Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5.25" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5.25" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.520 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5.25 inch Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $39.95

Save $20.03 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill A
Wichita kansas
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The first in the line
I purchased the Rodan as an all around knife. I was so impressed that i bought the older brother the Varan and the dad the Kumunga. I was able to let a bunch of other knives that did not match up go and now am very happy with the family of knives from Condor Tool and Knife. The Rodan is used on a daily basis in my kitchen. It will cut through meat and cardboard (usually not on the menu) and still be able to fine slice a tomato. I believe that based on the handle design I would suggest a large hand to be comfortable getting a good grasp. Excellent knife!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason Lavay
Red Reer, Alberta
May 19, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Very tough, rugged knife.
A great outdoors knife for all camping needs.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Prosperity, SC
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Simple but Perfect Bushcraft Knife
I have baton several times with this knife and did a super job! I have started several fires with a firesteel with knife and did a super job! Using one of those cheap firesteels the knife threw very hot sparks! The knife comes with a great sheath! Super price and I will be buying another one for a back up!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
Long Beach CA
May 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife!
I love this knife. I read alot of reviews about the knife that said the blade edge was not a good finish, but I think that is one of the most impresive parts of the knife. Very heavy duty. very tough!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sascha
Germany
Apr 08, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Fast Shipping
Great product. Price performance can not be beat!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Arthur E. C.
Center Conway, N.H.
Sep 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great knife. Not for people with small hands.
A great old school steel knife. Great for chopping, prying, and all around hard use. It is a handful, if you don't have large hands it may be unconformable for you. Comes sharp and is easy to resharpen. It comes with a superb sheath.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter P
Akron, Oh
Sep 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
All You've Heard
I loved this as soon as I first held it. Robust without being a sharpened prybar that 1/4' blades seem to be. The handle is too large but I sanded down to size. The sheath is outstanding and worth the price of the entire knife. The blade was dull and after 20 minutes it still was not as sharp as the Ontario SP-46 that I also bought. This is more due to my novice sharpening skills. The Condor Rodan deserves to be in every bushcrafter or campers collection! You will not go wrong with this excellent and high value knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Commander
West Lafayette, IN
Dec 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nice working size camp knife
I use this knife as a general purpose knife and didn't want some 18" monster hanging off my belt. The Rodan fits my requirement perfectly. While the knife arrive in usable shape, I always put in a little extra effort in on all my knives to get them a little better than they come from the factory (Cold Steet excluded). The sheath is fine and keeps the knife secure yet easy to get to when needed.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ramon
Hoosick Falls, NY
Mar 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
A great and affordable knife!
Bought this knife not too long ago and I love it! Handle is good in the hand and the blade is sharp! Good all round camp/survival knife and appears to be built like a tank! And as always Condor sheaths are top notch. Also, let me give a shout out to the folks at the KnifeCenter..great products and wicked fast shipping!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tio H
arizona
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Weight, None
Got this knife just before a camping trip. Took it along and it did afew camp chores with ease but had to redo the blades edge alittle to handle finer chores. Although the overall weight was on the heavy side took little time to overcome it. Planning to buy another one soon as a backup
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Akron, Oh
Sep 08, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
All You've Heard
I loved this as soon as I first held it. Robust without being a sharpened prybar that 1/4' blades seem to be. The handle is too large but I sanded down to size. The sheath is outstanding and worth the price of the entire knife. The blade was dull and after 20 minutes it still was not as sharp as the Ontario SP-46 that I also bought. This is more due to my novice sharpening skills. The Condor Rodan deserves to be in every bushcrafter or campers collection! You will not go wrong with this excellent and high value knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale B
South West Michigan
Oct 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Great general use knife
This knife is a great size for carrying during outdoor activities. It has enough heft to do just about any chore except heavy chopping. The handle is somewhat large but pretty comfortable. I may try to sand it a bit and fit it to my hand perfectly. The sheath is a basic leather pouch but holds the knife securely. The blade came fairly sharp out of the box but will require a little touch up to be where most of us will want it. Great thing is that these carbon steel Condors take a great edge. When you take the price into account, this is a five star knife for sure.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chip
Mississippi
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Like it
Great camp knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Archie
Texas
Apr 18, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
A great utility fixed blade knife. The high carbon steel holds edge.
I purchase this knife to use on and around the ranch. The price was resonable. The quailty is excellent. I use the sucker for every thing, Cutting Haybale strings prizing lids off buckets cutting rope, Also make great little knife to keep in saddle bags for camping. Just remmber this High carbon steel will rust if not properly maintained. Good luckin all your outdoor adventures.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim T
two harbors, mn
May 07, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Handle Material
great knife
Excellent knife for the money. used for hiking and camping, Almost indestructible.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ml33
northwest
Aug 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Overall Quality, None
OK knife
Mine came with good grinds, very sharp, mirror polished edge. The only disappointment is that the blade is a little off to the left side. This however will not impair it's functional ability. I bought another condor knife, very similar to this one only with a longer blade. That one came with a chip in the edge, rust on the blade, and the point was very dull. It seems like these knives are a gamble, you may get a good one or maybe not. I wouldn't pay more than what it costs.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thommie J
sweden
Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Materials, Finish
sturdy knife
its a midsize knife comparable to becker bk2. Its rugged and will last a long time. The only problem is the edge out of the box...its dull. You need to first check and straighten the edge after that apply a convex microbevel using wet sandpaper...strap it with leather afterwards very lightly and it will takea razor edge..i whacked it trough alot of wood to check edge retention...it keeps the dge excellent witha micro bevel...the steel is hard yet soft somehow and will not retain its edge or get razor sharp if you try to convert it to a scandi grind. I own several condor knives they all have the same problems with the out of box factory edge its never striaght not complete sometimes and its 50/50 if its even grinded or the tip not blunted by hasty grind. That said condor is rugged hard working blades and you can feel it by just holding it...they will outlast knives 10 times higher in pricing.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tarzan
Fredericksbrg, va
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, None
Your Money's Worth with This One!
What is great about this knife is the way it feels in the hand and how sharp it is right from the box. I can see this one becoming my go to knife for camping, and the best yet, it was inexpensive, and you get your money's worth. The sheath is okay, it is a little thin, and the overall finish on the knife is a little off, like in the intial grind lines, but the edge is very sharp and thin.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Fortytwoblades
Maine
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
One of the best bangs for your buck out there!
A heavy-duty knife that will baton hardwood as easily as it feathers sticks, there's very little this knife can't do! A flat-ground blade with a polished convex edge provides excellent slicing ability while the thick spine and polypropylene handle give it excellent strength and durability. It's next to impossible to find a better knife knife for the money. The only fault is the grinds can be a little cosmetically rough and the edge may need a little final honing to reach maximum sharpness, but don't let that dissuade you! One of my go-to knives in the woods.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leon Wilderness
Illinois
May 20, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Beater, but that's about it...
For the price, it's a hell of a knife. However, it is NOT a jack-of-all-trades, one knife to rule them all type of deal. The Rodan struggles with fine work sometimes, and the edge holding capabilities of 1075 steel are not overly impressive. Still, it's a great knife to baton, beat and pry with, and the leather sheath is nice.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Desert Rat
Arizona
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Great Value Knife
Great Bushcraft knife. I've used it to split wood, make shelters, fire, and cooking. Great value for it's small price. The drawbacks were the handle and sheath. The handle is a little large and the sheath it came with was small and cheap, other than that it's an amazing value.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
808 Dude
Kaneohe, Hi
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Materials
Great Value
It's well worth for the money and it's tough tool for th works. Well done Condor. However my knife got a chip of paint off on the back spine. But it is still great. It's only less than $30.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thebearman
Ballarat Australia
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
kcreview
great heavy duty camp knife
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bobby H
Mukilteo, WA
Oct 16, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Just like a Becker BK-2 at 1/3rd the price....
I like others was dubious when it came to the amount of work this knife would do. That said, I was won over by the amount of work this knife was able to do. Splitting wood was easy, as was general chopping of meal items as well. Granted this knife should not be used for delicate use, but if you have a need for a knife that is no frills, this is it. Just be sure to have your sharpening skills up to date as the knife will require a touch up now and then. The only downside was the location of the handle hollow rivet. It soon became as sore spot for me and I solved that by packing it full of dryer lint and sealing the wrapping the rivet in electricians tape. Great space it turned out for emergency fire tender. I highly recommend this knife for the price. It will do camp work as good as the high priced knives.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK237-6HC Rodan Camp Knife 5-1/4" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tundramonkey
Simi Valley, Ca.
Jul 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Weight, Handle Material
Kind of heavy
Came with corrosion on the blade edge. Feels a bit un-wieldy ,has good weight as a camp knife perhaps. A bit disappointed.