Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.167 stars out of 5 (6 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75 inch Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.98

Save $15.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thomasthomas
Kirkland, WaKirkland, Wa
Mar 26, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Perfect Camp Axe

Condor made a winner with the Cloudburst Axe! With quality construction, a beautiful axe head, and great leather work this is a can't miss product.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hayseed
Iowa
Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Construction, None

huh?

Lol why aren't people talking about this axe more. I just got one and it beat the tar out of my council tools on fit and finish. The weight is an axe for a real man, not too light, but not to heavy for its size. I wish they would make an osage orange handle I'd pay fer it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leatherguy
Sedona, AZ
Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Head Material
Cons: None

packmaster

So I was using my small forest axe and chipped it. Heartbroken, I thought I would try an axe that was different, and I wasn't afraid to bash, and i happen to remember something mentioned about this on bushcraftusa. I LOVE IT. Perfect size, not too huge, but way bigger than a hatchet. Its not some little thin edged carver, althought I was able to carve a spatula with mine. I like it because I do a bit of chopping, some fine work, but when I camp, my axe normally splits. This is an outstanding splitting axe. I bought a bunch of Condors after this one, the newest being the Makara thing. The head is well balanced with a good hang, I like the etching on it as well.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Landon P
Gatlinburg TN
Jun 04, 2019
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Great over all

Great axe for camping and survival purposes, holds well to beatings and bangings, does everything I need it to.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jerrold
Singapore, Al
May 22, 2018
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, HandleMaterial
Cons: None

This axe has a narrow grind

I am writing this review in April 2018. Either condor has changed the thickness of the grind of the axe since 2 years ago or their QC standards are not perfect. There are almost no reviews of this on the internet so I had to take a leap of faith when deciding to buy this last week. I wanted a general purpose axe that could chop and split, so I was looking for an axe head that was somewhere between both. After buying the axe I managed to find a short youtube video review of it and immediately became concerned because the grind looked too thick and the angle to wide to do any chopping. I thought I had bought a splitting axe but the axe I received was notably narrower and resembled chopping more than splitting, but isn't as narrow as a dedicated chopping axe. The axe head is forged very well and very precisely, came somewhat sharp, is firmly attached to the handle with no wood jammed into the gaps, and I am quite happy except that the bit is not completely straight. They know how to make axe heads in EL salvador. The head is relatively light at 750 grams and has a cutting surface of 3.5 inches. The handle grain is straight with no knots and is only about 20 degrees which is very acceptable. The leather collar and head cover are of outstanding quality and fit making this a terrific buy for $75. Overall I am very pleased with this axe except for a very slightly bent bit when I look straight at the bit with one eye. The grind and bevel angle are very suitable for a general purpose axe. It is around 1100 grams so I will have no problems carrying this with me on a hike.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK2803C16 Cloudburst Axe 5.75" Carbon Steel Head, American Hickory Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Ramón
Yabucoa, Pr
Jul 25, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material

small toy like

I bought this axe and it is to small and is more like a toy than an axe. I could have bought a Ruthe by Picard with that much money. I waited 3 months for this cheap toy . Condor is overpriced. Now I buy russian blades and schrade knive.s