Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $55.23

Save $9.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert L
newport, ri
Jun 13, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
nice every day knife
everyday work , hunting.can put a good edge on it
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern , Wisconsin Frozen Tundra
Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
I like it
I have always preferred carbon steel of some sort with 1095 being my favorite. This knife has a proper flat grind and sharpens up well. My hands are average to small for a man and I find the handle very comfortable. Of course I cut my self with it soon after receiving it as I had consume two Bourbons the evening it arrived. Let this serve as a warning. Do not drink when playing with your knives.. lol. I like this knife very much. The only grind I like better than a flat grind is a Scandi grind. Yet this is a fine knife I have used it to trim meet and various other cooking chores while winter camping. It is up to the job. Nice knife!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles H
Mason, Tn
Nov 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent fixed blade!
This is a very nice fixed blade. It looks like it will do anything you need to do in a size that is that is just about perfect... i think this would make a good survival knife. Its solid and is built like a tank...The well made leather sheath holds the knife very well. I would think the sheath alone would be worth $20 on its own....great buy!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd Bee
Nashville TN
Aug 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Past meets present
I purchased this knife after reading several of Horace Kephart stories. This IS the perfect camp knife, sharp enough to cut with and strong enough to split kindling for my reflector oven.A tip to protect the blade....The sheath is well made, rinse vegetable oil into it....keeps the blade nice and shiny!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John M
Minnesota
Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
NOT WHAT IS IN THE PICTURE
MINE ROCKS. WITH A MORE SQUARED END. THIS KNIFE WILL DO WELL!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Freedom,NY
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Kephart Knife
This is a comfortable and well balanced knife.Perfect for camping and hunting and all around outdoor activities.This will be my new favorite all around knife.The length and heft are just right for my large hands.it is high carbon.it needed sharpening when I got it as the factory sharpening isn't that great.other then that I love the knife. Well fitting and heavy duty leather sheath tops of the package.Horace sure knew what he was talking about.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
William S.
Texas
Dec 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great knife
I love this knife. It was sharp and just the right size. It does the job. I would definitely recommend this knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe P
Wake Village, Texas
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Kephart Knife
General purpose camping knife,good feel and balance and like very much the drop point blade.Very well made sheath. Overall a good quality knife for a reasonable price...
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Sweden
Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Beautiful Simplicity
If you want a knife with great blade steel, perfect finish and a design that will leave onlookers in awe, you're probably not going to be looking at this knife. This is a knife that does what you want it to do, it does it well, but that is all. It's beautiful in it's simplicity. The best thing about this knife is definitely the sheath. It fits the knife perfectly and it's not to loose or too tight. The knife itself is also very solidly constructed, but the edge is not as sharp as it can be, so you may have to sharpen it if you want a really sharp edge. The steel is also fairly soft compared to more expensive steels so it won't hold it's edge as long, but it should be more than enough for the vast majority of users. If you want a knife made out of better materials you're going to have to spend close to 100$. This is simply a steal at under 40$. For what it is, I rate this knife 5/5.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
The swampy hell of Florida
May 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Materials, Finish
Elegantly designed and extremely useful
This knife just feels so good in my hand. It is well balanced. It neededed sharpening, but that's no big deal to me. The sheath fits tight and is extremely well made. Now the bad news. I hate the blade coating. I wish it had no coating at all. It's fine though. I can take the coating off. 1075 is a perfectly good carbon steel for day to day use. This is not a sharpened pry bar. It isn't a kitchen knife either. It is a good sturdy compromise. For the price it is well with considering.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rudy
NH
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None
Kephart Survival Knife
I purchased the Condor Kephart Survival Knife because I wanted a "traditional" knife made with steel and wood and having a leather sheath. Overall I am very happy with my Condor Kephart Survival Knife. The knife is well made, the handle to tang fit is good and the knife was fairly sharp right out of the box. The leather sheath is well made. It fits the knife well, holds it securely and does not make any noise while walking. My main complaint is with the black coating on the blade. In using the knife with a baton to split kindling, the black coating is easily rubbed off, although trying to get the rest of the coating off took a lot of work. I would also have liked a slightly thinner blade, but am happy with it the way it is. This knife accompanies me on all of my woods walks and camping trips.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve
93308
Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Materials
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
condor
very nice well made work good
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brett N
North Carolina
Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Finish, None
Good solid field knife
I bought two of these new knives for general field use and as a bushcraft knife. I have had one of them out a few times and I am pleased with it so far. It is a good size, easy to carry and handle, yet thick and solid enough to handle some rough work. The design is simple and efficient and the construction is tough, bordering on "industrial." As I mentioned, I bought two and they were quite different in fit and finish. Handle wood was different. One was fairly finely finished, even pretty. The other had some rough edges, including an uneven grind and a roughly finished handle. Nice, sturdy sheath.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Theo-Prof
Texas
Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
About what I expected
I bought the Condor Kephart along with the Condor Bushlore because I liked the design of both and they seemed to be good value for the money. They both proved to be just that. The sheath is high quality as other reviews have noted. The Kephart knife was only barely sharp out of the box and needed some work to get it right. The edge bevel was uneven from one side to the other. The bevel on one side was only 1/2 to 2/3 as wide as the bevel on the other side and was not evenly ground along the length of the blade. As I sharpened it with a course stone, and as the bevel obviously evened out and the edge thinned, I was able to get an extremely sharp edge on it that seems, so far, to have good staying power. The factory edge flares out considerably as it approaches the handle and does so unevenly side to side. Getting a useful cutting edge close to the handle took some time but was do-able. If Condor can give the Kephart knife the attention that they have obviously given to the Bushlore, then they will have a real winner. The shape, length, and feel of the knife are almost perfect in my average-sized hands. I really like the design and would have liked to give it a higher score. However, with as much attention as the edge needed right out of the box, four was the highest that I could go.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ron
PA
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Deceptively good basic knife
This is the second Condor knife I've purchased. Both are solid, no nonsense, functional working blades. The other knife being the Sapien. The fit and finish is OK on both; neither are show pieces. There are grind marks on both blades and the burnishing on the handles is functional but again, just OK. The Kephart is a larger blade and both were grossly sharpened on a grinder. I put a better edge on both knives which was not difficult and with moderate use both knives are maintaining their edges well. The staining on the wood handles was evenly applied and the wood was without cracks, checks, knots, or blemishes. The grip is comfortable on both handles. The blades were ( mostly ) evenly ground. Careful exam shows asymmetry on the Sapien but the kephart was fairly even. The 1075 high carbon steel is easy to work with and takes a nice edge. Both came with nice ,heavy, dark brown stained sheaths. The knives are held in the sheaths by fiction and work well so far. Sheath quality is surprisingly good. I use these knives kayaking and hiking. The Sapien mostly for small camp chores/cooking and the Kephart for woodcraft/fire making/hunting/fishing. After using both knives, I believe they are interchangeable. Either knife will serve well for most tasks. If you have smaller hands, the Sapien will fit better. The Kephart is comfortable in my medium size hand. These are working knives for me. I have other brand name knives but find myself packing these two most of the time. They aren't fancy or trendy, just good solid performers that get the job done. For the price and considering the quality of the blade/sheath materials used, these have been a good purchase. The detractor is the overall finish but this doesn't hurt functionality. I would have preferred the blade to be plain without the black coating Condor applied. The coating is wearing off unevenly and looks "dirty".
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick
Maine
May 17, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Traditional Bushcraft Knife
Lets start by saying that this knife is not a pretty show piece, it is a work horse. Cons: The handles are from two different woods. The coating doesn't seem like it will stand up, but I usually strip it off anyway. While the blase came pretty sharp, the edge is very rough. A lot of tool marks. Pros: Came sharper then my Nessmuk. Very usable edge, and has sharpened very easily. I love the more "old world" finish. It looks like there are scales on the blade finish. It is very comfortable in every hand hold I have tried. The handle is nice and long, and I have large hands. As usual, the sheath is very nice, and worth the price even if the knife wasn't included. I was waiting for this knife to come backin stock for a long while, and I am not disappointed. It is very comfortable, and carries light in the hand and on the belt. I was looking for a lighter alternative for my BK2 when I have an axe, and this knife will fit the bill perfectly. If you are looking for a traditional style knife at a great price that you could use all day with no hot spots, you found it. My brother and sister like it so much, I will def be ordering more.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick Vc
Ontario, Canada
Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Condor Kephart a Woods Performer
I purchased two of these blades as gifts for two friends. One is fairly experienced in the outdoors, the other is just beginning. I wanted a knife that was a simple design, but highly functional. As well it was quite important that the knife have a good quality sheath (so many are lacking in this department). The Condor Kephart fit this bill nicely. All of Condor's sheaths are fantastic, the BEST sheaths on the market, especially if you like the nostalgic of leather sheathes. I own a lot of different knives for bushcraft, and have to say that this one is probably one of the best designed I've seen (doesn't surprise me, Kephart was a woods master). Odds are that I am going to purchase one for myself in the very near future! Very recommended!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK247-4.5HC Kephart Survival Knife 4-1/2" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
Connecticut
Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good knife for the price, very useful no frills work knife.