Reviews and Ratings for Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV) - 00038

Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)rated 4.875 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8 inch Closed (3138 CV)

 

Price: $32.99

Save $7.59 (19%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocketdog
North California
Sep 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Everything a Case knife should be!
Everyday workhorse on a small farm and does everything a good knife is expected to do. The blade was sharp from the box, but I like a little different geometry on the edge and was very pleased with the ease of sharpening. Edge is very durable and strong, and is easily maintained. The yellow grip is not exactly the same as Case used in the 1960's and '70's, but is still attractive. Excellent knife and proven good design. Great for every day chores and for dressing and skinning game on hunts.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
Georgia
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Case Yellow Synthetic 4-5/8"(closed)CV Sod Buster
An old, classic, but very useful design. So glad to find Case full-sized Sod Busters with yellow handled, CV blade available again.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Micah
Texas
Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Sodbuster out there
My EDC knife. Bought Bokers and eye brand, the quality does not compare. CV sharpens up razor sharp. If you know how to use a knife, you don't need a lock blade.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hayden S
Hawaii
Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very pleased
This knife is exactly what I wanted.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike F
Bryan Tx
Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
3138 CV Sodbuster
Spend $70.00 more and you still won't get a good as knife as this one. Easy to sharpen and stays sharp. I use it everyday. Very good tool.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff G.
NC
Jun 08, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect Knife For Use
I have previously owned regular size Sod Busters, always pleased. I could not believe when I found this larger Sod Buster with a CV blade. This knife is very sharp, the larger size fits very well in my hand, yet is not too large to keep in pocket. Just the size and quality knife I was looking for.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ross
Gila wilderness
Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Carbon V reborn!
I make bows. I need a sodbuster design for the minutia required to preserve small pin branches. I also need a blade that acts as both detail tool and scraper. Let me tell you folks something from a professional woodworker: I used this knife to cut drywall in the bathroom, then immediately after to trim tar off the shingles at my son's roof's drip edge, then I went to perform all the scraping and detail work and on the back of an osage character bow. I did not sharpen this knife throughout all these processes, and I still managed to filet my index finger about 9/10 of the way through the bow. It wouldn't quite shave, but it would catch my arm hair, just sub-shaving. This steel is the same B-50100/carbon v that Camillus and Cold Steel used to use in their late 80's/early 90's knives, but it is tempered far harder. It performs a little less impressively than my ZT0770 in CPM-M4. For the price, you cannot lose on this deal. If you end up disliking the handle (for the record I love mine) pin the blade into a fixed handle of your own design. It will never leave your side once you use it hard. This knife doesn't leave my toolbox. It is invaluable, and has, for me, held a frightening edge under weeks of outright abuse. Get one before they get discontinued. You'll be one very sorry feller if you wait too long.
Case Yellow Synthetic Sod Buster 4-5/8" Closed (3138 CV)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
arkansas
Jul 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
love the knife it is basic but excellent quality ease to sharpen and stays that way for a long while under moderate use it is not stainless steel so keep it oiled will last 20 to 30 years under normal use and is sharp out the box