Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles

Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handlesrated 4.476 stars out of 5 (21.0 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75 inch 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles

 

Price: $19.95

Save $50.04 (71%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Indra
Overland Park, Ks
Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

This is a LOT of knife for the price!

I just got this knife, but I feel fine in submitting a review on it already because I am super impressed. $20 for this knife is an insane deal. First off, it's ridiculously sharp, both the edge and the point. It's also not a small knife. The blade is nearly 4" and the handle is oversized, making this a hefty at 6oz. Regarding the handle, it feels extremely good and secure in the hand, and I have somewhat large hands. I have no issues at all with the handle material, it gives a very good grip. I also really appreciate the knife safety, although the liner lock is much more secure all by itself (coming all the way to the very middle of the blade pivot) than the other knives in this price range that I own from a different manufacturer (Kershaw). I also like the paddle-style pocket clip, it shift in the pocket at all even with the chunky-sized handle and the overall weight. Opens one-handed just fine with the flipper (at least once I give it a flick) but closing definitely takes two hands. It's amazing that one can pick up a knife of this size with this many features for the price! Incredible job, CRKT!
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles R
BOYNTON BEACH, FL
Apr 03, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Pocket Clip

SUPER

HEAFTY, STRONG AND EASY TO OPEN AND USE
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gatekeeper
Round Rock, Tex.
Sep 29, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife Deal

How can you go wrong with a Hammond Knife at this price ! with the way it fits in your hand to the safety lock system it is just a lot of knife for a GREAT Price !!!!!THEse would make excellent stocking stuffers !
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Georgia
Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great product

The knife is good looking. The fit and finish is excellent. I use it for everyday carry.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mikem
PA
Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Amazing for the money

EDC use, for the money paid here could not ask for more. Primary use is EDC, boxes, general use fishing and camping.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Norman Box
Canberra Australia.
Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
United Kingdom
Feb 11, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Great value, versatile knife

Great value. Very strong knife. Love the flipper design, opens smooth and fast. I've removed the thumb stud, fitted with torx screw so reversible and removable. I've also removed the pocket clip as I don't use them, but it comes with 2 clips, one LH and one RH and liners drilled for tip up or tip down carry. The scales are slightly shaped and the surface is covered in dimples that help grip in the wet, overall very comfortable to use for extended periods. The L.A.W.K.S. system makes for a very strong feeling knife, it's not automatically engaged so doesn't intrude in normal open/close quick uses. The blade is dead centre between the scales on mine. The open back of the knife makes for easy cleaning. It's a large handle and feels built to last. I always set a test for any knife I've bought and that is after using it for a while would I buy this knife again, in this case a most definite yes.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason R
Livingston,MT
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: None

AWESOME!!!!

First off, great service from Knife Center. Fast shipping,great prices. Now the knife. Gotta say I was a little surprised how large the knife was. Been using it at work cutting appliance boxes and stuff. Also use it as a EDC. Large for my hand but really cool looking. Really sharp out of the box shaved my arm hairs and did the paper test. Kinda big for the pocket but where I live almost everybody has a pocket knife so not a big deal. Smooth opening,love the look of the blade itself. And the best thing of all....the Price!! 23 bucks with shipping?! Awesome.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dick
Wisconsin
Jun 05, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Not an EDC but an excellent tool.

This is a much huskier knife than I had envisioned when I placed my order so I was really surprised when I opened the box on arrival. The reviews talk about how much heftier this knife is than expected but you have to see it for yourself to understand. I had expected to use this knife as an EDC but it is far too heavy to carry comfortably in my pocket, weighing in at 6.12 oz on my scale. What I did not expect is that this husky knife would replace the CRKT Outrage and the Kershaw Speedsafe that I normally keep on my desk as my first pick for odd jobs around the house. Because the handle of this knife is so thick (measures almost an inch thick at its widest point), it is much more comfortable for work that requires some pressure to cut through wood or heavy cardboard boxes. The knife flips open smoothly and retracts without doing damage to your fingernail. I was not looking for a 'keep it on hand' for daily use product but am pleased to have found one that is made for any job. This is a tough knife. It won't fit well in your pocket but there isn't much you would be afraid to use it on every day.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vince
Pennsylvania
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Folder

This folder is a huge step up from chain store knives. The knife arrived sharp and the locking mechanism is very solid. Overall a great value
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Benk
Northeast United States
May 16, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, None

Good Knife, Great Price

I've used it for EDC but have smaller, lighter-weight blades I prefer to use. This knife was busy recently slicing up boxes (quite well, especially with the lock by the thumb ramp for extra strength), cutting up fruit and veggies, and even cut some plant roots for me. Now, it resides in my shooting bag as a high-value, high-quality folder ready for service at any time. Things that are great: Blade shape, size, sharpness, thumb-studs (dual) catch nicely on the finger, liner-lock and action are smooth, clip is low-profile, thin, and strong. Impressive finish quality for $20 (note original price was $70!) Things that aren't good: Weight, thickness, edge retention, not much handle traction.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Loud J
Fort Plain, NY.
Nov 07, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife

Such a great knife. Smoothest flipper I've had. I like everything about it it. I bought 1 to check out. Then another . I'm on right now to buy 2 more. Any knife lover would want one.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike W.
Panhandle
Mar 25, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel
Cons: None

bargain

This is a really decent knife for the price. It is big and has outstanding ergos.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob M
Florida
Nov 09, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Bob/Florida

T his is an extremely nice knife. Well designed and made. A tad big for an EDC, but I'll adjust to it. Deploying the blade is smooth and secure and the LAWKS safety is positive and secure. Another good one from CRKT!
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Western USA
Feb 09, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Type, None

Best for the price

I use this as an everyday cary on industrial construction sites and as a search and rescue volunteer. It has a large comfortable handle with ano effective sized blade. The blade comes from the factory not as sharp as the CRKT M16 but holds the edge well and with an adjustment to the bevel angle can be sharpened quite sharp. I have two with the black blade and one with the unpainted finish. If you get one with the autolaws system remove the spring first thing. The primary lock is plenty strong and the secondary lock only gets in the way. By removing the spring and leaving the rest you can use the secondary lock if you want but it doesn't engage automatically.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steel
Tennessee
May 16, 2018
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None

CRKT

Being used to Kershaw I found the sharpness lacking and the speed opening sticky.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Patrick
Roanoke, Va
Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

CRKT Hammond Cruiser

I like this knife. The handle feels like it was molded to my hand. I like the back flipper, but the thumb stud is kind of useless. The only problem I really have with this knife is the liner lock. It doesn't fit flush with the back of the blade, it rattles ever so slightly back and fourth.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shawn
Mtns.
Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Is what it is.

I can't believe how some will compalin about a folder that cost $20,yet they will spend $75 on a folder that has similiar materials,similiar fit and finish,and similiar steel,and brag about how "wicked"sharp,strong,and impressive it is.For those who dont know:8cr14mov is comparable to Aus8.It actually specs out BETTER than Aus8.The Hammond Cruiser has an Msrp of $70.But you can get them for $20.And for that $20 you get a 3.75 inch Shaving sharp clip point blade.Good,not great fit and finish.A strong lockup.It has a linerlock and also the Lawks system.It is plenty strong enough.Blade centering on mine was spot on.Zero blade play.The handle is perfect.It's a handful.The honeycomb texture gives a good grip.This knife feels natural in your hand.It's outstanding in forward and reverse grip.Although this is a large folder,it has a thin profile and actually doesn't take up nearly the space in your pocket that you think it would.The only negatives were:Thumbstuds.There hard to get ahold of.They are placed in a bad spot,and should have been placed a few cm. up on the handle.I took mine off,and just use the flipper.The flipper works fine,though not as smooth as a Ripple,because of the large,heavier blade.Also the pocket clip will grab your pants.It has a spoon shape,and is tight.It's NOTHING like a Cold Steel pocket clip though.Overall,for $20 what more do you expect? I am very satisfied.I spent $73 dollars on a folder that has a Huge fan base,and the knife came with alot of HYPE,and ridiculous claims,and when i finally used the knife,i was not impressed one bit.It was said to have a shaving edge,and GREAT edge retention,and while it did come shaving,the edge dulled VERY quickly,and cant keep half the edge the brand claims it could.The f/f was NOT as advertised either.Now THAT is "average" to me.Not spending a mere $20 on a folder,and expecting it to be a world beater.BTW,the ONLY other brand out there that has a folder that cost UNDER $20 that can compare to the HC is the Kabar Dozier designed folder.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wyatt A
Princeton MN
Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Great EDC Knife

I have been carrying this knife everyday for almost a year and have absolutely beat the hell out of it, and I have very few complaints. The handle is very comfortable (although it may be a bit beefy for people with smaller hands) and the zytel handle scales are aggressive enough to have good grip but also very comfortable. The blade is also very good, with proper care it holds an edge very well and is a very practical shape. As for deployment the thumb studs are completely useless, but the flipper is amazing. I do have a couple of complaints about this knife one of which is the pocket clip, about once a month I have to tighten down the three screws that hold the pocket clip on because after a period of time they start to loosen and eventually fall out. my other complaint is that over 1/2 an inch of the handle sticks out of your pocket because of how low the pocket clip is set on the knife. Overall this is probably my favorite everyday carry knife for the money, although I will warn you that if you are expecting this knife to be a light, slim knife you will be disappointed, this is a very large folding knife and the handle is very thick. If you are looking for a heavy duty EDC knife this one fits the bill nicely.
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jeff
Tallahassee, Florida
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Blade Material, None

A very useful tool.

This knife has an incredibly comfortable handle for those of us with large hands. It is primarily a tactical knife, but serves well for a wide variety of tasks. The thumbstuds are superfluous, and not well placed. They tended to get caught on my pocket. I removed mine with no regrets. The flipper works just fine on its own. This knife will deploy very well with a bit of practice. The honeycomb texture of the grip does a great job of helping you maintain control. The only downside is that it can slow deployment by grabbing the material as you draw it. In thin material tactical pants or chinos it is no problem. But in canvas or denim, it can be some trouble. I really like the blade geometry of this knife. It is very reminescent of Bob Kasper's work, which I also like. Lockup is tight and the LAWKS system works fine if you are worried about it. The biggest complaint I have is that the steel in mine seems a bit soft. I can sharpen it, but it does not hold the edge as well as I would like. This is not a small knife, so it may not be best for every day carry. It is out of production so the price is very attractive. With better steel I would have given it four stars for sure. As it is discounted, it is still a decent value and a very useful knife. Just be ready to sharpen it frequently...
Columbia River CRKT 7904 Hammond Cruiser Black Handle 3.75" 8CR14MoV Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris
Dunedin, Other
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Weight

Average

This is an average knife at best. The blade is severely off centre and very difficult to open, though it is entertaining watching my mates trying to open it with one hand. Handle is comfortable for my very large hands and I have no issues with the materials or grip. the liner lock is solid but very difficult to press to the side when closing it. pocket clip has certainly prove to be strong. The blade is made of a reasonable steel that holds an edge quite well and sharpens relatively easy. The overall fit and finish is terrible but flush, so, average at best.