G10 I think. Blade material is not as good as the Pro of course but its value is still amazing. Flipper design blade deployment is lightning fast when you get the hang of it too. Great knife.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles H.
Mason, Tn
Jan 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

My first Buck

This is my first made in the USA Buck knife. I am very pleased with the overall quality of this knife for the price paid. It opens quickly and just feels good in your hand once deployed. Comes nice and sharp. If the knife had some gimping on the top of the blade I would have given it 5 stars....I wish they made this knife in a 4 inch blade....this is one sweet knife for EDC. The way the pocket clip is attached allows for a very deep carry.. Im extremely satisfied with this knife.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Hoss
Monroe, CT
Apr 29, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material

Fantastic EDC Folder

Excellent folding blade for EDC tasks. the polymer handles provide excellent traction. Very easy to open the blade one handed, but will sometimes stick if not enough force is applied. very sharp out of the box. great tight fitting low profile pocket clip. Blade finish is ok, but not as good as the other vantage models. If you need a tough EDC knife this is perfect, if your looking for a collectors item then try any of the other two models from the vantage line. That is why i bought all 3.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick D.
West Virginia
Sep 18, 2020
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

24th Buck knife

Blade is terribly uncentered but it flies open and locks up securely. Great knife for the money. Everyone should have at least one of these.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mehtäläenen
Helsinki, Finland, Europe
Oct 24, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness

Vantage Select Large

When I got the knife the sharpest edge was not on the cutting edge but on the thumb hole, on the handle's steel liners and on the top of the blade tip. I needed to blunten the steel liners with a stone not to cut my hands. This one was a poorly finished knife. The handle feels quite nice in my hand because the handle shape is not very complicated as on many other folding knives. It could need some roughening to improve the grip, though. The blade is thick but unnecessary broad with a hollow ground forging almost all the way up which makes the blade too weak for carving wood which is the most common thing you really need a knife for, unless you're a hunter with a good shot. It seems the blade is designed and forged for cutting soft materials like skin, flesh and maybe clothing. Buck says this one is no hunting knife but an everyday knife. It's even a folding knife with a nice deep carry pocket clip for discreet carrying, but a bit big and heavy to be carried on the pant edge. To me as a martial artist the knife is mostly a self-defence training weapon, basically a toy.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
D. Walker
WY
Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None

HIt or miss

I currently own 4 different Vantages. Love em, but had to work on all 4. Aligning the locks and blades along with sanding the edges of liners. I don't generally mind, but recently bought one as a Christmas gift and it was so far off there was no fixing it. If you get a good one they're excellent folders. If you get a bad one they're expensive paperweights. I like the size, blade shape, deep pocket carry, flipper action. The only thing I don't like is the inconsistent quality. All my other bucks have been good. I'm not sure why these have issues.
Buck Vantage - Select (Large) Linerlock Folder 3.25" 420HC Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Cole
, Oklahoma
Apr 07, 2019
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Sheath, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Overall Quality

Disappointing

I was disappointed when I received this knife after seeing all of the great reviews on it. I expected something with better fit and finish for something made in the USA. The handle has good ergonomics but is made of cheap plastic and blade wasn’t centered. My biggest gripe is that the blade was actually still rough and still had marks from the milling/machining process. Not sure if someone at the factory forgot to buff mine or if they’re all just like this. Quality control was definitely napping on this piece. Buck has been steadily letting me down every time I give them a chance. My Dad carried a Buck for many years while working and I’m just not seeing the same quality from their knives now. It’s as if they don’t care. When their loyal, 50 and older crowd of old-school followers start to die off, I bet they’ll start caring then. But I’ve given Buck way too many chances. There are many other better options out there at this price point. Don’t waste your money.