Reviews and Ratings for Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles

Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handlesrated 3.333 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
3.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
2
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75 inch VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $75.56

Save $45.43 (38%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake R
Charlotte NC
Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Wow!
I love this knife.. Great feel and grip and the blade is as tough as it looks.. Holds its edge better than I thought..! Love the beast
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
townsend
Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath, None
literally a beast
I had the knife for over a year and used it as a work knife/ axe for small trees/ used hard every day and held up good. The pre drilled holes for switching pocket clip position. I lost the knife in an unknown position and am going to purchase another very soon.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kobesaii
Paris, FRance
Dec 26, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Camillus Beast
buy it for use outdoor, great for the job
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reese
Texas
Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None
A beast indeed
Maybe I'm the only one who appreciated the ergonomics.. Or perhaps I have the only hand it fits. Orrrr.... It was just designed for fighting. It's great for that, point up/ down, blade in/out. Where thumb placement is set up, the angles allow for optimum grip and thumb pressure. Learn knife fighting, and you'll see how this actually is a great design, save for the thin liner lock and it being slightly recessed (good luck closing with gloves). I've abused this thing for over three years now. I've reviewed the ST6, which I had used for two years at that time (yes, i use multiple knives on a daily basis), and in it I praised the carbonitride titanium coating. Now, after trying to stonewash this just a few weeks ago today, I have more appreciation. Normal coats (coats that aren't this) take me 3+/- hours to complete by hand with a bottle and river stones. About 5 hours or so barely did squat so I gave up. Glorified paint? Not in this case.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chad
TN
Nov 01, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None
Diamond in the ruff!
This is a good knife for what it is. Big, heavy, and beefy blade that has potential to out perform its price tag. Out of the box the detent was extremely strong, but cleaned up easily by relieving the edge of the hole in the blade where the ball bearing rests when closed. The smooth G10 scales were finished well but needed to be cleaned up with some minor sanding around the screw and lanyard holes as the edges were somewhat sharp. The action was slightly gritty and great force was necessary for full deployment, but smoothed out well after being cleaned and lubed with generic grease. This is a big blade and is great for guys with big hands. The grip feels slightly chunky, but is to be expected with a knife of this size. Ergonomics are lacking throughout the design and the gimping is hidden behind the scales, yet it still offers sufficient traction for most tasks. The thick slab of VG10 steel is strong and holds an edge well, even if it is covered in glorified black paint. The washers inside the knife seem to be a sort of plastic similar to teflon. The pocket clip is a bit overkill in the astetics department and seriously lacks retention. Overall the knife is priced maybe a little high for the product delivered, but can be easily be cleaned up by the consumer. The large chunk of VG10 steel enables me to look past the shortcomings of the blade.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Pal
Rocky Pt.
Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight
Ok,but too bulky for edc.
The "Beast" is a very large,and bulky folder.Because of it's size most will not carry this around.It's simply too bulky,and takes up 90% of pocket..As far as the steel,handles,and liner,i really dont have much of a problem.Sure,the liners could be thicker,but there ok.Unless you try one of the ignorant maneuver's on those videos you've seen,the liner is plenty strong enough..The thumhole is easy to manuever.The flipper action is slow,but that's because of blade weight.It works,but is nowhere near as smooth as a CRKT folder..I dont see how someone could cut their finger with this knife,because the flipper also serves as a finger guard,but when people try to immulate maneuvers done on those cheesy/dangerous/ignorant videos,anything's possible..The one thing people SHOULD pay attention to,BEFORE watching those videos,is the Disclaimer:Do NOT try this at home..Because if you do,or if you handle this knife in an unsafe manner,you will have a hospital bill,that will be a helluva lot more than this folder cost you..Be careful,and Do NOT use a knife for anything other than cutting and/or slicing..What are you trying to accomplish by stabbing a oil drum,or car hood??.A screwdriver will do the same thing,and costs $5...
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jason B
Falls Church, Va
Nov 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, None
Loved the the materials used for the price payed. Liked the blade shape an everything but I just can't get use to that handle. The handle is big and I have large hands but it's just to smooth. It's got some weight to it but it doesn't seem to feel that bad when youve got it in your hand it's when tryna carry it in your pocket especially with the width of the handle. Came sharp as hell and and it seems to be made well I like the flipper and it opens and closes pretty smooth and you can flick it open pretty quick I jus think the G10 couldve had a lil more grip to it. Just how I feel about it... Its cool knife anyway for a great price an if you were lookin to buy one I'd say go ahead you might have no qualms about it cuz sometimes youll have a different impression of the knife after you've got it in your hand.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Red Eye
SE US
Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Too Big,and Limited uses.
Basically this is a large,thick,fighting style folder.The only thing i liked about it was the VG-10 steel.Linerlock is too thin,pocket clip too big.It feels like ur packing an extra cell phone in ur pocket.Its not a good edc.The tanto style is basically for stabbing,but not much for anything else.It has both a thumbhole,and flipper.Action is slow on the flipper,i guess cause of blade thickness and weight.Handles are smooth,which in turn will become slick when wet.Overall if you are wanting a knife of this size,you are much better off to spend $25 more and get a KERSHAW JYD!!!.An outstanding knife.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Matt
Florida
Mar 04, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
It's...okay
I've had this knife for a while, so I feel I should toss in my two cents on this thing. For one, this blade is a thick beefy slab of vg-10, which is fantastic. The thickness, however, makes this knife a rather poor slicer. You will definitely feel this thing in your pocket, seeing as it seemingly weighs almost half a pound. The scales are g10, but they're smooth. Some grippiness to it would be preferred. The liner lock and jimping are too far recessed into the scales, making closure and grip a little tricky. Opening with the flipper doesn't work too great unless you put a little wrist into it as well. Also, be careful with the clip, as they're flimsy and can be bent rather easily. It's not a bad knife by any means, especially if you're looking to turn some heads when you whip this sucker out, but if you're looking for a discreet and easy to carry EDC, this ain't it.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Zac
FL
Oct 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Needs to be redesigned!
I have collected functional blades for years. The best thing about the knife is the blade and the material used to make it. Other than that, the handle is to bulky, and too straight edged. Overall it is a very heavy knife. The opening mechanism and the lock a very poor. I carry this knife in my truck as a back up in case I forget my EDC (Everday Carry) knife at home. This knife works well with cargo pants. To me this is a knife used for light work and/or an intimidation factor. It is a beast in terms of size, but until Camillus goes back to the drawing board and redesigns the handle, opening and locking mechanisms I would spend my money more wisely. Invest in a CRKT M16 series knife with Auto Lawks. I trust the M16 with my life and I use it as an EDC knife and tactical knife.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Northernmiguy
Michigan
Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Horrible
Owned this knife for about a month and half and cannot stand it. It's beyond uncomfortable in my pocket when I sit down, blade does not open quickly, the pocket/belt clip is weak, the liner lock is way too small for a blade this size, all around not great at all. Do NOT waste your money.
Camillus 18683 Beast Folding Knife 3.75" VG10 Tanto Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Justin
Southeast MO
Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Type
Carried 3 weeks. Sharp edge. Used once to gut a deer. Lock failed and it fell closed on my middle finger earning me a 2 stitches. To much for a generic knife it's all show no go. May have been a lemon but for $80.00 I shouldn't have to worry.