Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles

Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handlesrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34 inch Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles

 

Price: $44.95

Save $25.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan S
Hamburg, Nj
Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Hootenanny
This is a great knife. It feels more like a hundred dollar knife. The action is crazy smooth. Fit and finish is fantastic. Ergonomics are amazing. Its a Ken Onion, what more can I say?
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam P
New Jersey
May 11, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
Best Knife for the money.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjh4
Michigan
Jan 09, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great edc knife
Excellent knife I use quite often and have to admit it's a nice looking knife but I use everyday and have abused it and it works flawlessly. This is one of my work knives and it handles every thing I dish out to it. It's super smooth bearing and nice handle make it a great reliable knife for anyone and it holds a good edge.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Brisbane, Australia
Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
Excellent knife after some fine tuning.
Found the knife too hard to open with the flipper and unlocking was rough. After honing the locking edge and the blade butt it's now working perfectly. Flicks open with no effort and securely locks in place with no blade movement. Unlocking has also significantly improved. I was surprised at the high standard of quality given the low price. Two thumbs up. Highly recommended for every day use.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Sammamish, wa
May 12, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Very pleased with CRKT Hootenanny
Very smooth deployment, good jimping. I have ordered two products from knife center and I have been satisfied both times.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bobr
Georgia
May 06, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great EDC knife at the right price
I bought this flipper frame lock after researching new CRKT offerings for 2015. Boy I am glad I did. This EDC knife rides great in the pocket and with the IKBS system, flips like a champ.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl D
Owens Cross Roads, AL
Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Truly Impressive
Ken Onion has a great reputation, yet this knife has exceeded any expectation even a great rep can create. I am truly impressed with the brilliant attention to detail, the balance and feel in your hand, the totally functional blade shape, the quality of manufacture and assembly, as well as components, and the pure beauty. My EDC prior to ordering Hootenanny was a Benchmade Griptillian, which is a seriously fine folder and a great value. Yet this puppy now has my loyalty! Besides being a great precision tool, anyone with one eye and half sense would have to think twice about advancing on me when I drew Hooty and flipped the blade open. The solid and pronounced click as the lock engages is cause for respect, yet the imposing lines and clearly serious blade make an unmistakable statement. I have carried a pocket knife of one kind or another every day for over 50 years. The Hootenanny has my unqualified recommendation, and I assure you, there is no way to beat the value at Knife Center's price. Plus I placed the order from Alabama on Wednesday and had the knife that Friday. Outstanding in every regard!
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
Arizona
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None
A Unique and Attractive Addition to my EDC
I pre-ordered this knife and had high expectations for it from the beginning. Ken Onion's Leek and Swindle have been two of my favorite EDCs, but I was looking for something larger that I could use for heavier tasks. The Hootenanny did not disappoint in this regard. For me, this knife hits the sweet spot between a classy EDC and a solid outdoors knife. The blade sweeps upward with ample belly, but the drop point comes to a fine tip that can be used for precision work. It's got jimping all over, including on the blade spine, so I know I can get a good hold on it for whatever the task may be. The knife is a comfortable 5oz, heavy enough to feel in the pocket but without being hefty. I'm a huge fan of the IKBS pivot and frame lock. The blade glides open and locks with no play. The GRN handles have a unique and comfortable feel. This knife is certainly curvy, but I found the curves to improve my handling and use of the knife, rather than creating awkwardness in the grip. I would have preferred a better blade steel, but it's hard to complain at such a great price point. If you're looking for a solid knife with a versatile and innovative style, I'd definitely recommend the Hootenanny.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bo H
Plant City ,Fla
Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Great Knife
its my everyday everywhere always ready tool of choice
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
R.J.
Texas
Aug 23, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Needs Spring assisted opening
My hootenanny's blade doest flip open good, and doesn't close good it is loose closing, tightening the hex screw makes it worse, it's ok but needs some more work on mine, I will probably send it back for them to check it out, I've never had any problems with the knife center since I have been buying knives from them for years. I bought mine when they first came out.
Columbia River CRKT K300KXP Ken Onion Hootenanny Flipper 3.34" Drop Point Plain Blade, GRN Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Neal
Houston
Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Handle Feel, None
The GRN handle when the knife is open ...
Received this knife in the mail a few days ago and first thing I noticed as I was flipping it open and handling it was my finger dragging across an edge. There's a gap between the liner lock, when open, and the handle. So, the edge of the GRN scale on the same side as the lock sort of protrudes when it's open and in hand. Might be more noticeable by someone with "meaty" hands if you're using it a lot. Hard to explain, I guess, but if you hold this knife, you'll see what I mean. Not a deal breaker, just sort of a "fit and finish" kind of drawback, I guess. Otherwise, I was happy with the smoothness of the opening action and the blade came pretty sharp. Looks nice, too.