Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.563 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.98

Save $15.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon
Illinois
Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
impressed
Very impressed with not only the machete but the sheath as well. This is a heavy duty chopper so it weighs more than something i would want on my side all day but for camping or clearing brush this is my pick. This came very sharp and very well put together. This will last a long time. I was hesitant at first but very glad I bought this. I plan on buying something smaller from Condor soon.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen
Canada
Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: None
What a great looking blade!
I bought this to clear some fallen trees that were blocking a path I walk and also to take with us on our camping trips. The blade requires sharpening and once sharp, holds an edge quite well. The leather sheath is a beauty too.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Le
Pittsburgh Pa.
Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Condor Engineer Bolo Machete 15"
The finish quality of both the sheath and machete are very good. the sheath is made of heavy duty leather and will last a life time. The machete is delivered with an extremely sharp edge and in most cases ready for use. the hardwood handle is finished to the blade with smooth edges and the rivets are seemly ground smooth one the handle is attached. I have used it for trimming trees, cutting brush and general cutting./
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
MI
Aug 05, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Another heavy chopper for larger limbs and pieces of wood.
I bought a couple of these to be used as camp utility tools instead of an axe. These blades are heavy and work great for chopping. The shape of the machete, with the blade drop away from the handle, puts the force of the swing at the front third of the blade. I like the "rough" forged look above the grind. The grind is smooth and the edge was sharp when I recieved the machetes. The handle fits my hands very well. The machete meets my expectations for my intended uses. I have several Condor machetes and the Engineer Bolo is one of my favorites.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Alabama
Mar 23, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Handle Material, None
Very Cool
Buy one- you won't regret it! Great value!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Toby L
Williamsburg, In
Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
hacker
This takes a mans grip to use, hvy. like your going thru everything you go at. Going to file down the 1st 11/2-2" by the handle for just incase, can see that could be a problem maybe if ya loose a bit of your grip, not a complaint just a preventative measure,,, but you know you don't have a weak tool in your hand . You not likely to hip carry this all day.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jml
Redwood City, CA
May 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great tool!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave B
Phoenix, Az
Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent
I use this machete to do yard work: chopping trees, branches, thick vegetation, making posts, carving, cutting coconut. The convex grind digs deep into whatever you happen to be cutting, its absolutely amazing.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
Small Town Iowa
Nov 06, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Heavy Duty Machete
This is a very heavy duty Machete with a genuine heavy leather sheath. These handle scales are Walnut but that varies from knife to knife it seems. They all have hardwood scales. The blade thickness is 5 mm which is between 1/4 and 3/16 and 14 3/4" long. This is basically a long axe blade with a handle. As soon as I got it out of the box, my hand went to the backside of the blade and I realized that this will work wonders in my kitchen for heavy cuts and dicing chores. It is long enough to cut a large Pizza in half by just rocking it one way and then the other. I have yet to use it outdoors. That will happen this weekend with some delimbing of Ash and Pine trees that I need to drop. I reprofiled the blade and the handle scales when I got it. I always personalize and customize new blades. I removed the black finish from the blade with a DA sander and put tapers on the wood handle scales. The original blade profile grind was good for rough outdoor chopping but I intend to use this for food process also. I reduced the grind angle to improve slicing. That increased the bevel from 3/4 of an inch to 1 inch from sharp edge to back of bevel. The blade has a "belly" of 2 5/8 at widest point
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ben F
Rockwell, Nc
Sep 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
BIG, HEAVY, THICK
And i'm not talking about my ex-wife!! This condor is awesome. It is almost an 1/4 thick, the sheath is flawless, and it will dig and cut through about anything. I put a +2 degree edge on it and it is crazy sharp and is holding up well. The only reason i gave it a 4, is because it wasn't as sharp as most and i had to touch up the handles. I made a few tweeks and now it is ready for next months adventure! ( Tennesse Mnts.)
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Louis M
Southern California
May 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Worth the wait
KnifeCenter gave me the best price I could find on this Machete, but I had to wait over a month to get it. I could have paid 4 times as much at one place. This knife is not going to get damaged easily, it is very robust. I bought this to chop down cactus and chop small branches off of limbs, but it is heavy for me. It would be better used by a stronger person,as I am 63 years old with emphysema. I should have gotten something lighter but I am still glad to have this well made knife that will last my son his lifetime. Thank you KnifeCenter for honoring the price I ordered it at even though you had to raise tyour price while waiting to get it from the supplier.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jeff
nebraska
May 07, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very functional, workhorse type of knife. Delivered sharp. Heavy duty leather sheath. Great value. It's the type of knife, that if taken care of, could be used by your grandkids. It's a heavy knife, but I think the weight adds to the functionality.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Toby
Indiana
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Hvy. but sweet
this, came with a real nice edge, it is a chunk of steel !!! Lil early for a review, I think you should use something a yr before,,, but it takes a man to use this, if there`s something I`d say to the makers it would be to smooth out the blade for the 1st 2-21/2 inches for "just in case" . Like I said it`s hvy., a lil slide forward with your fingers, well,,,, but not in anyway complaining . Comes with nice protective leather sheath. It should do whatever job you want done with a machete and then some,,, just use it like your in a marathon not a sprint , you`ll see what I mean.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
James
Covington Va.
Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: None
read specs carefully
This knife is suffering from a identity crisis. It looks like a machete but is far to heavy to be used as one, espically for clearing trails. The blade geometry doesn't do will for cutting through thin brush, its closer a hachet the a machete and would make a good substitute as one.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S
North Carolina
May 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great tool!
The Condor Engineer Bolo is a pretty good replication of the military WWI/WWII Collins Bolo. I used to have an "original", that was stolen from my truck years ago. The Condor version is an excellent replacement, and will work as well as the original did cutting limbs from newly downed trees on my property. I have another Condor, a Parang, that is good for different types of use. I was pleased to note that the Bolo has a better finish on the handle, that did not require me to sand so much to make the sharper edges more comfortable. The only negative, for me, is the sheath. On both of the Condor sheaths I find the center snapping strap to be not just over-kill, but something that gets in the way of removing the blade from the sheath, and re-sheathing the blade. I cut the strap off, and just snap the outer snap half onto the exposed inner snap as protection. I'm trying to figure out how to remove the snap, without leaving a hole in the sheath, but I haven't come up with a solution.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK417-15HC Engineer Bolo Machete 15" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Idaho
Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Not for the limp wristed!
Cuts more like an axe than a machete. Great sharpness out of the box, and the convex edge is holding up very well. Sheath is sturdy and well-designed. Only one improvement I can think of. With the weight of this monster, an extra 3" of handle to allow a 2-handed grip would be helpful for extended usage. And keep it oiled if you don't want it to rust. Carbon steel is superior in every way to stainless, it just requires some simple maintenance.