Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handlesrated 5.000 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94 inch Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $63.95

Save $36.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sim
Australia
May 29, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Very good knife
first off, this is a great knife. I haven't had it all that long but i'm already loving it. The positives are too many to list so i'll list negatives only. - The handle is aluminium which can be slippery - This could just be me but the knife was not as sharp as it could've been out of the box (but that can easily be fixed) - Again, this could just be my knife but the pivot screw does not stay in the one place and loosens a small bit when opened and closed, so the blade does not stay in the same position, it rocks around
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kris B.
Texas
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
all around great
for everyday carry and everything in between. so many positives. so i'll list the only negative. the handle finish is great but a bit too smooth. this thing will slip in wet hands.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe North
Marysville, MI
Aug 26, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
M16 Desert Tactical Tanto 3.94" Tan Nitride Combo Edge Knife
The quality of the knife is excellent in both appearance and function. It is better than I expected. I collect knives and this is an addition to a collection. I would carry this knife while hunting or hiking and possibly sailing although it is a little large for sailing.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
orange beach alabama
Feb 24, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None
I keep coming back to this knife, it's beefy, sturdy and although at first I wasn't keen to the chisel grind, it has now become my favorite. Once you learn how to sharpen this blade it will become your best friend. I have several knives, this is probably the cheapest, but it is the best. I like the ease of sharpening, how well it slices and I've even used it while diving, due to forgetting my dive knife. It has gathered a little rust but thats to be expected. This is simply a knife that is designed to be used hard.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Costanzo
Panama, CA
Sep 03, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Top Notch
I live in Panama CA. I ordered my Carson M16-14D online, and received it in about 10 days. It was just as I hoped it would be from only seeing it on line. Had a few questions which were promptly answered. I really haven't had a chance to use it,but I know that it will be up to anything I need to do on my hikes on the nature trails in the mountains and jungles of Panama. It's my first tactical and will be my EDC.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Longeze28
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Can You Sat Awesome!!
This is a very versital knife I use this knife in the harsh desserts of the Middle East where fine sand, and grit can cause any tool to fail but this knife performs and comes back for more. I use the knife for everything from a general purpose carry knife to trusting it with my life on patrol thats says a lot about the confidence in this knife. I love the ruggedness of the knife, low maintenance, rugged frame one hand operations even when wearing gloves. I cant't find an faults with this knife other then my adition to it. I deffiently plain on getting it in olive drab and black.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cory
Nevada
Dec 27, 2008
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Best Folder
This is the best folder I own. I love it because it's easy to open, it has a solid handle and liner lock, and it is sturdy as hell. The chisel grind is easy to resharpen with a diamond hone.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ajk
St. Clair, MI
Oct 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None
Great Knife
This is just a really neat knife, not only fun to use but fun to show to friends and see their response.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14D Carson Flipper 3.94" Combo Tanto Blade, Desert Tan, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don M.
Phoenixville
Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, None
Very nice knife.
First I'd like to say, Rest in Peace to Harold "Kit" Carson who designed this knife and many other great knives including my favorite fixed blade of all, the Intrepid. I recently bought this knife and an M16-14T (Titanium), I love the flipper action on these knives, the blade steel is fine, AUS 8 is a good steel (most Spyderco's in the 1990's eary 2000's were AUS 8 bladed knives), do not let "steel snobs" tell you differently, if you treat this knife like a knife and do not pry or screw with it the edge should last you a while, besides AUS 8 is sort of easy to sharpen. CRKT Taiwan produces very high quality knives, The handles on this model are a bit slippery and need some more texture, the anodizized finish is perfect. The blade is extremely sharp, ths blade finish is nicely done. A few cons though: The slickness of the handles, and the knurling on the piviot screw tears up my hand when I reach into the pocket that I keep the knife in. I mainly purchased the two knives as EDC's I wanted the Ti for dress occasions and the Desert for knocking around and as a defense knife in the city and the trails. This is a folder you cannot go wrong with, do not be fooled by the name, the place of manufacture or the price.