Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.778 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13 inch Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $66.95

Save $33.03 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexander Bi
Ann Arbor, Mi
Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
New favorite blade, hands down
I took a long time deciding which machete to purchase for cutting viney brush and overgrowth out of my yard and also for camp duties and potential (but hopefully never) defense. I chose this one because of the thickness of the steel, the versatility of the blade shape, and the overall pleasing look. When I opened the box, I was STUNNED. This thing is amazing, I was not expecting such a heavy-duty, perfectly fit and finished blade with a well-functioning and good-quality sheath at all. The handle is extremely ergonomic, feels great in hand and stays there while swinging thanks to the flared end. The blade was not shaving sharp but very sharp out of the box, and personally I don't want a shaving sharp machete because it'll just get mashed and rolled with heavy use anyway. The 1075 carbon steel seems to have been well heat-treated and holds the edge well enough. As a chopper it is fantastic, it's blade weight just pulls it in to the target and makes short work of thick, tough vines and saplings. I can't wait to take it out again. This thing is a beast and a steal, hurry up and buy one before they wise up and start selling them for a hundred dollars! Don't forget to keep it oiled though because it will rust on you.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lewis
Arizona
Jun 05, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Love it
I love this kukri style machete. For the money pay you get more quality materials compared to buying a cold steel kukri machete. Good high carbon 1075 steel, spring temper, hard wood handle scales, top quality leather sheath. I've owned my Condor for some months now. When it arrived the edge bevel was way too steep to be used effectively for chopping. But that wasn't a problem because i have a buddy with a belt grinder. Once that was fixed with just some metal removal, it became a hell of a chopper. Besides the edge grind, I've scaled down the handle with my dremmel because it was a little too big for my medium/large hands. Plan on taking off the black finish later. From chopping tree limbs, logs, and batoning firewood this piece of steel has taken them all and can take more. Lightweight, lively, and awesome, I didn't go wrong with this. If you're on a budget and need/want a kukri style machete, by all means, buy a cold steel one. But if you can afford to dish out the extra cash, go for this offering from Condor. You can't go wrong says this simple observer.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rafterrs
Norway
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Thats a knife, cool.
Very nice blade that is strong and sharp!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Papa
Camden, Arkansas
Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
I am a Deer Hunter, and must clear my shooting lanes and cut foliage from obstructing my view of possible shooting paths. The Condor Kukri Machete 13" is a wonderful tool for helping me with this task. Thank You Condor for giving me a perfect tool to support my deer hunting. Papa
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Corrales
san diego, ca
Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
soild, sturdy, and built to last
I purchased the condor 13" machete because I had grown tired of cheaply produced machetes that were not made to last. I utilize the tool primarily for land clearing, and so far an exquiste tool. Thank you.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Mu
Texas
Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Serious Kukri
I was really stunned when I opened the box to find such a high quality tool being the low price I paid. Everything about this blade screams quality! The sheath is high quality leather! The blade is powder coated to keep rust at bay not to mention it gives it a mean look as well! Lastly, I was most impressed with the fast, professional service from Knife Center!!! First Class All The Way!!! I placed my order and 3 days later my package is at my doorstep!!! Can't go wrong with one of these blades from Knife Center and one certainly can't go wrong by dealing with Knife Center for all their blade needs!!! Thanks Knife Center and Condor Tool & Knife!!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dado
Sweden
Jul 09, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great
Great for chopping smaller wood. Replaces my axe while hiking. Stable, heavy and good looking.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lead Head
Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Had about 4" of blade sharp, the rest needed work, some lots.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK490-13HCS Kukri Machete 13" Carbon Steel Black Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
MI
Aug 05, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nice lightweight machete, needing some refinements.
I bought two of these a few years ago and have used them periodically. I like the size of the machete, the blade style, the handle shape and the leather sheath. Being a lightweight machete, my intended use was for clearing briars, vines, softwoods like sumac and so forth. Unfortunately, the factory grind is a little too steep for shearing or slicing usage. Though sharp when I recieved the machetes, I will have to refine the edges to be used effectively. The handle scales on both of the machetes are not very uniform, causing the cutting edge to "twist" to the left or right. I will have to reshape them some so the edge is more centered. The sheath is the same nice leather and side opening as Condors other machetes. Still would be nice to have an opposite hand sheath option available.