Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles - 1050

Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.091 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
3
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875 inch Satin Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $56.95

Save $33.04 (37%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raybo
Jersey Shore
Feb 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of CR Finest
Takes a bit of getting use to, but a fine example of solid craftsmanship at a reasonable price. It quickly became one of my favorite carriers. Razor sharp blade that lasts.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will
Midwest
Mar 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Great carry knife!
I pretty much like everything about this knife, it's sharp, easily opens with authority, has a good clip, has built in safeties for opening and closing, and has finger grooves in the handle. It would be even better if they could make the handle more "grippier". The handle looks nice and is smooth, but for safety, it needs more traction or a rougher texture so the user can get a better grip on the handle. The "piece of metal" that Mike was referring to below is likely the locking mechanism; there is a small "lever" near the pivot point that's used to block the liner lock when activated, and this locks the knife open. If you move the lever to the unlocked position, you can close the knife as normal.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric D
Bridgeport, Pa
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Nice headline, pretty knife
This knife is razor sharp. The Out Burst opening mechanism takes a bit of getting used to but once you get the action down it works beautifully. I found that one drop of gun oil on the hinge helped the opening action immensely. The knife is aesthetically beautiful a good weight and feels good in the hand thanks to a good sized handle. This knife comes out of the box "shaving sharp" I can shave hair off of my arm. There is also an assist to the liner lock which will prevent the liner lock from closing during a stabbing action, if you ever had need of that . The thumb stud does make a rattling sound due to the unique deployment action and the thumbstud is not reversible for the same reason but neither of these bother me.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
North Carolina
Oct 07, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Awesome knife!
Pros - SHARP! Feels really good in the hand, both open and closed. The LAWKS locking system. Snaps open. Cons: none that I've run into so far. There are a couple of things to be aware of, neither of which detract at all from the knife: It took me a bit of practice to learn how to open it smoothly . . . but that's OK. I'd rather have it that way rather than have it fly open in my pocket from a jostle. Like I mentioned, it's really sharp right out of the box and one could do damage to important pieces of one's anatomy if it did. One I learned how to hold my tongue correctly, it's a snap. The other thing that I wish I'd paid more attention to is the locking mechanism. I must have glossed over information about it when I was reading the instructions, so I couldn't figure out why sometimes I could close it easily and other times I couldn't close it at all until I put it down and left it alone again and then came back to it. I thought it was broken, so I sent it back to the Knife Center. (This is where I want to give a huge shout-out to the Knife Center and their customer support. It's AWESOME. I used to be on the help desk in an IT shop, so I'm used to getting calls from clueless users who didn't read the instructions. Depending upon my mood, I could get pretty snarky). Anyway, a couple of days after I sent it in, I got a call from Cheryl who (I assume) works in the customer service department. She explained that the problem was operator error (she didn't say it that way) and gave me the information I needed . . . I have had lots of experiences with customer service departments from all sorts of companies, but I have never had as pleasant and helpful support call in my life. Even if I didn't like the knife at all, I'd continue to give the Knife Center my business because of their excellent staff. I can't say enough good about the support I got. My general feeling about the knife is that right now, it's my favorite knife. I am not a knife expert, but I can't say enough good about this knife. I like its weight . . . it's a very sturdy build, the blade is very sharp, and it makes a really nice "snick" sound when it opens . . . And, by the way, the locking mechanism works as advertised . . .
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Erik S
thousand oaks, ca
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type
I Love This Knife!
Although a little heavy for EDC, this knife offers the best value I have ever seen for a knife of this price The handle is really comfortable for my large hands, there's a strong steel spine to the blade with a point sharp enough to crack coconut (which we did over the 4th holiday weekend). The assisted opening took some getting used to, but once I got the knack, it's a breeze. My only grip is the pocket clip is set in the wrong place, and although you can reattach the clip in other areas of the knife, the hex screws strip before they loosen. All in though, a great knife for the dough.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chad C
Dallas, Tx
Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Love this knife
I have several knives, but this is my first $50 knife. At first I didn't think I would like it because the locking system made it difficult to open. But after about 10 minute or so, you get a feel for how to open it and now I can open it very fast. It came very sharp out of the box. The handle grips very well and the blade locks up good and strong. Very happy with the purchase.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ninja Nurseryman
Simi Valley, Ca.
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very cool
The Fire Spark is used for everyday things like opening mail, cutting wrapping tape, twine, and etc. The blade opening is so fast and solid I'm sure it can rivel the best made switchblades.Wish it had a really fancy super-premium blade steel, but no problem with what it does have.Keeps an edge very well.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony Yoakam
Dothan AL
Aug 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
good solid openning
This knife opens fast as an automatic with about 5 minutes of practice. knowing how to nudge is instinctive after about the second try. This is definitely a great buy. Have tried to force an accidental opening and just can't make it happen. They have certainly got the science right on this one. Blade is shaving sharp and the design quite eye popping. Best $$ spent on a knife this year.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill L.
Pacific Northwest
Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Lightning Fast
STRONG knife, SLEEK finish. Has good weight to it for its size. I use as EDC and as a backup tactical. Fast as an automatic. Nothing wrong about this folder. Going to get the blacked out version as well.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mctoasty
Burbank, Ca.
Apr 06, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
I Chose wisely
I got this to be my every day knife and it's perfect. Nice weight, arrived razor sharp and the assisted opener is quick, solid and strong. The thumb stud for the opener is opposite for me because I am left handed so my index finger is now pushing that stud. Because it is brand new it requires some time to work with and get used to, the main thing is it just feels so good in my hand ( That's what SHE said)
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Aug 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great Knife
This is a great all around knife. It has a good feel in the hand and gives the user a sense of a sturdy, reliable knife. It came razor sharp out of the box, and the "Fire Spark" opening system is lightening fast. It also has a special feature that allows the user to lock the blade in the open position for extended use. Be aware though, that this knife is on the large side and if you are a big guy with big hands, you are going to love this knife. I have mine on a lanyard and use it as an EDC. Truly a work of art.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory A
UK
May 11, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Columbia River Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Han
What a tool..! Drew 1st blood right out of the box… Sharper than a witches ***..! Awesome feel in the hand, bigger than you'd think from the pic's… EDC gets used for everything..! You won't be disappointed..!
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen-San
Crownsville, Md
Jul 21, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
The Best
Very fast opening with real authority. Nice big blade; very sharp.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wm. S.
Plfd. NJ
Nov 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Weight
good value
use at work, like the one hand assist opening,love the large handle,slightly heavy.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matthieu
France
Jul 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Don't like, but still cool
I really don't like the open system. I find it a little too dangerous for me, it was a little hard then suddenly the blade burst... But it's a beautyful knife, razorsharp.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Blade158
Johannesburg, South Africa.
Jan 05, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Love it!
Beautiful scales (handles). Smooth action. Solid feel. Fire Safe is ingenious and no trouble at all.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bruce
Calgary Canada
Dec 31, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, Handle Feel, None
CRK Quality
I am a retired custom knife maker that made fixed blade knives for years. I have a good knowledge of knives & especially quality, as I am a perfectionist. I carried a fixed blade knife that I had made for many years. Unfortunately, people will frown upon a person if they see you have a knife on your belt. I stopped carrying a knife for a couple of years...but missed it greatly. I searched folding knives for some time, & then I purchased my first Columbia knife. An M16Z "flip open" as a personal carry knife. A knife that I could use & enjoy that would not be so offensive to the naive. I was very impressed with the quality for the price. I have recently purchased my second CR knife...A fire spark assisted open as I wanted a larger blade. Once again...a very good quality knife for the price. The blade opens fast, & is very sharp from the box. The "sounds" of the mechanism is good...there is no play in the blade. I am very happy with this knife. As for cons....the only things I can think about is that I would like the handles to have a more meaty feel. The blade of the fire spark has a false edge on the back...I think it should be made from thicker stock. I would like to see CRKT make knives from higher quality steel such as ATS-34 to RC 58-59 hardness.....Myself, I would pay extra for this. OK...overall....CRKT knives are very good quality for price. I will soon purchase my 3rd. & 4th. knife.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dan
Washington, DC
May 18, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Solid knife but doesn't always open easily
While the overall construction of the knife is solid the quick/safe opening feature sometimes does not work. I would not recommend this knife for everyday carry.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
virginia
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Nice but flawed
Carry all the time. Very sharp and strong. Problem is when I try to close it, sometimes there is a small piece of metal that gets out of place and blocks the closing of the knife. I have to take a sharp probe and move that metal piece to get the knife to close. If this gets any worse I want to return or get it fixed!
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Phil
Mo
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Bad design
when you open the blade your finger slides onto the blade. Not a good design.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Arthur Pierce
Alameda, CA
Apr 29, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Ease of Opening
Good looking knife, but it doesn't work!
This knife has a safety button that you have to push in while opening the knife. This worked the first 4 or 5 time time I opened the knife then it stopped working. I also heard a rattling sound so I returned the knife.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Sport) Assisted 3.875" Satin Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Miketheknife
Costa Mesa , Ca
Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
There are lots of better knives
My dissatisfaction comes from not being able to open it until the mechanism soaked in Wd-40. The safety is tiny and hard to move so forget gloves. The thumb open screw is smallish and very close to handle and even oiled my thumb was bleeding under the finger nail after maybe 10 openings. It is a beautiful knife when open, The knife blade doesn't feel sharpe but cuts boxes & paper very well. I'll probably return so won't Test it on anything else. Bottom line there are many better choices.