Reviews and Ratings for CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle - SH2126

CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handlerated 4.143 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle

 

Price: $190.75

Save $84.25 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Guy
Hillsboro, OR
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: None
Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword with 21" Blade
Will use as bush sword. Self defense. Zombies??? Very ergonomic...thot I wasnt going to like the handle but it grew on me very quick, great balance in one or two hands. I even like the fastening system...secure and easy to use and very low key and doesnt detract from overall look of the system. I like the carry system. I dont see any downsides with this one yet.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry
Have to keep moving
Jun 07, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
The Bandshee is a great zombie killer. Yesterday I loped off the heads of two undead as they tried to climb through my cabin window. The swing was light and the grip was firm. The slice was smooth as the blade ran through the rotting flesh of my postman and my neighbor. Tomorrow I'm going to town to test it further. Watch this space.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duane The Berserk
The north, WI
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Great cutting sword
Sword is used primarily as a bush tool. It is great at cutting small trees, scrub and brush. Handle is a bit small near the pommel, might try the paracord as suggested. Very durable blade as I hit a few oak knots and went right thru them. The strap for the scabbard is OK. I changed it out with some climbing rope. A great blade for the zom-poc, no specialized training needed, just swing like an axe.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lenny W
New Orleans , LA
Mar 31, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Usable, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material
Best blade !
First thing I did when I received my Banshee is put a serious edge on it, the sharper the better. I cleared about a hundred or so 1/2" to 1" wild bamboo and it was like weilding a sword but without the fatigue of using a machete because of the longer handle. It handles excellent. The best thing about the banshee is the sheath, locks in and won't come out. The only problem is the narrow handle, not enough material to grab, so I wrapped the entire handle in paracord. Now it's perfect ! Thank you.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fraser
Germantown, md
Mar 21, 2011
Pros: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: None
Excellent balance, Sharpens nicely to a "paper scredding edge"
It sharpened nicely to a nice razor sharp edge. I cannot wait to start slicing watermelons with it. Balance is great. I am not too keen on the button that holds the blade in though. Its really stiff. I ended up wrapping the handle in paracord so that I can just put it out of the scabbard.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duane The Berserk
The north, WI
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: None
Great cutting sword
Sword is used primarily as a bush tool. It is great at cutting small trees, scrub and brush. Handle is a bit small near the pommel, might try the paracord as suggested. Very durable blade as I hit a few oak knots and went right thru them. The strap for the scabbard is OK. I changed it out with some climbing rope. A great blade for the zom-poc, no specialized training needed, just swing like an axe.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brett
Illinois US
Dec 06, 2012
Pros: Usable, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Materials
Cons: Handle Material, None
dependable lasting
Great product, I have been abusing mine for eight years now. still straight and strong. will take a MASSIVE beating, the handle pins can fall out. fix it. the button release falls off, fix it. the end cap gets loose, hammer the tail a little, its fixed. Best blade I own
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lms
Canada
Jan 23, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Usable, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Work Horse
Very nice/useful design. Meant for work not for show. Locking tab is intuitive and easy to use. Only down side is the wood scabbard. Since this isn't a traditional design Hanwei needs to ditch the traditional scabbard and go with a composite material like their tactical wakizashi.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Barnabe
Pacific Rim
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Usable, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great once touched up a bit
I'd like to rate this a 4.5. It would be a 5, except that it needed a little modification to really shine. I've had my Banshee for years now, and have used it in place of my regular machetes when I want to make finer cuts (as opposed to chop-smashing things with a machete). When I first got it, I found the blade wasn't as sharp as it should be, but after an hour or so improving the edge I ended up with a tough, 21" scalpel that can make perfectly smooth slices through thick bamboo, reeds, mats, and foliage with ease. I have to admit, I wasn't expecting this to take and hold such a good edge, and ever since then this tool has been one of my evil pleasures when there is cutting to be done. The overall size, weight, and shape make it easy to tote and carry over the shoulder, or with some paracord it is simple to lash it to your belt. I am particularly fond of the locking mechanism that secures the blade, making it a lot safer to lug around and yet effortless to draw in an instant. Finally, the tough scabbard makes a sturdy impact tool in its own right. I gotta say, this is a very well thought-out and put-together cutter. After ten years, I am still pleased and impressed with how well it works. If the blade had come sharper from the factory, this would definitely warrant a 5.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Len
Clearwater, Florida
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Usable
Cons: Handle Material, None
Good blade, handle sucks.
The blade holds an edge and cuts well. The sword is modeled loosely after a Thai Dha but the handle is not like a traditional Dha. It should be round, longer in relation to the blade and not tapered for sure. I like the blade and scabbard so I will be making a new handle for it. The current one affords little grip and slips from your hand due to it's length and taper if used in traditional Thai sword forms. Nice blade, just a poor handle that gets too thin and should be a bit longer. Different grip on the handle like a rattan cord would have been nice too. The top of the handle with the lock should be round too... but not much I can do regarding that. The little retention system is kind of neat though.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kevin
East Coast
Jan 09, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Room for Improvement
I have had this sword for over 10 years now. Most of the reviews about handle and scabbard issues are accurate. Instead of re-painting or rebuilding the scabbard, I just wrapped it in Black Nylon Cord (550 cord) and to improve the handle, I did the same with emphasis to even out the taper. The other issue I had is the bottom 4 inches of the blade has a false/dull edge and that had to be fixed (sharpened) since a false edge on a jungle blade is worthless. Once all the improvements were made and a new harness was made for over the shoulder carry, it became a formidable platform.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Shawn
Sierras
Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Usable
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great blade, poor handle
The blade design works well and it's of good steal but the handle is crap. Scabbard needed some tweaking to get it to slide in and out properly. Balance is a little too blade heavy for my liking. Luckily I have a friend who blade smiths a little on the side from his horseshoeing business and he is going to redo the handle. Get rid of that taper that makes it want to slide out of your grip, shorten it slightly, and add a solid pommel for both balance and camp chores that require a little hammering
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Mr Peabody
Florida
Apr 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Poorly made
Mine arrived with a large concave indention on the blade and the scabbard needed some of the wood removed so the sword could move in and out smoothly. The tsuka is poorly designed, even historical Dha's have a uniform straight handle as well as Thai Darb swords. I wish they would've used an oval shape. The coating on the scabbard began to flake off. I had to apply polyurethane to keep paint from peeling further.
CAS Hanwei Banshee Cutting Sword 21" Carbon Steel Blade, Leather Wrap Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Viking
Sweden
Aug 17, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Usable
Diy blade
No sharpness, warped blade. Poor heat treatment. If u like to pay good money for a crappy product, go for it. Butt I think ur better off with a condor machete instead. First and last cas hanwei product for me.