Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handlesrated 4.725 stars out of 5 (40.0 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
31
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875 inch Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles

 

Price: $63.95

Save $36.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Fort Campbell, KY
Aug 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: None

Have carried this knife for the past 3 years everyday

Great knife, bought this knife after graduating Army Infantry OSUT at Fort Benning in 2013. Been carrying it everyday. Through using and abusing it I have been nothing but impressed. Has withstood immense use and abuse, yet still is able to be sharpened and use. Highly recommend and will buy another if this thing ever gets lost ( because it wont break!)
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Se-Ced
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

CRKT M16

This knife is great for the price. It holds an edge quite well, great for cutting meat. The locking mechanism is strong and secure, I do not have to worry about it folding on me during hard use. It is a great self defense knife, but I would not recommend it as a utility knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Muskoka Hunter
Ontario, Canada
Oct 08, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife and amazing value
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill L.
Pacific Northwest
Jul 16, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Rugged

Heavy-Duty knife without the weight. I trust this knife in combat situations. Perfect tactical/utility knife. Love the flipper system.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebchat
france
May 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

great for price!

great handle,super sharpened , great knife very serious
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Specter57
Pendelton, South Carolina
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Very dependable knife, it has a uniqune locking system.

This is the best tactical folder that once opened you can use and use as a fixed blade, due a very ingenious locking system that locks the blade lock as normal knifes. After I opened it and tried to close it; this is first time I had to read instructions for a folding knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark A.
Glenolden,PA
Oct 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Must have knife

I bought 3 of these knives! I carry one, and have the other two in my packs. This knife is lightning fast to open and is very imposing once it is. The new blade serrations are extremely aggressive and razor sharp. The blade is very stout all the way to the tip. The TiN coating just adds to this knifes beauty and durability. The pocket clip can be moved to one of four positions! Buy this knife!!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wrathofchrist
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Huge fan of CRKT

Huge fan of CRKT knives
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
New Mexico
Apr 16, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Great Knife for the Price!

M16 was built very well, especially for the price point. Came razor sharp out of the box. I felt this was a great buy for me.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clear Skies
Blue Ridge Area, VA
Jan 03, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Brick SHouse

Substantial and solid knife with excellent lockup and more substantial feel than the Recon. I normally don't buy Chinese imports, but this was priced right and the company obviously was on top of the manufacturing. Holes in handle could have been countersunk for improved appearance, but grip is sure and overall appearance is fine. Not a light or EDC knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve V
st. louis, mo.
Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

great knife

only had it a couple of weeks,im not afraidof a big knife,like some people,opens smooth right out of the boxand looks as good as crkt knifes i had before.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Louisville, KY
Nov 06, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: Weight, None

Great buy

Great price and quality
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Quick Draw Mcgraw
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 27, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Best large folder

If I had to carry a knife into combat, and it HAD to be a folder, this is the one. This is the best folding knife that I own - period. Super sharp, very sturdy, snaps open very quickly using the tang. And I love the LAWKS system - this one is automatic. I have three CRKT folders with the LAWKS sytem. Virtually no chance of failure with this locking system. A bit large and a bit hefty - but if you had to go to a knife fight with a folding knife, this is a good choice. I think I prefer the handle on their SF Desert Cruiser, but this tanto blade is better as a fighter. The serrations are super sharp for rope cutting as well. BUY ONE - before they are gone!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tiki K
Albuquerque NM
Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

great fighter/EDC knife

Have had one of these for years and love it. the serrations will chip on you and the "hilt" of the knife can be a problem for some but the ease of opening on this knife is great. i will say that to get this knife to open the fastest you need to carry it tip down that way the "hilt" can act like a blade catch on your pocket and open the knife the instant its out of your pocket
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bun
Hong Kong,
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material

CRKT M16

I'm a knife collector . I like desert tan , it looks special . Its very sharp and opening smooth . I really like this knife and thinking buy one more .
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sidewalls
Spring, Tx
Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

CRKT M16-14 DSFG

Great knife for the money. Very solid feel. I like the double safety locking system. It is not a pain to unlock and close one handed.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard S.
Ettlingen, Germany
Sep 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Well it's descriptive as needed.

CRKT produces the best folders I ever purchased for EDC. The veff serration is great in cutting tougher materials. Easy one hand opening and closing. And it even looks great!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mortgageace
Red Bank NJ
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great knife and what a great price

Solid knife and really sharp out of the box.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pkmd
Houston, TX
Nov 25, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love this knife

Beautiful design and construction. Easily flips open the two wing tab keeps the hand from slipping forward nicely. It is a big knife not for every day carry.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Swat Bali
SE. Ohio
Oct 15, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Great Knife

This knife is bigger than what I was expecting, definitely a handful of a knife. Almost 9" end to end when open. I've had this knife going on two weeks, I've put it through some paces and have been very impressed with it's performance. I live on a farm and have used it for every day chores without any complaints in any way. The AutoLAWKS system takes a few openings and closings to get down, but once you've practiced a little it's easy enough to work. I flipped the clip around so that the knife is carried tip up, using the second Carson flipper as a WAVE feature. This method works very well for me, and is very convenient. I'd say buy this knife, I've already referred several friends to it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twoalpha
Petersburg, WV
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Great Knife for the money

All-in-all, I like this knife very much. It locks up really solid, came razor sharp, and the large teeth of the partially serrated blade really bite. I've been using it around the house for outside chores and rough cutting of cardboard boxes, etc. The only issue I have is probably more one of personal taste, but I would like the knife better without the LAWKS safety (like my older M16). It's not a big deal, but it takes more dexterity to manipulate the safety, work the liner lock, and close the blade...all with one hand. I know it's there to provide extra insurance against accidental closing, but I've never had that problem with liner locks.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
Texas
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

CRKT M16 Carson Special Forces Tan G10 Handle 3.875" Tanto Blade

Excellent knife. Opens and closes easily one handed. Fits my hand well and is razor sharp.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
topeka
Apr 08, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

perfect tatical pocket Knife

Works perfect for what I need
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sebchat
france
May 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

great for price!

great!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Marine
PR
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

Excellent Knife

Well made piece of equipment, very sharp right out of the box, great material.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron M.
CANTON, TEXAS
Oct 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

M16-14DSFG Knife

I purchased the M16-14DSFG knives as gifts for each of my sons and a friend. Each of us will carry that knife as a secondary self defense weapon and utility use. This knife is tested in combat and is so well constructed out of tough materials that it is almost fail safe. It locks open and will not close accidentally. However an user can close it with ease with one hand. The scales (grips) are G-10 easily gripped and strong enough for hard use. They will not break. These are qualities a user looks for in a knife for self defense and utility. One thing that may be a drawback in carrying this knife is it's size. It's hard to pocket and has corners that can become uncomfortable as the user sits for a while. Overall this knife is excellent and I highly recommend it to any person. It's perfect for a person who uses a purse. Ron McCown CANTON, TX
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Kabul, Afghanistan
Nov 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use

This is one to add to your field gear

For the size of the blade it is a lot lighter then other knives its size. It is also very well balanced and easy to maintain its sharpness in a field enviroment. I keep this knife on my ACU’s in the small pocket by my boot and I never go anywhere out side the wire without it. Compared with other knives the guys in my unit have and some have paid over USD $100.00 I paid under USD $30.00 and I have a better knife all around. The only thing I’m not to sure about is the locking system that makes it almost like a fixed blade. It takes some time to be able to manipulate it one handed like the booklet states. Once you get it down it is alright. Even with that being said I would recommend this knife to others that are looking for a great field folder.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary
Grady,NM
Nov 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Stout!

Like all M16-14s, this thing is built stout! The serrations are a lot more aggressive than on previous models I have owned. For pocket-clip carry, the secondary "flipper" scratched the heck out of my hand when trying to access something in that pocket, that is until I took a grinder to the rough edges. All better now!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
MN
Sep 25, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife, Great Serrated edge

I love this CRKT like I do all my others, this is my first one with the new serrated edge and its amazing. Super sharp.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Guywithnohair
Mineola, TX
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

Very nice blade!

Amazing value on a world class folding knife
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob Tanner
mexico
Sep 17, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

bob

This knife is the best knife I have ever bought. i have had it for a couple of years and never had a single problem.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John S
Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

Decent knife

This is overall a good knife. Looks very nice. Very sharp out of the box. I use it as an EDC during work. So it gets heavy use with different materials. The only minus is how easily the knife serrations got chipped and worn out.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Manifest Son
Missouri
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Ease of Opening, None

Great Quality for the price.

This is a nice knife for the price point. It is very sharp and the blade seems strong. When open there is absolutely no play in any direction on the blade and the auto lawks, while kind of annoying, does make sure that the knife only closes when you want it to. It is a heavy knife, with a big blade so it opens a little slow even when you apply some force to it. I used some lubricant and reduced the tension on the set screw, but it still opens slower that the other CRKT M-16's I have had, but it's also bigger. Overall if you want a big folder that can take some moderate use without spending a fortune check it out.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bear
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, None

Great For Work In The Field

I take this knife on hikes and walks. It may be TOO easy to open, as the blade can begin to slide out of the handle--mind it doesn't poke a hole in your pocket. Or your skin. The serrations are great for cutting through...well...everything I've tried it on so far--it made absolute mincement when I had to cut an old hose in the back garden.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bill
Wisconsin
Feb 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Solid! A lot of knife for the money.

Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spike D
Baltimore, Md
Apr 14, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

Nice Knife

I use this as a self-defence tool when working at my job. I like the size of the knife, the ease of opening the blade and the locking mech. At this moment I don't have any complaints about the knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Denger Blades
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Beautiful blade

Bought two of these, one for my own collection and one as a present for a friend. I'm not sure if I am going to give it to him as I like them so much. Terrific balance in the hand, the locking system takes a little bit of getting used to but is great once you master it. Even my wife likes the colour and she is not really into knives.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bizarro73
Madrid
Apr 28, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, None
difficult to close with a single hand
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kaz
Monroe, WA
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type

great looking knife

A very large knife, not my EDC, but a nice addition to my collection.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14DSFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Desert Tan, G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Jörgen Sanz
Sweden
Oct 27, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use

Not as good as it looks

I have tryed the knife for a while now and it fells and looks great but the locking system is not working as it should. I have to push back the autoLAWKS manualy. It didn´t work from day one. What is even worse is that the serration part of the blade is breaking to peaces only by normal use, cutting rope and woodworke.