Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle

Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handlerated 4.000 stars out of 5 (22 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
4
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25 inch Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle

 

Price: $25.95

Save $14.04 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hblaine
WV
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
You warm up to it
I had some trouble getting to like the KISS. However, once I gave the knife a chance, it showed itself a nice performer. It's simplicity itself, and the blade design is actually quite useful. A good "toolkit" knife, or an extra "general purpose" knife while hiking/camping/whatnot. It's a classic.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill Conrad
Emmaus, Pa
Oct 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Favorite Knife
Handy carry knife, great design, good solid little knife
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean K
Ewa Beach, Hi
Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Sheath, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
informative
I use it as a money clip.... looks classy!
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex D
Fredericksburg, Va
Jan 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Favorite EDC knife for six years
My first knife like this I found and carried with me for six years before I to lost it. I'm sure someone else is enjoying it now. I then purchased the black Teflon version with the serrated blade. Used it for about two years and didn't really care for the serrated blade nor the Teflon coating. I just purchased the original one I had and I'm happy to have it. it's a great little knife the even goes nicely with dress pants.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rj
Kingsport, TN
Dec 02, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
The Knife that Could
This knife is perfect to carry because it is light & durable and is just the perfect size.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roger Griggs
woodland park co
Jul 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None
great little knife
this IS a great little knife. sharpen the flat side with a water stone, and be careful, it will cut anything i've tried so far. blade a little hard to open? the screw that holds the blade in place can be adjusted. the clip holds it firmly in place. my oldest and 3rd oldest granddaughters both have inherited granddad's K.I.S.S.'S. i've read some of the reviews, all i can say is ya gotta be smarter than the steel
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wesly A
De Pere, Wi
Sep 06, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Outstanding Knife
Was looking for a good quality light pocket knife and bought the CR 5500. I am very satisfied with the quality, style, edge retention, and weight of this knife. I use it at work during the entire day for simple tasks and especially like how thin the entire knife is and with the wide clip; hardly notice it is even there. Perfect design and will be looking forward to having it with me while hiking and mountain climbing. Will be buying another one for sure and would highly recommend this blade!
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dr. Rick
Mineola, TX
Dec 03, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
GREAT KNIFE
I absolutely LOVE this knife! I carry it each and every day since I received it. It arrived promptly and it is sharp out of the box. It' great for most small cutting jobs including opening boxes, cutting rope, and even splitting pills in half! Haven't found one bad thing about it! It looks great too and quite a conversation piece! Truly a one hand operational tool!
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dvm623
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 28, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Terrific design
Lots of nice knives out there, but this one caught my eye. It's solid and functional with a slim profile that I wanted for carrying around all the time. This one is just a beautiful piece of engineering.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lfsmith
E. Wenatchee, WA
Dec 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
This is a oddity: Very high quality at a very reasonable price. The knife is very attractive, and it is engineered to very close tolerances. It has an almost scultped look to it, as if it were carved out of a solid ingot. I'm very happy with it.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vaughn
Knoxville, TN
May 11, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Nice knife
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
May 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None
Kiss Knife
Bought this as "lite" knife for hiking. It is a quality knife but it "feels" heavier than I thought it would. I know it will be well used.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Geoff
Alberta, Canada
Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, None
Cool little knife
I haven't used it really yet but it will be a great addition to the fleet!
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Scott F
Portland, Oregon
Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Double utility makes this a great value for the money
I've had my eye on this knife for years, and finally took the plunge when I found myself needing a money clip (new wallet didn't have room for bills). It's the perfect money clip for somebody addicted to pocketknives, reasonably priced for an EDC and with Columbia River's usual build quality. I make a point of taking the bills out of the clip before opening the knife, because I'd be pretty sad if I cut them in half while closing it later. Seems sensible. One thing I've had to learn with this knife is to keep my fingers out of the locking mechanism WHEN CLOSING THE KNIFE. That is, the locking mechanism works like a liner lock, but because there's only one side to the "liner," the heel of the blade -- where the locking mechanism snaps behind it to lock it open -- can pinch your fingers if you're not careful. I only did this twice, and fortunately it was the locking tab and not the edge that caught me, so no stitches required. Oh, and opening & closing this knife works great for right-handers, but left-handers will need to practice a bit. It's reasonably sharp out of the box, but a little work on a fine ceramic sharpener should have this shaving sharp in minutes. (My old reliable Case Moonstone is in storage, or I would already have done this within a few hours of receiving the knife.) It's a fun alternative to a traditional money clip; I've got a nice one of those, too, but the K.I.S.S. always seems to find its way into my pocket. I expect everybody reading this is nodding in understanding.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Freddie
Newark, NJ
Jan 01, 2010
Pros: Weight, Sheath, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
little stiff
The knife is nice and slim - great for a carry when you don't have a lot of space. However, it is too stiff to open with one hand.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Partsguy
Euless,Tx
Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Lock Type, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material
good knife but..
It wont hold an edge ... It'd be 5 stars if it were something that would hold an edge (VG-10,S30V or even 440c)
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tmenzies
Hong Kong
Jun 04, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Nice looking and uniquely designed knife. For my (largish) hands it is too small and the action too tight (necessarily, so it doesn't flop open) to open one handed. Not *really* (ie Spyderco) sharp, but sharp enough for the tasks I will use it for - and I like the chunky tanto blade that looks like it will take some punishment. In fact the whole knife has a nice weight to it. The satin finished rapidly showed some small rust spots, but these were easily rubbed off and Tuf-cloth Marine has kept the rust at bay since then.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Freddie K.
Edison, NJ
Jan 14, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
nice except opening
Nice thin knife. Good lock.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dr.Jkc
Queens, NY
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Just for a novelty.
The lock is easily defeated making this a nearly useless item. They have to go back to the drawing board. Great idea and look though.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jeffrey
San Antonio, Tx
Dec 23, 2019
Pros: Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Not for lefties (or even those who use the wrong hand)
It's a chisel grind and made for right (wrong) handed folks.If you're a lefty, you know that chisel grinds only work for one hand, not both. This one is chiseled on the wrong side. But my biggest beef is that this blade doesn't come with a sharp enough edge to replace my box-cutter blade. Inevitably, I reach for something else to do the jobs for which this was intended. I can't really recommend it- for righties or lefties.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Willaim D Wragg
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Dec 30, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Columbia River Ed Halligan KISS Folding Knife 2.25" Plain Tanto Blade,
Used as a general all purpose knie for small tasks. The blade attachment seems like it could be more secure.
Columbia River CRKT 5500 Ed Halligan K.I.S.S. Folding Knife 2.25" Bead Blast Plain Tanto Blade, Money Clip Stainless Steel Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Knife User
Arlington Virginia
Feb 11, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality
disappointed
I had looked at the KISS many years ago when it first came out. The knife I looked at was generally higher quality than the one I just bought. The biggest problem is the sharpness of the blade--it just isn't that sharp. The single bevel design needs a more acute angle to give real sharpness and this blade doesn't have it. I was also disappointed to see that the knife is now made in China. The original was made in the US