Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.421 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $49.95

Save $25.03 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Moya
Dinuba, CA
Dec 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very impressive!
Very useful and handy for hunting and camping. Also makes a good wood-chipper.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Antelope Ca.
Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love the size and heft of the Dundee. Batons wood like a champ and can be used for smaller camp tasks.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl
Sweden
Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
excellent knife
It came razor sharp and with needle point. a very good and high quality knife, don't hesitate buy it !!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jws
Upstate, NY
Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
"...now this here, this is a knife mate." Crocodile Dundee said it best. Its heft, profile, and blade thickness make it the equal of any hatchet or machete for chopping and slashing. The swivel sheath makes it a pleasure to hang off your belt, never seems to get in the way, especially with the long but easy to grip handle. Once broken in it has a very quick draw due to the swivel. It did need a thorough honing, but most new knives I've ever had have required sharpening to bring them to the surgical edge I demand. Great tool!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Arizona
Jun 05, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Now that's a knife.
I laugh when i read reviews of people complaining of the finishes of their knives. If you've bought a knife and plan on using it, then the finish is the least of your worries. When i first received this knife in the mail, the handling from the factory to my mail box had the knife puncture the box & it rolled the tip on something hard. Rather than send it back for a new one that would probably get damaged the same way again, I opted to keep it and let it be. I've used this knife for batoning, chopping anything from tree limbs, cow and sheep bones, removing wood from my bows, and fine slicing. The company tempered this knife with a usable working edge that takes use & abuse and is easy enough to sharpen. I've long since sanded off the black powder finish since i live in the desert. No problems with the contured polypropylene handle. And the leather sheath is excellent. A very great bowie patterned knife built like a champ.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
James H
Cheyenne Wyoming
Jun 15, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
A Bloody Big Knife
This will be the knife I now carry strapped to my backpack when I go hiking, whether its a day trip or a over night trip. Many will say the handle is hard, well if your an old timber and many of your knives have wood handles, this is about the same. I will resheath it, with a sheath more designed to attach to a military style belt or backpack. As for the edge, this is a thick knife so an edge of 22 or 24 degree's is best. Still sharp but more durable then a 20 degree edge. All in all, if you want a big knife, this is a bargin.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Td
WA
Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Condor Bowie
Great product, the compound angled handle produces more PSI into the belly of the blade into what ever your chopping.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry C
Ludowici,GA.
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
The return of quality
What a great knife I use it working in my yard Cutting small trees ,the knife was well made The only problem was wish it was razor sharp It is areally. Big knife buy it u will love it
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
C.A.
Ontario, Canada
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Awesome big Bowie!
Initially, I purchased this Bowie for the novelty of it. Once I unboxed it, I realized that this blade was designed for hard work. So, I put it to the test. This blade has amazing chopping/slicing power. I've cut through tree branches 2 to 3 inches thick, without a problem. And then was able to do detail work to build a shelter. The blade holds a good sharp edge, even after chopping away on several thick branches. I'm really satisfied with this quality Condor product.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mitch
Deployed
Sep 28, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Damn Big Bowie
Everything I expected from a CTK Knife--good product and great price. The top clip of the bowie point is NOT sharp; so no back cut when fighting zombies. LOL! Handle is large and unfortunately smooth; but the user can easily fix that several different ways. Sheath is basic and no frills.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
M Byrnes
Palm coast, FL
Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
excellent knife
This is large wicked knife... it has a excellent sheath which actually hold it securely without a strap. Very good balance and weight, easily cuts through a 3 inch sapling. Holds an edge very well, over all one of the best bowie knives I've had and it the best one I've gotten for the price by far. Only thing I wish is the made one with a wood handle and brass rivets with a guard. Knife collector of 16 years.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Corey K
earth usa
Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
poor quality control
This really isn't a 4 out of 5 stars its more 19 out of 20. Knife is awesome but it has two quirks. One the tip is rolled right out of the box. Two the sheath is tight. Hard to get that last inch in. Do I care about these? No. I can fix the tip and the sheath will show more give as I use it. Good buy.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Average Joe
Colorado
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, Finish, None
Slick new condor
Nice knife. It came sharp and a little work made it razor sharp, they use 1075 steel so I am happy with the results I got. I gave a 4/5 because of the weight. thou the stats did state 2 pounds, it is a little heavy. great knife for the price.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hank R
FREDERICK,MD
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
GREAT CHOPPER
THIS IS A VERY GOOD CHOPPER AND HEAVY FIELD KNIFE, I THINK IT WILL TAKE A GREAT DEAL OF ABUSE WITHOUT LETTING YOU DOWN, DO REMEMBER THOUGH IT IS CARBON STEEL SO IT CAN RUST IF LEFT WET,I DO WISH CONDOR WOULD MAKE ONE WITH A WOODEN HANDLE,IF YOUR OUT THERE LISTENING CONDOR I THINK ONE WITH A WOODEN HANDLE WOULD SELL VERY WELL
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony
Portland, OR
Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Great knife
This is a great knife for the price. Heavy and big and ideal for camping uses. Cutting brush and making kindling and even chopping wood if an axe is not available. The sheath is of a good quality thick leather. I do wish that the fit was less tight and that there was some sort of strap to hold the knife in the sheath securely but all and all a good sheath. The handle is very comfortable and study also. At this price an excellent knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
Wisconsin
Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Big Bowie for the Buck!
I've had a soft spot for Big knives since I was a youngster but never owned a Bowie style. I'm not the type of guy that can or will spend 100+ $'s on my gear unless it is absolutely necessary. To find a knife with the dimensions I wanted AND the quality I put a lot of time into research before purchasing this blade. It's HUGE!!! As big as the CS frontier Bowie but wider. My magnet tells me that it is a full tang knife and the injection molded handle is solid, a bit slippery, but totally functional, the sheath is pure Condor. It is very quick in the hand and takes a great edge. In the past couple of weeks I've chopped downed branches, trimmed brush for tree stands, made some feather sticks for fun (as big as it is the knife worked great for this.), and several other cutting chores. The only thing I noticed on this knife is a slight vibration when chopping but that was more due to poor angle than design. Whether you want an American styled fighter or something a step up from the CS bowie machete, Buy It. If you want a good no frills knife that will take a beating buy it. If you've looked at this knife but are on the fence BUY IT!!!!! Really a solid knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael
Austria
Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight
Mixed feelings
First of all I have to say that I really like the design of the knife, it's a monster chopper. The handle is very ergonomic and comfortable. The sheath is also very good. But the grind on the blade totally sucks. Without a belt sander it's impossible to reprofile the blade. That's disappointing. It's ok when an inexpensive knife like this needs some work out of the box, but that's too much. I don't know how this blade came through the quality control. I guess I have to spend some money to get it reprofiled professionally because with my water stones I would sit forever and a day to get it sharp. Hopefully it develops its full potential then, because I think with the right grind it will perform good.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris B
Newport, RI
Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Solid knife, not great
Absolutely a solid knife. Stout and hefty. Good reach. I'm not saying this is a bad knife with my 3 stars, but it comes well short of being a favorite for me. My standard for comparison is the cold steel bowie machete, which is half the price (the i have an older model of that knife, not sure if it has changed and has a harder plastic handle now). Why I was disappointed: -uncomfortable handle. It's rock hard, slippery, and my hand quickly tires. -blade is bombproof, but doesn't seem to bite when I chop. I'm underwhelmed with its chopping effectiveness for being so hefty. -sheath is beautiful, leather, Condor standard, but man is it a tight fit to get the knife in and out. Condor looks to make a lot of excellent knives. I just found this one left me well short of my high expectations set by a similar knife that was much less expensive.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK1005-11HC Dundee Bowie 11" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Zac
Australia
Feb 01, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The blade should be sabre grind not hollow grind
When researching this knife before I purchased I looked at pictures and specifications of the knife and It looked fantastic. It looked like it had a sabre grind as a hard use knife should. However when I received my knife I found to my surprise and disappointment that the blade was hollow grind near the cutting edge. I didn't find this information on either the condor website or sellers websites. In my opinion this knife would be 5/5 excellent product if it had a sabre grind which would make the cutting edge much tougher than hollow grind. I like everything else about this knife and sheath.