Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.333 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7 inch Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $63.95

Save $31.03 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave C.
Philadelphia, Pa
May 17, 2011
Pros: Construction, Balance, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cool Tool
This product would be great for breaching doors. Cord wrapped handle feels good in the hand. It is not sharp so it wont get stuck when used for entry. The spike end is mean looking and addds to the overall apperance of the hawk. The handle is hollow but does not take away from the strength of the hawk itself. Very impressed with this product.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeffry C Bai
Indianapolis, In
Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Weight, Construction, Balance
Cons: None
Great 'Hawk - Good Value
I recently got this from KnifeCenter.com. It's a Great Value. Unlike what several reviewers have said, it is NOT made of "tube stock," instead it is (approx) 1/8" thick sheet steel formed into a tube (handle end) then welded. The sheath is excellent and made of very thick leather with a swivel-mounted belt loop. The cord wrapping is a bonus that can be removed, if needed. The handle is pretty thick, but I do have rather small hands. It comes VERY sharp. Mine did NOT have a loop of 550 cord at the end of the handle as shown, it was simply a 2" portion sticking out with a knot on the end - and this is the ONE detail I don't like. I would give it 4 3/4 stars only because of this minor issue. It looks like the cord could easily be changed to any color desired. (Mine is a VERY dark OD green that appears almost charcoal black.) I'd say this was probably a "Lifetime Tool."
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Arizona
Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Construction, Handle Material
Great functional oddity.
I bought this particular tomahawk because reading the description, it was detailed as being one piece 1075 carbon steel construction. So with zero examples to handle in person, I decided to wing it and just buy it. I have now owned this item for almost a year. When it arrived in the mail it was sharpened with a good utilitarian edge bevel, wasn't knife sharp but was good enough to do the job of chopping. The leather sheath was constructed with heavy nylon cord stitching with Condor's swiveling belt loop and thick riveted ounce leather. As I was getting a feel for the hawk and it's paces in use, I had to adjust to the tomahawk head. Instead of being lined in the middle of the handle it is offset to the right shoulder holding it with the axe head facing away from you with the spike towards you. The spike is by no means sharp so I bench ground some stout edge bevels. And the handle is completely round causing it to twist in your hand with misaligned strikes. It would have been better if it was made oval to help with edge alignment. But this tool is a good chopper of wood, is thick enough to split pre-split logs via batoning, the steel is tempered to resist chipping or rolling and I have drove the spike through house roofing-grade sheet metal along with old 55 gallon barrels, plain boring old sheet metal, and old enamel steel dishes. I have yet to try it on vehicle doors for it's advertised/intended purpose. Ditched the paracord wrapping and am planning to leather wrap instead. All in all, I'd accurately rate it with a 4.5 out of 5.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trever
Gainesville, FL
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Quality product
I am very impressed with this tomahawk. Blade end is sharpened and cleaned up nicely. Blunt end is thicker than I thought (pleasantly surprised). Has a nice weight to it so I know I can use if for many things. Hollow handle does keep it from getting too heavy though. Paracord wrapped handle is a nice added benefit. The sheath is quality as well. Really looking forward to putting it to many years of use.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Richard
TEXAS
Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Appears to be well designed and constructed.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Howard
USA
Jan 08, 2014
Pros: Head Material, Construction, Balance
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, None
Condor Tool & Knife TRT Combat (Tactical Rescue Tomahawk)
Cuts through almost everything holds a good edge need to be a bigger built person to swing one handed
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jesse Rios
Van. Wa.
May 16, 2011
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: None
Stout but decieving
The handle is hollow tubing, might be great to pack survival gear in, I may have not ordered it if I would have ascertained that this was made of tube stock…, but still kind of glad. It is solid as can be. The pick axe point is also not what I expected or would have wanted. It is thick, not sharp, similar to an ice axe without an edge – that can’t be modified easily. The photo is misleading… All being said for the money, it looks and feels like I could disassemble a wall or take out a door with no problem…so I guess it lives up to it’s name. This thing would intimidate anyone in a combat scenario and with this in my right hand and the Kamunga in my left, watch out!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chuck V
Naples FL
Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Construction, Head Material, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Survival tool
Living in a hurricane zone some tools may be needed to extricate persons trapped by debris.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK4012TRT TRT Tactical Rescue Tomahawk 7" Carbon Steel Head, Paracord Wrapped Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tim W
Barbourville, Ky.
Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Construction, Head Material
Cons: Weight, Balance, None
Not what I wanted.
I am in the woods a lot and wanted more of a hatchet than a device I feel would be better used to help open up a car (Like a can-opener) that was in an accident than something to carry in the forest. There is too much weight in the handle and not enough in the head, also the handle is too long and on a back stroke, one is likely to hit theirself in the head of shoulder. I will give it to one of my sons. -------- I did however subsequently purchase: Condor Tool & Knife Throwing Axe 7" Carbon Steel Head - Part Number: CN4010BT ...... This is what I envisioned more than this item being reviewed. I ground some of the bottom of the head off so it would fit the sheath of this review item. It (CN4010BT) is perfect and weighted correctly as a carry item for my desires. You should include a sheath with it and call it a utility hatched.