Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles

Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52 inch Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $95.95

Save $54.05 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. Tirona
Haley Strategic
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
My new edc blade.
James Williams has another home run with this blade design! This folder is a tad longer than the more common blades that people carry these days. The blade is 4+ inches long, but with the way that the pocket clip is mounted, the knife carries very well. The blade locks up very well and the combination of g10 and metal for the handle makes the overall package a sturdy one. Would I buy this item again? YES!!!
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Son Of The Alamo
Texas
Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
The BEST self-defence Blade
I have been looking for years for a self-defence folding blade that didn't look or feel like an EDC pocket folder. While reading a book by one of my favorite authors, Brad Thor, he mentions a knife used by a CIA operative. His description of the CRKT Otanashi Noh Ken made me investigate the knife. I ordered one, and On arrival, I knew it was the blade I had been seeking. Lightweight for the blade length, strong lockup, black. Perfect. Read ACT OF WAR. Great book, and you will buy one for the same reasons I and Brad Thor consider it one of the most deadly pocket weapons available.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donnie P.
Tennessee
Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Self defense great blade shape and was able to get the knife razor sharp with wicked edge and strop I like the thin profile ,I wish the lock opened a little easier
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The_Suspect
Calgary
Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Awesome for EDC, super slim, needle sharp out of the box. Literally a combat knife u can carry in your pocket
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rbl
sweden
Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
perfect
once again james williams deliver a perfect cqc knife. 5 star excellent
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rbl
europe
Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
excellent
excellent for EDC, realy slim profile, very sharp out the box. james williams sure knows how to make them.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
Montana
Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
WOW! Perfect!
I am in love with this blade. I am a Police Officer. I purchased this knife and carry it as a tool and as a backup to my firearm, on and off duty. I will need a list to cover all I love about this knife. -Size. It is so large yet so small. The cutting edge is slightly longer than my Cold Steel Spartan, but when closed, the grip is shorter by a half inch, half as wide, and nearly twice as thin in profile. -Weight. It is heavy enough to feel solid in your hand, but I can barely feel it in my pocket. -Build/design quality. There is no blade play whatsoever when opened. It is very strong and comfortable to hold. The liner lock backup lock is a great feature. Sure to come in handy if engaged in prolonged heavy cutting tasks. The pocket clip is mounted on the end of the handle, making it ride very deep in the pocket. The finger choil is deeper and better textured than smaller versions of this blade. I feel I could thrust or stab with this knife safely, and to great effect, if the need arose. And lets face it; it just looks beautiful. -Grips. One of the ways they keep such a large blade small and light, is by machining the g-10 grip pattern directly into the metal of the Liner/handle. The whole grip is only two slabs of metal. I have also had alot of trouble with "tactical" blades tearing up my pants pockets with their harsh handle texture. CRKT did not machine any scales into the side of the handle with the pocket clip. The back side remains smooth. This means that if you are right handed and leave the clip alone, the knife stays put in your pocket but slides in and out with ease, saving your pockets. Perfect. I don't feel that the blade shape would make the blade a good pry bar. That is the only negative thing I can think to say about this knife, and that is not what it is for anyway. All this for under 100 dollars. Very, very well done, CRKT!
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris D
Germany, R near Berlin
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Pocket sword
Otanashi noh Ken is the larger brother of the hissatsu folder. Thinner design, larger blade and discret pocket clip made this knife to your "undercover" hissatsu pocket sword. As James Williams (Designer, martial artist) said, sometimes are bigger blades better (you know what he mean .-)). Good overall quality, AUS 8 steel, one G10 handle, LAWKS. BUT i would choose the hissatsu folder for EDC/ fighting folder because this knife feels sturdier and safer (Auto-LAWKS) than the Otanashi noh Ken. BUT as written before, sometimes are bigger blades..
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James T
Midland, Texas
Apr 07, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None
SuperCool
Not a huge CRKT fan, but... I came across the smaller CRKT Heiho and immediately liked it. So, I investigated the Otanashi Noh Ken large folder with G10 handles. This knife, like I said, Is supercool. The action is smooth, the blade is solid and heavy, all with great G10 scales. It is no light-weight. One feels extremely confident with the knife in hand. You can flick the blade open like lightening. Very impressive offering from Columbia River. The only negative for me is the blade lock. It is functional, but could use some refining. Not a deal killer though, this is a great knife.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Ellard
Dublin,
Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A nice piece to collect and admire.
I'm a collector. so its not gonna get any 'Love' on the blade. Its as described, so I had no illusions or misconceptions about it when it arrived. Its a large but light & slim folder. It has the deepest pocket carry you can have. The texture on the handle is comfortable and provides a very good grip. Opening an closing has to be practiced to get used to. It feels like a wide thumb arc and slow to open, but with a flick of the wrist you can snap it open if that's the way you roll. It is a frame lock and has a decent surface mating for the lock. It offers a manual lock to prevent the frame lock from disengaging. The manual lock only covers a very thin section of the frame so don't rely on it if hard using. It could jump the manual lock in my opinion. Overall a great knife for a collector and I could see being an EDC blade too. Thank you KnifeCenter for a great service.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed G.
Florida
Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
An outstanding single perpose knife
I'm rather partial to this blade configuration for personal protection in both fixed and folding formats. This particular folder is extremely well designed, thanks to James Williams, and very nicely executed by CRKT. It's a large knife that's thin and carries well. Presentation naturally depends on training and practice. This is not necessarily an EDC for an untrained individual; it requires dedication the properly handle this blade; it's made to penetrate deeply. If you want to cut apples, pry box tops or trim your nails please choose a more appropriate EDC. This knife is a serious tool for the trained individual.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dan
Easton, PA
Sep 05, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Quality knife not for the weak though.
While I pretty much agree with all of the other reviews I do have a few other things to point out. This knife is definitely a durable heavy tactical knife and not an edc by any means. The blade design is very nice with it'd thickness and edge shape, which is excellent for slicing and decent penetration. The handle, I find, is very comfortable and the g10 gives it nice traction. The clip is absolutely perfect nicr deep carry and not overly stiff. Deployment is very easy and only requires a slight flick of the wrist. Like others have stated the lock is on the stiff side but is very strong. My only complaint with the lock is that it doesn't always engage all of the way so the frame lock can't always go over. Maybe I just to break it in more who knows. I really wish that CRKT would use better steels for their blades on their higher end knives. AUS8 is a decent steel but for a tactical knife I feel S30v would be ideal. Other than that I'm very satisfied with knife.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
James P
Baltimore, Md
Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Value - Solid Defensive Weapon
I am not a collector. I have a ZT0300 that is too heavy at over 8oz, and too thick to carry sometimes. I wanted a lighter, slimmer knife for self defense, in the $100 range. This fits the bill. Its a purpose designed knife. Obvious slashing and stabbing capability. The lock is very tight when you first get it, but keep playing with it, it loosens up great. I've had it a few weeks and its very easy to open and close. The blade was not as sharp as I like when it arrived. I sharpened it on a stone and its great now; it shaves hair very readily. The LAWKS, feature was tight when it first arrived, but it has loosened up well and is easy to enable and disable, although, I cannot imagine having the time to activate it in a defensive situation unless you constantly practice enabling it when you draw the knife and make that part of your muscle memory similar to deactivating a safety on a hand gun. The pocket clip sits on the end and the knife rides very deep. I carry it in my waistband and sometimes its difficult to present rapidly. Practice this maneuver a lot; this is the most important technique to master in a defensive scenario when you're reacting to someone else. The design and handle allows for a wide variety of grips. The knife is long enough to be used as an impact weapon if closed.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim W.
North Texas
Aug 07, 2020
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Long term review
My experience with this knife hasn't been perfect. It was great when new but as it wore in a glaring defect became apparent. Namely, the frame lock leaf spring was not bent properly. With the blade removed from the handle, it didn't even flex over to the mid point between The scales. This left the knife with a loose blade when locked open. The solution was to disassemble it and carefully bend it in more. Once I did that it was restored to function. Once I did this, the knife has been flawless. I shouldn't have had to do it though! People complain about the weight. Those people are morons. Weight gives this knife a lot of authority when used as a yawara stick as well as impeccable follow through on slashes and thrusts. I use a hand lanyard due to tendon damage in my wrist & thumb from an industrial accident. Over several decades, I've developed a fighting style based on lanyard use. The weight of this knife makes for absolutely frightening cuts when flipping my wrist with the knife braced against the lanyard holding on to the lower third of the handle. I also use the lanyard to transition from saber grip to ice pick and this this knife penetrates like no other folder I've seen in that grip. Some people say the tip is fragile. (Also morons) they obviously haven't tested it for themselves. My testing has shown the tip to be strong enough for thumb and lanyard reinforced ice pick grip thrusting even when it hits bone. That being said, I wouldn't pry with it. That would be gross abuse of any folder, though. Aside from CRKT charlie foxtroting the spring, my other minor complaints are that the finish on blade and steel handle scale wears easily, and there's not enough texture on the steel handle scale. I doubt CRKT reads these reviews, but just in case: Cerakote is a thing. DLC is a thing, checking and stippling to add texture to metal are things.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Bellevue, Ne
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Otanashi noh Ken
I agree with most of the points made in the prior review except for a few things. First, this knife does not have an AUTOLAWKS - it's the manual LAWKS. It is hard to engage because in the disengaged position the lever is below the line of the scale edge and there is not much room to get your thumb on it. It's also pretty stiff - I wish they had used the AUTOLAWKS. It's much easier to disengage because in the engaged position the lever sticks above the scale edge and you can as much thumb as needed on it. Second, the frame lock is stiff but not prohibitively so. What will tear up your thumb is the jimping on the inner edge of the lock if you lock and unlock several times.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rudy
los angeles
Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
beautiful blade
I use this as an EDC. I love the curves and the secondary tip. Its got an elegant blade design. and elegant handle. I am not sure how tough the G10 scale handle is without a liner beside it. But the handle steel feels reassuring and the frame lock seems really tougher the a liner lock. This knife came hair-popping sharp! I can open it very easily but under duress I'm not to sure about that. ...it takes time to get used to some knives. Some knives feel perfect, right out the box. This one takes a little getting to know. Maybe it could've been about $20 less expensive. I love how light it is for the size. I wish the grip was rougher on the G10 scale. Opens smoothly. Because the pocket clip is so high this knife does not draw quickly.but that high clip is allows the knife to be discreet. I'm happy with steel, Aus8.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Yuri
Paris, France
Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Best Pocket Friend Ever
Flat, Light, Sharp, Long blade, Deep Pocket Clip. Just what I expected form this one. Maybe a little hard the first week to open but playing with it make it smooth to open and close now. The only cons, i would not have written CRKT on a deep pocket clip if it is meant to be low profile...But hey it's a nice piece. Otherwise, a nice cheap blade, razor sharp and nice to use in many ways.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nr
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Only for the serious and strong of thumb
I am a big fan of the James Williams collection by CRKT, so I was very excited about the arrival of my Otanashi. This is a large, heavy folder with an elegant but intimidating blade that all but disappears in your pocket thanks to the low carry clip. The action is smooth, but due to the size and geometry of the blade, the knife requires some wrist acceleration to get the blade to "snap" into position. Best features: blade design is unique and a true attention grabber, frame lock, G-10 scales have just the right amount of texture to provide useful grip without tearing up your pants, low carry clip. Weakest features: blade was not razor sharp out of the box, frame lock is very strong requiring serious thumb strength to release the blade, AutoLawks is poorly designed and must be engaged after rotating the knife laterally 90 degrees, jimping is aggressive but does not run the full length of the spine. In conclusion, this is an very good choice for the serious collector or someone who knows how to deploy a serious edged weapon. I, like many, wish that CRKT would upgrade their steel on their higher end models. This knife in S30V would be a treasure.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob G.
Northern N.J.
Mar 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Type, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Impressive, but...............
This latest folder from James Williams has very little in commen with the older Hissatsu folder. The pocket clip is a little sheeny compared to the Hissatsu. The G-10 scale has a good feel. The frame lock is excellent, with no unwanted movement. The manual LAWKS feature is a good idea, but was essentially unmovable out of the box, and the cylinder-shaped button was lifted from the Heiho; much too small for a knife this large. There's no way the little lever can be pushed back and forth with one thumb. Overall, I'd recommend the old Hissatsu; prettier, better handle, and easier on the hands and fingers.
Columbia River CRKT 2906 Otanashi noh Ken Folding Knife 4.52" Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jamie P
Albuquerque, Nm
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Half measure
The tip is extremely fine, this is a single purpose blade. At the same time it has a lot of heft to it that is unexpected on a last option. The base of the blade is quite thick, the frame lock scale is worthy of tank status but the blade has a long taper leaving a tip as thin & fragile as can be imagined. Make the whole thing lighter or make the last two inches of blade as thick as the base - too heavy for concealment as last option - too flimsy for edc use. Half measure - Oh yes the lock is great, but manual not auto.