Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles - 1050K

Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.536 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875 inch Black Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $63.95

Save $36.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sprocket
Pennsylvania
May 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Knife
Exactly what I was looking for in a knife. The assisted opening is smooth and fast. The LAWKS safety adds a level of confidence to a folder.Fire Safe acctuation lets me carry a blade thats razor sharp right out the box without worry of unintended opening. I wanted a good knife without the higher price ranges and I feel I got a great value. It was My first CRKT knife and I was so impressed with the overall quality Im looking forward to adding more to my collection soon.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sergeant D
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great gift
So in my review I wrote why I bought this knife and what I noted about it when I received it from KCI. I am writing now to say my buddy loved it, although he was a bit scared of the fast action. He couldn't wait to show it off to his son who is a recent Iraq and Afghanistan combat vet. So anyway, I got to cut something with it on Christmas when he gave me a bag of his homemade terriake venison jerkey which is like a steel belted radial, the knife glided right through the super tough meat with no problems. I may buy one of these for myself when KCI gets them back in stock.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
H. Selickis
Norway
Oct 06, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Grate knife
Very good quality for price and also knife. Especially I like assisted opening, works just like automatic, very nice. Can not say anything bad about it, I recommend it. Also thanks to Knife Center Customer Service.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mdb
Durham, NC
Jan 17, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Pleasantly Surprised
One of the tightest spring-assists I've ever purchased for under $100 ... great balance when opened. Outburst assisted-opening is a bit stiff but I'm sure it will soften with use. A tactical sheath would have been a nice addition.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kstvns007
Olivet, MI
Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent seller
This is the 2nd Firespark I’ve owned and I love them, easy action, good size, great balance. I’ll never be without one.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charley F.
Douglasville, GA
Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
slick knife
although i have yet to have a chance to field test it, this is a great knife. once mastered, the assisted opening works really well. i have had none of the problems i have read in other reviews concerning this or the lock. very sharp and above all else, it frightens my wife, which i think is important. as always, prompt service from Knife Center...
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
Arizona
Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
My EDC
I wait a long while, sometimes a year or more, before I even consider writing a review, and then only if I think the product extremely good and well worth the price, or bad enough to alert others. I own close to 75 pocket knives, usually carrying two, a general purpose folding work knife and a tactical folder. The Fire spark is my tactical folding EDC over several knives many times the cost in my collection. As you read the review keep in mind that I am a large man with large hands and have found that having the proper size and shape handle on a knife makes a world of difference - and can make or break the knife review. I never leave home during the week for work, and/or urban excursions without the Fire Spark. For weekend warrior yard work, bush crafting and outdoors, the fixed blades get deployed :-) I did have trouble, as others have seemed to, getting used to the OutBurst assisted opening mechanism, however once my learning curve was worked through it became more or less a permanent part of my daily dress. The assist mechanism is one of my two favorite, the other being a Kershaw SpeedSafe Chive. The ability to lock the blade open with LAWKS is an added plus along with the the blade that takes, retains an edge well, and has a wicked point. This blade is not for prying... that is what my work blade is for... a CRKT Graham folding Razel with a 3.14 inch blade. Unfortunate that it has been discontinued. What a beautiful, hard use work horse.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
K.L.R.
WY
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good Knife
Both locks work well and the spring action of the assisted opener is strong and fast. The handle has a good feel. This is the knife that I carry at work and will be testing it daily so we'll see just how well it holds up. One problem is, it a good looking knife so I know if i leave unattended at work one of my co-workers will make off with.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Butch
TORRINGTON CONNECTICUT
Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE!
I USE IT IN PLACE OF A UTILITY KNIFE, I'M ROUGH WITH IT AND SHARPEN IT ON A WORK SHARP BELT SANDER. IT'S RELIABLE AND EVEN THE PEOPLE I WORK WITH ASK TO USE IT, SOME OF THEM CAN'T CLOSE IT BUT THEY KEEP ASKING TO USE IT! I NOR ANY ONE HAVE NEEDED STITCHES FROM MY KNIFE! NOT THE GREATEST FOR STRIPPING WIRE, BUT IF YOU DO I SUGGEST DULLING THE POINT CLOSEST TO THE HANDLE, THOUGH I DIDN'T NEED STITCHES IT DID SCRATCH ME.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean
Watford City, ND
May 30, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Good Knife
Very solid knife and well built. The mechanics of the assist are very smooth and tight. There is no play at all. I would expect to pay more, this knife is worth every penny.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Phoenix
Nov 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Great knife, great value
Having always carried a pocket knife, I've owned a CRKT folder with a flip out blade lock for over a decade, which I've always found reliable, although it wasn't the sharpest blade by any means ( a Michael Waker design ). I received my Fire Spark several weeks ago and have been quite impressed with the assisted opening and perfectly satisfied with the knife's feel and sharpness. I was accustomed to flipping my old blade open with my thumb, which has a similar button to unlock the blade. Even so there was a bit of a learning curve, a slightly painful learning curve. Slightly because I didn't notice the deep quarter inch gash in my palm until the blood became impossible to ignore. Any skepticism I may have had when I read the words "razor sharp" has been eliminated. The Outburst assist functions smoothly and instantly flips blade to lock, it's a pleasure to operate. It's light enough that I rarely notice it when carrying either clipped to or in my back pocket, but has enough heft to feel right in my hand. I'm 100% satisfied.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seth W.
Southern Pines, NC
Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material
Great Knife
I bought this knife as my go-to carry. The locking mechanism is great, and the knife has a good weight to it. Well worth the price.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Allen-San
Crownsville, MD
Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Just Right
Perfect feel, size and opening action.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bruce
Glenville, NY
Apr 05, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Quick and Easy
This is a great knife with the Fire Safe and OutBurst assisted opening. I purchased the Lift Off a while ago, and loved the same combination. In my opinion, any assisted opening knife should use the marvelous Fire Safe system. I've used assisted opening knives since my first Ken Onion Scallion, many other brands and companies, and any of the safety features that they incorporated to prevent accidental opening in a pocket were clunky and defeated the reason I bought the assisted opening in the first place. Consequently, I have left the safety off. That has resulted in several nicks and jabs into my body, and at least three pair of jeans with holes in my carry pocket (right rear). The Fire Safe on both this knife and the Lift off work flawlessly, and the opening is easy and quick. Having the LAWKS system makes this knife about the safest one I have ever known. I highly recommend this knife if you're looking for a larger EDC knife.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clint J.
Omaha, NE
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice knife!
Solid construction. Smooth operation. Once I had a little practice it was effortless. I found my self flipping it open over and over, very impressed with the operation of the knife.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim.S
N.C.
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
fantastic knife. !!
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sergeant D
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome Tactical
I bought this knife as a Christmas present for an old buddy who loves all things tactical and who has been re-habbing old houses in a bad section of the city, he showed me his kit one day and I appreciated that he carried a Springfield full-sized 1911, but he was also carrying a beat up well used and heavily abused Gerber EZ-Out that I bought him about 13 years ago for Christmas. I thought it was time to bring him up to date and so I looked around a bit for tacicals in the fifty dollar price range and figured this knife is easily "Best In Class." Here's the breakdown: The blade comes super-sharp out of the box with an awesome blade grind that reminds someone in the know of the grinds employed by W. Brend and J. Hammond. The blade steel is not the best, but at this price range and the fact that it is a tactical, defensive oriented knife and not a work knife the trade off in edge holding vs. lower price is definitely worth it. The action is fast, faster in fact than most autos that I own. The fit and finish are very well done, the pocket clip seems very sturdy and the handle feels good in the hand. I think my buddy will love it, I just hope he carries it.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Catmando
Auberry, CA
Jul 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Very Well Made Folder
The Fire Spark is a very well made folder. Beefy and weighty but not overdone for an EDC. I do like some heft in my knives. It took a bit of time to become familiar with the use of the opening mechanism but once mastered it is lightning quick and locks up very positively. I can even open the knife with leather gloves on. The Lawks lock I am familiar with and it works well although it may be redundant with the liner lock. The tactical black I chose lets the knife remain unobtrusive in my pocket. The knife also came out of the box razor sharp and seems to hold an edge quite well and sharpens wicked with a fine black Arkansas stone. Worth the money.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim H
Ontario, Canada
Oct 10, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great Knife
Great Knife, very sharp right out of the box. Feels solid and well balanced. Opens in a flash.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gps
west melbourne fl
Nov 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
big and well made
CRKT has done a good job with the fire spark.It is a large knife ,well made with quality materials and very good fit and finish.It opens fast with a tight lockup and no blade play.It has great balance and comfortable grips.A little more texture would make them even better.I also own an ignitor so I am used to the outburst system, it works flawlessly and the lawks lock up turns it into a virtual fixed blade.This is an all around great knife made available by knifecenter at a great price.I would recomend the fire spark ta all.I had preordered mine and it was worth the wait.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry D B
Palmer,AK
Jul 09, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great it is why I bought it
great in wyoming hunting or working
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Moabman
Hartville, OH
Feb 04, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Weight
Great piece
General purpose daily use. It is a very intimidating size and is verrrry sharp. I don't like that it is so heavy and sometimes the release is a little fussy
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
A.W. Longmeyer
CT
May 20, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type, Handle Feel
I'd give the knife an excellent rating were it not for the second blade lock that pivots under the liner lock. Totally redundant and sometimes blocks the opening action! Also, the handle could use a bit more texture.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
Hong Kong
Feb 07, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
My EDC knife
I've got it a few days ago from Knife Center. It is razor sharp out from the box. The blade deploys very fast. After practicing for a while, it works like an auto. I like it very much.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John R.
Ventura CA
May 15, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Tricky Opening Mechanism - Right Hand Open ONLY
Really wanted to like this knife but so far, I'm not a fan of the fire safe mechanism. I've seen people open these with ease on several YouTube videos but to say the least, I haven't mastered the skill yet. Maybe there is a break in period, but given the pressure required to disengage the safety (the inward force) and the pressure required to initialize the opening action (forward force) are hard (for me) to combine. I find the safety button jumping forward of my thumb and then my thumb drags on the blade negating the opening momentum generated by the spring assist. Worse yet, a couple times my thumb has grazed the sharp edge of the half opened blade. I'll keep trying until I can open it up like the YouTube guys (or I slice up my thumb). Also if you are not right handed you better be ambidextrous, since this knife is NOT. LEFTIES KEEP LOOKING.
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
SW MICHIGAN
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening
Nice knife , overall happy with the basics , only disappointment is the blade release is tricky and hard to use
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
Phoenix
Sep 04, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Great build quality. Can be difficult to open
It is much harder to open than any other auto or assisted opening knife that I have had. There is a small safety that needs to be pushed at the right angle until you feel or hear a faint click then you keep pushing in and out for the blade to open. If not the right angle and if no ‘click’ you can push forever and the knife won’t open. If the safety was a little bigger it would be easier to open and you wouldn’t end up with a divot in your thumb. Aside from that, good blade shape and good handle feel. Like the liner lock. After about 200 tries and about 100 openings I can open it most of the time somewhat quickly. I bought it because of the apparent construction quality. A safety on a knife seems silly. I don’t buy sidearms with safety’s either
Columbia River CRKT Fire Spark (Tactical) Assisted 3.875" Black Blade, G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Thomas J. D
Minnesota
Mar 05, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Buy Bandages
This is an extremely poor mechanical design. The lock mechanism requires heavy pressure on the thumb button causing the knife to rotate in the grip hand. The rotation puts the fingers in a position to inhibit the blade opening properly. With that inhibition you have a partially open knife with your pinky (at least) rotated under the now open blade. Any accidental move and the knife blade lowers. So far I have 8 stitches from this beauty and I am a former Army Knife Instructor and a Degreed Engineer. Caveat Emptor.