Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles

Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handlesrated 4.19 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
1
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75 inch Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles

 

Price: $19.95

Save $50.04 (71%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Illinois
Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

NICE EDC

This is my EDC, it's a little big but I knew that going into it. My first CRTK and it's holding up just fine... what do you guys want for the price, it's a very solid knife. I've used it for over a month now and found the Zytel scales and great with wet hands And, when you pull it out people stand back. Thanks CRTK and Knife Center.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pilgrim
MA
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent knife!

This is a workhorse of a knife. Blade is very sharp, deploys with ease of one hand. I use it daily, though it is a bit larger than other edcs I've had over the years. The discounted price makes that easily bearable. I've shown it to friends & I'd recommend this knife to anyone.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon
Las Vegas. Nevada
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None

Good knife at a great price.

I use this as a general purpose knife. Locks up well & I really like the nonslip hand filling handle.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Abraham S.
Sulphur, LA
Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Pocket Clip, None

AWESOME!

Alright, first of all I just have to say that I'm a recovering kershaw user, so I didn't know how nice knives were supposed to be. I say that because my last knife, the Kershaw One Ton, had an horrible blade on it that broke after like two weeks of owning it. This thing kicks butt in eight different directions. EVERYTHING on this knife is freaking sturdy, and it's nice and large, so as to boost your man factor, or just fit a large hand. Didn't come in very sharp, but sharp enough for most needs. Really, at this price I'm pretty sure that you can't do better. Highly recommend it.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wulf
Escondido, CA
Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None

Great worker

I saw one person complain about the assisted opening not working. That's because it isn't an assisted opening knife. I worked as a service truck driver for AAA and carried this knife with me for years. The handle fills the hand which comes in real handy when you are in the rain, have oil/grease on your hands and are underneath a car cutting something loose. Yes, I abused the heck out of this knife but with a little care it always took an edge and still works fine to this day. This is a workhorse knife, not a pretty boy.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ex John Doe
WIS/ILL BORDER
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

BIG KNIFE -- BIG VALUE

I USE KNIFES WITH ABANDON -- IF YOU'RE A REALLY BIG, CLUMSEY, OLD GUY AS, I AM -- IT'S THE GREATEST FOLDIN' KNIFE I'VE OWNED -- THE HANDLE DESIGN & MATERIAL MAKE FOR A VERY SECURE GRIP -- JOHN-
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ethan Ellis
Piscataway, Nj
Jun 16, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Good and tough

Great, all-purpose knife; just used it to clean out vines choking shrubs. Pros: sharp, fits th hand and wallet. Cons: none
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Ellis
Wilmington,NC
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Great collector knive.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jp
backwoods, AR
Jul 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

NICE

Have carried this knife for the past 9 months and it has served me well. Im a mechanic and tend to treat knives with no mercy. Used it as a prybar to pull brakes off a front end many of times. Still holdin up fine. Has an awesome flipper used to deploy the blade. Thumb studs are no good on this knife. Great blade. Keeps a good field/utility edge because of the chisel grind. Cut straight through 3" rubber tubing like it was butter. This is some of the good stuff coming out of CRKT. Grab em while theyre still here.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod Smith
El Cajon, CA
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None

Hammone Cruiser

Good, solid knife. CRTK always provides a great product and I have many.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
BERYL UTAH
May 08, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Columbia River 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Bla

KNIFE IS EXACTLY WHAT I HAD ORDERED. MAKES A GREAT POCKET KNIFE. HOLDS THE KNIFE EDGE VERY GOOD..NO COMPLAINTS..RECOMMEND VERY STRONGLY. GREAT POCKET KNIFE
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zac
Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
This must be clarified this type of knife is not an assisted blade its a flick assist your supppoesd to flick your wrist at the same time you use the finger assist and it opens quick and easy assisted knives use springs.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jon
Frankfort, Ky
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Good Blade

Good sharp blade. For some reason I thought the knife was not as wide, when I got it I found out it is a pretty large knife.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
France
Apr 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality

Good for big hands, good value at the discount price

I purchased this because I have large hands. It certainly works for me on that score. The handle is a bit wider than average, and the extra length means that the distinct 'hooked' ends to the underside of the handle cradle my fingers well. It is isn't going to slip forward/back or twist in my my hand. It is a relatively heavy beast. With the relatively long grip and blase, plus the weight, you feel like you have a lot of knife in your hand (and pocket). The handle material is quite hard, but very grippy with the deep scale texture. It is packed with an extra clip and screws, and the clip can be attached front or rear, or either side (assuming that you can find the tiny size of hex-head key necessary to undo the three screws). The blade is pretty sharp out of the box, and can be deployed one-handed, no problem. Smooth and easy to start out in motion with thumb and forefinger on the blade lugs, and then complete the motion with the thumb. The lock mechanism works. My single gripe with the knife is that there is some side-play in the blade, and this seems to be play in the mechanism. Rather disappointing from a manufacturer with the reputation of CRKT. Overall, I am satisfied with the product at the price I paid. Is it worth the full original retail price? - No.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jkh
houston
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None

big knife

well made for the price. handles a little wide for my taste.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark S.
Ohio
Feb 13, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: None

Decent Knife

This is a decent knife for the money. It is somewhat big / bulky for an EDC, but it is a good size for a work knife. The handle feels good, is big and solid. This would be a good knife to use with gloves. The CRKT locking system for the blade is good. It is not that sharp and doesn't keep / get the best edge, but it is good for the money.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Stephen
Dallas, TX
Jul 07, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Weight, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Handle Material

Only a mid-quality knife for CRKT

I just received the knife a couple of days ago so I haven't had any heavy cutting experience yet. But I'm surprised at two of the design errors that CRKT would make, even on an inexpensive knife. 1. I personally think the texture of the Zytel scales is uncomfortable. There seems no reason to me that you would need a handle to be so grippable that it hurts a person's hand and fingers to hold it tightly. It would have been nice to have a higher quality material for the scales. Perhaps this is limited by the low price. 2. This is an inexcusable error. The knife is listed as having a lanyard hole. I started to loop a lanyard through the hole. But the tip of the knife rests completely over the lanyard hole. If you loop the lanyard above the blade then you can't open the blade. If you loop the lanyard under the blade then the blade will slice the lanyard into two pieces. It seems like someone at CRKT should have noticed this. I can't recommend the knife.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
R D C
Hermosa Beach, Ca
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use

OK for the Sale Price of $19.95

This knife is OK for the December 2011 sale price of $19.95, but I'd be upset if I had paid full list. It's a substantial knife, with a large, comfortable, non-slip grip. Average sharpness out of the box. However, the fit and finish are only average. Worse, the assisted opening doesn't work very well, opening the blade only about half way no matter how hard you press and requiring a flip of the wrist to finish the job even after a shot of WD40 and a lot of opening and closing to try to break it in. The locking mechanism does keep the blade in place, but it's a bit difficult to unlock, at least on the knife I received. An OK knife, but IMHO something of a poser.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kurt
PACIFIC NORTHWEST
Jun 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality

FLIPPER OR THUMB STUDS ?

I PURCHASED THIS KNIFE BECAUSE IT WAS ON SALE AND I NEEDED A SERRATED BLADE FOR GARDEN USE. THE FLIPPER BARELY OPENS THE KNIFE AND THE THUMB STUDS ARE ON THE SHORT SIDE. I FIND HAVING BOTH CONFUSING. THE MANUAL RELEASE SAFETY IS A GOOD IDEA, THE LINER LOCK IS A BIT FLIMSY. NICE WIDE POCKET CLIP AND LOVELY SATIN SILVER BLADE OF A GOOD LENGTH. SHARP ENOUGH RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
The Duke Of Windsor
Philadelphia
Jul 09, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

Extreme lock failure

Generally, a decent knife for the price. Big drawback: liner lock fails when given a modestly firm whack on the back of the blade. Even with the secondary safety engaged 2-3 good whacks will cause it to fail. Problem is, the secondary lock doesn't engage the liner lock well enough to hold it under stress. As a general pocket knife its fine; just don't expect any tactical/defense capabilities.
Columbia River CRKT 7914 Hammond Cruiser Folding 3.75" Bead Blast Combo Blade, Zytel Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Stevet
Spokane, WA
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Returned

I got this as a "beater" knife, understanding that the AUS 6 steel would require maintenance. Unfortunately the blade wobbled appreciably when opened. Though I tried to tighten it up, I found no improvement.