Reviews and Ratings for Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles - 19074

Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handlesrated 3.207 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
5
2 star
3
1 star
8
Camillus Carnivore 12 inch Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles

 

Price: $26.95

Save $4.54 (14%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A Diamond Among The Stones
Sometimes you really find a true gem in the spot where you would expect fair to better-than-the-average-flea-market-variety edged tool or weapon at! This is one. Quite obviously the same design as the Becker Tac-Tool, designed as a raid entry tool, it takes the concept further by lengthening and, by all appearances, makes it more weapon-worthy as well and stronger by the added length and material! Incredibly sharp, full tang and a worthwhile sheath, although I may replace the velcro style retention strap and cover over the nylon sheath with a sturdier leather shroud, this is a veritable mini-machete, pry tool, short sword, ha ha! The price is incredible, the warranty for life is also. I just got this today-I am already passing the word to friends and plan to get another, to be able to really test one to the extremes. This also would make a great emergency tool and weapon stashed in the back of the truck or car, and worth having that second one to practice defensive tactics with.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kh
va
Feb 01, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome and unique
I had to have one of these and I love it. I took it out to clear some grasses and it performed great. The handle fit my hand great, don't know about anyone else, but I am pretty medium size. Mine was pretty sharp out of the box. This thing does what other knives can't- it has the reach and is still light weight.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam O.
Putnam valley, NY
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A Monster!
What a monster of a knife! This thing is part pry bar, machete, short sword and chopper! Super comfortable grip (for medium/large hands) and a weight forward blade that makes for great chopping/hacking blows! Best knife the new Camillus company has developed.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cody D
South Carolina
Jan 15, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Made in china, so what!
I received this machete for Christmas and have used it pretty much every day. I go hiking a lot and have to clear brush constantly. I've never had to sharpen it. The sheath isn't the best but it works. For the people who are worried about it being made in china, just FYI china is the leading producer of steel in the world so I think they know what they are doing when it comes to making things out of steel.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark A
Garland Texas
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
looks good
this is straped to my backpack for hunting. clear bursh for shooting lanes.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crash
Shreveport, La.
Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very good in the woods
This blade was sharp out of the box. Pretty rough on my tools but this blade is a champ for the weight. The forwars balance handled like a Kukri and makes light work of brush and shooting lanes. Loved the grip, no blisters even with sweaty bare hands. The 440 is tough to re-sharpen but holds a great edge once you get it there. Never used the hook. Schraded edge sliped through hip bone with relateive ease when cleaning deer. Great, durable alround long blade knife. I love mine.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Houston
Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Carnivore
Stands up to the rigors of clearing brush. Keeps an excellent edge.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmie
Wallace, nc
Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Camillus 12
This is the best knife for the buck, well made. It is light and easy to use.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randel T
Lubbock, TX
May 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great working knife/machete!
Brush cutting, bush whacking
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Nice
I bought this blade to clear brush when disc golfing.I liked it because of the length and the spine seemed to be around 1/8 or .125". It has worked very well. I had a Sogfari, and the blade became wavy after the first weekend blazing a new course. This is a robust blade and sharpens well. I would recommend this to all my friends. Blade was OK sharp straight out of the box. I spent a few moments with a stone and dry shaved my arm. If you need a short machete. Go buy this one!
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James N
99217
Feb 07, 2016
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
great knife works well
Great knife I have no problems
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Loren D
La Grande, Oregon
Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great knife!
I received this knife from my brother for Christmas. It is a great knife! The weight was good for hacking brush as well as larger limbs. Great size for packing into the back country. I have read reviews that said it was not very sharp but mine shaved hair right out of the box. After a week of repeated use (including splitting kindling) it still shaves my arm hair. I would and will recommend this knife to my friends. The only thing I would recommend is a more secure hold on the sheath.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
George C
Loganville, GaLoganville, Ga
May 30, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cool Sword
Brought this one just cause it looked brutal. Blade was pretty sharp but still took a few whakes to get through some small branches. Not sure what the handle is made of but its decently comfortable in my hand. Overall seems very well balanced and nice weight. Probably chop some zombies to pieces.lol
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Pat
Bay Area,Ca
Jul 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Just bought this Blade.
I was very skeptical buying this blade. I know of the name Camillus but was uncertain that I'm sending my dollars over to China. The quality is ok. Could have made the grip a little better for. This blade has a nice solid steel with good thickness. The edge was a 6 (1-10) scale.1 strip of Velcro to secure it. at least make larger strip.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
William
Texas
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Materials
nick in the blade
Chopped right through tree limbs and shrubs. but when I chopped an old bone the dog had. it cut right through but left dent in the edge of the blade about an inch above the sedated edge.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Rich
streator il
Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials
canivore 12"knife
the only reason im rating this knife at a 3 is that it broke in half while chopping branches for fire did not hold up poor quality or bad batch
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Unggko P
Sarawak, Malaysia
Oct 18, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials
Made In China?
I'm using this blade during my fishing trip. Very flexible & durable in the woods because of size but I'm skeptical if this a very good product because it was made in China.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
T. Haynes
Indiana
Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials
Great customer service!
The knife itself is standard quality. I was using it to clear brush when the blade snapped in half. It has a nice weight to it, the quality is as I stated, standard. What impressed me is upon calling the company, which is now ACME United Corp. (They bought out Camillus years ago) They stood 100% behind their product and made returning as well as replacing it a snap. It was refreshing not to have to jump through hoops to get things done. Hats off to James and Connie in customer service! Thanks again for a swift and easy replacement!
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe
Illinois
Nov 07, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Blade Material
Handle is great, and works well when wet. My blade broke about 4 inches from the handle poor metal quality.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Tony
Kentucky
Nov 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Not what I expected
I took the carnivore to the deer woods to clear shooting lanes and clean up around my stand. The heavy thick blade was good but needs to be sharp out of the pkge, it struggled with 3/4" limbs and saplings. The handle looks good but it doesn't fit the hand well for swinging with machete action. The poor quality camo coating on the handle is almost completely gone after the first use, and is now slippery in the bare hand. I worked the blade over with appropriate stones and it will stay in my backpack for continued use, but when the time comes to replace it will not be with the same. I'm sure the quality was diminished to keep at a certain price point, but it should be improved and then moved to the next tier price point....
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
N
Not gonna say
Nov 28, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Inconsistent Durability
the blade isn't always good it isn't always bad and that is the problem. The quality is inconsistent and I have broken a large multitude of these. On the other hand they have the newer Carnivore X for the same price which most the time is durable with some mess ups here and there. My recommendation is to buy the tan handled version and you have a higher chance at a good blade. Note: Even with the newer version it is not always gonna be durable and it might break so watch out for that.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John
South Louisiana
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Garbage
The steel doesn't hold an edge, the handles got loose after just light use and couldn't be tightened all of the way... Balance of the blade is kinda off, the grind is poorly thought out, the serrated portion is worthless for chopping or clearing brush. The amount of vibration in the handle made it unusable on harder wood. For the money I would just buy something else. It does look cool and that suckered me in to buying it.... you live and learn..
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli ( italy)
Dec 26, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
not suggested
really poor quality. The handle is totally crap and loose quickly . The blade is quite sharp ( howewer very far from razor sharp) and keep it's sharpness for quite a long time ( again far from modern steel) . Sheath is crap nylon
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
David
Iowa
Jan 06, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Material
Broke after 2 weeks
I used it to cut down weeds. And the blade broke in half, now its a 4" blade. The hardest thing it came in contact with was a stump. The only good thing about the Carnivore was the grip. The grip is secure and comfortable. But the steel in the blade needs work. I would not purchase this!
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Kevin R
Inverness, FL
Jun 07, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Blade Material
Used my machete clearing four wheeler trails and learned the handle is awesome, with razor sharp edge. However, I cut a small oak limb and noticed a "chuck came out of the blade approximately the same size as the limb I was cutting, about 1/2 inch in diameter and about 3" from blade tip. Moments later a attempted to cut another limb slightly larger and the blade broke about 5" from the handle. Pretty disappointed !
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Alex R
Quincy, IL
Jan 22, 2012
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Integrated Wire Cutter is the best Aspect
This knife is too large to be suitable for hunting (my main use) the hook work okay for skinning and gutting. the handle doesn't fit my hand, nor would I say it would fit most others; as well, the handle is slippery and clumsy. The blade came dull and did not have a good clean edge, after 2 hrs on a bench stone i was able to make something out of it. I wouldn't buy this knife again; I suggest an 8" Ontario Combat knife for those who want a large knife but still want a practical blade.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joe
East TN
Nov 03, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cheap China Blade
Blade broke in half after 2 weeks. 1 lateral hit on the blade and it broke away clean...looks nice...fails on the slightest torture test. Would NOT recommend product!
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Devin
Mandeville Louisiana
Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Materials
Broke In a day
I was using it to cut up dirt and a few thin trees and it was fine. 20 minutes later of not using it I go to a tree limb about an inch in diameter and the blade snapped in half. Poor metal or maybe a defect but 1 day of light work that's pathetic.
Camillus Carnivore 12" Titanium Bonded Fixed Blade Knife with Camo Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
David C
Seabrook, Texas
Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
Be catious using this blade. I have had 2 of these and both have broke
I used this blade for weed trimming and vine trimming. The first I had broke and I just thought it a fluke. I them bought another and while cutting poison ivy vines it snapped off about 3 inches from the end. This was only the 22nd time I had used it. Both times on light duty weeds.