Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles

Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handlesrated 3.938 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75 inch Black Blade, Zytel Handles

 

Price: $19.95

Save $50.04 (71%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne M.
Greenville, South Carolina
Jul 09, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Value on an Outstanding Knife
I was very skeptical of the quality of knife I was going to receive due to the price being so low, but as someone who has owned several CRKT knives in the past I felt certain they wouldn't allow their name to be placed on any junk! When I received the knife from KnifeCenter.com I was glad to see that I was correct in my assumption, there's nothing junky or cheap about the Hammond Cruiser!! Thank you KnifCenter.com for such a pleasurable shopping experience.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim
M
Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great knife
love this knife. the only way i think they could improve is to just make it a bit longer in blade length and a little thinner. the feel in hand is great, very pointed, nice lock and secondary lock, blade steel is great for price. looks very nice. may need to sand under pocket clip.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Kentucky
Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
large heavy and solid knife
Was looking for a large heavy and solid blade for duty carry. This knife is perfect for that. Handle is full in the hand for comfortable use. I like the blade profile. Clip is substantial. This might not be your every day carry ideal size, but as a duty knife when at work, it's perfect.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Will Noble 27
China
Oct 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
I love this knife!!
I go hunting for squirrle a lot and I need something kinda small and sharp. And I got the one and wow it's awesome. With its black blade when I take it out to do something the blade wouldn't scare off any squarrle, bird, or anything else.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eddieerb
Only visiting this planet
Mar 20, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: None
Good quality and value
Good feel, robust construction. A lot of knife for under twenty bucks. Quality steel.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Marty P
Missouri
Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Fast ,affordable ,great selection
Great price ,heck of a deal, and blade exactly what I wanted
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Deltaswee]
Reading, Pa
Jul 18, 2019
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use
Solid Performer From CRKT
Good solid knife. nice heft in hand.(after a bit)solid lock engagement. Expensive knife feel. handle stippling gives sure grip. even when wet. Looking forward to a fine little companion in this blade...
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim J
Meridian, Ms
Dec 04, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Almost sheer pocket perfection
This knife feels great in the hand, has a great blade, deploys very fast, looks very nice, comes very sharp, has a very nice lock up with the LAWKS system. The only way this knife could be better is a wave feature and a Triad lock with a slightly bigger blade. But you cant get any better for the money. To me this is the best folder that CRKT makes. I think I'll order another in a different color just to have it.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brooks
MO
Sep 28, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
Value
Good value knife. Large handle. Double lock. For the price it's perfect. I use it as a work knife.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chief (Ret.)
Montpelier, OH
May 04, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Good knife for the price.
After reading the reviews offered on this site, I decided to purchase this knife and judge for myself. I have a large collection of knifes, both fixed blades as well as folders. Prices ranging from $3.00 to $300. This folder seems to be priced correctly. Frankly, I wouldn't pay the original price, but $25 - $30 would be fair. As far and the rating (4 stars) I gave it, it isn't a 5 star knife, even for the price but it's darn close. I would give it a 4.8. The only issue I have with it is getting the screws for the pocket clips to loosen (one the clip that is installed on it when you receive it) and getting the screws for the other clip to fully seat. You see, I have other CRKT folders and I tend to install both pocket clips on the knife for a couple of reasons. #1 I don't have to worry about losing or misplacing them and then try to remember where I put it. #2 I can carry the knife of either side, at any time, without hesitation. In the reviews, I read that the handle was too big. It's not too big for a "combat" knife, or for "man hands". It offers a full purchase on the knife with a nice, solid finger groove to prevent slippage, or "override" onto the blade. The other negative comment that I read was about the blade's sharpness. Mine knife arrived with a relatively sharp blade, though as always, I touched it up with my ceramic rod and made it a bit better. I usually use my Dia-Sharp steels (that I also purchased from Knife Center.com) and keep my blades sharp, though never "razor" sharp as they just dull and damage even quicker. Over all, I'd recommend this knife and may very well buy addition as as gifts.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Baldo
Delaware
Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness
Rugged and affordable
I use this knife every day as demo contractor to cut various materials. I sharpen it daily because I believe a dull knife is dangerous, maybe a little OCD. The lawks and the liner lock make my fingers safe. It has a strong, hand filling handle, and I added a lanyard. The down side of the design is the pocket clip works itself loose, the screws are small and difficult to remove for maintenance and cleaning. I now use a leather sheath for carry. I purchased another when I broke the first one.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
George H
Bowling Green, Ky
Nov 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Heavy Hammer...err, Hammond
Why, oh why, didn't CRKT skeletonize the liners? This is a heavy knife! It's a hunting knife, yes, but you still don't need heft here because you're not going to chop with a 3.75" blade. :-/ The blade isn't the problem here either. All the weight is in the handle. Btw, I LOVE the blade; it's the reason I bought the knife. So be warned; get ready to buy drill bits and hopefully you have access to a drill press. No kidding! After I skeletonized mine it made all the difference in the world. I thought about sending it back, but I told you, I LOVE that blade! I don't have a scale, sorry, to tell you how much weight I saved. I wish I could have thinned down the handles too. Just know that 6.1 oz.(as shipped) is HEAVY! Black blade/desert tan great color combo. If there was a bigger(longer) version of this knife you'd be combat ready. :-)
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
James
Annandale, NJ
Jun 18, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Good knife... Until
Useful knife, feels solid, worked well while it worked. Used the knife for some mild cutting it felt solid but something went wrong and now it pushes against one side to hard scraping the finish up when it is deployed and making it almost impossible to close without excessive force. I did like the grip and the ability you have to get behind it and am hoping mine is some sort of freak accident.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Ml
KY
Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Not exactly as expected
Much thicker than expected. Opening is not as crisp as other CRKT or Kershaw offerings.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
The Duke
Philadelphia
Jul 09, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Lock failure
Generally, a decent knife for the price. Big drawback: liner lock fails when given a modestly firm whack on the back of the blade. Even with the secondary safety engaged 2-3 good whacks will cause it to fail. Problem is, the secondary lock doesn't engage the liner lock well enough to hold it under stress. As a general pocket knife its fine; just don't expect any tactical/defense capabilities.
Columbia River CRKT 7904DB Hammond Desert Cruiser Folding 3.75" Black Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Cody
Kansas
Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Weight, Overall Quality
Cheap for a reason
The size is good. I like the shape of the blade...but this knife just feels cheap: the handle grip is THICK, not in a good way. Clunky, imprecise, machining that you would expect in a gas station piece. Also, lots of blade play. It feels like it wouldn't take too much pressure to just break this thing in half. I know its tempting to get a large folder for $20 but do yourself a favor and spend another $15-$20 and get something better. I'm surprise CRKT wants to have their name on this.