Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 4.828 stars out of 5 (29 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875 inch Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $63.95

Save $36.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vincenzo
Belgium
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Solid, large tactical EDC that does it all.
Tactical self-defence EDC, on the large side. This particular model is probably one of the best of the series for this purpose, due to the G10 handles (very grippy, they make the knife safer to use) and the double Carson flipper which basically functions as a very effective hilt: they are right to say that this is rare in folding knives. I have other knives in the M16/M21 series designed by the late Kit Carson and thus I can easily compare. Tanto point and Veff serrations (they are more effective than normal serrations) do make this knife a scary looking mean machine that delivers cutting and piercing performance, too. Some people dislike both the LAWKS and the AUTOLAWKS additional lock feature but I do not: I own CRKT knives with both versions and I must say that an extra layer of locking safety can never be a bad thing; you probably just need to get used to it and find a way to disengage it easily and without too much hassle... I did find my way with this knife. I recommend it if you need a self-defense folding knife that does it all and do not mind the larger size.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Debbie
29 palms
Jan 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great knife for the $$
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shotmaker61
Florence, Alabama
Jan 26, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
CRKT M16 Carson Special Forces Tanto Blade
This knife is a great knife, it'll cut open anything! I do construction work and with this blade on your hip you can complete a job without having to go get a knife or razor or any other cutting tool. The serration cuts rope like you wouldnt believe, the tip is strong enough to puncture anything, and it razor sharp! Great knife
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Kennedy
Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Material, None
Zero Flaw Design
This knife is an easy recommendation for a person looking for one knife to deploy overseas with (get two even at this price). Good all around utility and opens into a safe tool you can use confidently for all normal-use military field-knife tasks. The design is about perfect in every respect and would still be excellent with more exotic materials. The materials used though are well-chosen at price point and the machining is flawless. The blade finish is well-chosen too - basically rugged knife finish with little to complain about.. Auto-Lawks works very conveniently with one hand and the knife mechanism is smooth as well as basically rugged. The design though stands out as thoroughly excellent. Knife stays in the hand well with all grips and changes grip thoughtlessly, and the G-10 doesn't bind in its grip, simply not drawing negative attention to itself; just deploy, use and fold the knife with one hand and put it away without a second thought.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Wood Dale, IL
May 21, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Rock Solid Knife
This is pretty big knife - as far as folder's go. You definitely know you've got something in your pocket! It really is a quality piece and gives you the confidence of knowing that if you had to chop down a small tree; you probably could with this knife. If I had to give one negative, it would be the guard on the spine side of the knife. When in your pocket, it's definitely in your way to retrieve any other object inside. But after a day or two carrying, you remember and adjust accordingly.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Maple Ridge B.C.
Jul 04, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Just received it in the mail today, so the "use" factor doesn't apply as yet.. Seems to be of really good quality, and "heft" is excellent. The locking system is a bit of a challenge, however, overall I like the product. On another note, I am extremely pleased with the knifecenter.com.. They ship a.s.a.p. Also keep you well informed. My shipment was held up by a postal strike in Canada. but I was kept aware of progress by tracking numbers, etc.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gm2 R.M.K.
Baltimore, MD
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Great foldg Knife
I use this product for Hiking, Traveling, training & self defense. This Item has a great blade very sharp, durable. it is easy to use/open druing one handed applications. I would highly recommend this item.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great work knife
This was my go to work knife for the past year and it's been fantastic, still sharp and still opens very well without resistance. Quite sharp but may need ReSharpen (I usally cut open cardboard boxes that have tape on them and open plastic bags). Overall just a great knife, I've never had to tighten screws or anything on it and it's a game changer at work. Thank you
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Johannesburg
May 19, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
Excellence
Awesome performing knife wth top end features at a fraction of other brands. You're not sacrificing anything when you buy this. Take note its not meant for in pocket carry. Obviously you can but comfort and deployment is compromised
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kris B.
TEXAS
Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Only one I need
This is my everyday carry. I have several CRKT and this one has everything I need. Large enough to fill the hand but not so large that its uncomfortable to carry. All positives with this knife. The only negative is the spring loaded locking toggle is lose and wobbles just a bit when engaged. but works perfect non the less
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane
New Jersey
May 30, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Well made knife
This knife is great. From build quality to the small nuances like the smooth deployment, you get way more than you pay for. A lot heftier than I predicted but it works well. The blade is super sharp and the Veff serrations are a nice touch. This thing is built like a tank and it functions like a machine.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lightning
Massachusetts
May 23, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Quality
The best pocket knife I've had, so far. The speed that it opens is amazing. It opens as it leaves the pocket. I use it for a lot of different applications. I haven't broken it yet... and that says a lot ( I've owned it for a few years). I also like the 2 safety locks.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sergeant D
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Smoothe, Sharp and Slick.
I love this knife. The fit and finish are superb. The steel is not the super and non sharpenable alloys but it comes hair popping sharp out of the box. The blade pivots on phosfor bronze washers. The action is very smoothe and the lock up is tight. The G10 handle scales are milled perfectly and match the frame precisely, there are no overhangs or hot spots. I will probably keep this knife in my overnight, weekend bag as a J.I.C. knife. This knife fits the bill for just about everything. At less than 50 bucks this knife screams bargain!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
NJ
Apr 04, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
excellent!!!!
Great quality, exactly what I was hoping for. Delivery was early which was great. I definitely will get some more stuff from these guys.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tango Alpha Golf
Charlotte, NC
Jul 25, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
One of CRKT's best offerings
Maybe the most knife you can possibly get for your money. It's relatively cheap and will give you years of service. The steel will take an impressively sharp edge and the Veff Serrations will cut through just about anything. The flippers/cross guard can be used to open the knife as you draw it from your pocket (assuming you position the clip for tip up in pocket carry) like Emerson's wave opening system. This is extremely fast, probably more effective than any assisted knife I own. This is a pretty big knife and probably cumbersome to some as an edc but it fits in my back pocket just fine. Great for armed forces!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
NY, NY
Jul 07, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Knife
Great knife. Little bigger than i thought it would be.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Normal Dude
cbm, ms
Jul 23, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Right tool for the right job
Great all purpose knife. I wear it in the front of my flight suit Pros: Looks great, works great, feels great, strong blade, sharp, opens quick, locks tight, easy one handed open and close, fair price, movable clip. Cons: Heavy! It weighs my pocket down. I'd suggest aluminum if it retained the edge as well and was as strong. But that's it. Overall a great knife; really pleased with the purchase.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
anderson ca
Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
excellent knife
I've owned this knife for three years and carry it on me always and use it every chance I get it has proven itself time and time again I love the extra protection with the double lock and hand guard because its very easy to keep razor sharp.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom W
NOVA
Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
G10
Awesome knife, bought this and the M16-14SFA. The SFA was originally more expensive than the G10, so I thought maybe it would be built a little better, and that I might like the SFA better. This is not the case, I love the G10 and may buy another one. All around best non-assisted knife i own, bearings are smooth and easy. This is a must buy for the money.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Celeste R
Summerville, PA
Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dkurtw
Wichita, ks
Dec 28, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
great knife
who says great products are not made in America anymore, great back up. and can be used as a everyday knife. I like this knife so much i bought another
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rob
California (CA)
Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very impressive quality
This knive is very impressive. I am a very happy customer. The price is amazing for the quality. I recommend this knive to anyone who likes nice tactical knives.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don B
San Diego, Ca
Nov 18, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
SPEND YOUR MONEY
I OPENED THE BOX, COULD NOT BELIEVE MY EYES. TALK ABOUT A KILLER KNIFE! SPEND YOUR MONEY FOLKS! WELL MADE, EXTRA SHARP, GREAT FLIPPER.THANK YOU C.R.K.T.!
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Happycamper
seattle
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
M16-14SFG
Great knife, the blade is a nice size with some nasty curved back serrations that do the job well the tips of the serrated edge are a little on the thin side but all serrated edges are more delicate than plain edge knives, The Carson flipper is fantastic it opens just as fast as my assisted opening kershaws and with less to go wrong with it and the auto lawk you can really beat on this thing, I live the handle design it grabs your skin well and its not too prickly, the double flipper is a good hilt One of a kind for a folder, the auto lawk taked some getting used to but after some practice you can easily and quickly close the knife with one hand, you just press the auto lawk lever with your index finger push on the liner lock with your thumb and then use the side of the tip of your index finger to push slightly on the back flipper then use your thumb to grab the front flipper pull back and then close the knife normally. it sounds complicated but i dont even notice im doing the extra steps when i close it anymore, Oh also they are very well priced, Comparable knives are in the $100-$150 range
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bb
TN
May 20, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
AWESOME KNIFE
This is the most versatile knife I own it is very sharp, tough thick blade, the lock is as solid as you can get while staying user friendly, it is heavy but not too heavy the pocket clip can be put in four places which is very nice it opens up straight out of the pocket if wanted it is a awesome all around self defense knife. The lock takes a little time to master if you have never had one with auto lawks system before a friend of mine that works security liked it so much I bought one too. There is really nothing that I don't like about this knife
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mason
Michigan
Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Weight
Descent knife and has a mid hard steel. It has a very safe lock and i love the G10 scales and its durable feel. However, its stud is not good at all in any eay and will not be used to open because it is buried in the grips. Its problem is the dual flippers on the blade, you only need one, the other is for looks and effects your ergonomics. It is heavy and feels well made. I would reccomend the knife.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Grimner
Norway
Aug 01, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Two screws
I have three of the 3.5" versions (love the looks and size) and all have minor quality issues (blade centering, speed and a loose pivot screw). On this one, two screws have trouble fastening - found out when they fell out. Not a big problem, but if CRKT could get their quality control together, the M16 SF would be a winner. A bit heavy for every day use (that's where the 3.5" come in), but solid, sharp and effective in use. Nice opening and locking.
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nicholas R.
Santee, Ca
Sep 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
niice
very big out of the box sharp knife i have other crkt knives but this has to be my new favorite only thing that sucks is the VEFF serations do chip easy mine on a phone book but its a easy fix and i also ordered the veff sharpening stick witch will get it back to brand new so deffinetly sweet knife
Columbia River CRKT M16-14SFG Carson Special Forces Flipper 3.875" Black Combo Tanto Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Venice K
Dallas, TX
Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Blade doesn't stay sharp
I've been using this knife as my EDC for a short period of time (5 days now) and overall I've been really happy with the knife except it doesn't stay sharp at all which is very disappointing to me. Overall I enjoy it a lot I love the flippers and locking feature is nice but I just wish the it stayed sharp especially the serrations.