Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheathrated 4.778 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $63.73

Save $11.25 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Missouri
May 04, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great
Quite useful for yard work near creek and woods. Other machetes from local suppliers bend and lose edge quickly under normal use. This tool takes a workout and holds its edge. Perfect for real world applications vs the competition.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Panhandle
Oct 06, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Great !
I love this compact, heavy machete. Great handle, excellent sheath, great look.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Iafay
Seattle
Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None
Best all-around I've owned!
I first became aware of this blade on a video from SHOT Show 2013, and I immediately knew I had to have it. Why I chose it: There are several standard Parang shapes and this style with its more pointed end (vs squared off) is my favorite. Another consideration was the tang and handle specs. Most examples are rapidly tapering and about half tang, and most are press fit. A few are pinned (one 1/16 pin), and there are a couple full tang offerings available, including a couple from Condor. I believe this model has a tang that extends all the way to just beyond the lanyard tube, and since the handle is molded to it, I feel secure in its retention. I do prefer a synthetic handle over natural for this application because it is a hard use tool that will take lots of abuse. Finally, the steel was another deciding factor. 1075 is a great choice for strength and flexibility with good edge retention. I think it's perfect for this application, and Condor has a great reputation for building long blades that work well and last. The leaf spring offerings from Malaysia look great, but I don't know about the heat treatment. If done wrong, they could turn a perfectly pliable chunk of steel into a brittle piece of crap. They also use the pinned/press-fit handle set-up which I discussed earlier. How it performed: While I haven't gotten into the wilds yet, I have done some backyard beating with this blade. It took two inch limbs off of my cedar tree (unsupported) in two well placed whacks, a task that took much more time and effort with a more budget kuhkri machete that I own. Once supported the Condor chopped through the same branch in one easy swing. I processed some apple wood with it and had no trouble quickly batoning through a 10 inch log. The blade shows no sign of wear after all the heavy work, not even at the edge. I also found that the handle really soaked up the vibration well. The only concern is that it gets a little slick in sweaty hands. I may wrap the center of the handle wit silicone or stretch an inner tube over it. I was very impressed with the ease of making feather sticks and doing other precise shaving tasks with the close edge. The steel is not sharpened for the first 1.5 - 2 inches from the handle, which allowed me to choke up on the blade safely and comfortably for the detailed work. The sheath is very good, though I might like a sturdier and/or more versatile belt loop. The one it has is adequate, but makes for just one basic carry option. Otherwise it is excellent, allowing for quick access to and stowing of the blade. Many other Parangs have multiple snaps for retention and require some angling to get them stowed. This sheath has only a single Velcro retention loop around the handle. Though I'd prefer a snap for greater strength, I haven't had any problems yet. It also has a simple pouch on the front that is big enough for a multi-tool, though I currently have a magnesium block/ferro rod (the spine throws sparks like a champ), and a small sharpening stone in there. In summary, the Condor Bushcraft Parang Machete was worth twice what I paid and then some. This is now my go to chopper and all-around bush tool. If I could have only one blade with me, I'd choose this one and I will likely buy a couple more for B.O.B. and car. Get one! You won't regret it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Reno
NL
Dec 15, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome
This is a great product. Definitely a good chopper (thick blade). Excellent handle (tough propylene) which makes chopping fun. Feels immediately comfortable in hand , and also during extensive chopping. The blade/steel is also very good.. I really recommend this one. I'm totally happy with what it how it performs.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David F
Oxnard, Ca
Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Condor Bushcraft Parang
Love this blade first parang so can't comment on others but this one rocks. Used on backpacking for a overnight trip vs an axe more uses and this machete is a beast chopping wood with ease. Use it at home also to process limbs and if you need to can chop large trunks with did that as a test and for fun not it's normal use, came really sharp, maintained it's edge and seems very durable.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darryl B
Leeds, Alabama
Dec 05, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife!!!!
I got this to be a multi purpose knife for camping. I use it as a machete and axe/chopper. I also can use as a shovel too. Great product!!!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sled
The Bayou
Oct 07, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Chop master
This thing is fun to swing. Still can't decide if I like this or my hatchet to process wood. I take this, a bk16 and a folding saw with me in woods and I can tackle pretty much anything, within reason. It is a good substitute for a hatchet, except you can't hammer with it. I guess you could just hammer with your batoning stick/club. Love it.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lee
Detroit, Mi
Aug 07, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Nice but heavy
I really wanted to like this machete, but it was not quite what I expected. I like the medium length and blade geometry, but it is a thicker blade than usual for a machete, more of a chopper than a cutter. I wanted it for a pack machete but it is too heavy, so I will keep it in my truck with my axe, etc. The grip is a nice material and color, but again bigger than you would think. If you have large hands it will probably be fine, but for smaller hands it may not be a good grip. The sheath is also odd, it seems set up for left hand use rather than right hand. Overall the construction seems good, it will probably last a lifetime, I just wish it were a little thinner and lighter, it would be perfect.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK423-13HC Bushcraft Parang Machete 13" Carbon Steel Blade, Polypropylene Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jcbjr
Alpharetta, GA
Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
good heavy duty machete
heavy duty, nice convex grind edge took minimal touch up to get really sharp. Might be just a tad heavier than it needs to be. I carry it in my vehicle for emergencies and camping use, where it's shortness is a virtue. Splits kindling quite well. Pretty good for chopping brush and small trees. Not ideal for light grass/vine hacking and trail clearing, as it is too heavy, short, and slow to swing, at least for me. I agree that sheath could be better. Do not expect it to last as long as the machete. Overall, great for what I needed. Good price, too.