Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handlesrated 4.438 stars out of 5 (16 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875 inch Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $85.95

Save $49.05 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Edmonton
Jun 10, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Buy this knife
i have EDC this knife for 3 years and it is still as good as the day i bought it. this knife has a nice factory edge but with some work with a duosharp diamond sharpener this becomes just about as sharp as my straight razor. i slipped while using this knife and cut my thumb in half at the knuckle. this knife surprised me as i didnt feel the cut it was so sharp. lost the knife somewhere on a hunting trip and am going to buy another as soon as possible. this knife puts my benchmade to shame, highly recommend A+++
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan S
California
Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellent service coupled with superior products
My perfect EDC edge device...size, weight and heft guarantee that I don't forget it or leave it lying around somewhere. Tactically aggressive look when deployed brooks no argument when utilized for personal defense use. LAWKS technology insures my fingers will remain intact. Razor sharp edge combined with a partial serration guarantees to cut through anything. "Big Dog" moniker apply named. Excellent knife at a super value.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike P
Goose Creek, SC
Oct 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Well worth the extra cash!
Just a great, solid blade. I only wish it were, say, a 5'' blade to go with such a great cross guard. Having had to have half of my little finger reattached once in the service, I can well preach the advantage of a good guard. I feel the extra scratch for the aluminum frame is very well spent.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifefighter From San Antonio
San Antonio, TX
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
One of the best fighting knives
One of the best fighting knives
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luke
MN
Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, None
Great Knife
It's easy to open, sharp, and seems very durable. There's no play when the blade is extended and the grip is perfect. The only thing I don't like is the lock, it just makes it a tiny bit harder to fold the blade back in. Other than that it's an excellent knife!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry S.
Roanoke, VA.
Dec 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
one f-ing awsome knife!
This knife is f-ing awsom I use every day at work. Wish I had a few more.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don
Las Vegas, Nv
Jul 01, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Love the CRKT Big Dog!
I was a meat cutter for thirty years so I know my way around a knife, and I'm pretty fond of tonto point blades for all around utility. I like how it handles and the ease of opening is a boon. The lock is positive and holds the open blade tight in place with no fear of it "closing on accident". Its a good looking knife, better than I expected and it carries in a pocket very well with the pocket clip. The blade is sharp enough to shave with when I got it, and overall it looks pretty durable, so I'm sure I'll get years of use out of it. Long story short-I love it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe M
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent Soldier Knife
I bought this knife from my son who is going in the Marine Corps.he can't take it to bootcamp with him but I'm sure he'll enjoy it when he gets out.and I'm sure he'll have to use it in the sandbox but you got to do what you got to do.excellent build quality.open design easily for cleaning sand grit and dirt out of.I'm extremely impressed with the service of knifecenter of the internet.I don't think anybody could beat this company for Quality Service.thanks again knifecenter
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Terry S.
Roanoke, VA.
Dec 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
one f-ing awsome knife!
This knife is f-ing awsom I use every day at work. Wish I had a few more.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fields
California
Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife
This is a great knife. It has been my EDC since 2004. And has made it through both Afghanistan and Iraq. It is well broken in and takes very little effort to open one handed. It has been used to open up some stuff that I would think twice before using any of my other blades (removing the top off of a pony keg to be used as a coin jar, etc) with minimal wear and tear on the blade. It feels at home in my hand as much as my Fox Karambit does and I would not leave home without it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mcdowellkm
Springfield, IL
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
VGQ
I bought this knife over a year ago now and let me tell you this is the best folding EDC/Defense knife for the money. I used the factory type grind for about 2 months and decided i did not like the profile(the front portion of the tanto could not get sharp enough and the rear would not hold edge. I centered the grind then put a convex grind on the blade and wow. I kid you not i keep all my knives sharp enough to shave with and once i put the convex grind on this thing holds it WELL. The flippers are very nice i carry mine tip up with the blade towards the back of the pocket and if you do it right you can catch the flipper on the pocket edge which makes the knife deployed and ready faster than any auto or assisted. it is large but after about a week you get used to it. Lock up is super tight and after a year of using this knife every day has developed no blade wobble plus it is adjustable if it does. The feel and use of this thing is amazing. 2 thumbs up for the knife but if i had 3 hands i would give one thumb down to the edge. factory grind may be useful to some guys but for my demand or razor sharpness it just wasn't cutting it.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
James O
Ottawa, On
Jun 21, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excellent knife
Light test tough. Opens smoothly although you definitely need a bit of a wrist whip to get it all the way open. I wish it had a textured handle though to make it less slippery.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
First Gun
Tehachapi, CA
May 13, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type, None
M16-14SF Special Forces 3.875" Black Tanto Combo Blade
I have not used this knife yet; however, it is well made, although I prefer a non-coated blade, and I have carried very similar knives. This knife would be a good "carrier" in a non-combat environment. Knives can be much like firearms or any other self-protection tool, they all have their limitations and applications. PROS: Aside from the cost of this knife, I enjoy the serrated combination for cutting rope or tougher plastics and leathers. The tanto blade offers more lateral strength if the the knife over-penetrates and is lodged in the material. I've always preferred the punching powering of a a Tanto-point over drop-points...with exceptions/applications of course. The handle feels solid enough, as handles can be just as important as blades when necessary. CONS: I'm not crazy about the laws that govern blade and overall "length', and would feel better if the knife were an inch longer. It would also be nice to see more San Mai type sandwiched blades with the center blade being at least 60-61 Rockwell Hardness...I'd be willing to pay more for this knife. *Overall, for what this knife offers...you can't beat the price, to include CRKT's quality control which seems to get better each year...albeit, I'm not crazy about liner-locking systems. Thank You, First Gun Tehachapi, California
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Smitsy
Europe
Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel
great blade, compromised handle
I love the protruding hand guards, it fits well a working knife and adds grip options. The blade is excellent for non precision-cutting, prying, etc. Precision cuts can not be made because of the blade's thickness and the non-symmetric edge, but it is a nice all-rounder for daily tasks. Big drawback that the flat handle does not provide a secure grip, and it is bruising up my palm when used for a task that demands more effort than just slicing an apple or cutting a single twig. The handle is just not designed to withstand the stress of use that the blade seems to boldly embrace. During digging in wet sand a small piece broke off of the flat steel spring inside the handle that is holding the blade in it's opened position, rendering tha knife useless since then. This might be a problem of all folding knives in general, but a bit more material added to the flat spring and a craftier design could have alleviated it to some extent.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jp
Cape Town
Apr 11, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, Overall Quality, None
Good, but also disappointing
Overall a good solid design and a good sized folder. Double flipper/hilt is a very nice feature. The blades holds an edge well and the handle is tough as nails and can be used as an impact weapon if you don’t want/need a blade. Bit of a problem with my model though; too much play in the locking liner. You can feel the blade move backwards & forwards when using it and you can even hear the metal on metal ‘’clicking’’ sound. Thus I am somewhat disappointed with the precision of the build. I expected better. Hopefully this is just a problem with my model. BTW: I know the instructions to this knife says that it shouldn’t be carried tip-up in a trouser pocket, but I’ve tried tip-up & tip-down options on this and potentially the tip-down provides as much danger when getting caught on anything else in ones pocket. The tip-up carrying works well enough for me, as you can catch the double flipper on your pocket when withdrawing it and it makes for a quick open (I imagine this can be somewhat dangerous if you are not intending to do this, so beware).
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SF Carson Big Dog Flipper 3.875" Tanto Combo Blade, Black, Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chandler C
Smithfield , Va
Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Not bad~Overall
Great knife, but should be aware of a few things....first off the this is a heavy pocket knife, secondly the blade....it's a single-beveled edge and that means it only sharpens on one edge. Secondly, the dual hilt is a great idea on paper, but in-service they are annoying at best. You can't carry tip up or they get caught up in/on your pocket. I tried to make this my edc knife, but was unable to continue after a few days and gave this knife to a guy at work. My SOG Flash II Aluminum handle is still my edc knife.