Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.652 stars out of 5 (46 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
37
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14 inch Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.98

Save $15.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Givd
Sydney, Australia
Jan 09, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Great hardwood chopper
I use this Golok in Australia to chop dry, dead hardwoods for the fire. Works great! I thinned the handle a bit by taking 1-2 millimeters of each side, using the rotating sander. Now that the handle is a bit oval and not round it's perfect! Oil the handle with linseed oil, and oil the blade with some tool oil.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexander
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 02, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Awesome Golok!!!
This is a high quality Golok! Built like a tank. Good chopper. Perfect balance. Great craftsmanship. I purchased it a few years ago and waited until now to leave a review. Condor nailed it with this one. You won't be disappointed. Also, it comes with a very nice leather sheath.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keith E.
mi
Jun 21, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
great thick machete
This machete is great quality. Its so thick that you dont have to worry about it breaking. I did ding mine on some wood which I wasn't expecting, but I was using this thing like a hatchet and it worked really well. One thing I was worried about radimg reviews is the handle being too big, this want the case at all. I have medium sized hands and I could get a great grip on it. Its havy for the size but if your hiking you can take this as apposed to a lighter machete and a hatchet. Also great leather sheath once it gets loosened up a bit.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Greg
Milano, TX
Jan 31, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Don't be afraid to purchase this machete. High quality, heavy duty and well worth the money. This is not one of those flimsey thin blade machetes that you can purchase at your local hardware store. Cuts into dead hardwood without causing any nicks in the blade. The blade could be sharper when shipped.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kobold
melbourne, au
Nov 09, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
just get it :-)
from splitting wood, preparing food to simple carving tasks, a machete is not just for whacking weeds. i put a sharper edge near the handle and a more blunt but resilient on the outer 2/3s. i like to strop it with leather loaded with white compound to get that perfect mirror finish. i am treating the handle with tung oil - it brings out the grain beautifully. some are modding it by removing the ball on the handle or the curved top of the blade, but for me the ball keeps the machete in my hand even without a lanyard and its features are what make it a golok. the sheath is good quality, but a bit stiff at the neck when extracting/inserting the curved top section of the blade, so it's not a smooth, fluid motion, but requires jerking. otoh, it's secure... i find it's a solid tool and a 5+ for the price.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S.
Summersville WV
Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Superb Produce
This is a well-balanced, comfortable-to-use tool. It arrives ready-to-use with a well-honed edge, and we've already put it to good use in removing brush from around trees. We ordered this size specifically for my wife's use and she finds it handy and comfortable.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vinícius
Curtiiba - Paaná Brasil
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
very good , very fast
the product is very pretty and strong. we use it in the woods of Brasil
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leonard Dearman
MERIDIAN,MS.
Jun 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
ONE SWEET BLADE,(LOVE IT!! )
I PROCESS FIREWOOD AND BUILD SHELTER. THE WEIGHT,HANDLE,AND BALANCE MAKE SHORT WORK OF WOOD. ITS THE PERFECT SIZE FOR LASHING TO PACK,NOT TO MENTION ITS THE TALKING POINT IN CAMP. TO SEE IT AND USE IT IS TO WANT ONE FOR YOURSELF.I CANT COME UP WITH NEGATIVE ABOUT THIS FINE PRODUCT.THANKS FOR GREAT SERVICE AND PRODUCT, L.G.D. MERIDIAN,MS.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Oct 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Still Awesome!
First off-a just plain beautifully made blade-no BS! It looks custom quality, and I own MANY handmade, expensive custom edged weapons. The fit and finish and the hand shaped grip is just plain a work of art. The sheath is heavy leather and very well made. The utility potential and the weapon potential are equally high. this would be one I would carry into a hot zone. The factory edge is already good enough to slice right through bamboo-and takes little to be totally razor sharp. An excellent value and , I think, the finest edged tool Condor offers. How this blade is not at least $90, I don't know-and yes, I own three of these now!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter G
Hana, Hawaii
Jun 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I have been using different brands of machete for over 40 years. This Condor model is by far the most comfortable machete ever. The weight makes it idle for long usage, and top of the line, high quality steel holds it's sharpness for a long time. It really feels good holding it in my hand, perfect balance. Thanks Condor and Knife Center.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aliza
Grand Prairie, Tx
Dec 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very nice machete
This machete is really nice and top quality
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nature Boy
Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Undisputed
When you combine quality with affordability very few machetes compare with this one. I already own two, and about to make it three. In reference to the most recent review; quit your whining and get a refund.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Red Rover
Michigan
Feb 16, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awsome
Its great if you want a machete that can cut thick branches and still be used for clearing bush. Great edge right from the box a lil sharpening and it will be scary sharp. A lil heavy on the heavy side but that the reason you can cut through thick branches with ease. Seems very durable, and feel nice in hand. Also awsome price!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T D
WA
Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Golock Machete
Great product, nice sheath and high quality blade and handle. Fits my hand weqll,well ballanced.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael J P.
Goose Creek, SC
Sep 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
tremendously well made
So well made I bought three-one for the truck, one for the house/storm kit, and one to practice martial arts with.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Nut
Roanoke, Va
May 04, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome
I just revieved my machete yesterday and put it to use. However, the edge was at a utility edge like most machetes and the was polish on the edge. Would reccomend a bastard file to sharpen. The sheath is excellent after you have the machete has been stored in it for a while to losen it up and the swivel belt loop is awesome. I was fiddling with it and since i wasn't paying attention while i was putting back in the sheath the machete stopped and my hand kept going and my thumb ran the whole way down the blade, OUCH. I put partial blam on the handle. Which is I think that is the reason why companies don't use wood, it is slick. However, I don't regret buying this machete. It is well balanced and thick. So I don't have to worry about breakage. I would deffinently reccomend this to a friend.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael J P.
Goose Creek, SC
Sep 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
tremendously well made
So well made I bought three-one for the truck, one for the house/storm kit, and one to practice martial arts with.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
North Carolina
Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Beautiful Blade
I haven't used this machete yet but I can't wait. The weight, feel, and balance are exceptional. The blade and handle are beautiful. And, the scabbard is top notch.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marc M
Salem
Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellant product
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Duane R.
Shelby, NC
Jul 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Condor makes real machetes.
Condor makes real machetes. The carbon steel blade material, heft and convex grind, along with a great handle shape, ensure that this machete is a tool and a real worker. The blade thickness and balance, well forward of the handle, puts the thin, stamped stainless steel blades of other manufacturers to shame. The golok style is an excellent combination of old-style brute force and modern ergonomics. The handle finish is a little rough, but doesn't really detract from the overal quality of this tool.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toyotero
Austin, Texas
Jul 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
High quality, great price
The Golok by Condor is a great piece of work. German quality craftsman ship at latin american production price :-D The blade has a great shape, finish and is very straight. Thick. Weight and balance are excellent. Sharpness is a pleasant surprise. It's the sharpest factory sharpening I've ever received. The edge is almost polished. I got one of the 2011 version models that has the full tang through to the end of the handle. The metal in the handle sticks outside the woodehandle scales ever so slightly. It would be nice if they were perfectly smooth, but I suspect it is intentional to protect the edge of the scales. Finishing the tang to match the handle would probably double the price anyhow. The sheath is also great, great quality for the price. The only thing that concerns me is the swivel on the belt loop, but I expect that it will last years before that might break. Great buy. I expect it to last for many many years.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich P.
Darien Illinois
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
golok machete
very well made machete. a good chopper. love it
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sled
The Bayou
Oct 07, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Pretty awesome
Took out a bunch of brush in no time. It's heavy enough to chop through medium size branches with not much effort. The handle is nice and thick for extra large hands. Being carbon steel one must take care of the blade to prevent rust.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aliza
TX.
Nov 14, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Very nice Machete
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John D.
one of those states that begins and ends in a vowel
Jun 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
The last one you'll need!
This monster will do any heavy work you need done - I like it better that my Cold Steel barong machete! Took just a minute or two on the crock sticks to finish the already fine edge and another minute to steel wool the wooden handle, but that's just because I'm picky. The sheath is welted and stiched - no cheap canvas, just leather. I like the package and I don't anticipate EVER needing another machete - this thing has it all! If you've some decent power in your arms and wrists, get this badboy now!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bps
Flagstaff, Az
Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Really top quality!
I use this for general camping, bush clearing and wood garthering. It chops wonderfully, has a great taper to the tip, heft, swing and carries through with the cut! The grind on mine if just fine. The handle and balence make this my prefered tool for above duties! The sheath is really nice and top quality! All that said (and so you know I'm not a company shill)... I did have to spend some time (minimal) putting a fine edge on it, rubbed the beautiful walnut scales with some oil and that's about it! I feel bad for those who felt they had to give thiers a poor review, mine is a SOLID 5 STARS! I "think" I like it more than my Condor Parang... but that one's so nice too, it's hard to choose! If you're having a hard time deciding between the Condor Parang and the Condor Golok, get both! Each are excellent. Would definately purchace again and recommend you do!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rong
Cape May, NJ
Aug 28, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness
A Cool Tool for the Big Boys
First things first. This machete is just cool. Forget the fact it is a solid replacement for a hatchet, slices thru green wood like a hot knife through butter, is useful for but not well adapted to clearing brush and can baton wood and make feather sticks. Forget the wonderfully ergonomic grip that sticks to your hand even when sweaty or the robust leather sheath. Forget it all because once you pick it up you are transformed into a pirate on the high seas or an explorer in the amazon. It has solidity in the 1/4" thick steel. While the blade edge needed some work it was ready to go right out of the box. It is a little too short and a little too heavy to do well at clearing light brush but anything 1/2" or thicker is fair game. This machete has replaced my hatchet for light chopping tasks and really excels at batoning wood. Truth be told though you have to handle it and use it to experience the magic.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael J P.
Goose Creek, SC
Sep 08, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding Deal!
This item is extremely well made and has a very nice, thick sheath. The edge is cut perfectly and the sheath is well thought out as it can swing and move on the belt. I immediately ordered a second golok, as I intend to train with it also in my martial arts practice. Every pick up truck and bug out kit should have this. There is enough forward edge to allow thrusting as a weapon also. In my opinion this wep is actually under priced.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Noony
Seattle
Dec 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Much more than I expected
This machete is great and worth every penny. Was very very sharp straight of the box. The sheath was top quality also. Very satisfied with the craftsmanship of this product. Can tell it's well built and will last.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
A Guy With A Condor Golok
MA
Jun 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish
great value
very good quality. It has a full tang throughout the entire handle, including the knob. this thing is meant for chopping, but since most of the weight is towards the handle, it is easy to control when using int on lighter brush and grass. The only cons are that the grind is very steep and the black finish isn't that great. It came plenty sharp to use, but I made it hair shaving sharp with minimal effort.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bernie
Battle Ground ,WA
Jun 12, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Excellent Buy
I use the Golok Machete for bush and Blackberries bushs. I think it would be a good camp tool. Frankly I thought this tool would be a typical machete from the hardware store flimsy and poorly made. Boy was I surprised nice weight,full tang and the finish was very good. My only con. is that the beautiful handle can become slick after prolonged use. I may have to wrap part of the handle with something. I must add, the sheath is excellent,sturdy and well made. As usual the folks at Knife Center had my order filled and out to me fast.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris E K
South Florida
Mar 29, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
WOW
I have allot of big knives and machetes and when I opened the box that this one was in and saw what was inside it just BLEW ME AWAY!!! Beautifully packaged, carefully made, with just enough crudeness to be almost PERFECT!! The sheath is Great- thick heavy leather with no snaps-holds the knife with perfect tension- These people know what they are doing- a great polished CONVEX GRIND- The wood handle feels great-has enough heft to chop almost anything you would want to from light brush to hardwood- took it out to the back acre and put it to use on my palmettos and Sable Palm and was very happy with the results- my NEW FAVORITE!!- Made like something costing 4 times as much!!!!!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grimstig
Sweden
Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
How can you give this product a low rating ??? !!! People write that it weighs too much, it's too short, that the majority of the weight is in the handle ( so wrong!), it's too dull (also WRONG) ..... Read about the product before u buy!!!! The steel is superb! There is no problem getting the edge razor sharp (although it would not be right for this blade because the edge will fold if it is too thin). The convex edge holds up to abuse better then any other edge for this kind of tool. If u have like a full flat grind for a blade like this it will brake under extensive use! Like I said, there is no problem getting it shaving sharp, so if u like knives and such, u should not have a problem getting the edge up to your standard! What kind of people doesn't read about the product before they by it!?!?! Ok.... Now it's a review about people that is immune against logic thinking and not the blade.... Sorry but I just have to get that of my chest! Al in al, it's a great blade! If u are going for a long hike and u're wondering about if u're gonna take the axe and a large knife and this and this..... Stop wondering! The only tool u need is this! (And of course a smaller blade for the fine chores) And if u're a guy that is fond about batoning.... Even though u really shouldn't do that with a knife..... U don't need to with this tool!!! It just flows thru firewood with ease! And jepp, the sheath is superb to!!!! ;-) Only thing that I didn't like was the black finish on the blade.... But that's no problem to grind of with some fine sand paper. It only looks better with out it in my opinion. By it!!!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Russell G
Oamaru,
Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Surprisingly good!
Came well packaged and sent promptly. This was a very nice surprise to see the great quality. The steel is quite thick so doesn't lend itself to slashing grasses and light stuff but is ideal for a little heavier work. It came razor sharp but is also pretty easy to sharpen with a file. It's good being full tang too! This is my second Condor machete and highly recommend them.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.T.
AR
Oct 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Condor Tool & Knife Golok
This Machete was purchased as a bushcraft/survival/yard tool. Just got the Golock in the mail and I could not wait to put it to the test. I used it to cut down some 3 and 4 inch sapling trees to see how good of a chopper it was going to be. Wow, was I suprised. I was able to cut through the 3 and 4 inch sapling trees as if they were warm butter. Next I tried it on some taller weads and johnson grass type vegitation. It was like cutting air. The fit and finish on this Machete makes it almost seem like a short sword not a hard use machete. No gaps between the handle slabs and the tang of the machete. The grind angles on the blade are top notch. I like my tools to be razor sharp and the golok came with a functional edge. I gave it a couple minutes with a axe puck and talk about sharp! The sheath is very well made of good grad leather. I was very impressed with the stiching and attention to detail with both the sheath and the Golok. I would recommend this machete to anyone who lives where there are a majority of woody plants and small trees. All in all it was money very well spent
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John D.
one of those states that begins and ends with a vowel.
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nasty - really nasty!
This bad boy will do what you want done - anytime, anywhere. I just smoothed out the wooden handle with some steel wool and some wax - touched up the blade a bit even though it's sharp enough out of the box. I don't think I'll need another machete for a LONG time! Get one!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Damon M
Indiana
Dec 05, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Excellent machete
I spent 2 months researching large knives and machetes for wood processing during camping trips. After receiving the Condor Golok I was glad I spent the time. The blade was sharp and thick, just what I was looking for. The blade is full tang and chops great. I also like the quality leather sheath. The only downside of the sheath is that it is not ambidextrous and only really fits on the right hip. Great blade at a great price. Also, the service from Knifecenter was prompt.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
LOS ANGELES
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
A MACHETE THAT WORKS
THERE ARE SO MANY POOR QUALITY MACHETES ON THE MARKET IT IS DIFFICULT TO FIND SOMETHING THAT WORKS AND IS REASONABLY PRICED. THIS IS IT. SHARPENS NICELY.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don
Ohio
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Made Well
Fiirst machete I have purchased, a bit heavy, blade could be sharder out of box but that can be fixed with sharpening. So far happy with it . Purchased to use camping and general yard work.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hal
home
Mar 30, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
I usually use a traditional machete when entering a jungle. The golok is a bit different and needed a bit of practice to get use to. It's an excellent tool that I will now bring with me to the jungles of Thailand. I now prefer it over my old machete.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff L
arizona city, Az
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Handle Material
condor golok machete
pros: fairly heavy, 1/4" tapering spine, gorgeous leather sheath, convex grind edge. cons: up turned tip, fit and finish one the wood grip, i would have prefered counter sunk screw/nuts to brass pins. i did the reverse tanto tip on mine and reverse tanto-ed the sheath to bring the length to 13 inches, would have liked a bottom choil to prevent hand slipping onto the blade. i do love the resulting machete after the mods i made,
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jack
Durham, NC
Jun 08, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Sturdy construction
This product is very sturdy and easy to take care of.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Stephen
Tampa,Fl
Aug 02, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
An OK Blade
Main use is yardwork,camping and hiking. Fit and finish is above average, the price for the package is great. The sheath is great. Knifecenter is always reliable I've been aa customer many years. I've had this about two weeks now with intermittent use. The fit and finish is above average and the balance is nice. Wood handle and brass pins add a nice touch. But the actual performance out of the box is terrible. Maybe mine is a different version or not ground properly. The edge is a 1/4 inch convex grind and thats about it. The first 6-7 inches of the blade are basically useless out of the box the rest is ok but needs work. I have spent about two hours total trying to dial this in. I probably should have sent it back but thought I would give it a shot. OK so after belt sanding the edge to provide a cutting surface that will now slice grass things are looking up. Overall I am not happy with the way this came out of the box and Condor should keep an eye on their grinds. After reading so many positive things about this blade I am hesitant to post this but maybe I got a rough one. This thing is a chopper for sure and it does well against branches and it is finally doing ok batoning too. Not sure about edge retention yet.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Wade B
Sheffield, NJ
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
Good looking, but not that functional
Looks great - nice finish, including the sheath. I had originally ordered two of these based on the reviews, but one is going back (I already started using the other one). It's more pretty than functional. Too heavy, plus the weight is too much in the handle.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Norwegian Trapper
NJ, USA
Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Great looks... but not a functional tool
Fit and finish are great, enough so that I'm actually encouraged to buy other products from this manufacturer. BUT..., buy this only if you want a 'cool machete' to show off to your friends or hang on your wall (if that's your thing). For a functional machete, look elsewhere. This one is too heavy, too short and too blunt to ever aspire to be a real-life tool - never mind survival (I'd trust my F-1 fallkniven for that). There is minimal bevelling to an already too-thick blade. Combine that with a convex edge, and getting an edge on this thing will always be a challenge. My machete came very dull by the way. I'm also a bit disappointed by the many overly positive comments. Anyone with a functional need for a machete would look at this one and say 'very pretty' and then pick up another for real-world use. ps: beautiful sheath too, and not all that disfunctional...
Condor Tool & Knife CTK410-14HCS Golok Machete 14" Black Carbon Steel Blade, Walnut Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Johnny G
Virginia
Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Cons: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Condor Golok
Despite all of the positive reviews, I was disappointed in the Condor. The blade was not sharp and the steel just didn't seem very good-The black coating gave it that slick production feel-In short, it was not up to what I would have expected. As someone who has lived in Central Africa and is used to a good cutting tool, this product just didn't live up to my expectations-The sheath was of excellent quality and I have bought products from The Knife Center for years-and The Knife Center is a first class company. Perhaps quality control has fallen on hard times at Condor and they are making a lot of these products and don't have time to make sure that they are up to par-Save your money and invest in a quality product like a Bark River-or get a Martindale Golok and have it professionally sharpened-and you will have a great piece of steel.