Reviews and Ratings for Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV) - 00035

Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)rated 4.2219999999999995 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8 inch Closed (3318 CV)

 

Price: $45.99

Save $10.21 (18%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kh
va
Oct 28, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

One of the all time great knives

a classic - BUY NOW!
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wes
SC
Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife. For me the best compromise between being big enough to grip and not too big in the pocket to comfortably carry. Good steel. Came very sharp.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
MARIETTA OHIO
Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

My case medium stockman 3318 CV

I just bought a Case medium stockman with yellow handle model # 3318 CV. I like the CV steel it is the same steel that they used on the older knives back in the 70's. This #3318 is gonna be my every day carrier I work for a friend's mowing service dont have to use a knife much but when i do it will be their. This knife will be used while camping as well every weekend . I also own a Case folding hunter as well that was made in 2010 that i use to squirrl,deer,turkey,rabbit hunt it has the surgical steel blades in it. My case #3318 was made in 2011 i am curious to see being CV steel how well it holds up during every day use. If it holds up well i will go purchase another one as well.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toad
Miami,Fl
Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Rugged

Extremely tough, durable knife that gets the job done. Its comfortable in the hand causing no hot spots, you can carve for hours. Stays sharp longer than most knives and sharpens quickly on a steel. Yes cv steel rusts and this may not be the best choice for really wet environments. Get a good patina on this blade, and oil sparingly, and this knife will last indefinitely. When you get used to working with non stainless knives, you soon realize that their extra sharpness and toughness put them ahead of stainless in performance and are worth the extra maintenance, which is small.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
MARIETTA OHIO
Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

MY CASE 3318 MEDIUM STOCKMAN

A FEW WEEKS AGO I BOUGHT A CASE #3318 MEDIUM STOCKMAN. I USE THIS KNIFE FOR EVERYDAY TASK'S FROM OPENING MY MAIL TO USING IT FOR OPENING BOXES. I HAVE SHARPENED IT SINCE I BOUGHT IT. I USE A OLD CARBOURUNDOM COMBANATION STONE ROUGH ON ONE SIDE AND SMOOTH ON THE OTHER THEN I USE A OLD STRAIGHT RAZOR HONE MADE BACK IN THE 1930'S. I CAN NOT FIND ANY FAULTS WITH THIS KNIFE WHAT SO EVER AT ALL. THE STEEL THAT IS USED IS CHROME VANADIUM WHICH WAS THE OLD STEEL USED ON THE OLDER CASE KNIVES BACK IN THE 70'S I HAVE MY DAD'S OLD CASE FOLDING HUNTER THAT IS FROM 19973 THAT DOSEN'T GET CARRIED ANYMORE I USE IT JUST FOR SHOW AND KEEP IT LOCKED UP.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
marietta oh
Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

CASE MEDIUM STOCKMAN

I bought a Case yellow handle medium stockman #3318 with CV steel I have had it almost a month now and i am satisfied with this knife so far the instructions say to keep a thin coat of oil on blades to keep them from rusting. I contacted Case Cutlery and asked them if their was any other way to keep from oiling the blades being it is a everyday carry knife they said to take a potato and stick the blade thru the potato and leave set for about a 1/2 hr to 1 hr it will tarnish the blades and keep it from rusting. I really like the CV steel it is easy to re sharpen and retains it edge for a long time i touch my knife up about once a month using a old carbourundom sharpening stone that i have from the 1960's with orig box it get my knife razor sharp then i also use a Franz Swaty barber's razor hone made in Austria Germaney back in 1900 to 1930's and it puts that last final sharp edge and take the burrs off the blade and makes a nice smooth edge. I can not find any faults with this knife at all. I use this knife working for a friend's mowing service and i also use it camping on the week ends all the time even have used it where i hunt at.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Faultroy
Eagleville MO
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Good Steel But Will Rust

Two things you will need to know about these knives: 1) It has good steel, but the knives will rust. And, if you are like me, and you carry these knives on the job, and you work in the heat of the summer when you sweat like a pig, these knives will rust like you left them in the ocean for a couple of days. Mine rusted so bad, that I had to take one of those abrasive erasers and completely sand it down. With hindsight, if you carry these in your pants pocket like I do and you do manual labor, you are much better off getting the 440 C version. (that is what I would do if I had to do it again). 2) Unless you are purchasing a high end stockman knife, I have yet to find one that is properly ground. Expect to spend a lot of time reprofiling the blade to be able to put a keen edge on it. Unless you are an experienced man in how to profile a knife, these knives are hollow ground making profiling extremely challenging. Because the blades are so small, it is difficult to get a proper profile from the factory. Therefore expect to work these extensively to set a proper angle in order to be able to put a proper edge on the blade. This will take you quite a while because you must do it by hand or else risk compromising the blades because they are so small. The way I do it is I take a bastard file and reprofile the blades and then use a coarse stone to get the correct final profile. If you do this correctly you will never have to do this again for the life of the knife. If you do manual work and still want to get the Chrome Vanadium version, and you don't want to use oil, you can do what I do for my survival blades and use wax. In my survival kit, I carry a tin of Neutral Shoe Polish Wax which will last you for many years. After use in a particularly wet environment, just coat the blade with shoe wax and you are all set. (You just dip your thumb and forefinger into the tin and take a swipe and rub it on both sides of the blade--takes about 6 seconds). Normally you won't have to worry about rust, and if you are chopping, you will find it really helps in making your cuts. If you aren't experienced in reprofiling a knife, especially these stockman blades, I suggest two things: 1) buy a cheap blade with a flat grind. These are the easiest to profile and then practice. Get the knife set to the degree that you are comfortable with, then go to a cheap chinese stockman like the Shrade or the Buck stockman which has a serious double grind just because so many newbies were complaining about the difficulty of getting a good profile on their stockman folders. Practice finding the profile that works best for you before you upgrade to these high quality stockman blades. Better to ruin a $10.00 knife than a $50.00 knife. How do you know that you have the right profile? Your knife will tell you. It tells you when it cuts effortlessly and is extremely easy to touch up the blade with a few licks on a stone or strop.
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ben
Melville ,Sk.
Aug 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material

Classic Good Looks

Wonderfully smooth lines and a joy to hold. Super sharp but a little on the small side and definitely a little too pricey for the steel type. But I guess part of that pays for the Case name. Also I'm told by my wife it looks very feminine. (Her words not mine)
Case Yellow Synthetic Medium Stockman 3-5/8" Closed (3318 CV)
rated 1 stars out of 5
J Murray
TN
May 19, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

Rust Rust Rust

Have been carrying this knife in my pocket since December 2013, less than six months, all three blades are rusting. I have carried a case pocket knife for 35 years. I collect knives. This was given to me as a gift. I realize this is a cheaper model, but I have never had a Case rust in my pocket.